MDNA - Madonna
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 364

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Absolute cracker of a record! Some of the best songs of her career here. Not your average POP album. An eclectic mix of music genres with a Madonna flavour. Sadly the user average is brought down by "reviewers" rating it 0, but then gave Gagas very mediocre Born this Way a 10...suss much?
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best: high-energy disco mixed with soulful ballads.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    MDNA is a return to form after the lackluster Hard Candy. The album feels a lot more like a Madonna album and manages to take risks where her more recent releases have failed to do so. The singles are a bad indication of how good the album actually is, Give me all your luvin' the first single that failed to ignite the charts is the worst song on the album, whilst Girl Gone wild though good is so generic it hurts. MDNA has some song though better than your average filler track by the likes of Pink and Gaga, are still very much by-th-numbers filler tracks, Turn up the radio for example is fun but doesn't really try very hard, as the bubble gum style superstar. Where the album is better is on tracks like I'm a sinner, love spent and falling free (all William Orbit productions) where the vocal, lyrics and music work together with love spent being a personal favourite with its banjo segments that are just so bizarrely amazing. Masterpiece is another good track, a lovely melody, flickers of spanish guitar and one the better songs lyrically. The stand out track is the darkly harsh revenge song Gang Bang, though a long track, it sublimely sinister and sexy as hell and thankfully lifts the first half of the album up.

    MDNA is both fresh, rehashed and commercial. Its very odd how she can stand out and yet blend in. She always kind of done this, especially with the albums Music and Ray of light, and though MDNA isn't as flawless as Ray Of Light nor as clever as Music it finds a middle ground, probably on par with Confessions on a dance floor, which was as a whole album amazing but with only 2 or 3 stand out songs you couldn't take it in small doses and miles better than the kind of boring American Life and the mis-guided Hard Candy. I would reccommend Hard Candy to all Madonna fans and to casual listeners I'd recommend downloading Gang Bang, I'm a sinner and Masterpiece. 8/10
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    When i first listened he song give all your loving i thought the album was going to be bad, but when i bought it, i was puzzled with their choice for the first single. The album is on my list of favorites. First of all, it has many styles thanks to the multiple collaborations and it's daring. Madonna is known for making songs inspired by her personal life, and this time she's letting her anger and sadness poor on this album. The aftermath of her separation from her husband can be heard on gang bang, i don't give a, and i fu up. Gang bang is my favorite song from the album and a welcome new collaboration with william orbit. I didnt like girl gone wild at first, but i started to like it the more and more i listen to it. I'm addicted goes with the theme of the album, MDNA is indeed addictive. Her songs with martin slveig are my least favorite, actually there's only 3 of his songs on the album, and 3 others on the delux version. I'm a sinner is a great throwback to her ray of light era. I would have never expected to hear bonjo on a dancefloor oriented album, it's a good change and gives the album a new dimesion. The album ends with masterpiece, a beautiful ballad simply about love (we never get enough of them) and falling free which is more than a ballad, it proves us that Madonna still have that meduse like voice. Overall, i'm really satisfied by the album, it has great moments and even if it has faults, it's still a great entertainment so i give it a 10 because it worths the money you spend on it. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    THIS ALBUM IS SURPRISINGLY GOOOOOOOOD!!!! after Hard candy i thought madonna was over, but after hearing this album she still manages to shine in the businnes. The thing is, you might have a bad first impression on the album but after hearing the lyrics well you'll see that Madonna gave warmth to this cold genre of music which is house music. The house music is a way to attract people so they can hear what she has to say. My favorite tracks are Gang bang, i'm a sinner,i'm addicted, love spent, masterpiece, falling free, i don't give a, GMAYL and girl gone wild and the others are not bad at all. It's good to see william orbit coming back and made the album sound so futuristic and musically disturbing (gang bang) but also heartwarming (falling free). In general the album pleased me and was like honey to my ears. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    There are some good songs, "Masterpiece", "Falling Free". BUT, most of the album, especially the first half is made of silly, unoriginal electronic tracks that not even Ke$ha would record. Madonna you are a legend, you should be making inspired music.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    It's alway's good to hear madonna's music. AT 53 years old, she still rocks! the album is worth your pennies. What i see in this album is a huge amount of emtions which is why we love madonna so much. There's anger, happiness, sadness, guilt. The album is a nice contrast between balck and white, the happy music is produced by martin solveig and the more thoughtful tracks are produced by william orbit, and even benni bennassi came to produce 2 killer songs that will make the nightclubs dance all night long. The album doesn't feel forced or hypocrit, it's natural and a better album than american life and hard candy. Actually it makes me remember the music album. GO GET IT!!!! Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The Queen of Pop is back! And MDNA is a brilliant album full of great songs that are pure Madonna, It's like she has cherry picked all of the best elements from her previous 11 albums and blended it up in to something new and fresh! This is without a doubt one of her best albums!
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This album has everything a Madonna fan would want in an album- pop songs, dance songs and ballads. Ask any true M fan and they will tell you that her ballads have been missing on the last few albums and they are a welcomed addition to MDNA. While some of the songs don't really stack up to M's other music others shine above. My Favorites are Girl Gone Wild, Superstar, Gang Bang, Beautiful Killer, Love Spent and Falling Free. Masterpiece was a bonus from W.E. The deluxe addition included some ok songs. Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Personally, I think we are dealing here with a grade A album. It beats by far all other albums that were released last year, and yet, other stars get higher grades because of they are young. MDNA is original, electronic, emotional, dark and a bit angry album, Turn up the Radio will be the next dance club anthem and Masterpiece is a heart-breaking ballad, a real work of art.
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    As expected Madonna is trying to do what is working for everyone else rather than trying to do her own thing, the only thing is she isn't doing it half as well as her peers. There are a few songs that are passable but between her nasal vocals and Peter Pan attitude towards lyrics and content this album is a massive disapointment. Hopefully next time around she will do her own thing rather than everyone elses. Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Absolutely triumphant return after the good but not great HARD CANDY. Love the melodic "Falling Free," "Love Spent," "Masterpiece." The dance songs are incredible, with wild "Gang Bang" standing out. Only skipping "Superstar" so far. I guess you could say I'm addicted.
  13. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    As a late 30-something, I grew up during Madonna's prominence in the pop music world. And I'm not too ashamed to admit I listened to her throughout the 80's and 90's. When Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera came onto the scene, many were looking to see which one would be the "new Madonna". Yet Madonna was still relevant in those days. That was then and this is now. For better or worse, Lady GaGa has taken the title of "the new Madonna" to the new generation of pop music listeners, replete with controversial lyrics and outlandish outfits, both trademarks of Madonna during the height of her popularity. Therein lies the problem with Madonna's MDNA, and the album preceding it, Hard Candy. Both albums feel like Madonna is struggling to remain relevant by taking elements of other pop acts and incorporating them into her own rather than make her own music and follow her own path. Not to put too fine a point on it, but MDNA feels like Madonna is trying to copy Lady GaGa and others, rather than be the artist who helped to INSPIRE Lady GaGa. Ultimately forgettable, even for a Madonna fan, MDNA feels like further proof that Madonna should let go and realize there's been a changing of the guard in the world of pop music. Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best albums of Madona since long time.
    The song Gang Bang left me with no words. It's amazing, like a movie-song.
    Not all the songs are great but witch album has it?
  15. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the album of the year, a return to form for the one and only, Queen of Pop Madonna!

    The first single, "Give Me All Your Luvin'" (Featuring Nicki Minaj & M.I.A.) and the 'Party Rock Remix' of its, featuring LMFAO, definitely is NOT a good representative of the album. It was just a promotional single for the Superbowl, which happened to have crashed into the Top 10 on the
    Hot 100 and #1 on the Dance chart and become a record-breaking single. The second single, "Girl Gone Wild", would be a way better representative of the album. But GGW itself it just too joyful and generic which is not exactly the best taste you could taste from the album either. The album itself is a little more dark, an evolutioned "Confessions On A Dancefloor" I'd say. But it's not all dance tracks. There are heart-wrecking ballads and certain mid-tempos, and of course some songs that really have the throwback feeling to music of Madge's earlier days. I'd say it's hard to get ONE song to sum up the entire album, so listen to everything and decide on yourself. But one hint's here: The songs with features are NOT the best ones, this I can assure you. Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    MDNA is a great return for Lady M. Hinting at greats of her past with I'm A Sinner (Beautiful Stranger/Ray of Light) and Love Spent samples Hung Up so brilliantly. Gang Bang forges new ground because we have never heard her this way...crazy fun! When she sings "Drive **** she soars! What it lacks in cohesive sound ( a la Confessions) it makes up in giving us everything that is Madonna. Mother, lover, sister, Diva, Icon and sweet. Expand
  17. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Really great album, I like ''Girl Gone Wild'', beautiful song called ''Masterpiece'' and ''I F**ked Up''. Standard version is short, but Deluxe Edition (17 tracks) is just fantastic! Who own's the throne?! Quinn of Pop is back!
  18. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    4 years ago, in 2008, "Hard Candy" has been released. World, in particular Madonna's fans, was shocked because it was Madonna's worst album. The sound wasn't particular or revolutionary. Yes, in that album there were good songs like "Miles Away" or "Candy Shop" but there were horrible and stupid songs like "Spanish Lesson" or "Incredible", too. Now, we are in 2012 and Madonna returns with a new album that has the role to be better than "Hard Candy". And MDNA is better than "Hard Candy". I think that this CD has 4 parts : great songs, good songs, quite good songs and horrible songs. The horrible songs are "Give Me All Your Luvin" and "Superstar" that are really stupid. I think that a children can make tracks better than these. The quite good songs are "Girl Gone Wild" ( I don't know how can some people say that this song is better than some Confessions' songs) and "Some Girls". The great song are the interesting "Gang Bang", "Masterpiece", "I'm Addicted" and "Falling Free" and the other tracks are all good. This isn't revolutionary but is a really good pop album. Madonna started her career in 80's and now, in 2012, she still is one of the most greatest and most successful singer in the world. She is the Queen of Pop, because who can make a good album like this after 30 years of career?? Expand
  19. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Waow MADONNA IS BACK! who could thought that after the disapointing HARD CANDY she would come back with this sugar album! She's expressing herself without any kind of fear, she's singing to the music she grew up with and she proves us AGAIN that she's the QUEEN. The only song i dislike is gve me all ur luvin they tried to make a commercial song but they failed which is bad because people are going to that album is going to be as bad as the first single which the complete opposite. It's actually very thoughtful, sarcasstic, sometimes happy and sometimes sad. The collaboration with william orbit always works, and i didn't even know that his was the producer of gang bang how great is that! GANG BANG is the best song on this album, it's dark and **** in a way, it makes me think of quentin torontino's films. After a road of bonker moments, the album ends with falling free just like ray of light with mer girl. The deluxe version is good too, too bad they didn't include beautiful killer and bday song on the official version. MDNA IS BACK B**CH!!! Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    is far from being one of the best albums of them, but stands out in the current pop scene. Madonna is still establishing himself as the queen of pop. Highlight the beautiful ballads.
  21. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    It's definitely an album she hasn't done for a while, I guess, you couldn't really call majority of the singles 'single worthy or commercial' but it's still brilliant. Turn Up The Radio is possibly the only radio friendly song left that hasn't been left. She's done it all before and I guess trying to re-create or possibly generate such a new sound is quite difficult for somebody who's pretty much done everything. Nevertheless it's flawless. Expand
  22. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Madonna returns to top form with the help of William Orbit, I love this record, some of the reviews below say that she is been too generic, yes it's a dance album but it's nothing like anything else out there at the moment, it's a perfect record to accompany you summer 2012, god bless the queen!
  23. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    MDNA might not be Madonna's best album, but it's among the better ones for sure. It doesn't reach the brilliance of Ray of Light or Confessions on a Dancefloor, but it trumps Music and Hard Candy. We knew where Madonna wanted to go with her music, after Celebration and Revolver, so I'm not at all surprised at the direction she took. After the incredibly weak single, I expected the album to be a total flop, but I was amazed - MDNA is brilliant and super addictive. From club tracks like Some Girls to mellow tracks like Masterpiece, MDNA sure does it job well. The only tracks I would avoid are Give Me All Your Luvin' and B-day Song (on the deluxe edition). Definitely recommended. Highlights are Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, Some Girls and Beautiful Killer Expand
  24. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    To be quite honest, as teen that listens to mostly modern music, this is only the second album by Madonna I've listened to, the other being "Confessions on a Dance Floor". I'm truly blown away. It somehow manages to be modern, yet unique. Gang Bang is my favourite from this album. Can't stop listening to it! Madonna truly is the one, and only, irreplaceable Queen of Pop.
    Slaying the lessers.
  25. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing album, i love it! The tracks are very well done, also it's easy to tell which ones are produced by Martin Solveig and which ones are done by William Orbit. Weakest songs on the album are B-Day Song and Give Me All You Luvin'. The rest of the tracks are solid, including the LMFAO remix of Give Me All Luvin'. Personal faves include: I'm Addicted, GMAYL re-mix, I Don't Give A, Turn Up the Radio, Some Girls and Love Spent. This album flows very well and is much better than her previous effort, Hard Candy. I definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of buying the album. Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    After her last album it's great to hear Madonna sounding like Madonna. MDNA is a great combination of all the Madonnas we fell in love - bit of religious controversy, bit of sexiness, lots of attitude and killer pop/dance tracks with hooks that are impossible to get out of your head after a couple of listens and thoughtful ballads. Highly recommended!
  27. MED
    Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A flawless record that of course is only being sniffed at by the constipated Pitchfork clique. With so much attention being paid to what Madonna SHOULD be doing or how she should be doing it, you wonder if anyone goes into a Madonna album anymore with an open mind. Luckily I was able to and I'm glad she's still making such intersting, innovative music at this stage of her career.
  28. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Do not fear, this record is all that you want from a Madonna album. It is pure pop perfection with moments of sheer brilliance. This album is right up there with one of her best. It comes from a dark place blasted with electro delight. It will take your breath away. Stand out tracks: Girl Gone Wild, Gang Bang, Turn up the Radio, Some Girls and Love Spent. Gang Bang and Love Spent being my favorites. Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    This album is pretty bad. There's only a few good songs, the rest are mostly fillers. The lyrics are down right horrible. It really shows that Madonna doesn't really care about the album. She's only putting this out, so she can go on tour.
  30. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    Vocally speaking, the album is horrendous. Her voice is pitch corrected, auto tune, and vo-coded to the point that in some songs it literally sounds like a robot. Fallin Free would have been amazing if she didn't sound like she sitting in front of a fan singing. Overall, the album is very shallow and bland. Madonna is above this.
  31. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is what one expects from madonna, dance, pop, confessions, and simple but meaningful lyrics. much better than the previous hard candy. The album goes from angry and violent to overly happy. From hyper energy dance music to some of her first ballads in 10 years. And yet the album is dividing, if you never liked madonna, you wont like this one.
  32. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The best album she has done since Erotica for me, she's not afraid to get dark on this record. At the same time, there is plenty of light that goes around. It really is on of her best, and that's saying a lot!
  33. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    don't judge this album on its mediocre singles! this is a proper madonna album that makes you wanna sing along and dance. Best tracks on the album are gang bang, superstar, i don't give a, masterpiece and the magnificent falling free (plus beautiful killer from the deluxe album). Madonna back to Ray of Light standard here :D
  34. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I was a bit skeptical when I first heard Girl Gone Wild but after hearing MDNA, in its entirety, I have to say that I
  35. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Once again, Madonna has shown to the world that she's still the Queen of Pop. Though the release of the ablum was preceded by the weak single, "Give Me All Your Luvin' ", this song actually doesn't set the tone of the whole album. It's much darker and deeper than what you think. The lyrics are very introspective. There are many good records, especially those produced by William Orbit like "I'm A Sinner" and "Love Spent". Expand
  36. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    As a life long madonna fan, I have to admit I approached MDNA with equal measures of excitement and apprehension. reason? i hated hard candy. thankfully, MDNA delivers - for the most part. Let's get the bad news out of the way: yes, it's true, there are quite a few unimaginative stinkers here. Give Me All Your Luvin remains one of her weakest comeback singles, and wannabe stompers like "Some Girls" and "Girl Gone Wild" try hard, but inevitably fail to lift off. good "bad" Madonna songs like "Super Star" and "Turn Up The Radio" are pleasant, but they aren't likely to set anyone on fire.
    However, that's where the bad news ends.

    When the album gets going, it's nothing short of amazing. "Gang Bang" recalls the adventurous spirit of "Impressive Instant". "I Don't Give A F", "Love Spent" and "Best Friend" give the album an emotional weight that her last few albums lacked. No prizes for correctly guessing what inspired these songs, but her eloquence in the narrative of pain is as startling as it is heartbreaking.

    And then, there are the ballads. You may have watched W.E. and hated it. Or have decided to hate the film without watching it anyway. But you can't slate the craftsanship behind "Masterpiece". It has an elegance and romantic sheen that most current hit-makers would struggle to emulate.

    To top it off, there's "Falling Free" - poetic, haunting and evocative - it's possibly the best Madonna song in years.

    Yes, MDNA is uneven and has its share of fillers and calculated shockers. But the good bits are so outstanding, it forces one to forgive its less than stellar elements. It's an album that's worth repeated listening. And one that's befitting of her stature. Most importantly, it's an album which suggests that we have every right to expect more greatness from Ms. Ciccone in the years to come.
    Expand
  37. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Perfect album!!! THIS ALBUM IS SURPRISINGLY GOOOOOOOOD!!!! after Hard candy i thought madonna was over, but after hearing this album she still manages to shine in the businnes. The thing is, you might have a bad first impression on the album but after hearing the lyrics well you'll see that Madonna gave warmth to this cold genre of music which is house music.
  38. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    its great album, easy listening, but I need more inspiring sounds and experimental, my favorite song from album - gang bang..some songs its to childish like Bday song and to club-dance.. and singles did not show what album sounds
  39. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Best since Ray of Light! Madonna manages to be her classic self, while still being modern and current. Best songs are Gang Bang, Falling Free, I'm Addicted,....
  40. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    i do not like this new madonna because she is trying to copy the younger singers like katy perry and lady gaga making "superstar " (bad song ) and the songs with MIA and Nicki minaj are BAD sorry but it is true
  41. Diz
    Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Many of the negative reviews are no doubt, a part of Gaga's fan base because her fan base feels the need to try and tear apart any successful pop artist that rivals their "mother monster." Most of them haven't even given MDNA a chance and it's sad. I wouldn't be surprised if other fan bases start doing the same to Gaga, so you'd think they'd think twice before making fools of themselves, they're already known in each fan base as it.

    Anyway, MDNA is a stellar album. It's definitely one of those albums that get better with time. Initial stand out tracks include Gang Bang, Girl Gone Wild, and Love Spent. Nicki Minaj's verse in I Don't Give A is fire, and GMAYL does not represent the album well. Madonna references her 30 year career frequently in the album because she can, and there's a wide variety of sounds. I wouldn't call the entire album dance, as some reviews are saying, but there are dance tracks. I do wish there were more, but the slower songs have grown on me. Falling Free is a beautiful ballad. My recommendation, if you are on the fence preview the songs in iTunes, step away from the computer for a bit then go back to iTunes and preview them again. If by the next day not a single song is stuck in your head, then you probably won't enjoy the album very much. If even one song gets stuck in your head, the rest will follow and the album is worth your purchase!
    Expand
  42. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    From early 80s to early 10s Madonna is undoubtedly the queen of pop. What makes Madonna's career last long is actually her changing themes. In 80s she was just a teen sensation, then in early 90s she had her erotica days, in late 90s and early 00s she became the master of pop, and now she is brand new and fresh with her dance music. MDNA is the definition of euro-dance. It is loud, catchy and fresh. From the new club anthem "Girl Gone Wild" to "I F*ck*d Up" the album has this tempo, that you cannot avoid. Expand
  43. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    MDNA is just not a master piece as celebration. Madonnas tracks arent strong anymore. She needs to retire before she humiliates herself again with another bad album
  44. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    An album that will serve even to the next generations, how should pop & dance music sound. Anthemic songs, a lot of fun, pure pop and music to dance to. Having the same positive vibe as Confessions On A Dance Floor had, Madonna proved once again that she is the only Queen when it comes to music, nowadays. Artist half her age, twice the producers and money spent on an album cannot top even the half of the album. An album that shown Lady Gaga that she can go for 2nd best only. As Madonna said, everything that the lesser artist will make, will be just an reductive version of Madonna's music. 10/10 with no regrets. Expand
  45. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I was so pleasantly surprised with MDNA. In my opinion it doesn't have any bad songs, some are just okay. There's more than a handful of excellent ones though, such as Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, Turn Up the Radio, Some Girls, I'm A Sinner (classic Madonna), Love Spent, Masterpiece, Falling Free, Beautiful Killer and Best Friend. Even the quite disliked B-Day Song flows well for me. This record will not leave my stereo for a really, really long time. Welcome back, Queen of Pop! Expand
  46. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Not her best but no her worst. The best track of the bunch is Gang Bang with some other cuts such as I'm addicted, some girls, love spent and the should'vebeenfirstsingle Turn up the radio. Skip the childish Superstar and the embarrassing American Life-esque I Don't give a. Great album though!
  47. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Although it's not as gr8 as ROL and LAP, I'm glad to see Madge getting back to her roots where she's most comfortable at; electronica and dance. It's my favorite album since Confessions, and like Dr. Drew said it's addictive!
  48. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    A very honest, catchy and diverse record, with only few 'reductive-ish' moments. 'Gang Bang' , 'I'm Addicted' , 'I'm A Sinner', 'Love Spent' and 'Falling Free' are standout tracks, while first two singles are easily the weakest tracks here.
  49. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Better than Hard Candy and American Life. I love this record. Gonna be one of fabulous record of 2012. Many dont like Madonna and give her a bad review or lukewarming welcome to MDNA because the fact that she is 53. But as long as she can rock us with her music, why not we support Madonna. There is only one Queen. And that person is Madonna.
  50. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    First of all, the production on every single song is amazing. Madonna delivers some great melodies as well. My favorites are "Love Spent", "I'm Addicted", "Beautiful Killer", "Turn Up The Radio", "I'm A Sinner", "Girl Gone Wild", "Some Girls", "I Don't Give A"... these are some banging tunes. I like them all, though, She also brings the tempo down for some beautiful and introspective moments like "Falling Free", "Masterpiece"... She's also recorded an acoustic version of "Love Spent" which is GREAT! Honestly, this is another win in Madonna's long and amazing career, it looks like she has another number one album on her hands, and these songs will sound GREAT on tour! Expand
  51. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Es un muy buen álbum, después de 4 años la espera valió la pena. MDNA tiene excelentes canciones, como la maravillosa Love Spent, Gang Bang, Fallig Free, Beautiful Killer y I'm a Sinner. Es un álbum muy variado y coherente que encuentra mucha inspiración en trabajos anteriores de Madonna. Lamentablemente también tiene canciones como Superstar y B-Day Song que me parecieron lo peor del álbum, también creo que Madonna eligió muy mal los singles (Give Me All Your Luvin' y Girl Gone Wild) porque no son ni las mejores canciones ni son representativas de todo el álbum. Expand
  52. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    MDNA is the return of the queen of pop. I liked some songs, like "Beautiful Killer" and her recent single "Girl Gone Wild." But I was on Twitter, while listening to the album, and I honestly did not know when was the next song. From I **** Up I did not know which song was next. What I mean is that Madonna has created an album with a sound very similar, and some songs his voice was full of auto-tune.
    What I think this album is that an attempt was somewhat of a frustrating "Confessions On The Dance Floor 2.0". I think her album is good but could be better, or better, much better.
    Expand
  53. Mar 28, 2012
    3
    I think that it is a good album with catchy songs. But it feels like unfinished works, some songs just sounds like demo. I think that only 2 songs deserved to be called as masterpiece, it's song Masterpiece and Falling Free.
  54. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Refreshing! MDNA is a great rebound from Hard Candy, which was disappointing to say the least. This album, which was produced by Benassi, Solveig, and Orbit, is similar to her 2005 album Confessions. However, it's a bit more varied and fast paced. Key tracks are Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, Turn Up The Radio, I Don't Give A, Love Spent, Masterpiece, and Falling Free.
  55. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    Average at best, below average by Madonnas standards. The tracks are entirely to safe for the most part and she seems to be so preoccupied with trying to keep up with the times and sounds dated attempting so. She's gone from setting trends to following them, shame really.
    Best tracks: Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, I dont give a.
  56. Sep 12, 2013
    4
    Not bad per se, but could and should have been much, much better. I feel like she opted for the popular sound and commercial appeal instead of the innovation she's come to be known for.
  57. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    You can tell this woman is in lot of pain from divorce, in my opinion the reason this album will be a huge success. Gang Bang, Some Girls, Love Spent, Masterpiece, even GGW, all amazing songs.
  58. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    I wasn't too sure about this album. I'm more into Ladytron, Glass Candy, Chromatics, Crystal Castles. I loved the "American Life" album, but didn't really care for the two that followed. MDNA, though, is probably the best Madonna album I've ever listened to. I kind of sounds llke she went back and hand picked all the best ingredients from her old **** and decided to put on a new spin on them. For example, in concept, the song "Love Spent" is almost like a sequel or follow up to Material Girl, only this time it's sincerely heartbreaking instead of ironically cheeky. Also, the mix of banjo and Tetrisesque beats reminds me of better version of "Don't Tell Me." Another example is "I'm a Sinner" which harkens back to the late 90's/early 00s Madonna when she was exploring that sixties sound on "Beautiful Stranger" and "Amazing." It's probably the most carefree and fun without being juvenile or silly. The song reminds me of Geoge A Romero's witchcraft in 70s suburbia thriller "Season of the Witch" or makes me picture the cast of "The Ice Storm" getting down. "Falling Free" is Madonna again excelling something a lot of people seem to overlook: creating some of the saddest sounds possible. This one is up there with "Bad Girl" "Oh Father" "Gone" and "Easy Ride" as one of the darkest songs she's ever put out. Great album. Expand
  59. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    it's the greatest album she's ever done: some girls, i'm addicted, turn up the radio, gang bang, fallin free, love spent, .... and it's gonna be BIG
  60. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed listening to all of the brilliant tracks on the album. The singles like give me all your luvin and girl gone wild hide the albums beauty. The next single should be love spent, gang bang, or turn up the radio. I think all pop fans should download the album, and the people giving bad reviews obviously have not listened to any songs on the album. I recommend listening, and or buying this album, Madonna doesn't disappoint. Expand
  61. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This is perfect! I'm the biggest Madonna fan, but I must confess I wasn't expecting a album this amazing after the mess Hard Candy was... Definitely the album of the year till now! I would even say this is her best album since Music!
  62. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    I am a recent Madonna fan. I started to love her music when I bought Celebration. I only listened to another album which is Confessions On A Dancefloor. I must admit, after Confessions, I had really high expectations that MDNA did not meet. She seems to be more focused on being mad at her ex than actually jumping on the occasion to reinvent herself as an artist. This is what you get : a wannabe-dark Madonna album with a production that is clearly irrelevant. Why did it hit a 7? MDNA has a certain charm. The lack of depth in lyrics in some songs is compensated with thickly layered songs and unexpected beats. The deluxe edition is somewhat useless. The only good extra track is "Best Friend". Even though "B-Day" is clearly a wink to the audience,"Beautiful Killer" and "I F*ck*d Up" possess a few very awful lines hat ruins the whole songs and make it less believable. My favorite tracks : "Masterpiece", "Falling Free", "Best Friend", "Love Spent" (even though this one could have been better).. Expand
  63. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    I'd go as far as saying this is the most disappointing album of the decade. We thought Hard Candy was rock bottom- think again. MDNA is a desperate cry for relevancy, featuring collabs with Nicki Minaj and M.I.A., talks of Justin Bieber supporting the tour, and so on. The album lacks any soul, and is embarrassing when compared to her masterpieces like Ray of Light, Erotica, Confessions etc. Here's hoping for a better album next time around. Expand
  64. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    There's only one problem in MDNA: It's not a hole new thing. Instead, she did use her talent as nobody can do and did a perfect work with all the trending kinds of music we hear now. And, for me, that's enough. The album sounds GREAT.
  65. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    There are some brilliant songs: Love spent, Beautiful killer, Falling Free. This album is much better than Hard Candy, but it isn't so amazing as Confessions on the dance floor
  66. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    Amazing album, not perfect nor her best work, probably on pair with Confessions, some of the songs are already a classic in her career (Gang Bang, I´m Addicted, Love Spent, Falling Free), only a couple of them could be considered fillers, however as I said I really like the album and it´s many styles, the whole album deserves a solid 8.
  67. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    After the lackluster Hard Candy album Madonna is back doing what she does best. dark and dirty dance music. LOVE LOVE LOVE this album! Little monsters and haters can try to bring her down but never will. She's better at 53 than any of the other pop **** in their 20's. Eat It.
  68. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    I don't need to say much the album speaks for itself. but I gotta say, since it was released I can't stop listening to it! MDNA is highly addictive!!! my fav: GANG BANG!!
  69. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Out of the dozen studio albums she's released, I would easily place this album in the top-5. Oddly, the two singles released so far (Give Me All Your Luvin & Girl Gone Wild) are probably the two least interesting songs on the album. Highlights include Gang Bang, Love Spent, I'm Addicted & Falling Free. With hooks overflowing on each track, this is a fascinating and entertaining listen from start to finish with zero filler material. Highly recommended! Expand
  70. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    Madonna's finest in many years - and her first concept album since Like a Prayer... go figure, both dealt with catholicism and divorce. No current starlet could come up with something this interesting. If you've been through a breakup or divorce - you'll know what I mean. The emotional roller coaster is captured here: from wanting freedom and finally being able to flirt openly 'Girl Gone Wild', to hating your ex-lover 'Gang Bang', 'Love Spent'... to wanting to patch things up and nostalgia for a relationship that once was 'I **** up', 'Best Friend'. Mix this awesome and layered narrative with a few fun Madonna songs that firmly reassert her place on the dancefloor 'Some Girls', 'I'm addicted'.. and you have one stellar album... haters will be haters.. but listen to this gem nest to Rihanna's latest, or Gaga's or Katy Perry.. and you'll see why Madonna is an icon... awesome Expand
  71. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    Like any Madonna album, it certainly commands attention - however, the basic beats, simple lyrics and generic dub step and 'club sound' moments do leave you feeling very let down. With the likes of Kylie, Gaga, Britney and Robyn controlling the dance charts of late, it would appear the reigning Queen of Pop may soon be refered to as 'The Queen Mother of Pop' - which isn't a good thing.
  72. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Is it a masterpiece on the level of Like a Prayer, Erotica, or Ray of Light? No, not really. But it's also leagues better than Like a Virgin and Hard Candy. More personal than Confessions, more varied than American Life, it's certainly the strongest pop album of 2012 so far.
  73. Mar 27, 2012
    6
    Madonna has really had to step up her game to cash in on lady gaga cashing in on her. She named her album (MDNA) after extacy (MDMA) and with songs like "gang bang" "I'm a sinner" "girl gone wild" and "i dont give a" she aims low to score high.
  74. Mar 27, 2012
    1
    A bunch of suits got together and paid "MDNA" $120m to produce the first of what now promises to be bland, forgettable junk. Why is Madonna competing with Ke$ha and Britney etc. Oh she's not, the suits are. Yawn.
  75. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    AWFUL! Like many have said, the album is bland. It lacks any real depth. Madonna is trying to compete with youngster, but fail miserably. The only good song on the album is Love Spent.
  76. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    I'd say MDNA locates itself right between Confessions on a Dance Floor and Hard Candy. In average it's neither too good or bad. Orbit produced tracks feels way better than the rest... this should have been a solo producer record
  77. Apr 1, 2012
    3
    I couldn't wait for "MDNA" but now I'm so disappointed... I believe that this is Madonna's worst album I expected more from Martin Solveig, but most of the songs sound the same. There's no originality, lyrics are very boring and there's nothing else to say.
  78. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    I love MDNA, much better than Hard Candy.
    Best songs are "Love Spent" "Gang Bang" "Im Addicted" "Masterpiece" "Falling Free" "Im a Sinner" "Turn up the Radio" "I **** Up" and "Beautiful Killer"
    MDNA is a great return of Madonna
  79. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    If you are a fan of Nicki Minaj & M.I.A then this album is right for you, If are expecting Confessions on the Dancefloor part 2 or you are a fan of Madonna's 80's and mid 90's work then skip this record, you are going to be very disappointed, MDNA is Madonna's worst album, i gave it a 2 star because it has only two decent tracks which could fit perfectly in her previous album 'Masterpiece' and 'Falling Free'. Expand
  80. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    Someone here is Crazy..... The User Score of Hard Candy is about 75 and this is about 6.2....... How is it possible? MDNA is way better than Hard Candy!!
    Great Tracks : Gang Bang - I'm Addicted - Masterpiece - Falling Free - I Don't Give A
    Very Good Tracks : Love Spent - Girl Gone Wild - Turn Up the Radio
    Good Tracks : Some Girls - I'm a Sinner Quite Good Songs : Superstar - Give Me All
    Your Luvin Expand
  81. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    HORRIBLE album, crumbs, Nick Minaj is terrible, Madonna is so terrible, everything is terrible, I miss Madonna when her sang American Life, Like a Prayer, Vogue, but this album.......
  82. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Many songs are great, Love Spent, Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, I'm a Sinner, Turn up the Radio, Masterpiece, Falling Free, Beautiful Killer. Nicki Minaj on "I Do not Give A" is fabulous. Great album!
  83. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    Please .... Stop with dance Madonna! It is not convincing, not surprisingly, does not invent anything new .... is a constant reiteration of the same models and diagrams! I want to have a mature and adult work!!!. After of Hard Candy (disastrous!!!) , she has failed to advance an improvement.
  84. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    To me she can do no wrong. "MDNA" has all the required club stompers and numbers that will rock out in her tour. I am so happy she has included a pair of gorgeous ballads, which looking back have been a hugely popular, if often forgotten, part of Madonna's legacy. Standouts are "I'm Addicted", "Masterpiece", "I'm a Sinner", and "I F**ked Up". "Turn Up The Radio" did not get the airplay it deserves. This album has owned my driving music since its release, and will for a while to come. Expand
  85. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    MDNA is the greatest album ever recorded. If Katy Perry or any other 'it' artist released it, it would be praised for it's brilliance. This album is pure dance. The best songs of her career. Madonna doesn't follow trends she creates them. I'm Addicted, Gang Bang, Falling Free, Love Spent, Beautiful Killer are absolute perfection! My only criticism of the album is the featured artists. Neither MIA or Nicki Minaj bring anything to the songs they feature on, although I Don't Give A which Nicki features on is a cracker of a brilliant track. The singles haven't done this album justice. For me this album has overtaken Ray of Light as the greatest album ever recorded. Expand
  86. May 3, 2012
    8
    An amazing comeback for Madonna honestly. If only "Turn Up The Radio" was the lead single, this would've been a smash. The Queen of Pop's newly album "MDNA" is a sheer classic of radio-friendly tunes ("Turn Up The Radio", "Masterpiece", "Love Spent", "Superstar") to more upbeat eurodance beats ("Girl Gone Wild", "Gang Bang", "I'm Addicted", "Some Girls") and with more personal songs ("I ****ed Up", "Best Friend") but can trip over her disco ball with tracks like ("Gang Bang", "I'm A Sinner", "Give Me All Your Luvin'")... But overall, Madonna's back in the game and ready to ignite! Expand
  87. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    Masterpiece and Falling Free are great sogs, and even Girl Gone Wild is good at what it's for: dance. But the others songs are silly and unemotional.
  88. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    It's amazingly dull and it's incredible to realize Madonna is all out of ideas and the record dropped so hard on the charts. One newssource had the headline "MDNA is DOA". It's kinda true. "Gang Bang" is the tune that is exciting enoughâ
  89. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Full of bass, synthesized to the maximum, dark and personal. MDNA is an irresistible piece of eletropop that keeps you excited during the whole journey. Best tracks: Gang Bang, Love Spent, I'm Addicted, Some Girls, Best Friend and Girl Gone Wild. Don't hesitate skipping: B-Day Song.
  90. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    This album is awful. It's Madonna worst album up to date. All songs are such a mess. This album is the worst album of 2012. It debuted very good on US Billboard 200, but on the second it decrease with 85% in sales. The album left the chert afret 9 weeks. This is probably the flop album of the year.
  91. Apr 23, 2012
    4
    This is the worst album ever made by Madonna, it has so many fillers, it doesn't seem an album made by the queen of the most important genre in the music industry, it seems made by someone like Katy Perry and I think is at the same level of atrocities like Bionic or Femme Fatale. She is still a great songwriter but I don't really think this is what we all were expecting from Madonna. Love Spent, Turn Up The Radio and Gang Bang are good songs but I don't know why I think they go unnoticed. Expand
  92. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Very good album, her best since Confessions on a Dance floor and much better than Hard Candy, not as great as Confessions, obviously, but I like it. Madge did it again.
  93. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    Do I think this album deserves a zero? No. But I want to compensate the 10 which are given here. I think album is really worth a 3 or 4. This is definitely NOT a comeback of Madonna. I am a fan of this artist but this album brings nothing new. Everything on it has been done before AND better. No new sounds, nothing. The one song that stands out Gang Bang but this one bores after a few listenings. Its just too hollow This albums has lots of cheap comupterdrumbeats. If you take notice of the fact that she worked with the best writers and producers on this album you realize that the result cant even be described as mediocre. Expand
  94. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Madonna is without doubt the Queen of Pop. But can she still deliver the goods as a relevant artist 30 years from her debut? After hearing this record, the answer is a resounding YES! Trailed by an oddly weak sounding lead single (Give Me All Your Luvin) Madonna brings forth her best on the album itself. Progressive disco anthems such as "Girl Gone Wild" and "Some Girls" assert her reign as the top female pop star. She drops an acid turn on the psychedelia rave funker "I'm Addicted" and seems to have some bad blood scores to settle in what might be her most exciting and shocking music moment to date in "Gang Bang" which has to be heard to be believed. Her recent divorce is addressed in 'I Don't Give A' as well as 'Love Spent' which may be one of the most unique pop creations in recent years. She also brings melancholic lyrics and darkly poignant introspection to the album in the form of ballads "Masterpiece" and "Falling Free" produced by William Orbit, her longtime collaborator from 1997 opus 'Ray Of Light' If you want a pop album to make you dance, smile, cry and exorcise some demons. This is the one for you. It also happens to be her best in over a decade. Expand
  95. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Lots of touching lyrics Love Spent: You married me if I were poor
    I don't give a f: I diminish myself and swallow my light

    Underneath her heart, various egos are reflected to manifest a intricating feeling of resentment, regret, self-empowerment and joy. It's said that the album was like a girl's confession rather than a middle-aged one. if you explore the deeper layer of the lyrics,
    there is an ups and downs when listening to the whole album. The roller-coaster like sentiment echoes many other divorced women's life. Expand
  96. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is really bad. Having really good songs, combined with very weak songs gives you a very noticeable inconsistency. Not really digestible, it is necessary to have multiple listeners an idea of â Expand
  97. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    Absolutely awful. This album is the most unoriginal piece of trash i've heard. It's basically her trying to seem hip and relevant by singing things like "gang bang" and basically promoting a drug. Every track sounds the same, and i'm sure most of the album was sampled from music released within the last year or so.
    All I have to say Madonna is bye.
  98. Mar 31, 2012
    4
    She's trying to go to the 1980's Era but unfortunately she can't! ... Non of the songs fits her old career and her voice is way back. so trying something classical would be way better than coming back by copying Gaga. Rate 4/10
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. May 2, 2012
    30
    Madonna's 12th album has a good title and a nice cover, but that's almost as much as you can say in its favour. [Jun 2012, p.77]
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    40
    [The music] is not exactly bad, but has about as much creativity and passion behind it as a spreadsheet.
  3. 70
    No, MDNA can't be hailed as Madge's best ever album, and it may not contain the most thought- provoking lyrics of her career (perhaps an intentional tongue-in-cheek poke at the current state of pop music?), but it is the reigning Queen of Pop's most inspired work since Music, as well as the highly addictive record Madonna celebrants have been craving.