Meds - Placebo
Meds Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Michael Stipe and VW (The Kills) guest on the UK band's first album in three years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. As sleek and assured as anything the trio have done.
  2. Secure, self-aware and even funny, this could well be the masterpiece they've always promised to make. [11 Mar 2006, p.43]
  3. Molko still manages to carry songs with his affected, nasal delivery as the band provides a steady backbone.
  4. 60
    A third of these songs can rightly be claimed as classic Placebo pop. [Apr 2006, p.106]
  5. Piles on near-emo levels of deep feelings over a plush bed of New Order synth beats and echoey atmospherics. [6 Apr 2006, p.69]
  6. If you are able to ignore the lyrics, you'll be rewarded: the choruses on Meds are catchy.
  7. 40
    The endless drug references now seem calculating rather than risque, while the daft lyrics simply grate. [Apr 2006, p.106]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    The best album since Without You I'm Nothing, and the best album of hte decade, an classic album, have all the energy, have it all,is an albumThe best album since Without You I'm Nothing, and the best album of hte decade, an classic album, have all the energy, have it all,is an album with no mistakes, is the perfect album that the old fans should have Expand
  2. sAND
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Absolutely wonderful effort to make a perfect album. Worth every penny.
  3. MortenO
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    for me this is the perfect album. I saw them at Roskilde and they blow me away....
  4. FredericoM
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    Good all around cd.
  5. DecepticonPom
    Apr 21, 2006
    6
    A bit of alright, I suppose. There will be much better and much worse albo's out this year. But finishing the albo with the lead single A bit of alright, I suppose. There will be much better and much worse albo's out this year. But finishing the albo with the lead single (Song To Say Goodbye) is a rare bold move. Expand
  6. AliM
    Apr 6, 2006
    5
    Zzzzzzzzzzz. Sounds just like every other record Placebo have ever released - it sounds kinda catchy at first but wears thin very quickly.
  7. SoupS
    Apr 7, 2006
    0
    I wish there was more to this band than their image. But all the bisexual-goffick-singing-about-gay-sex posturing in the world won't I wish there was more to this band than their image. But all the bisexual-goffick-singing-about-gay-sex posturing in the world won't save a band who writes songs as utterly boring as this one. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews