Memoirs Of An Imperfect Angel

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2009
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 194

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    She's the living proof that you can be an amazing singer and a terrible artist. Mariah's voice will never save this album for falling into cliche and dumbness.
  2. Jun 26, 2015
    0
    Most overrated crap EVER!!!! Her songs are SO frigging annoying! The songs were complete garbage (most of them) and I just couldn't stand it. I also beat up MC in SSB3DS&Wii U (not in a looooooong time) but still, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS!!!!!! Buy New Super Mario Bros. U instead.
  3. Aug 21, 2011
    2
    Mariah continues to trow boring, repetitive, artifical and superficial beats & lyrics at 15 tracks. The album as 17. High notes don't save the lack of "life" that more than half of the songs have. The only , honestly, good song in the album is Obsessed.
  4. pg
    Sep 30, 2009
    1
    It's still boring and much less honest & creative than she claims her albums are.... plus listening to a 40 year old lady sing with auto-tune comes across a little pathetic. also- now that she's grown up... why is she still making songs for teeny-boppers when she clearly can't relate anymore?
  5. IvanC.
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    Disappointing CD. What happened to her vocal? This CD is produced as if she were a singer who can't sing.
  6. Patricia
    Sep 30, 2009
    2
    It doesn't live up to The Emancipation of Mimi. The CD really starts from the middle point to the end. It's no memorable songs on the whole CD.
  7. ravdfabM
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    1 for the effort. with her deteriorating vocals, i believe remixes is not the way to save the album. i tried listening to it about 5 times thinking i might like it after a couple of spins... okay, im done... and i'm bored.
  8. JoshM.
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    This is horrible and generic even for Mariah!
  9. Dana
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    This is the worst album of Mariah's career. I honestly liked Glitter and Charmbracelet more.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The album was composed by R&B's best songwriters of the late 2000s, Terius Nash (The-Dream) and Christopher Stewart (Tricky); they give each song the intelligent mid-tempo bump-and-grind they've made into a specialty.
  2. Overall, Carey's throwback vibe on Memoirs is refreshing and much welcomed.
  3. It's puzzling to hear one of music's most powerful voices continually corralled into a feathery R&B midrange; imperfections are nowhere to be found on Memoirs, but neither are many true revelations.