• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    It's clearly that something happened during this 3 year hiatus for the Kings to lose their fire because they simply don't have it any more. The album sounds very generic and lacks the originality that their previous work has. It's just so bland and boring, It's tough to sit through. Mind you the only song I actually liked was Beautiful War. I am not saying it's a terrible album but itIt's clearly that something happened during this 3 year hiatus for the Kings to lose their fire because they simply don't have it any more. The album sounds very generic and lacks the originality that their previous work has. It's just so bland and boring, It's tough to sit through. Mind you the only song I actually liked was Beautiful War. I am not saying it's a terrible album but it certainly does not live up to expectations and is very disappointing. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    4
    The Strokes never sounded better! Oh wait... seriously though, in a number of songs they steal plays directly out of The Strokes' playbook - which would be awesome - if they were the Strokes. I was "disappointed" by Come Around Sundown - that is to say I enjoyed it, but it was a continuation of By The Night. I heard no musical growth and nothing new, but because I liked BTN, I liked CAS,The Strokes never sounded better! Oh wait... seriously though, in a number of songs they steal plays directly out of The Strokes' playbook - which would be awesome - if they were the Strokes. I was "disappointed" by Come Around Sundown - that is to say I enjoyed it, but it was a continuation of By The Night. I heard no musical growth and nothing new, but because I liked BTN, I liked CAS, too. This album unenjoyably disappoints me. Family Tree is cool, but it is also a very standard blues number, so it isn't exactly 'new.' Really the only song that borders on intriguing is Coming Back Again. The structure and drum patterns are well written / performed. Hopefully their next album lives up to the promise they had in 08. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    4
    Eagerly anticipated, easily disappointing. I think they were going for an effortless, grand, anthemic sound here but in the end achieved something that sounds bored, lazy and bland. There is little aggression, little energy and seemingly little inspiration.'Wait For Me', 'Supersoaker', 'Temple' and 'Comeback Story' are all decent tracks, but even combined they cannot add enough punch toEagerly anticipated, easily disappointing. I think they were going for an effortless, grand, anthemic sound here but in the end achieved something that sounds bored, lazy and bland. There is little aggression, little energy and seemingly little inspiration.'Wait For Me', 'Supersoaker', 'Temple' and 'Comeback Story' are all decent tracks, but even combined they cannot add enough punch to elevate this album from it's status as a damp squib. They are not Bruce Springsteen and should stop trying to be. We have heard what they are capable of. This sounds like less than 50% of that. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    I'm not saying this album is awful, but I'm not excited about it either. It simply sounds like the Kings are getting old and settling down. This is not the restrained mastery they showed on Come Around Sundown. They really try to rock out here. I'm just not convinced anymore.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    6
    Ok great there back but there still fading. I recon it to watching a commit flying through the night sky. Started of great just seeing it for the first time was memorizing. Then we watch as it becomes closer and burns so bright. However as it moves past you it becomes more and more dull. This is the career of Kings of Leon. From the first lp you were drawn to them and they got better andOk great there back but there still fading. I recon it to watching a commit flying through the night sky. Started of great just seeing it for the first time was memorizing. Then we watch as it becomes closer and burns so bright. However as it moves past you it becomes more and more dull. This is the career of Kings of Leon. From the first lp you were drawn to them and they got better and bigger keeping you interested, then midway the hit the pinnacle and continued to decline. This was a failed attempt, this album needed to come across as new and edgy instead you can tell they are not able to change and evolve they have clearly gone through their ability to evolve and stay creative. They now are reminding me of ACDC everything is starting to sound the same only instead of accepting that they are ACDC they aren't willing to get creative with in the realm in which they are capable and produce hits that are entertaining. Now it seems Caleb thinks he is the next Jim Morrison with no ability to set the stage for a picture painted in that oddly Picasso style Jim did always knowing that if you looked or listened carefully you would see that the meaning was there it was just perfectly hidden. Caleb throws words together hoping to achieve some mystery meaning. But when you use hillbilly insight to create mystery you just get broken sentences with no real meaning to the rest of the world. However I indeed realize we are very low I rock and roll talent now days so we should still champion them as best we can as if it's not popcorn rap we have very little to choose from which is a terrible situation. Personally I have no use for rap and even less use for the creators of the so called music. So I'll take Kings and ride mouth till the cows come home but I'm waiting desperately for true rock and rollers to emerge. Where is our new version of Guns n Roses? Why can't we have another Pink Floyd style band or anything worthy of such praise. I think the Killers are doing great things in the genre they reside in never a lp that has the same vibe and feel. Lyrics that roll off the tongue as if you were just thinking that but never knew how to articulate it. I'll take the eighties hair bands over the lost generation of rock n roll. We currently reside in. And I'm serious. Please Kings of Leon switch up the tempo and drop the E a half note once in a while. Break up or make the next album worth the twenty nine dollars on the only form worth buying vinyl with a poster and a sticker or a patch or something. What happened to Kiss? They set the stage for making the fan feel like a part of the group and even these bands that have success can't follow the formula. Make us feel like we matter give us something to care about. The world is going to hell in a hand basket can't you give us the small temporary relief ewe all desire? If only for fifteen minutes we will take it we will love it. Just give us something. But make it original on to it's self! Over all album grade B- needed a hit man! I'm being generous based on lack of competition! Really in different times C-. One last thing why is David Gray not the superstar he deserves to be? If. You haven't listened to David's first four lps please do yourself a favor and buy the records or CDs but please don't "download" them! Make these artist work for your money let them give you a full experience buy the record. It's all about back to black! The gatefold the inner lyrics sleeve the art work. Think about how many good jobs come from record sales no more money to these computer geeks! Bring back the vinyl! Thanks and take care. I'm ready for any backlash from my honest assessment! I'll leave you with this. From my book of lyrics. "In this day and age, we got kids killing kids, parents won't take the blame, they want to blame it on the TV set and video games, it's a rage... Yeah it's a rage..." Peace the Diamond. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Occasionally frustrating and sometimes even a little soapy, Mechanical Bull has its flaws, but it also brims with personality and passion. [Oct 2013, p.104]
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    All in all, the best return to original form a stadium band can risk these days. [No. 103, p.57]
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    Mechanical Bull kicks up a tightly controlled disc that still leaves enough roots unpolished.