Melophobia - Cage the Elephant
Melophobia Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the Kentucky rock band was produced by Jay Joyce.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    80
    Their [stardom] has been a slow rise. The ascent continues apace. [Mar 2014, p.108]
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    80
    Melophobia is a thoroughly modern rock record, where all the past is alive in the present, so if you've ever had affection for any alt-rock sound from the '80s through the 2000s, it's hard not to find something to enjoy here.
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    While the familiar swagger is present and correct both in the Bowie-influenced "Spiderhead" and the crackling "It's Just Forever," these moments are leavened by quieter, more reflective tracks such as "Hypocrite." [Mar 2014, p.72]
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    70
    There's a freaky encounter with a spaceman ("Telescope") and a dance-party rager about a wicked girl ("Black Widow"), but the whole thing vibrates with hopped-up discovery.
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    70
    The result is a compelling exercise in growth.
  6. 70
    Cage the Elephant sound bigger and more polished here, but it’s Shultz’s lyrics that have grown up the most.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    30
    It’s a confused effort, with the songwriting faults, misguided lyrics, and the foolish sidelining of Cage the Elephant's greatest weapon (Schultz’s voice) torpedoing the vast majority of tracks.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Cage The Elephant always surprises me. On their third studio album they did nothing but surprise me. They showed their range by testing theCage The Elephant always surprises me. On their third studio album they did nothing but surprise me. They showed their range by testing the waters of retro music, horn sections, hard to sing vocals, delicate instrumentation, and beautiful lyrics. Lincoln Parish (lead guitarist) was genius on almost every track, without the little touch of guitar magic Come a little closer wouldn't have been worth it. The Schultz brothers both delivered with a lot of passion, the vocals were soft but raw in a way. the back up guitars were distorted in a very tasteful way. The bassist Daniel was specially impressive in the intro of the song Teeth, and of course the very memorable bass line in Come a little closer. and last but not least the very creative drumming of Jared in the song Hypocrite. over all the album was structured in a perfect way I'd say, whenever you felt you were listening to a very soft and delicate album they threw a funky/aggressive song at you. the best example is after listening to Come a little closer and Telescope, you are in a very calm mood and BAM! they put in It's just forever a very upbeat cleverly placed song. And I found it to be very tasteful of their part to finish such an experimental and intricate album with such a delicate and simple song like Cigarette Daydreams. over all it was a very creative piece of work, that truly pushed Cage the elephant's boundries. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    The album is pure perfection. Sure, there are some songs that are iffy but altogether the songs are well-written and have a nice beat. TheyThe album is pure perfection. Sure, there are some songs that are iffy but altogether the songs are well-written and have a nice beat. They went out of their comfort zone with this album and completely changed their sound. The success outranked the risk and it came out absolutely amazing. In conclusion, totally rad. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece, Cage The Elephant's Melophobia is very original and different as well as being oddly familiar, the album feels as if ive justMasterpiece, Cage The Elephant's Melophobia is very original and different as well as being oddly familiar, the album feels as if ive just experienced the birth of a families third child that looks very similar to its brothers and parents yet is unique different and original in its own special little way the album as so much variety and so much personality like for example in tracks Like "Spiderhead" to tracks like "Cigarette Daydreams" and "Halo" all have this unique different feeling whether it being the bittersweet hard hitting lyrics to the difference in vocals, drum, bass and percussion, simply felt as if i was listing to something thing new every time, sadly the album does have its faults like the track Teeth which in my opinion drags on for to long yet compared to the track Indiy Kidz from the last record is so much better and a lot more interesting. Overall I Very much enjoyed the new album in fact it is probably the best album i have heard all year, definitely in my top 5, so much more interesting then Queens Of The Stone Ages New Record, 10/10 would bang, (Melophobia is a fear of music, funfact) Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    I think the weakest thing about the album is you want two more songs. Every song has a different feel to it with a different aim. It has aI think the weakest thing about the album is you want two more songs. Every song has a different feel to it with a different aim. It has a little flavor of all of the genres that use to be popular in Rock over the past three decades but they have turned the sounds into their own. Sounds like they spent a lot of time naturally making this record if that makes sense. On a scale of 1(a lady gaga record)-100--(a classic) I would say around an 89 Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Before Melophobia Cage the Elephant didn't have a unique sound. They had a Nirvana vibe and whatnot but nothing different. They sounded likeBefore Melophobia Cage the Elephant didn't have a unique sound. They had a Nirvana vibe and whatnot but nothing different. They sounded like another garage band that people wonder how they made it. Melophobia takes those thoughts and throws them in the trash. Melophobia is a great work of music that is definitely worth your time Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Definitely solid but disappointed in a couple of songs. CTE is innovative and not like your regular band. I liked very much and is in 'theDefinitely solid but disappointed in a couple of songs. CTE is innovative and not like your regular band. I liked very much and is in 'the rotation!' Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Cage the Elephant's self-titled album back in 2008 was a game-changer. It filled some grungy, punkish hole that had been left vacant since ICage the Elephant's self-titled album back in 2008 was a game-changer. It filled some grungy, punkish hole that had been left vacant since I stopped listening to Green Day in Jr. high, and filled it with head-thrashing, gain-filled songs like In One Ear and Ain't No Rest For The Wicked. Thank You Happy Birthday's release with songs like Shake Me Down felt like a compromise of that original sound, and Melophobia is in the same vein. Tracks like Come a Little Closer or Teeth pull you into the album, in search of more high-energy sing alongs, but the album ultimately offers disappointment at every other turn. The tracks in Melophobia are decent compositions in their own right, but the memory of 2008's James Brown makes me wonder if CtE hasn't lived up to their potential. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews