Mechanical Bull - Kings of Leon
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    If you love this album, you have ridiculously low expectations of what music should be. You likely compare Kings of Leon to Lady Gaga or Rhianna and think that this latest insipid offering from the Nashville quartet is somehow more credible because they wear chequered shirts and play guitars. The album is an insult to my intelligence from beginning to end, and if that wasn't enough they'veIf you love this album, you have ridiculously low expectations of what music should be. You likely compare Kings of Leon to Lady Gaga or Rhianna and think that this latest insipid offering from the Nashville quartet is somehow more credible because they wear chequered shirts and play guitars. The album is an insult to my intelligence from beginning to end, and if that wasn't enough they've even called it Mechanical Bull (translation; going through the motions garbage). "Don't Matter" could easily be a b-side that Queens of The Stone Age record when they reach their 60s."Family Tree" is a poor rehash of The Zutons "You Will You Won't", missing the sense of communion it is so blindly attempting to embrace. "Temple" contains the album's only fleeting moment of true enjoyment in an otherwise heavy, tired and extremely pointless album by a band who just don't care any more. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    4
    Eagerly anticipated, easily disappointing. I think they were going for an effortless, grand, anthemic sound here but in the end achieved something that sounds bored, lazy and bland. There is little aggression, little energy and seemingly little inspiration.'Wait For Me', 'Supersoaker', 'Temple' and 'Comeback Story' are all decent tracks, but even combined they cannot add enough punch toEagerly anticipated, easily disappointing. I think they were going for an effortless, grand, anthemic sound here but in the end achieved something that sounds bored, lazy and bland. There is little aggression, little energy and seemingly little inspiration.'Wait For Me', 'Supersoaker', 'Temple' and 'Comeback Story' are all decent tracks, but even combined they cannot add enough punch to elevate this album from it's status as a damp squib. They are not Bruce Springsteen and should stop trying to be. We have heard what they are capable of. This sounds like less than 50% of that. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    I'm not saying this album is awful, but I'm not excited about it either. It simply sounds like the Kings are getting old and settling down. This is not the restrained mastery they showed on Come Around Sundown. They really try to rock out here. I'm just not convinced anymore.
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    It's clearly that something happened during this 3 year hiatus for the Kings to lose their fire because they simply don't have it any more. The album sounds very generic and lacks the originality that their previous work has. It's just so bland and boring, It's tough to sit through. Mind you the only song I actually liked was Beautiful War. I am not saying it's a terrible album but itIt's clearly that something happened during this 3 year hiatus for the Kings to lose their fire because they simply don't have it any more. The album sounds very generic and lacks the originality that their previous work has. It's just so bland and boring, It's tough to sit through. Mind you the only song I actually liked was Beautiful War. I am not saying it's a terrible album but it certainly does not live up to expectations and is very disappointing. Collapse
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    4
    The Strokes never sounded better! Oh wait... seriously though, in a number of songs they steal plays directly out of The Strokes' playbook - which would be awesome - if they were the Strokes. I was "disappointed" by Come Around Sundown - that is to say I enjoyed it, but it was a continuation of By The Night. I heard no musical growth and nothing new, but because I liked BTN, I liked CAS,The Strokes never sounded better! Oh wait... seriously though, in a number of songs they steal plays directly out of The Strokes' playbook - which would be awesome - if they were the Strokes. I was "disappointed" by Come Around Sundown - that is to say I enjoyed it, but it was a continuation of By The Night. I heard no musical growth and nothing new, but because I liked BTN, I liked CAS, too. This album unenjoyably disappoints me. Family Tree is cool, but it is also a very standard blues number, so it isn't exactly 'new.' Really the only song that borders on intriguing is Coming Back Again. The structure and drum patterns are well written / performed. Hopefully their next album lives up to the promise they had in 08. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Occasionally frustrating and sometimes even a little soapy, Mechanical Bull has its flaws, but it also brims with personality and passion. [Oct 2013, p.104]
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    All in all, the best return to original form a stadium band can risk these days. [No. 103, p.57]
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    Mechanical Bull kicks up a tightly controlled disc that still leaves enough roots unpolished.