User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 79
  2. Negative: 8 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joris
    Apr 5, 2006
    5
    More of the same pathos, they made a boring formula out of themselves... and that's a pitty for a band that was once very good, now I can't even stand Brain's voice anymore, always drowned in those same guitarlayers+synth/sound... though on some songs like INFRA-RED or Song To Say Goodbye e.g. they still prove they can write some decent and exciting rocksongs
  2. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    5
    Just boring and not important. Buy "Black Market Music" instead "Meds".
  3. FredericoM
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    Good all around cd.
  4. AliM
    Apr 6, 2006
    5
    Zzzzzzzzzzz. Sounds just like every other record Placebo have ever released - it sounds kinda catchy at first but wears thin very quickly.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2006
    1
    Big transgressive work. Sad.
  6. ErnstS.L
    Apr 11, 2006
    6
    above average. just that.
  7. Matt
    Apr 11, 2006
    2
    Just a highly annoying CD. They have lost everything that made them a little interesting.
  8. suede
    Apr 10, 2006
    0
    meds is worst album of the 2006. all songs are boring. yeah, Infra-Red is good but other songs are so stupid.
  9. EricO
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Their best album.. "Follow the Cops Back Home" is an instant Placebo classic.
  10. vermindeathstack
    Apr 4, 2006
    7
    Good, but not their best.
  11. LanaBo-Bana
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    amazing songs, beautiful lyrics....best i've heard.
  12. sAND
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Absolutely wonderful effort to make a perfect album. Worth every penny.
  13. RobertJ
    Apr 6, 2006
    2
    actually it should be "oh, these guys are still together?/10". they need to add that option to the dropbox.
  14. SoupS
    Apr 7, 2006
    0
    I wish there was more to this band than their image. But all the bisexual-goffick-singing-about-gay-sex posturing in the world won't save a band who writes songs as utterly boring as this one.
  15. MarcoM
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Very addictive album, does not mesure up to their previous ones but this is not far from great.
  16. CianH
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    This is by far Placebos best album. They have found the perfect blend between soft, heavy, slow and fast songs. The tracks come varied, after the fantastic opening track you get an instant Placebo classic, Infra-Red. Broken Promise and Follow The Cops Back Home slow the album down and both make for easy listening. Michael Stipe featuring on Broken Promise is a great addition. The two This is by far Placebos best album. They have found the perfect blend between soft, heavy, slow and fast songs. The tracks come varied, after the fantastic opening track you get an instant Placebo classic, Infra-Red. Broken Promise and Follow The Cops Back Home slow the album down and both make for easy listening. Michael Stipe featuring on Broken Promise is a great addition. The two singles are great tracks too and overall the album is very polished. This is Molko, Olsdal and Hewitt at their best. A must for all Placebo fans like me. Expand
  17. MaskY
    Apr 9, 2006
    5
    their weakest album so far. I hope they split soon...
  18. AdrianoC
    May 10, 2006
    9
    It contains quite a few surprises, such as some epic songs. It's immediate and very catchy; maybe the best album Molko & co. have ever done.
  19. Massimo
    May 6, 2006
    7
    That'not bad!
  20. AndrewA
    Jun 3, 2006
    4
    Placebo's worst album so far. A bad version of Sleeping With Ghosts. It doesn't have the energy nor the beauty that characterized Placebo's earlier works
  21. Durandall
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Very good lyrics and songs, all f their Albums are great but this one is the best. Basically all are good songs except one of a kinds that its just ok.
  22. MortenO
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    for me this is the perfect album. I saw them at Roskilde and they blow me away....
  23. logans
    Oct 20, 2006
    2
    Have placebo given up entirely? There hasn't been a whole lot of variety when it comes to their music but at least in the previous albums they sounded they were trying to experiment and evolve. With this album, it sounds like they decided to give up on that and write nothing but simple, catchy pop songs that make it easy for DJs to remix for nightclubs. Too easy in fact. This is Have placebo given up entirely? There hasn't been a whole lot of variety when it comes to their music but at least in the previous albums they sounded they were trying to experiment and evolve. With this album, it sounds like they decided to give up on that and write nothing but simple, catchy pop songs that make it easy for DJs to remix for nightclubs. Too easy in fact. This is Placebo at their most formulaic and predictable. When you can guess the tempo changes during and between songs, and often the lyrics a couple lines ahead, it is clear they are merely going through the motions. I want to know when they are going to put out a "boy band" video in the vein of the Backstreet Boys. That is all they really are now, a boy band, albeit a dark, broody one at that. Expand
  24. Brian
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    have to say that as a huge placebo fan i was very apprehensive about Meds and when i first took a listen to this, i was hoping for a really strong album, which was reminiscent of their earlier work. Although 'Meds' isn't quite what i expected, it is a wonderful album. It's so versatile,it has the up-tempo punky/goth pop numbers, the gut wrenching slower numbers, the have to say that as a huge placebo fan i was very apprehensive about Meds and when i first took a listen to this, i was hoping for a really strong album, which was reminiscent of their earlier work. Although 'Meds' isn't quite what i expected, it is a wonderful album. It's so versatile,it has the up-tempo punky/goth pop numbers, the gut wrenching slower numbers, the experimental tracks. Even the two collaborations work fantastically, when these things can often go horribly wrong. There is a real progression in Placebo's work, both lyrically, vocally and musically, and a more mature side of the band undoubtedly emerges in this album. It's also a real grower, and though is not their best work to date, is still a very worthy purchase when you consider some of the awful 'music' which is currently polluting our air-waves, Placebo really do have a timeless quality, and this album is probably one of their best critically received albums, much more so than SWG.... also really looking forward to hearing the tracks live. Standout tracks for me are Infra-red, Space Monkey, Follow The Cops Back Home, Post Blue, song to say goodbye and Because I Want You. Think they will be great at oxegen Expand
  25. BenMc
    Apr 19, 2006
    8
    'Meds' 'Space Monkey' 'Follow the Cops Back Home' and 'Post Blue' are fantastic, most of the others are quite listenable, but I find first single 'Because I Want You' the only real disappointment here. Placebo fans will love it.
  26. DecepticonPom
    Apr 21, 2006
    6
    A bit of alright, I suppose. There will be much better and much worse albo's out this year. But finishing the albo with the lead single (Song To Say Goodbye) is a rare bold move.
  27. LJDee
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    A very solid album and a good evolution from recent work. The first 6 songs are truly marvellous and respect the Placebo style... A must for Placebo fans and definately a good starter album for non-fans looking for a unique sound and superb guitars.
  28. borgy
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    "Meds" is a fantastic Placebo album, it has the type of songs we've come to expect and love from Placebo "Infra-Red", "Because I Want You", "One Of A Kind" and the more new direction numbers such as "Song to Say Goodbye", "Follow The Cops Back Home", "Post Blue" (with it's completely awesome guitar riff) and "Pierrot The Clown". The lyrics are more straight forward and to the "Meds" is a fantastic Placebo album, it has the type of songs we've come to expect and love from Placebo "Infra-Red", "Because I Want You", "One Of A Kind" and the more new direction numbers such as "Song to Say Goodbye", "Follow The Cops Back Home", "Post Blue" (with it's completely awesome guitar riff) and "Pierrot The Clown". The lyrics are more straight forward and to the point this time around so you can't dig into the album expecting lyrical poetry like on "Without You Im Nothing" (an album that's always brought up every time Placebo release a new record and that's what the latest Placebo record out at the time is usually compared to.) these 2 albums are worlds apart as well as 8 years apart, so any comparisons are unfair now, because this is the sound of a new different Placebo. Chances are if you really liked "Sleeping With Ghosts" and got into them with that record (like I did) you'll like this album more, because believe it or not 5 albums into their career they show no signs of a "dry spell" and the band sounds more alive then they did on "Sleeping With Ghosts". So basically if I was to say 1 bad thing about this album, it would be the cover art looks horrible, well that blurred line does where the text is written, I think that takes away any artistic statement the album was trying to make, and sadly it ruins Placebo's great cover art run, it's about the music and that's the true, but with Placebo I've always felt it's been about the complete package cover art as well, but ah well, they are on fire with the music, so tiny things don't count... no disappointment here. Expand
  29. jasonw
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Sensationally good songs - if the new Muse album is half as good, it'll be worth it.
  30. MilosF
    May 16, 2006
    9
    The best lyrics so far. Eventhough all the songs sound pretty much the same, Placebo managed to produce a post-modernistic novel starting from Meds and ending with Song to say goodbye. It
  31. JamalS
    May 2, 2006
    6
    A thoroughly uninspired album from a band that I try so hard to love. Buy their best of or Sleeping With Ghosts before touching this album.
  32. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    6
    Brian Molko is still quite taken with his *scandalous* androgyny and sexuality. It's a pity no one else is.
  33. ReviewBoy15
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    Placebo are the most original band out there at the moment. This album shows off their talent for writng a kind of haunting / take-u-over style of music. Entirely unique. P.S : As a huge fan of placebo I have to point out one of my favourite albums of my collection is the album "once more with feeling", which is a compilation of all placebo's best singles before "meds", and it is an Placebo are the most original band out there at the moment. This album shows off their talent for writng a kind of haunting / take-u-over style of music. Entirely unique. P.S : As a huge fan of placebo I have to point out one of my favourite albums of my collection is the album "once more with feeling", which is a compilation of all placebo's best singles before "meds", and it is an absolute treasure. If you can find it, BUY IT. Expand
  34. TheMedium
    Jun 12, 2007
    1
    Predictable, one-dimensional, bollocks. Granted, spotty teenagers who dress in black and aren
  35. pauld.
    Jul 15, 2007
    4
    no way near as good as there early stuff.
  36. Shinya
    Apr 25, 2006
    8
    Great album and keeps growing on me more and more.
  37. manoss
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    All 13 songs are pleasant to hear except tracks 11,12. Some of them are really great like "because i want u" and "broken promise". A solid album
  38. chrisk
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    While it may not be shattering any new musical boundries, but nor do my favourite pair of jeans set a new fashion statement - but to me both feelooksound good. I have ended up listening to this album more than perhaps any other this year. It is darkly poigniant and gorgeous. I think Placebo may be one of the best bands still doing great music after 5 CDs.
  39. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Meds has got an energy and freshness that wasn't quite present on the bands previous albums since Without You I'm Nothing. Although far from perfect, it's got some great stuff on it and it's probably Placebo's best produced album. In the Cold Light of Morning is the only track I really don't like - it's dreary B-Side material at best.. Every other track has it's merits. There are someMeds has got an energy and freshness that wasn't quite present on the bands previous albums since Without You I'm Nothing. Although far from perfect, it's got some great stuff on it and it's probably Placebo's best produced album. In the Cold Light of Morning is the only track I really don't like - it's dreary B-Side material at best.. Every other track has it's merits. There are some average tracks with good parts to them but there are also a lot of great tracks. Because I Want You and Follow the Cops Back Home are the highlights for me. The title track works really well with VV from the Kills guesting. Michael Stipes appearance is wasted on Broken Promise - it's an ok song but there is no room for Stipe to add anything extra to the track. Expand
  40. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    The best album since Without You I'm Nothing, and the best album of hte decade, an classic album, have all the energy, have it all,is an album with no mistakes, is the perfect album that the old fans should have
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Piles on near-emo levels of deep feelings over a plush bed of New Order synth beats and echoey atmospherics. [6 Apr 2006, p.69]
  2. Molko still manages to carry songs with his affected, nasal delivery as the band provides a steady backbone.
  3. Meds is as bare and honest as Placebo has ever been.