User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 57
  2. Negative: 7 out of 57

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the greatest album ever made. I was 15 when this come out, and this will always have a place in my life. Now I'm 33, No other album, by The Smashing Pumpkins or ANY band for that matter has ever come close...In a world like today, and the music scene how it is, This album is a much needed reminder that although music has dramatically declined over the past 10 years, It's nice to hold on to and that there is still hope for the future. 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Few albums provide the nostalgic, emotional and grandiose rapture that Mellon Collie gave to a generation, and this is ultimately where it's power lies. Individually there appears to be dud tracks scattered throughout, yet as a whole the sheer scale, scope and range that Corgan undertook demonstrated not only were Smashing Pumpkins a serious rock force to be reckoned with but a truly fantastic band that sorta thrived on its differences to create some of the best music of the 1990s. Highlights for me include: 'here is no why', 'jellybelly', 'porcelina', 'muzzle', '1979', 'lily', 'thru the eyes of ruby', 'bodies' and many many more. For a lot of people this record bordered on obsession and I feel grateful that I manage to continue experiencing Mellon Collie in new ways through rearranging track listings and sticking those B-Sides on to make it last longer :) Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I still can't say what I feel about Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, but after hearing it - I'm completely sure that this kind of music it's art at it's finest. This is probably the best double album that I've ever heard, avoiding the weakness of double albums - too much fillers and few good songs. But this album brings the best era of the Pumpkins, yet that some people and the critics still prefer Siamese Dream as it's best. Not only this reissue gives you remastered classics such as 'Tonight,Tonight' 'Bullet with Butterfly Wings' and 'Thru the Eyes of Ruby' but also takes you to mid 90's, a different time, more dark songs and depressing lyrics. Listening to this Deluxe Edition it's like watching something in construction, songs like 'Medellia of Grey Skies [Thinking about Porcelina ?] 'Galapagos' 'Beautiful' and 'Jellybelly' with unfinished lyrics show us the direction that the Pumpkins took when they were recording this disk, while other songs like 'Phang [Excellent instrumental, it reminds me U.S.A Soundworks demo from SD's deluxe edition] and 'Methusela' could have been in the first Mellon Collie. All in all, this reissue is good for alternative scene fans and a must for Sp fans. Collapse
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Oh the nostalgia, it's still a great album after all the years! This is the changing point in the Smashing Pumpkins sound, where they began to use electronic, and instrumental songs.
  5. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    A beast of an album and an absolute classic. One of my favourite ever albums if not my favourite. I know a lot of people go on about its length, but for the length is another plus as the quality is so mind blowingly good for the whole 2 hours or so. Some of the greatest music ever written can be found here and it's hard to find a song that would rival the epic "Tonight, Tonight". I never get tired of listening to it. It's got pop, rock, ballads, acoustic solo tracks, trash metal... the whole lot. Best double album of all time, even better than my other favourite The Beatles eponymous White record. This is one of the very few records where I would say you haven't lived until you've heard it. The remaster adds another dimension to something that was already perfect. The depth and texture of the sounds Corgan puts down is even more impressive now. The bonus disks are probably for the hard core fans, but being one of those, I'm in my element listening to them. Lots of Aeroplane Flies High material amongst the bonus stuff which is brilliant. I love this record as much today as I did 15/16 years ago when I first got into it. Genius. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    Well, the Pumpkins did it very well. It is a powerful and fresh album, full of catchy melodies and hard rock, a beautiful mixture. Beyond the importance of the album in the mid-90s, I think the bonus material is a nice reward for those who follow his music.
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Do you like roller coasters? Good, because this behemoth of an album (28 songs) is a roller coaster ride of Billy's emotions. One of the greatest albums of all time, hands down. It's one of those albums where you put it on from the first song and can let it play the whole way through, you can't do that with many albums, especially not double albums.
  8. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    There's a huge buzz to being reminded that, in an era where non-moneycentric music seems to have just about become irrelevant, classics will still be being written
  9. May 31, 2013
    9
    "Porcupine", you gave LMFAO a "10". Siamese dream was their 2nd album not 1st. It's not perfect not many double albums are but damn its close. Great album from a legendary band. Has there been a better double album since?
  10. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    An amazing SP's masterpiece
    ecletic and the same time very fuk'ing good
    Corgan is a great music writer, incredible lyrics and musically
    2 hours of this kind of music worths so much
  11. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Billy Corgan floods Mellon Collie with amazing songs filled with loud guitars, big drums, and haunting lyrics. With this album, The Pumpkins prove that they are one of the most creative bands of the 1990s.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    For a serious Pumpkins fan, this is a gold mine. [15 Dec 2012, p.49]
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    To say this is a 'fans only' set is something of an understatement, but if you do have an interest and indeed if you can actually afford it, this is a lovingly put together and ridiculously detailed exploration of a record that has aged very well. For those whose interest is more casual the two-disc edition is well worth revisiting.
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    The extras on the deluxe box set show how Corgan's mid-Nineties creative peak couldn't even be contained by two CDs.