MDNA - Madonna
MDNA Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nicki Minaj and M.I.A. guest on Madonna's 12th studio album that includes production from Martin Solveig, Benny Benassi, and William Orbit, who also worked on 1998's Ray of Light.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Play loud. She's smart and she's proud.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    When it comes to partaking in pop, MDNA has easily set itself out as 2012's go-to drug of choice.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    75
    It's her best album since "Ray of Light" in 1998.
  4. 67
    While there are a few genuine moments of double-rainbow bliss here (check the "whoo-ooh!" chorus of "I'm a Sinner"), there's also real darkness lurking under the air-popped beats.
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    It [the song "I'm a Sinner"] makes you crave her next album, not this one.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    Continuing Hard Candy's pattern of awful try-hard title and 'show the young uns you've still got it' bangers, it's disappointing in its lack of ambition.
  7. May 2, 2012
    30
    Madonna's 12th album has a good title and a nice cover, but that's almost as much as you can say in its favour. [Jun 2012, p.77]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 158
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Many songs are great, Love Spent, Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, I'm a Sinner, Turn up the Radio, Masterpiece, Falling Free,I love this album. Many songs are great, Love Spent, Gang Bang, I'm Addicted, I'm a Sinner, Turn up the Radio, Masterpiece, Falling Free, Beautiful Killer. Nicki Minaj on "I Do not Give A" is fabulous. Great album! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    don't judge this album on its mediocre singles! this is a proper madonna album that makes you wanna sing along and dance. Best tracks on thedon't judge this album on its mediocre singles! this is a proper madonna album that makes you wanna sing along and dance. Best tracks on the album are gang bang, superstar, i don't give a, masterpiece and the magnificent falling free (plus beautiful killer from the deluxe album). Madonna back to Ray of Light standard here :D Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best:The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best: high-energy disco mixed with soulful ballads. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    As a life long madonna fan, I have to admit I approached MDNA with equal measures of excitement and apprehension. reason? i hated hard candy.As a life long madonna fan, I have to admit I approached MDNA with equal measures of excitement and apprehension. reason? i hated hard candy. thankfully, MDNA delivers - for the most part. Let's get the bad news out of the way: yes, it's true, there are quite a few unimaginative stinkers here. Give Me All Your Luvin remains one of her weakest comeback singles, and wannabe stompers like "Some Girls" and "Girl Gone Wild" try hard, but inevitably fail to lift off. good "bad" Madonna songs like "Super Star" and "Turn Up The Radio" are pleasant, but they aren't likely to set anyone on fire.
    However, that's where the bad news ends.

    When the album gets going, it's nothing short of amazing. "Gang Bang" recalls the adventurous spirit of "Impressive Instant". "I Don't Give A F", "Love Spent" and "Best Friend" give the album an emotional weight that her last few albums lacked. No prizes for correctly guessing what inspired these songs, but her eloquence in the narrative of pain is as startling as it is heartbreaking.

    And then, there are the ballads. You may have watched W.E. and hated it. Or have decided to hate the film without watching it anyway. But you can't slate the craftsanship behind "Masterpiece". It has an elegance and romantic sheen that most current hit-makers would struggle to emulate.

    To top it off, there's "Falling Free" - poetic, haunting and evocative - it's possibly the best Madonna song in years.

    Yes, MDNA is uneven and has its share of fillers and calculated shockers. But the good bits are so outstanding, it forces one to forgive its less than stellar elements. It's an album that's worth repeated listening. And one that's befitting of her stature. Most importantly, it's an album which suggests that we have every right to expect more greatness from Ms. Ciccone in the years to come.
    Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    I am a recent Madonna fan. I started to love her music when I bought Celebration. I only listened to another album which is Confessions On AI am a recent Madonna fan. I started to love her music when I bought Celebration. I only listened to another album which is Confessions On A Dancefloor. I must admit, after Confessions, I had really high expectations that MDNA did not meet. She seems to be more focused on being mad at her ex than actually jumping on the occasion to reinvent herself as an artist. This is what you get : a wannabe-dark Madonna album with a production that is clearly irrelevant. Why did it hit a 7? MDNA has a certain charm. The lack of depth in lyrics in some songs is compensated with thickly layered songs and unexpected beats. The deluxe edition is somewhat useless. The only good extra track is "Best Friend". Even though "B-Day" is clearly a wink to the audience,"Beautiful Killer" and "I F*ck*d Up" possess a few very awful lines hat ruins the whole songs and make it less believable. My favorite tracks : "Masterpiece", "Falling Free", "Best Friend", "Love Spent" (even though this one could have been better).. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    Não que MDNA seja um álbum ruim, pelo contrario bom. Mas quando se trata de Madonna tudo já esta muito saturado, as músicas não são muitoNão que MDNA seja um álbum ruim, pelo contrario bom. Mas quando se trata de Madonna tudo já esta muito saturado, as músicas não são muito originais, mas até agora os singles são comerciais, com destaque para aparição de Nicki Minaj e M.I.A. Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is really bad. Having really good songs, combined with very weak songs gives you a very noticeable inconsistency. Not really digestible, it is necessary to have multiple listeners an idea of â Expand

See all 158 User Reviews