Mechanical Bull

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Mechanical Bull Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a three year hiatus, the rock band formed by four brothers return with its sixth full-length studio release produced by Angelo Petraglia.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Uncut
    Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Kings of Leon zeroed in on their gifts for visceral rock grooves and soaring hooks--lifting standout tracks on their sixth album to a Springsteen-like level of gritty grandeur. [Oct 2013, p.70]
  2. 83
    Mechanical Bull finds the Tennessee rockers recapturing the white-lightning-in-a-bottle spark that made their early stuff so fun.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    Mechanical Bull kicks up a tightly controlled disc that still leaves enough roots unpolished.
  4. 70
    By design, Mechanical Bull was made for fun, and in that spirit, they succeeded.
  5. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Occasionally frustrating and sometimes even a little soapy, Mechanical Bull has its flaws, but it also brims with personality and passion. [Oct 2013, p.104]
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    The most exciting thing that can be said for the remaining tracks is that they're less maudlin than last time around.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    40
    It feels mechanical, a band on auto-pilot, going through the motions of songwriting and recording but with their hearts elsewhere.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I think it's an amazing album and it deserve better critics thanI think it's an amazing album and it deserve better critics than that..........................................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    A fantastic return to form for Kings of Leon. After the slightly underwhelming "Come around Sundown" Fans were looking for that spark ofA fantastic return to form for Kings of Leon. After the slightly underwhelming "Come around Sundown" Fans were looking for that spark of excitement that used to plague the bands music. Mechanical bull is the hybrid of what made the select few gems on come around sundown great and the intense lyrics that made Youth and young manhood so exciting. The stand out songs for me were "Coming back again" and "Work on Me" (only in the deluxe edition) Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    Their 10 year anniversary album. "Coming Back Again!" I love this album. It rocks. Caleb's voice has matured very nicely and the guys look soTheir 10 year anniversary album. "Coming Back Again!" I love this album. It rocks. Caleb's voice has matured very nicely and the guys look so sexy still !!! Expand
  4. May 26, 2014
    8
    First off - to be honest to me as a first time supporter of the Kings, when they still dragged the instruments up and down Main Road inFirst off - to be honest to me as a first time supporter of the Kings, when they still dragged the instruments up and down Main Road in Nashville earning some pocket money by hitting the tip jars, was kind of disappointed by them taking the wrong turn from the first 2 albums onto Everybody's Darling Lane. "Come Around Sundown" gave back some belief to all the heartbroken shakers out there, though.

    The dear reader forgives me my extended introduction and to answer the question where I am going with this. I have to confess that I am slowly falling in love with this record. Its not about analysing every single song or shed a tear over Caleb's rehabilitation of a lost soul - "Don't Matter" to me as well. I catch myself listening to certain songs over and over again and start singing them along from the "Temple' of my heart.

    When did this ever happen to me with their recent records I ask myself and what does this tell me about the "Mechanical Bull" - 2 things:

    1. Worst titled album ever (by KoL)
    2. Best (balanced) album they delivered in years

    Whether you agree with me or not. Put yourself to the test - listen to this album and take it as you have never heard about Kings of Leon before, do not compare it to their earlier work, do not judge about their stardom behaviour and blank out the hype. Just listen and find the answer for yourself. I will go on to put my hopes for good rock music into these guys cause they made feel like walking pass that bar in Nashville again. I can hear myself saying "Wait for me" because - It's all better now.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    I thought this album was good, but that's all it was. It was not great. The songs themselves were good but I didn't find they were veryI thought this album was good, but that's all it was. It was not great. The songs themselves were good but I didn't find they were very memorable, especially considering many of their other very memorable songs. After listening to the whole album, I thought it was decent but I couldn't recall what any of the songs even sounded like except for Super Soaker. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/kings-of-leon-mechanical-bull-review.html

    'While 'Mechanical Bull' is as solid and slick as the
    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/kings-of-leon-mechanical-bull-review.html

    'While 'Mechanical Bull' is as solid and slick as the last two records, it is also just as predictable. Their latest album is the third album that has reinforced one of my long held quiet beliefs- that growing up is good, but youth and young manhood is great.'

    Read why I gave it a 7 at length on my review.
    Collapse
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    If you love this album, you have ridiculously low expectations of what music should be. You likely compare Kings of Leon to Lady Gaga orIf you love this album, you have ridiculously low expectations of what music should be. You likely compare Kings of Leon to Lady Gaga or Rhianna and think that this latest insipid offering from the Nashville quartet is somehow more credible because they wear chequered shirts and play guitars. The album is an insult to my intelligence from beginning to end, and if that wasn't enough they've even called it Mechanical Bull (translation; going through the motions garbage). "Don't Matter" could easily be a b-side that Queens of The Stone Age record when they reach their 60s."Family Tree" is a poor rehash of The Zutons "You Will You Won't", missing the sense of communion it is so blindly attempting to embrace. "Temple" contains the album's only fleeting moment of true enjoyment in an otherwise heavy, tired and extremely pointless album by a band who just don't care any more. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews