Mechanical Bull - Kings of Leon
Mechanical Bull Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a three year hiatus, the rock band formed by four brothers return with its sixth full-length studio release produced by Angelo Petraglia.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Kings of Leon zeroed in on their gifts for visceral rock grooves and soaring hooks--lifting standout tracks on their sixth album to a Springsteen-like level of gritty grandeur. [Oct 2013, p.70]
  2. 83
    Mechanical Bull finds the Tennessee rockers recapturing the white-lightning-in-a-bottle spark that made their early stuff so fun.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    Mechanical Bull kicks up a tightly controlled disc that still leaves enough roots unpolished.
  4. 70
    By design, Mechanical Bull was made for fun, and in that spirit, they succeeded.
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Occasionally frustrating and sometimes even a little soapy, Mechanical Bull has its flaws, but it also brims with personality and passion. [Oct 2013, p.104]
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    The most exciting thing that can be said for the remaining tracks is that they're less maudlin than last time around.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    40
    It feels mechanical, a band on auto-pilot, going through the motions of songwriting and recording but with their hearts elsewhere.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I think it's an amazing album and it deserve better critics than that..........................................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    A great Kings of Leon album A musical bridge between the firsts albums and the 2 latest. But don't try to analyse the musical quality, just enjoy it and Caleb's voice. Simply brilliant !
    Hard to choose the best songs as different styles but definitively not a bad one within the 13 tracks of the Deluxe album.
    Don't matter, Coming back again, Temple are my favorite songs, but just because we have to pick up some, as they're all good and this album deserves worldwide success !
    KOL are back
    Collapse
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Simply put A very good album, this album has brought them back to their best after Come Around Sundown was a bit of a let down. The best 2 songs I think are Comeback Story and Tonight, although it is hard to pick as there are so many good songs on this album. Well done Kings Of Leon. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Great album, much better than Come Around Sundown. Yes they are a different kind of Kings Of Leon from the one that made Aha Shake Heartbreak best album for me) but the album has the typical south-rock-alternative sound that make Kings unique. Best track Coming Back Again. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    I thought this album was good, but that's all it was. It was not great. The songs themselves were good but I didn't find they were very memorable, especially considering many of their other very memorable songs. After listening to the whole album, I thought it was decent but I couldn't recall what any of the songs even sounded like except for Super Soaker. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    Nice album. After two really really bad albums, fulfilled with cheesy power-ballads made for teenage little girls, they finally released something a lil bit more exciting and more guitar-driven than their previous two awful albums. Temple is my favourite song, it reminds me of California Waiting on Youth & Young Manhood. Their first single is also catchy, and has that sound from Aha Shake. Coming Back Again is another highlight of the album, and don't forget Don't Matter, my second favourite, which has that raw and rocker sound like that single from their 3rd album (Charmer) although a little bit softer than that. I recommend the 2 bonus tracks, they're nice. I didn't like any ballads on the album, that's why I'm givin' it a 7 (I really liked 7 tracks on the album). Anyway, their first two albums are still my favourite and the best from their catalogue. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    If you love this album, you have ridiculously low expectations of what music should be. You likely compare Kings of Leon to Lady Gaga or Rhianna and think that this latest insipid offering from the Nashville quartet is somehow more credible because they wear chequered shirts and play guitars. The album is an insult to my intelligence from beginning to end, and if that wasn't enough they've even called it Mechanical Bull (translation; going through the motions garbage). "Don't Matter" could easily be a b-side that Queens of The Stone Age record when they reach their 60s."Family Tree" is a poor rehash of The Zutons "You Will You Won't", missing the sense of communion it is so blindly attempting to embrace. "Temple" contains the album's only fleeting moment of true enjoyment in an otherwise heavy, tired and extremely pointless album by a band who just don't care any more. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews