MDNA Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 567 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nicki Minaj and M.I.A. guest on Madonna's 12th studio album that includes production from Martin Solveig, Benny Benassi, and William Orbit, who also worked on 1998's Ray of Light.
Buy On

Top Track

Girl Gone Wild
Oh my God I am heartly sorry for having offended Thee And I detest all my sins Because I dread the loss of heaven and the pain of hell But most of... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Play loud. She's smart and she's proud.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    When it comes to partaking in pop, MDNA has easily set itself out as 2012's go-to drug of choice.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    75
    It's her best album since "Ray of Light" in 1998.
  4. 67
    While there are a few genuine moments of double-rainbow bliss here (check the "whoo-ooh!" chorus of "I'm a Sinner"), there's also real darkness lurking under the air-popped beats.
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    It [the song "I'm a Sinner"] makes you crave her next album, not this one.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    Continuing Hard Candy's pattern of awful try-hard title and 'show the young uns you've still got it' bangers, it's disappointing in its lack of ambition.
  7. Uncut
    May 2, 2012
    30
    Madonna's 12th album has a good title and a nice cover, but that's almost as much as you can say in its favour. [Jun 2012, p.77]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 170
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    I love MDNA, much better than Hard Candy.
    Best songs are "Love Spent" "Gang Bang" "Im Addicted" "Masterpiece" "Falling Free" "Im a Sinner"
    I love MDNA, much better than Hard Candy.
    Best songs are "Love Spent" "Gang Bang" "Im Addicted" "Masterpiece" "Falling Free" "Im a Sinner" "Turn up the Radio" "I **** Up" and "Beautiful Killer"
    MDNA is a great return of Madonna
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is what one expects from madonna, dance, pop, confessions, and simple but meaningful lyrics. much better than the previous hard candy.This is what one expects from madonna, dance, pop, confessions, and simple but meaningful lyrics. much better than the previous hard candy. The album goes from angry and violent to overly happy. From hyper energy dance music to some of her first ballads in 10 years. And yet the album is dividing, if you never liked madonna, you wont like this one. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best:The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best: high-energy disco mixed with soulful ballads. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    Amazing album, not perfect nor her best work, probably on pair with Confessions, some of the songs are already a classic in her career (GangAmazing album, not perfect nor her best work, probably on pair with Confessions, some of the songs are already a classic in her career (Gang Bang, I´m Addicted, Love Spent, Falling Free), only a couple of them could be considered fillers, however as I said I really like the album and it´s many styles, the whole album deserves a solid 8. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    "MDNA" is actually pretty good! It's more "pop- like" than other Madonna stuff. And one of my favorite singers, M.I.A. does a song on it,"MDNA" is actually pretty good! It's more "pop- like" than other Madonna stuff. And one of my favorite singers, M.I.A. does a song on it, called "Give Me All Your Luvin'" Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    Masterpiece and Falling Free are great sogs, and even Girl Gone Wild is good at what it's for: dance. But the others songs are silly and unemotional.
  7. Sep 23, 2017
    0
    Madonna é o prórprio lixo em forma humana! Ninguém aguenta mais essa mulher falsa, que só quer se aparecer pra mídia, mas que como pessoa, éMadonna é o prórprio lixo em forma humana! Ninguém aguenta mais essa mulher falsa, que só quer se aparecer pra mídia, mas que como pessoa, é um nojo e super forçada. Expand

See all 170 User Reviews