MDNA

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 448

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2014
    1
    Psych! Hello my little Medonsters, it's the true Queen of Pop here. I want to apologize for this garbage I gave you back in 2012. I was a little preoccupied with using a trowel and mortar to even the hills and valleys of my arms and ended up giving easily the worst record of my career. At least you were all sheepish enough to attend my tour (no live singing, no refunds!) and for that I amPsych! Hello my little Medonsters, it's the true Queen of Pop here. I want to apologize for this garbage I gave you back in 2012. I was a little preoccupied with using a trowel and mortar to even the hills and valleys of my arms and ended up giving easily the worst record of my career. At least you were all sheepish enough to attend my tour (no live singing, no refunds!) and for that I am moderately thankful. I hope you all listen to Girl Gone Wild and then take to bashing damn Lady Gaga for me, it's important we destroy the more talented early on so nobody questions my lack thereof. Also, I expect all my fans to begin speaking in English accents immediately. Adieu! Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    Please .... Stop with dance Madonna! It is not convincing, not surprisingly, does not invent anything new .... is a constant reiteration of the same models and diagrams! I want to have a mature and adult work!!!. After of Hard Candy (disastrous!!!) , she has failed to advance an improvement.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    American Life was the last sincere Madonna's album, since then seems that the only concern she has is to have a new hit. Since her album, "Confessions on a dance floor", when she came with ABBA's sample in her new single Hung Up, going into Justin Timberlake's help in her album hard candy til now, when se came with Nicki Minaj and her poor rap. The fact is that Madonna became especializedAmerican Life was the last sincere Madonna's album, since then seems that the only concern she has is to have a new hit. Since her album, "Confessions on a dance floor", when she came with ABBA's sample in her new single Hung Up, going into Justin Timberlake's help in her album hard candy til now, when se came with Nicki Minaj and her poor rap. The fact is that Madonna became especialized in absorb the popularity and success of the new artists, like she did with Britney Spears in 2003, when her new album of that year was destroyed by the public and the critics.
    When Madonna sing songs like Girl Gone Wild, Give Me All Your Luvin and B-Day Song it seems like she don't have any sense of reality or ridiculous, becoming a shadow of she use to be. In the end of the day, Madonna can be the QUEEN OF POP,
    after all her career is incomparable, but her fear to be overcome shows that Lady Gaga's Born This Way is so much better than MDNA
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    as has been failing for a long talk in the musical anbito, Madonna does it again, what is this? A joke? Album rescued only two or a song and of course, no single.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    MDNA is just not a master piece as celebration. Madonnas tracks arent strong anymore. She needs to retire before she humiliates herself again with another bad album
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    As expected Madonna is trying to do what is working for everyone else rather than trying to do her own thing, the only thing is she isn't doing it half as well as her peers. There are a few songs that are passable but between her nasal vocals and Peter Pan attitude towards lyrics and content this album is a massive disapointment. Hopefully next time around she will do her own thing ratherAs expected Madonna is trying to do what is working for everyone else rather than trying to do her own thing, the only thing is she isn't doing it half as well as her peers. There are a few songs that are passable but between her nasal vocals and Peter Pan attitude towards lyrics and content this album is a massive disapointment. Hopefully next time around she will do her own thing rather than everyone elses. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    There are some good songs, "Masterpiece", "Falling Free". BUT, most of the album, especially the first half is made of silly, unoriginal electronic tracks that not even Ke$ha would record. Madonna you are a legend, you should be making inspired music.
  8. Mar 28, 2012
    3
    I think that it is a good album with catchy songs. But it feels like unfinished works, some songs just sounds like demo. I think that only 2 songs deserved to be called as masterpiece, it's song Masterpiece and Falling Free.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    This album is pretty bad. There's only a few good songs, the rest are mostly fillers. The lyrics are down right horrible. It really shows that Madonna doesn't really care about the album. She's only putting this out, so she can go on tour.
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    If you are a fan of Nicki Minaj & M.I.A then this album is right for you, If are expecting Confessions on the Dancefloor part 2 or you are a fan of Madonna's 80's and mid 90's work then skip this record, you are going to be very disappointed, MDNA is Madonna's worst album, i gave it a 2 star because it has only two decent tracks which could fit perfectly in her previous album 'Masterpiece'If you are a fan of Nicki Minaj & M.I.A then this album is right for you, If are expecting Confessions on the Dancefloor part 2 or you are a fan of Madonna's 80's and mid 90's work then skip this record, you are going to be very disappointed, MDNA is Madonna's worst album, i gave it a 2 star because it has only two decent tracks which could fit perfectly in her previous album 'Masterpiece' and 'Falling Free'. Expand
  11. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    HORRIBLE album, crumbs, Nick Minaj is terrible, Madonna is so terrible, everything is terrible, I miss Madonna when her sang American Life, Like a Prayer, Vogue, but this album.......
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    The twelfth album from Madonna, MDNA, is one of his most dance albums, but it's actually not a masterpiece either. I must admit that there are very good songs on MDNA as Girl Gone Wild Give Me All Your Luvin 'Turn Up The Radio and host of commercial songs. Otherwise, Madonna starting to look like those it influancé the past ten years (Gaga, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Gwen Stefani, etc.The twelfth album from Madonna, MDNA, is one of his most dance albums, but it's actually not a masterpiece either. I must admit that there are very good songs on MDNA as Girl Gone Wild Give Me All Your Luvin 'Turn Up The Radio and host of commercial songs. Otherwise, Madonna starting to look like those it influancé the past ten years (Gaga, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Gwen Stefani, etc. ..). The problem is not the realization but the Madonna herself. She is in some ways that revolutionized pop culture, with hits such as Vogue, Like A Virgin, Hung Up and I passe. But on MDNA, there is no key that Madonna Girl Power had to before hand. Finally MDNA the word to describe it: DISAPPOINTMENT Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    Vocally speaking, the album is horrendous. Her voice is pitch corrected, auto tune, and vo-coded to the point that in some songs it literally sounds like a robot. Fallin Free would have been amazing if she didn't sound like she sitting in front of a fan singing. Overall, the album is very shallow and bland. Madonna is above this.
  14. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    MDNA is definitely Madonna's worst album. It contains two really good songs, Girl Gone Wild and Gang Bang and that's it. The rest of the album is horribly mixed, produced and sung. Songs like Superstar, I Don't Give A and Love Spent make me wonder what has happened to the genius Madonna that wrote albums like Ray of Light, American Life or Confessions on a Dance Floor.
  15. Mar 4, 2015
    0
    Worst album of her career. A career that also house the horrible American Life, yet this was much worse. It tries to hard and fails on delivery. No memorable songs on this album.
  16. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    i do not like this new madonna because she is trying to copy the younger singers like katy perry and lady gaga making "superstar " (bad song ) and the songs with MIA and Nicki minaj are BAD sorry but it is true
  17. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    I'd go as far as saying this is the most disappointing album of the decade. We thought Hard Candy was rock bottom- think again. MDNA is a desperate cry for relevancy, featuring collabs with Nicki Minaj and M.I.A., talks of Justin Bieber supporting the tour, and so on. The album lacks any soul, and is embarrassing when compared to her masterpieces like Ray of Light, Erotica, ConfessionsI'd go as far as saying this is the most disappointing album of the decade. We thought Hard Candy was rock bottom- think again. MDNA is a desperate cry for relevancy, featuring collabs with Nicki Minaj and M.I.A., talks of Justin Bieber supporting the tour, and so on. The album lacks any soul, and is embarrassing when compared to her masterpieces like Ray of Light, Erotica, Confessions etc. Here's hoping for a better album next time around. Expand
  18. Apr 1, 2012
    3
    I couldn't wait for "MDNA" but now I'm so disappointed... I believe that this is Madonna's worst album I expected more from Martin Solveig, but most of the songs sound the same. There's no originality, lyrics are very boring and there's nothing else to say.
  19. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    This album is awful. It's Madonna worst album up to date. All songs are such a mess. This album is the worst album of 2012. It debuted very good on US Billboard 200, but on the second it decrease with 85% in sales. The album left the chert afret 9 weeks. This is probably the flop album of the year.
  20. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    WHAT IS THAT?

    She is makes music for her daughters party but this could also be Lady Gaga or Katy Perry.
    She ist not so special anymore and the only great song is with Nicki Minaj.
    Sorry but she is terrible...
  21. Apr 9, 2012
    2
    The new album from Madonna, MDNA, is between the average (American Life) and worst (Hard Candy). His title of Queen Of Pop has started to bleach when she started making commercial pop with Timbaland and Justin Timberlake (4 Minutes) it sounded like them. But let's focus on the album! The radio side (and Girl Gone Wild Give Me All You Luvin ') is this side that I have not loved, even hated,The new album from Madonna, MDNA, is between the average (American Life) and worst (Hard Candy). His title of Queen Of Pop has started to bleach when she started making commercial pop with Timbaland and Justin Timberlake (4 Minutes) it sounded like them. But let's focus on the album! The radio side (and Girl Gone Wild Give Me All You Luvin ') is this side that I have not loved, even hated, but the strangest side as Gang Bang Free Falling and I just loved but it remains laughable. Yes I said laughable. This disc is rotten, we move from pop to techno via dupstep by the momment. Now The Queen Of Pop are the Lady Gaga, Rihanna, Katy Perry and Britney Spears. This new album really disappoints. Expand
  22. Mar 27, 2012
    1
    A bunch of suits got together and paid "MDNA" $120m to produce the first of what now promises to be bland, forgettable junk. Why is Madonna competing with Ke$ha and Britney etc. Oh she's not, the suits are. Yawn.
  23. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    AWFUL! Like many have said, the album is bland. It lacks any real depth. Madonna is trying to compete with youngster, but fail miserably. The only good song on the album is Love Spent.
  24. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    I think some of reviews here are really off the mark. The album is very bland and BORING, and one song - Gang Bang - is a real STINKER. It's a low point for Madonna. For what it's worth, I've been a Madonna fan since the very beginning. This album doesn't get as personal and compelling as 'Ray of Light' or 'American Life' and isn't as poppy as.. well, pretty much everything else she'sI think some of reviews here are really off the mark. The album is very bland and BORING, and one song - Gang Bang - is a real STINKER. It's a low point for Madonna. For what it's worth, I've been a Madonna fan since the very beginning. This album doesn't get as personal and compelling as 'Ray of Light' or 'American Life' and isn't as poppy as.. well, pretty much everything else she's done. :-P pee-eww. Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    This was actually one of her worst albums to date (if not the worst). As a Madge fan since the very beginning I was let down and disappointed, especially with the rap features. More like CRAP features. However justice was not served for girl gone wild tsk tsk.
  26. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    Do I think this album deserves a zero? No. But I want to compensate the 10 which are given here. I think album is really worth a 3 or 4. This is definitely NOT a comeback of Madonna. I am a fan of this artist but this album brings nothing new. Everything on it has been done before AND better. No new sounds, nothing. The one song that stands out Gang Bang but this one bores after a fewDo I think this album deserves a zero? No. But I want to compensate the 10 which are given here. I think album is really worth a 3 or 4. This is definitely NOT a comeback of Madonna. I am a fan of this artist but this album brings nothing new. Everything on it has been done before AND better. No new sounds, nothing. The one song that stands out Gang Bang but this one bores after a few listenings. Its just too hollow This albums has lots of cheap comupterdrumbeats. If you take notice of the fact that she worked with the best writers and producers on this album you realize that the result cant even be described as mediocre. Expand
  27. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    Absolutely awful. This album is the most unoriginal piece of trash i've heard. It's basically her trying to seem hip and relevant by singing things like "gang bang" and basically promoting a drug. Every track sounds the same, and i'm sure most of the album was sampled from music released within the last year or so.
    All I have to say Madonna is bye.
  28. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is really bad. Having really good songs, combined with very weak songs gives you a very noticeable inconsistency. Not really digestible, it is necessary to have multiple listeners an idea of â Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. May 2, 2012
    30
    Madonna's 12th album has a good title and a nice cover, but that's almost as much as you can say in its favour. [Jun 2012, p.77]
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    40
    [The music] is not exactly bad, but has about as much creativity and passion behind it as a spreadsheet.
  3. 70
    No, MDNA can't be hailed as Madge's best ever album, and it may not contain the most thought- provoking lyrics of her career (perhaps an intentional tongue-in-cheek poke at the current state of pop music?), but it is the reigning Queen of Pop's most inspired work since Music, as well as the highly addictive record Madonna celebrants have been craving.