User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 176

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShaunH
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    Having been a Bjork fan for a long time before this CD I loved her work but was never 100% satisfied with complete albums. This time around I was amazed at how much I loved every bit of the album. I've listened to it already many times. Unlike others I find Where is the Line to be one of the weaker tracks... for best listening I found Oceania, Submarine and The Pleasure is all Mine Having been a Bjork fan for a long time before this CD I loved her work but was never 100% satisfied with complete albums. This time around I was amazed at how much I loved every bit of the album. I've listened to it already many times. Unlike others I find Where is the Line to be one of the weaker tracks... for best listening I found Oceania, Submarine and The Pleasure is all Mine as well as Vokuro. Expand
  2. AndrewC
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Paradoxically both challenging and accessible, breathtaking and full of breathing, heavy and as light as air travelling throat a throat. Album of the year, so far.
  3. Andy[en-die]
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    I LOVE ART!
  4. Sucka
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Doesn't need the "hey, it's just voices" gimmick at all -- it stands on the merits of the sound. The best album I've heard this year.
  5. WangT
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    For an artist whose previous 4 albums are all masterpieces of eletronic pop music, my expectation of Bjork's 5th album is very hight, and strangely, Medulla is way beyond my expectation! Bjork's music is always a hybrid of pop, avant garde, experimental art with enough marketing calculation. However, having built a highly successful (profitable) career, Bjork seems to have For an artist whose previous 4 albums are all masterpieces of eletronic pop music, my expectation of Bjork's 5th album is very hight, and strangely, Medulla is way beyond my expectation! Bjork's music is always a hybrid of pop, avant garde, experimental art with enough marketing calculation. However, having built a highly successful (profitable) career, Bjork seems to have finally freed from the need to satisfy to mass, and begun to work according to her own indulgence. The concept, a pop album consisted of mostly human voices, seems so weird at first, but I am shocked how Bjork collected all the voices and programmed them to a collection of accessible songs without losing any pop sensibility. An unique accomplishment. Expand
  6. rocketman70
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    Excellent record-One of Bjork's best (which is saying a lot). Requires multiple listens to truly appreciate the artistry of it. A fine and unusual effort
  7. DwightV
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    I am a longtime fan of Bjork (despite my age 18)and did not know what to expect. At first I was a little weirded out. But you have to give it a chance. And when you give it that chance you'll see that it is the most unique, passionate album of our times
  8. KojoO
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    just listen to triumph of the heart in the dark then you will know what sound is.
  9. reis_la_reis
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    An absolute gem. Muscially inclined as she is, she's also a genius. I love this album to it's depths. From the intriguiing Pleasure is all mine to the dark dancy Triumph of a heart, Bjork has actually met the expectation all her previous works set ridiculously high standards for. WONDERFUL!
  10. peter
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    This CD took me a few days to understand... I couldn't keep track of the melodies and it seemed to glide over me. Now that it's finally "clicked", I'm having a tough time listening to more mainstream music. Great album - just give it time, and don't let your expectations for what you think it should sound like stand in the way of really hearing it.
  11. gorans.
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    One of the most defining, mind-blowing experiences I've had this year - and it's been a great year. And by the end of the third track, I alerady knew it would be that - so the impact with me was far more instant than most others, and if it grows on me any further, it might become my absolute, all-time favorite album. It's certainly her most ethnic and experimental work yet, One of the most defining, mind-blowing experiences I've had this year - and it's been a great year. And by the end of the third track, I alerady knew it would be that - so the impact with me was far more instant than most others, and if it grows on me any further, it might become my absolute, all-time favorite album. It's certainly her most ethnic and experimental work yet, but it's also her most ethereal and entrancing. Expand
  12. monicak
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    meticulous,mesmerizing,beautiful
  13. RafaelH
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    i think post and homogenic will always be her best albums, but this one came real close... and maybe it will grow on me like those other two did and became such favorites... mouth's cradle is just gorgeous.. pleasure is all mine, who is it.. oceania... vokuro... where is the line.. triumph of a heart... so many great songs in here!
  14. JoeyM
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Jaw droppingly beautiful. Just keeps getting better the more I listen to it.
  15. Ronald
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    A difficult album it rewards repeated listening. I absoultely love it. Bjork is a true genius.
  16. FrankO
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    Her best album yet, hands down.
  17. SarahC
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    Both the most complicated and simplistic Bjork album yet! I cant wait for the remixes (hopefully) to follow!!!! Best Album of the year!!!!!
  18. BrandonS.
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    Holy wow! What greatness, 10 10 10. I used to hate those beatbox kids (Rahzel) and thought it would deplete from the potential of the album, but now I love those crazy guys! Some of these pieces hint at a sort of Portishead feel which is awesome. If Bjork stays in this direction she will be the champion. Pick this one up pals, best bjork to date.
  19. BlakeW
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    Beautiful. With each listen it gets better. The Desired Constellation has been achieved....
  20. RobertD
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    This album is both grand as it is humble. Björk has truly managed to keep herself through the entire process.
  21. marina
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    The main argument against it is " it's too dificult. heavy to the head, rare"... But we could also call it " elaborate, misterious, creative"... not everyone can understand music of this level, but once you do you just love it.
  22. JorgeH
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    I just want to say that Bjork is by far the most original artist out there in any catagory. Mouth's cradle is my favorite track of all time. In an industry of fast pop and everyone trying to be ghetto now she took the "trip hop" and applied it to "where is the line"/"who is it"/and "Thriumph of the heart" and meshed her unique style flawlessly to all the other collaborators. The I just want to say that Bjork is by far the most original artist out there in any catagory. Mouth's cradle is my favorite track of all time. In an industry of fast pop and everyone trying to be ghetto now she took the "trip hop" and applied it to "where is the line"/"who is it"/and "Thriumph of the heart" and meshed her unique style flawlessly to all the other collaborators. The grunting and whailing in "ANSESTORS" by tanya tagaq just raises the hairs in the back of my neck, I think it just taps into your soul and stirrs all sorts of emotions. Basically this album is a masterpiece and to those who gave it a low rating.... you need to listen to Britney Spears maybe she can fufill your simple and rubbish taste in music. Expand
  23. NseE
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    If you like your music all sugary and fluff with no substance, this isn't for you. Another amazing collection from Bjork, unlike anything else you'll hear this year. Standouts include the ambient 'Oceania', the stomping 'Triumph of a heart', the haunting 'Pleasure is all mine', 'Desired constellation', and 'Mouth's cradle'.
  24. bobby
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Far reaching, emotional, yet so current. Keep pushing those boundaries my dame.
  25. LeonardoF
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    It sounds we're listening the album from inside her head, simply fantastic!
  26. MartinZ
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    This is an art work!
  27. Julian
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    Stairway to the roots...amazing musical experience.
  28. ChristyneB
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    "Pleasure is all mine" and "Vokuró" are so deep. Medúlla is dark and sensitive; 100% human. All that yelling and the weird noises are just perfect fot Björk's evolution. Great album!
  29. LockneO
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    "Medulla" is Bjork's attempt to make music without instruments works amazingly! It seems to me that "Debut" is her only album I don't feel is unbelievable. "Medulla" is dark in a way that makes you feel relaxed. "Desired Constellation" and "Mouth's Cradle" are personally my favorite tracks because they're so deep...
  30. FrancoisL
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Este disco es una maravilla! Escuchando sus dos ultimos discos... ya no se puede volver a escuchar los primeros... Los dos ultimos discos son tan buenos que hacen que sus tres primeros parezcan basura, cuando son geniales.
  31. PaulaL
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    Bjork is probably the best artist there is nowadays. She is so unique, and original, and it works perfectly. This is shown in Medulla, something totally unexpected and totally different. It is music so pure that it is so beautiful. Her voice is amazing and the other vocal sounds are spectacular.
  32. GabrielaV
    May 18, 2006
    10
    It's one of those great albums that doesn't happen twice in a lifetime. Some fans might hate it, but I can say honestly: Is daring, charming, unique, fantastic... It takes you in a magical trip through heaven, earth and all oceans... In every single song.
  33. JuliaA
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    one of the most real artists in the world.this album is a real genious masterpiece.I enjoyed her solo albums since Debut,being really hooked up with Homogenic,and eventually mesmerized by Medulla.I can't wait what she's going to show up with on her next album...
  34. AnthonyE.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    This album induces euphoria. I think all Bjork albums are capable of doing that though.
  35. CouganS.
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    Bjork's best album to date. Original, mind-blowing, emotional, beautiful. Gorgeous.
  36. JonathanH
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    Bjork's best album since Post, always interesting, gripping and very strange. In this world of same ole same ole she's giving us something quite different.
  37. KyleA.
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    Beautifully emotional--one of her best albums. Who needs instrumentation? Bjork proves she doesn't with this amazing effort.
  38. redelement
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    this is an amazing album... i had to listen to it again before i really fell in love with it though
  39. KevinW
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    Ravishing, sumptuous, and exhilirating are just a few of the adjective one could use to describe this oh so successful experiment. Bjork has really topped herself this time in creating an album that not only pushes the bounds of technology, music, and poetry, but created her most immediatly accessible album since Post.
  40. EstebanV.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This album was constructed to perfection the interludes work great and set a calm mood for the stronger upcoming tracks, like Show Me Forgiveness leads to the darkest song and probably the best Where is the Line?. If you are open-minded about music Medulla is a classic and songs like Ancestors can be appreciated. The most complex songs make her voice stand out like in Mouth's Cradle.
  41. VictorL.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    My fav Bjork album!Very brave,unique,complex...The only song I don't like is Ancestors.
  42. PanosK.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Totally mind-blowing!!!!This album sounds more arresting and beautiful than a whole orchestra. It's so brilliant in its simplicity from the very first listen. Might be her best work!
  43. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Medulla is certainly Bjork's most inventicve album, and, in turn, her best so far. On par with Vespertine's introverted, soft beat filled songs, Medula's a capella songs are truly captivating. While it may take a while to get accustomed to all the 'a-a-as' and the various Bjorkified shrieks, it's definitely worthwhile. This is the only, truly, inventive album I own. Fabulous.
  44. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Beautiful deep sounds of ancient (anatomic, anthemic!) humanity,,, Perfect combination of personal views and expanding spaces of mind;by going to deepest parts of body collages through history and future... And I really desired constelation!
  45. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    It is a record that proves Bjork's voice as one of the best in the music industry. The beats and strings are a real lack, but her finest tones of vocalization drives us into the soul of her marrow, and the storytelling behind the lyrics is improved at each song. The humanity she always sings for is in a 'state of grace' in this album, producing deep thoughts. Bold and shining, it's herIt is a record that proves Bjork's voice as one of the best in the music industry. The beats and strings are a real lack, but her finest tones of vocalization drives us into the soul of her marrow, and the storytelling behind the lyrics is improved at each song. The humanity she always sings for is in a 'state of grace' in this album, producing deep thoughts. Bold and shining, it's her best effort of the last decade. Expand
  46. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    There are decisions to be made, consciously or subconsciously, by each individual listener. Is it humanizing to use people as instruments, or is it dehumanizing? Does the menace sublimated to varying degrees in each song represent an unusual honesty about the human condition, or does it only serve to further solidify Björk's image as a devoted eccentric? Neither choice isThere are decisions to be made, consciously or subconsciously, by each individual listener. Is it humanizing to use people as instruments, or is it dehumanizing? Does the menace sublimated to varying degrees in each song represent an unusual honesty about the human condition, or does it only serve to further solidify Björk's image as a devoted eccentric? Neither choice is wrong. What both sides of any argument will have to agree upon is the powerful sense of immediacy that Björk has achieved. It took me two more listens after the initial three to stop scrutinizing each vocal element as I would the chorus in a pop song. Even after the urge is suppressed, it subconsciously remains -- each "instrument", being explicitly human, demands our constant attention. This is initially very uncomfortable, but it gradually works its way down to strange and beautiful. Your first experience of "Where is the Line" will be of a song that is aggressively strange and threatening. By play number ten -- and you must listen to this song an absolute minimum of ten times, as soon as possible -- you'll realize that it's just a texturally fascinating bit of cinema with an emphasis on the contrast between Björk's high voice and some shockingly deep backing vocals. When the electronic distortion hits, goosebumps will rise, no matter how many times you've heard it -- but the first time, you'll be frightened that they might burst. The song clearly has it in for you...until it doesn't any more, at which point it's simply titillating and fun. Expand
  47. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Overall, I consider Medúlla to be Björk's best and most refined work because it's fearlessly original and innovative. Other than that, this album lacks instrumentation but instead, the usage of orchestral choirs and layered vocals revolutionize the third wave of music evolution after the classical and pop/rock periods. If you're looking forward to a novelty orOverall, I consider Medúlla to be Björk's best and most refined work because it's fearlessly original and innovative. Other than that, this album lacks instrumentation but instead, the usage of orchestral choirs and layered vocals revolutionize the third wave of music evolution after the classical and pop/rock periods. If you're looking forward to a novelty or even soothingly haunting, this album is for you. The strongest highlights on this album are "Pleasure Is All Mine," "Who Is It (Carry My Joy on the Left, Carry My Pain on the Right)", "Oceania," and "Submarine." I also give kudos to the high and mighty Björk for her well-crafted and non-repetitive songwriting, a breakaway from the boundaries of generic pop. Expand
  48. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    One of the best experimental records ever made. A beautiful blend of contemporary classical music, convincing pop music, choral arrangements and brutal electronic touches, it touches on the very core of musicality present in humans. The lyrics here, for the first time, become literally visceral and excruciatinglly human. Some of the songs (Who is it?, Triumph of a Heart) fill with joy,One of the best experimental records ever made. A beautiful blend of contemporary classical music, convincing pop music, choral arrangements and brutal electronic touches, it touches on the very core of musicality present in humans. The lyrics here, for the first time, become literally visceral and excruciatinglly human. Some of the songs (Who is it?, Triumph of a Heart) fill with joy, others (Where is the line?, Ancestors) shock and still others (Desired Constellation, Mouth's Cradle) are so deeply moving that this might well be the best and most emotional of Björks work to date. Expand
  49. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Björk can sound so dark in this album. Totally opposite of "Vespertine"... When i listen to the voices and harmony of this album, I feel like I'm swimming on a line of notes... It's amazing and make me feel great.
  50. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    This album is GENIAL. Only voices making an album... sounded weird to me when I heard about, but this is pure geniality when you get the level (something like... cognitive level). The lyrics are flawless (Submarine is omfg - sorry) and Björk sounds amazing. Medúlla is the typical Björk's heavn sounding.
  51. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    Medulla is so atmospheric, the concept linked to nature and the constellation are beautiful songs sound like magic particles in your ears, Oceania is perfect.
  52. sebastien505
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    "Desired constellation" and "the pleasure is all mine" are my favourites. A brilliant, overwhelming album but not as attractive as her previous album, Vespertine.
  53. LevisO
    Oct 3, 2004
    9
    Her best work since Homogenic.
  54. jun
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    omg amazing cd.... the climax in Ancestors (about 2mins38sec) actually made me cry like a lil girl, something i had never done before... INCREDIBLE!!! the rest of the tracks are equally just as good, but very, very different.
  55. BryanS
    May 6, 2005
    9
    In all earnestness, I am in love with Bjork. Her entire career starting from the monumental "Birthday" has been a spearhead into the unknown and uncharted, and this album reemphasizes the fact that she is not loosing momentum. Her unique musical style is very apparent, but at the same time, completely different from every record she's ever done prior. Every sound you hear on this In all earnestness, I am in love with Bjork. Her entire career starting from the monumental "Birthday" has been a spearhead into the unknown and uncharted, and this album reemphasizes the fact that she is not loosing momentum. Her unique musical style is very apparent, but at the same time, completely different from every record she's ever done prior. Every sound you hear on this album is a testament to the beauty and depth of humanity. Diverse, Spacial, and Completely Breathtaking. Expand
  56. aland
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    this CD is f**cking nuts. it takes a bit of patience to accustom ones self to some of the more bizzarre moments of this CD, but for me, once totally immersed in it, those moments became my favorite. the background growl that gets perfectly sequenced in the wierdly baroque "where is the line.", the rawness of "oll birtan", the hyper-ness of Dokaka in "triumph of the heart" especially, but this CD is f**cking nuts. it takes a bit of patience to accustom ones self to some of the more bizzarre moments of this CD, but for me, once totally immersed in it, those moments became my favorite. the background growl that gets perfectly sequenced in the wierdly baroque "where is the line.", the rawness of "oll birtan", the hyper-ness of Dokaka in "triumph of the heart" especially, but most of all, the wailing and groaning in "anscestors" that the part in me listening to music is revolted by but the rest of me is completely drawn by its utter shamelessness and the powerful expression of the vaguest emotions. there are easy and accessible segments, however. the sound-perfect input of rahzel in "who is it?", "mouth's cradle" which sounds like hidden place redux for me (not that i mind), and the lovely "vokuro" all these tracks mentioned i love totally. the others, to a lesser extent, the one i cant warm up to is "submarine", thus the 9/10, but it's a small distraction from all the pure AWESOMENESS contained in this f**cking record. buy it. Expand
  57. JamesN
    Aug 30, 2004
    9
    The concept is stronger than the final product, but the final product is still nothing less than sheer greatness.
  58. MauroD
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    the most exiting thing about medulla is that, even if you listen to it thousands and thousands of time, you'll always find a new sound, or noise, or breath hidden inside all the ones you've been listening to since the first time, and so in songs that you don't completely like at first you can find an ocean of pleasure...thank you bjor for all this.
  59. ixata
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    shamely, can't give it a 10, for the icelandic short numbers are a lil bit unlisetanble and needs a lot of courage listenin it to mainsteram lovers. still, MEDULLA is a brilliant masterpiece, but never surpasses the greatness of vespertine.
  60. JesseS
    Oct 21, 2004
    9
    Many are annoyed by this record, but that's only a small reason I find it so cathartic and awe-inspiring. The fully a-capella Vokuro becomes the favourite track; her delivery is beautifully gut-wrenching. I never realized what amazing pipes this brazen pixie has until i saw her live. This record gets a 9 in more for imagination and soul than it does for melody, however, the subtlety Many are annoyed by this record, but that's only a small reason I find it so cathartic and awe-inspiring. The fully a-capella Vokuro becomes the favourite track; her delivery is beautifully gut-wrenching. I never realized what amazing pipes this brazen pixie has until i saw her live. This record gets a 9 in more for imagination and soul than it does for melody, however, the subtlety of the melodies offer a treasure-hunt of repeated listenings. Expand
  61. IanW
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    Completely wonderful. It was well worth the wait.
  62. ChadS
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Joan Rivers wouldn't like this album. Thank god. In some people's minds(like mine), Bjork is still trying to live down that swan costume she wore at the 2001 Oscars, and hopefully, "Medulla" is the album that puts those wardrobe jokes to rest, once and for all. Bjork is obviously never returning to pop music and that's fine with me. Songs like "Where is the Line" and Joan Rivers wouldn't like this album. Thank god. In some people's minds(like mine), Bjork is still trying to live down that swan costume she wore at the 2001 Oscars, and hopefully, "Medulla" is the album that puts those wardrobe jokes to rest, once and for all. Bjork is obviously never returning to pop music and that's fine with me. Songs like "Where is the Line" and "Oceania" can't be overindulgent if they're successful pieces of purposeful noise. "Who is It" is the funniest track because it sounds like a concession to produce something akin to a single. Bjork belongs in the same discussion if the topic is "Successful Ethereal Post-Punk Female Songwriters" and her colleagues like Kate Bush and Elisabeth Fraser would probably respect what Bjork has done here. The only reason why I'm denying "Medulla" a "10" is because the CD booklet is f****n' annoying, and dangerous, if you're on the road. Expand
  63. ReubenD
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    Originality at its best!
  64. ipsed
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    It takes a being who adores innovation to accept this album wholly; only a person like Bjork can truly love tracks like 'Ancestors'. This album is not for the average. Art.
  65. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    At the first listen i was very disturbed and the front vcover picture made me cringe, but then I realized that that's who she is and I LOVE IT!!!! The songs are great and "Triumph of a Heart" made me dance.....Some songs are lacking what bjork usually gives though
  66. jasont
    Sep 18, 2004
    8
    Being one of Bjork's biggest fans, I wanted to love this album from the get go. However, I was, and am, dissapointed. It's not that Medulla is a bad album; it's a great album by most any other artists' standards. But Bjork is Bjork, and she is coming off a streak of 3 straight BRILLIANT albums. This album takes the experimentation hinted at on Vespertine to a whole new Being one of Bjork's biggest fans, I wanted to love this album from the get go. However, I was, and am, dissapointed. It's not that Medulla is a bad album; it's a great album by most any other artists' standards. But Bjork is Bjork, and she is coming off a streak of 3 straight BRILLIANT albums. This album takes the experimentation hinted at on Vespertine to a whole new level, albeit one with as much failure as success. Where are the heartbreaking choruses we've come to know and love? The vocals on this album feel like scattered wails more than song. It shows how good bjork is that I still give this an 8. Expand
  67. KalM
    Sep 24, 2004
    8
    I am a little shocked by the extremity of reaction from bjork fans - this love or hate restriction people tend to place on the more well established artist e.g. comparing what went before to what is now. I am not huge fan of medulla my love for bjork stems from debut and post, however i do appreciate that bjork is pushing the boundaries of music i admire the records courage and the sheer I am a little shocked by the extremity of reaction from bjork fans - this love or hate restriction people tend to place on the more well established artist e.g. comparing what went before to what is now. I am not huge fan of medulla my love for bjork stems from debut and post, however i do appreciate that bjork is pushing the boundaries of music i admire the records courage and the sheer beauty of her talent. Expand
  68. DerekP
    Sep 4, 2004
    8
    It isn't perfect, with Bjork employing her usual deliberate delivery of her lyrics, nor is it completely unique as one can hear the influence of Medieval plainsong and even Gregorian chant on such songs as "Show Me Forgiveness" and "Where Is the Line". That said, this release is easily the most audacious of the past few years and Bjork deserves credit for that fact alone. It's It isn't perfect, with Bjork employing her usual deliberate delivery of her lyrics, nor is it completely unique as one can hear the influence of Medieval plainsong and even Gregorian chant on such songs as "Show Me Forgiveness" and "Where Is the Line". That said, this release is easily the most audacious of the past few years and Bjork deserves credit for that fact alone. It's undeniably an enjoyable listen. Expand
  69. Doug
    Sep 8, 2004
    8
    I'm not a Bjork fan, and I have to confess that I think her work is usually overrated. This album, though, struck me as a genuine statement of true talent, imagination and sesnsibility. Her best yet...
  70. ohhtwirld
    Sep 1, 2004
    8
    i hate when people like andrew C use words like "accessible" just because they want to sound smart. a reviewer already said it.
  71. EnzoP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    A very obscure album that makes anybody fall in love with Bjork's voice.
  72. markf
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    Bjork puts out another excellent album, but as I posted at the forums, how can she ever top the brilliance of "homogenic"? This has several songs worthy of that earth-shaking masterpiece, among them the opening "pleasure is all mine", the wonderful "vokuro", which sounds like something which may have been heard at a Middle Age-era wedding, "cradle", which chills the spine, and the closer Bjork puts out another excellent album, but as I posted at the forums, how can she ever top the brilliance of "homogenic"? This has several songs worthy of that earth-shaking masterpiece, among them the opening "pleasure is all mine", the wonderful "vokuro", which sounds like something which may have been heard at a Middle Age-era wedding, "cradle", which chills the spine, and the closer "triumph of the heart", which probably sounds the most-modern. I'm leaving off some others; it's just so fresh, but I needed to share. Don't get mad at me if my rating is one number too low. (I don't really think it is, but I'm sure the album will grow even more on me.) Since when is an 8 a low rating? Let me just say, if you love Bjork, you'll love this. If Bjork means nothing to you, or you think you might want to check her out, try "homogenic" first and get your mind blown. You can still come back to love this one. Expand
  73. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    The moment you immerse yourself into this album, you'll realize just how great the whole album actually is. Took me a little bit to get into it but it gets better with each listen. Never been a fan of Bjork, but after listening to Medulla I just want to listen to more from her. All In All, each track is massive in scope and Bjork's lyrics are haunting.
  74. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Medulla is an idea. Bjork has a tradition of molding these great ideas and implementing them in her music. In Medulla, the idea is to imitate the organic element of the human voice. Does it work? Most of the time. Songs like "Oceania", "Triumph of a Heart", "Who is it", and (my personal favorite) "Desired Constellation" all beautifully integrate the human voice not only as an instrumentMedulla is an idea. Bjork has a tradition of molding these great ideas and implementing them in her music. In Medulla, the idea is to imitate the organic element of the human voice. Does it work? Most of the time. Songs like "Oceania", "Triumph of a Heart", "Who is it", and (my personal favorite) "Desired Constellation" all beautifully integrate the human voice not only as an instrument but as a genuine and sincere piece of human emotion. Voice is more than a gimmick in Medulla, it is the backbone. Voice is what gives these songs their life and their beauty. But, it is a tough album. Not all songs follow through smoothly, and some are harsh and awkward (I'm looking at you, "Oil Britain" and "Ancestors"). This album is definitely a great listen regardless, as it takes an idea and forms it into something organic, unique, and sometimes almost tangible. Expand
  75. BrandonS
    Sep 1, 2004
    7
    Bjork is having the same problem that Radiohead has had in the post OK-Computer time: while creating unbelievable sounds, nothing short of brilliant production, the songs themselves aren't really up to snuff. After this album is done playing, you're left with a general sense of it's tone and texture, but you can't remember the songs, the melodies, etc. It's so Bjork is having the same problem that Radiohead has had in the post OK-Computer time: while creating unbelievable sounds, nothing short of brilliant production, the songs themselves aren't really up to snuff. After this album is done playing, you're left with a general sense of it's tone and texture, but you can't remember the songs, the melodies, etc. It's so slick that you kind of slip away. This is a very impressive album, and it clearly has depth worth working to get into, but a stronger collection of songs to apply the new technique to would have been even better. (The cd booklet, by the way, stinks. Bjork prints the lyrics in black type on a black background. Why make it difficult to read the liner notes, Bjork? Come on!) Expand
  76. chrisj
    Sep 1, 2004
    7
    i love bjork, but this may be the first time she has left me behind. i only listened twice so it may grow on me.
  77. MartinF
    Oct 27, 2004
    7
    A unique album. Impressive, but file under 'Easier to Admire than Enjoy'
  78. HenryG.
    Jun 27, 2007
    7
    Probably her weakest album in the fact there are stand-out tracks, and "ignore" tracks. It's "hard" to just listen to.
  79. dilh.
    Feb 13, 2008
    7
    This is one of bjorks strange album. i thought track 3 where is the line was very creepy but overall i gqave it a 7.
  80. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    Bjork deserves full marks for experimentation, but Medulla often lacks cohesion, structure and reason to listen fully to each of its tracks. There are several of her best efforts here but overall the talent seems misplaced and lacking, leading to an enjoyable yet disappointing listen.
  81. BenjaminBunny
    Sep 3, 2004
    6
    Admirable for a damn-near flawless execution of an ambitious idea, but admirable and listenable are two very different ways to describe art. This is definitely art, and its construction is brilliantly execution. Nonetheless, "Medulla" is the first Bjork album I can not describe as addictive in any way--it simply lacks in memorable tunes. As a thoughtpiece of concept-driven art it is Admirable for a damn-near flawless execution of an ambitious idea, but admirable and listenable are two very different ways to describe art. This is definitely art, and its construction is brilliantly execution. Nonetheless, "Medulla" is the first Bjork album I can not describe as addictive in any way--it simply lacks in memorable tunes. As a thoughtpiece of concept-driven art it is exceptional, but that doesn't neccessarily make it a pleasure to listen to. Expand
  82. JeremyF
    Apr 24, 2007
    6
    Bjork, probably one of the best musicians of the past decade and this one, is a goddess. But this album fails to appeal to me as much as her previous works. I give her major props on all the work that must've gone into this, as I'd imagine it's extremely difficult to do an entire vocal album with just occasional piano. I have to say "Who Is It" and "Desired Constellation" Bjork, probably one of the best musicians of the past decade and this one, is a goddess. But this album fails to appeal to me as much as her previous works. I give her major props on all the work that must've gone into this, as I'd imagine it's extremely difficult to do an entire vocal album with just occasional piano. I have to say "Who Is It" and "Desired Constellation" rank among my favorite Bjork songs ever. But once you get over the first Icelandic song, ther'es more! And odd gibberish songs on top of that (like the unappealing eeriness of "Ancestors.") That is what really through me off. This album closes with the great "Triumph of a Heart," which is a very fun hip song. Another favorite. So, though this is a very remarkable idea and a marvelous effort, it fails to cling to me for days and days like I would have lied AND expected. Expand
  83. RobbieC
    Feb 25, 2007
    5
    I don't get it, at all.
  84. kandre
    Sep 13, 2004
    4
    If an unknown artist had released this CD, it would have been dismissed as self-indulgent, or just plain awful (and many artist have done these sorts of vocal experimentations, only better--see shinjuku zulu, etc.) Pushing the boundries is great, especially on a major release, but not if the songs, ultimately, are bad. Repeated listens DO NOT make it better. Whole tracks, or parts of If an unknown artist had released this CD, it would have been dismissed as self-indulgent, or just plain awful (and many artist have done these sorts of vocal experimentations, only better--see shinjuku zulu, etc.) Pushing the boundries is great, especially on a major release, but not if the songs, ultimately, are bad. Repeated listens DO NOT make it better. Whole tracks, or parts of tracks, are downright irritating. Listen to 'Where is the line' for a particularily bad track. (On that note, 'Mouths Cradle' is a good example of beauty, experimentation, and, humanity and accessability. Too bad more tracks weren't like it...) Expand
  85. JDawg
    Sep 2, 2004
    4
    This album sucks. Artsy fartsy choir voices take up all the sounds instead of electronic music/beats/synth. I realize Bjork is tried of electronic music and it may have past its prime but this CD is nothing like her previous efforts. I think Bjork has dropped off after Homogenic, but this definitely some spacey weird music I just can't listen to. Listen to this and then listen to This album sucks. Artsy fartsy choir voices take up all the sounds instead of electronic music/beats/synth. I realize Bjork is tried of electronic music and it may have past its prime but this CD is nothing like her previous efforts. I think Bjork has dropped off after Homogenic, but this definitely some spacey weird music I just can't listen to. Listen to this and then listen to post and you'll see she probably hit her musical peak right about there. Expand
  86. TimE
    Jan 13, 2005
    4
    A Cocteau Twin she isn't and I myself am a huge fan of "Post" and even the Sugarcubes but this album just doesn't work. If you want etheral get the money you purchased for this record & buy something by Kate Bush.
  87. MG
    Apr 22, 2007
    3
    Triumph Of A Heart is great but the rest is very hard to stomach.
  88. Zétinga
    Oct 5, 2004
    1
    I really find this record rubbish, and I'm really full of pity bout this one! I love her, but this time, when she tries to sound different, she sounds frustated and with no ideas on her head... Really really pity
  89. DougR
    Sep 15, 2004
    1
    Pretentious self-indulgent crap - and I am a Bjork fan.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Though hardly Björk's most pronounced statement, Medúlla is definitely a highlight of her already illustrious career.
  2. To me, Medulla is an experiment in transforming the primal power of the human voice into a 21st century context. It's an amazing effort, and it's one of the best albums of the year.
  3. The luminosity of her performance counters the album's tendency toward dry formalism. [5 Sep 2004]