Me Moan - Daughn Gibson
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    80
    Me Moan sounds like nothing else out there; it's completely original.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    On his debut for Sub Pop Records, Gibson comes off as a sound collage artist feverishly darting from one idea to the next.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    If you stand back and appreciate the whole, like a Monet, you will be delighted and intrigued.
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    70
    It’s exciting to listen to an artist just go for it, and that’s obviously what Me Moan is: an attempt to synthesize genres of music that don’t quite belong together.
  5. 70
    On his sophomore LP, Me Moan, Gibson manages to dig even deeper while never lifting a knee from the alters of Hank and Willie.
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    80
    Because for all the added atmospherics, the album never feels overcrowded - Daughn Gibson’s haunting baritone always shines through.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Me Moan is a remarkable record that takes a genre rooted in formulae and clichés--country--and spins it into something fresh, compelling and edgy. A stunning follow up.
  8. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    Although there are moments on the album that, despite its ambition, simply feel like fool’s gold, others—like the honky-tonk-slash-futura-disco of “Phantom Rider”--shine like veritable gold flakes.
  9. Jul 17, 2013
    70
    The production is crisper, the songs seem less abrupt, and the vocals are less murky. [No. 100, p.53]
  10. Jul 10, 2013
    70
    Me Moan is a flawed work, but even those who decide it’s not for them are likely to concede that no one else quite sounds like Gibson right now. With genuine originality at a premium these days, that’s to be wholeheartedly applauded.
  11. 80
    You might not want to run into Daughn Gibson on a lonely night, but you’d be a fool if you didn’t listen to him push things forward with such noirish flair.
  12. Jul 10, 2013
    70
    Me Moan is a challenging effort that rewards as much as it confounds, and really doesn’t bring us anywhere closer to understanding Gibson’s true guise.
  13. Jul 25, 2013
    60
    Gibson is a very talented young artist testing his limits and only occasionally stumbling.
  14. Jul 10, 2013
    63
    While All Hell felt imbued with danger and intrigue, on Me Moan, the people pulled off to highway shoulder are never in any real distress upon closer inspection. They just stepped out to check a map.
  15. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    It's strong medicine for sure, but also an astonishing record that will haunt you long after it's finished playing. [Aug 2013, p.98]
  16. Jul 9, 2013
    70
    Gibson shows he's toying with and expanding his formula.
  17. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    The melodies and rhythmic accents here hang together as decent hooks, if not poppy ones.
  18. Jul 9, 2013
    50
    On Me Moan, he stretches too far. It’s a shame, because his beautiful voice is one made for quiet crooning, not bold wailing.
  19. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    This mostly-great follow-up is occasionally waylaid by its determination to make bad instruments sound good.
  20. Jul 11, 2013
    80
    Gibson radiates confidence and a taste for the unexpected.
  21. 80
    The songs on Me Moan are steeped in sinister intimations of bad desires, wanderlust and dark secrets, essayed with varying degrees of intelligibility over arrangements that mostly eschew the commonplace.
  22. An almost comically deep, rich baritone croon, it carries echoes of Scott Walker, Nick Cave, Elvis Presley and, more prosaically, the guy from Crash Test Dummies.
  23. 80
    The album’s cohesiveness and its lush sonic range are clearly among the benefits of improved production, and Gibson has made good use of his new toys. Nevertheless, it’s impossible to ignore the fact that few of the album’s highlights quite match up to the strange magic captured by All Hell’s finest moments.
  24. 70
    The songs on Mr. Gibson’s second album, Me Moan, are dark and often elusive.
  25. 60
    Every so often, Gibson's evil Elvis bent can become a little comedic but the pitch-black pitch suits his material down to the ground.
  26. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    With its mix of deep voice and sentiment with hooks and loops the'd suit a dancefloor, Me Moan is a uniquely epic album that puts the Double O into croon.
  27. Jul 12, 2013
    50
    Unfortunately, Me Moan doesn’t really deepen Gibson’s exploration of this novel niche. Instead, it feels mostly like a country record that still has one foot in the sample-based electronic aesthetic that previously defined Gibson’s work.
  28. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Traditionally, country music and club-derived electronics make for awkward bedfellows, but it's a testament to the strength of Gibson's strange vision that Me Moan might well become a touchstone of modern-day Americana. [Aug 2013, p.66]
  29. Jul 1, 2013
    85
    The Carlisle, PA's artist's charming wordplay and gallows humor are magnified on his ambitious second album and Sub Pop debut. [Jun-Jul 2013, p.87]

There are no user reviews yet.