User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. drewm
    Jan 3, 2003
    6
    Not bad - the singles stand out but the rest is on the verge of being dull - Zero 7's Simple Things much more accomplished.
  2. phila
    May 19, 2003
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums I have ever heard - and I've heard a lot. At first you'll love the singles, then you'll eventually grow tired of them, and you will discover the 7 other GREAT songs on the album.. I was completely drawn into the soft, mellow universe.
  3. ashmind
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    One of the best electronic albums I had ever listened to.
  4. MagneK.
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    Excellent
  5. josifd
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    this is a great album
  6. MagneM.
    Oct 27, 2002
    9
    This album I like!
  7. ARennie
    Dec 8, 2002
    9
    A fantastic album-just what you need with a cold beer after a crap day.
  8. AdamW
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    I accicdently found out about royksopp and I haven't stopped listening since
  9. LawrenceP
    Aug 17, 2004
    9
    dance music for people who don't like dance music.
  10. GaryS
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    dont look at what the critics say, look at what the masses do, this album is perfect. illmatic.
  11. rocio
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    Super album! Remember, ever I downloaded that album already but for some reason didn't record it. Now I've made a CD with this album. It's really worth it! One of the best electronic things I've ever heard!
  12. Frank
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Had a rough day at work? Need to listen to something to unwind, and take that stressed out feeling away, replacing it with a knowing smile? Here's your album. From hearing the first track on an Ultra Chilled compilation, I had to go buy the cd, and have never regretted that move.
  13. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    A beautiful and harmonious blend of sounds from past and present. Eleven years after its release can be said that this album remains as current as it was in 2001.
  14. Jan 29, 2018
    8
    One of the greatest albums I’ve ever heard. It’s so ethereal and was a great debut album for them. Every track is so beautiful and is different, so nothing seems to be copied. My one complaint is one of the tracks is too boring and kinda goes bad, but I won’t spoil
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Even when hitting on well-worn genre exercises, the duo tweaks its formula in small ways that lead to big returns.
  2. Urb
    70
    [The appeal] is in the warm, '70s synths that float melodies into the druggy stratosphere, giving the band's shifty downtempo rhythms and vaguely experimental production a retro-sexy touch. [Nov 2002, p.98]
  3. Royksopp show a debt to art rock, but they replace Pink Floyd's paranoia with a mood of late-night sorrow.