Memoirs Of An Imperfect Angel

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2009
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 182

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2016
    10
    This was the most cohesive album she's ever created since Butterfly, its so well crafted yet still had singles that made the album stand out, this is a win for mariah
  2. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    You can find a huge variety of power in the voice of Mariah with a cover that elevated the music to another level as abito diva, bad point the label no longer gave more due attention making late advertising campaigns besides not invest what was due .
  3. Jun 26, 2015
    0
    Most overrated crap EVER!!!! Her songs are SO frigging annoying! The songs were complete garbage (most of them) and I just couldn't stand it. I also beat up MC in SSB3DS&Wii U (not in a looooooong time) but still, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS!!!!!! Buy New Super Mario Bros. U instead.
  4. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    The album shows how mariah is that time of his career. An album of personal burden since "The Emancipation of Mimi", this album shows a more mature Mariah, though not contain a new sound, this album very personal, so I admire him.
  5. May 4, 2014
    7
    It is certainly honest about being "imperfect", yet even with the imperfections you'll find on this unnecessary album, its raw talent remains unbreakable.
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    All 17 songs are beautifully crafted and smartly track listed starting with The Prologue with a good heavy beat and ending with a new short and charming version of I Want to Know What Love Is. Lyrics are a precise description of emotions, the vocals are sweet and strong accompanied with R&B/Hip-Hop/Soul beats. Memoirs succeeds as an empowering album for those with something to let go.All 17 songs are beautifully crafted and smartly track listed starting with The Prologue with a good heavy beat and ending with a new short and charming version of I Want to Know What Love Is. Lyrics are a precise description of emotions, the vocals are sweet and strong accompanied with R&B/Hip-Hop/Soul beats. Memoirs succeeds as an empowering album for those with something to let go. Easy, soft and beautiful. Favorite tracks: Obsessed, H.A.T.E. U, Candy Bling, Inseparable, Standing O, It's a Wrap, Up Out My Face, More Than Just Friends, Angels Cry and Languishing (and the reprises and interludes). Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    It's impressive how Mariah has rised again into her music quality since the mess of Glitter and those, however this is a great R&B recording, proving she's not defeated and she can do great songs with great lyrics and amazing music.
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    She's the living proof that you can be an amazing singer and a terrible artist. Mariah's voice will never save this album for falling into cliche and dumbness.
  9. Aug 21, 2011
    2
    Mariah continues to trow boring, repetitive, artifical and superficial beats & lyrics at 15 tracks. The album as 17. High notes don't save the lack of "life" that more than half of the songs have. The only , honestly, good song in the album is Obsessed.
  10. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    Wow! "Obsessed" seems like it is trying to pander too much to pop music standards, and "H.A.T.E.U." is kind of boring and doesn't have much of a beat. However, the rest of the album, especially "Up Out My Face" and "I Want to Know What Love Is", is solid. The former, with a remix featuring Nicki Minaj, is the best original track on the album. Her cover of "I Want to Know What Love Is" byWow! "Obsessed" seems like it is trying to pander too much to pop music standards, and "H.A.T.E.U." is kind of boring and doesn't have much of a beat. However, the rest of the album, especially "Up Out My Face" and "I Want to Know What Love Is", is solid. The former, with a remix featuring Nicki Minaj, is the best original track on the album. Her cover of "I Want to Know What Love Is" by Foreigner is absolutely perfect and the pain in her vocals match the sad lyrics immaculately. I would go so far as to say it's an improvement over the original. Expand
  11. Feb 13, 2011
    6
    This is a mature, solid album with a few surprises (her 'ode' to Eminem) and plenty of old school r and b... my favorite is It's a Wrap, so classic yet so inventive... Mariah is at the top of her game.
  12. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quest'album è sicuramente uno dei miei preferiti di Mariah, forse il migliore dopo Butterfly. Ogni canzone è speciale e piacevole da ascoltare. Ad un primo ascolto l'album può apparire "noioso", ma dopo un po' ti prende e ti trasporta in un altro mondo. Sono davvero soddisfatto di quest'ultimo lavoro di Mariah. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Boring after a few listens, but gets better and better each time you listen to it.
    Notable songs are ''Angel's Cry'', ''Obsessed'', ''I Want to Know What Love Is'' and ''H.A.T.E.U.''.
    Angel (Prelude) is amazingly amazing.
  14. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Love The Songs.. Love The Album.. Life Is not perfect..and so is love.. but still enjoying life end love right??? Go Mariah.. waiting for the next one....
  15. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    WELL DONE MARIAH!!!! When I first heard "Obsessed" I couldn't wait for the album...I do admit that at first I didn't like it ..."Up Out My Face" was the one that grabbed my attentiona dn i listened over again...and BAM!!! I loved it
  16. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    Mariah Carey's 12th studio album is perhaps her best effort since her 1997 release 'Butterfly', which is widely regarded as her best album to date. 'Memoirs' sees Carey, for the most part, blend her trade-mark 'hip-pop' with old school RnB vibes, more reminiscent of her earlier work. The opening track, 'Betcha Gon' Know' demonstrates this mindset. The piano driven track could almost playMariah Carey's 12th studio album is perhaps her best effort since her 1997 release 'Butterfly', which is widely regarded as her best album to date. 'Memoirs' sees Carey, for the most part, blend her trade-mark 'hip-pop' with old school RnB vibes, more reminiscent of her earlier work. The opening track, 'Betcha Gon' Know' demonstrates this mindset. The piano driven track could almost play out like an early 70s soul classic, telling the tale of a cheating love and planned revenge, were it not for the thumping beat and lyrics - "you gon' get what you f***ing j**k".
    Carey attempts to caters for all her fans with this release. There are the more urban and upbeat tracks like the lead single 'Obsessed' and the witty 'Up Out My Face', the big ballads 'Angel's Cry' and the cover of Forginger's 'I Want To Know What Love Is' alongside slow-jams like 'Candy Bling'. This variation makes 'Memoirs' a pleasant listen, with each song seemingly flowing into the next. However the sequencing does let the record down slightly as it clusters tracks together which can then overshadow. For example the slow-jam 'Inseparable' is one of the strongest tracks on the album, yet coming in after after the finger-clicking 'Candy Bling' and 'Ribbon' you can find yourself ready to skip to the next track just to break-up the mood.
    Mariah Carey is widely regarded as one of the greatest singers of all time, famed for her impressive 5 octave voice. on 'Memoirs' her voice is in full-use and to great effect. That is not to say that every line of each song is belted as was typical for many of Carey's earlier recordings. Here we see Carey use her powerhouse tool with great care and accuracy. On 'The Impossible' Carey almost whispers with soft and breathy tones that gives a feeling a great intimacy, that is until the tracks outro where she turns the vocal power up and reminds you that this is in fact a Mariah Carey cd. This happens on most tracks, Carey starts softly and leaves the vocal blasting until near the end. The famous high note is also in good health here and is used almost like another instrument on many of the tracks which makes it fade into the track rather than stand out - depending of your love of the whistle register this will either be a slight disappointment or a brilliant compromise.
    To rap-up 'Memoirs' is a really strong and solid effort from Mariah. Listening to the album from start to finish you gain an appreciation for the fact that this is a coherent album, not just a collection of radio ready tracks as is arguable becoming the norm with new artists. While the album will not do what Carey hoped - please all hardcore fans and casual listeners alike - it still demonstrates her versatility as a singer and songwriter and makes for a really enjoyable listen.
    Expand
  17. JaylaO
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Mariah's voice shines in this album very brightly. Slowly but surely, she's regaining the powerful voice she had in the 90s.
  18. ravdfabM
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    1 for the effort. with her deteriorating vocals, i believe remixes is not the way to save the album. i tried listening to it about 5 times thinking i might like it after a couple of spins... okay, im done... and i'm bored.
  19. OmarF.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Great music, but not too comercial for the young crowd. Nice sogs, and really good lyrics.
  20. MOHDN
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Mariah's most standout album since butterfly..first time i listen to this album.i thought it is boring excpt for angels cry and obsessed.but after 2 or 3 times listen to this album.i honestly think that this album is really good. this is one of mariah album that i can listen from start to finish without skipping tracks. the songs are very cohesive. song like candy bling and betcha Mariah's most standout album since butterfly..first time i listen to this album.i thought it is boring excpt for angels cry and obsessed.but after 2 or 3 times listen to this album.i honestly think that this album is really good. this is one of mariah album that i can listen from start to finish without skipping tracks. the songs are very cohesive. song like candy bling and betcha gone know remind me of the song called Breakdown from the butterfly album. even though this song contains less powerful vocals.but the vocal arrangement in this album is great and pleasant. carey really put her emotions through this album. the only powerful ballad that really match carey's 90's vocal is I Want To Know What Love is....mariah know has back to her early R&B. Expand
  21. JimmyJ.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Album of the year in my opinion, it was amazing from start to finish. languishing was a lazy re-write of petals, but i dug everything else.
  22. ScooterC.
    Oct 5, 2009
    6
    This album is ALL over the place! The lyrics are fascinating, yet a bit forced. Mariah's voice is a whisper or high whistle notes. Arrangements are intensely over produced or very simple, like my favorite LANGUISHING. H.A.T.E.U. is good, so is OBSESSED, but enough with the remixes BORING!
  23. MariaK
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Mariah made this album for the fans who stood y her through thick and thin, and not for the critics. Fans are going to love this!
  24. NikolaD.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Her best since Butterfly! Pure Mariah.
  25. IvanC.
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    Disappointing CD. What happened to her vocal? This CD is produced as if she were a singer who can't sing.
  26. wybl.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    At least she sings better here than in her e=mc2. it also doesn't sound as cold and calculated as that album.
  27. LamL.
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    The album is as imperfect as a nine-over-ten. There is a smooth, sensuous flow from beginning to end, though somewhere in the middle it lags and drags a bit. The climax is at the last four songs where she showcases every aspect of the supreme songbird she has ever been.
  28. SusanM
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Unfortunately, the album has leaked but I'll still buy it! I LOVE the fact that Mariah finally heeded the pleas of her die hard lambs and went back to doing ballads, which is her forte. What a musical genius, second only to MJ for amazing musical instinct, longevity and songwriting abilities. I love you MC- keep doing what you do!!!
  29. JonD
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    A nice record that doesn't cover new ground, but highlights Mimi's imperfections, and show us that she isn't out of steam yet. It's worth a listen.
  30. EricS
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing album, this is her first true R&B record. With the exception of the predictable rehash 'Angels Cry', the album is quite.....perfect!
  31. DiegoDC
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    This is the best album i've bought. its simply amazing. Mariah Carey is my favorite artist of all time, she is the best, and i cant live without her music. Love u mariah.
  32. DrewM.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Memoirs is one of Mariah Carey's most cohesive and sonically enthralling albums. Those looking to find your usual brand of throwaway uptempos found on the radio today may only be satisfied with the lead single "Obsessed" because this album is full of Mariah's signature ballads and mid-tempo R&B grooves. Her voice is very understated, yet she still manages to show off her Memoirs is one of Mariah Carey's most cohesive and sonically enthralling albums. Those looking to find your usual brand of throwaway uptempos found on the radio today may only be satisfied with the lead single "Obsessed" because this album is full of Mariah's signature ballads and mid-tempo R&B grooves. Her voice is very understated, yet she still manages to show off her impressive range. Favorites include: "HATE U" - by far the standout track of the album, this is a beautiful ballad about needing to hate someone in order to get past them. One of the most melodically interesting ballads of Mariah's career, everything works here from the soft whispering to the climactic belting to the signature high notes at the end of each chorus. "Candy Bling" - This song will truly take you "back in the day" when Mimi was 12 (well, she still is sort of) "walking through the park every Saturday" with her boyfriend "kissing time away." This is lyrically one of Mariah's best songs ever as it paints a beautiful and nostalgic picture of childhood most of us have forgotten. "It's a Wrap" - This song was the biggest surprise of the album. This song is packed with soul, heartbreak, and humor as Mariah sings "I know you seen me calling and calling, I should crack you right in your forehead" and "I told you one more time if you effed up it's over." Rare for Mariah these days, the entire song is sung in her full voice and has an irresistable doo wop feel that will take you back to the days of "Vision of Love," "Always Be My Baby," and "Forever" with a fiestier new twist. "Angels Cry" - Sure, it's a bit of rehash melodically, but the lyrics on this song far surpass the lyrics on any of the songs it rehashes. Though no one line really illustrates this, Mariah paints a beautiful picture of a "limitless, omnipresent kind of love" that is so powerful (and perhaps isn't even romantic love as she fails to use words like "baby" or "boy") that the angels cry because of its absence. Ironically the weakest track on the album is probably her cover of Foriegner's "I Want to Know What Love Is" - ironic because it was hyped as the song to sell the album. But even though it lacks a lot of what makes Mariah's music special on this album - understated vocals, original and playful lyrics, and original arrangements - it's still a surprisingly nice end to the album. Expand
  33. TarekM.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    MC's latest doesn't disappoint but in fact proves to be a very refreshing R&B experience.
  34. BaseDrop
    Sep 30, 2009
    9
    Now I know there are going to be haters because this is a vastly different approach for MC, but for those who are willing to take a chance, you are going to end up loving this album. "Angel" is truely an album for a Mrs. Carey who is coming into a different light. Credit her happiness with Nick Cannon which shines on this album, or credit her perfect timing for teaming up with Tricky Now I know there are going to be haters because this is a vastly different approach for MC, but for those who are willing to take a chance, you are going to end up loving this album. "Angel" is truely an album for a Mrs. Carey who is coming into a different light. Credit her happiness with Nick Cannon which shines on this album, or credit her perfect timing for teaming up with Tricky Stewart and The Dream, but I am personally glad to see MC go back to her R&B roots after a long hiatus since Butterfly, minus the little dabbling she did in Emancipaiton. On a second note, I even like that she has returned to singing along with just a piano, which I haven Expand
  35. KevinS.
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Mariah Carey offers her most vocally cohesive album in this millennium.
  36. KhalilB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    This is definitely a gREAT follow up to E=MC2, which was a GREAT album but it felt like the whole time she was trying to recreate the magic of The Emancipation of Mimi. This album is completely different from anything shes ever done. Her songwriting is on point, her vocals sound crisp & refreshing. & shes further establishing herself as the greatest female of all time =)
  37. BurtB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    5
    Another age inappropriate album from a former pop heavyweight.
  38. NahadW.
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Just Mariah doing what she does best - singing and being funny! Absolutely great to listen to..puts you in a mood.
  39. Patricia
    Sep 30, 2009
    2
    It doesn't live up to The Emancipation of Mimi. The CD really starts from the middle point to the end. It's no memorable songs on the whole CD.
  40. pg
    Sep 30, 2009
    1
    It's still boring and much less honest & creative than she claims her albums are.... plus listening to a 40 year old lady sing with auto-tune comes across a little pathetic. also- now that she's grown up... why is she still making songs for teeny-boppers when she clearly can't relate anymore?
  41. JulieH.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    If you love slow 90s R&B jams, you will love this album. It's very subtle and beautiful. Lyrics are very clever...more so than any of her previous albums. The more you listen, the more you will like. Favorites: HATEU, Up Out My Face, More Than Just Friends, Betcha Gon Know.
  42. JaredT.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Great album full of mid-tempo tracks and a few slow jams. Like them all except for Candy Bling, which is just plain boring, and The Impossible would be good if there weren't so many better slow jams on the album. Inseparable can also get boring.
  43. AlexE.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    At first listen, it doesn't really come right out and grab you. But after repeated listens, this album grows on you. There are many, many satisfying moments of pure sonic pleasure - quirky background production effects (faint, tinkling piano keys, etc.) and those lush, layered vocals that nobody can match. The "plodding" beats actually turn out to be quite addictive, and I have a At first listen, it doesn't really come right out and grab you. But after repeated listens, this album grows on you. There are many, many satisfying moments of pure sonic pleasure - quirky background production effects (faint, tinkling piano keys, etc.) and those lush, layered vocals that nobody can match. The "plodding" beats actually turn out to be quite addictive, and I have a feeling this will have many repeated plays on my CD player, much like Butterfly. Expand
  44. jordanp.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    I love Mariah she has never failed me!!! Charmbracelet was underrated and E=MC2 was under exposed. I guess a marriage can detour other projects.... This album seems sooo personal 2 me I feel like I'm in the booth with Mariah when I listen to it! Cheers! Bravo! To you! MC!
  45. ajd
    Sep 29, 2009
    4
    Yawn...when will she ever evolve musically??? A true artist is the one who tries different music styles and keeps their music fresh! But she has been serving her close minded fans the same crap for the last few decades! Same old boring slow jams, Same old hooks, same old themes....same old Mariah!! The best songs are the Up-tempo ones, other then that, its pretty....yawn.....ZZZ...oh Yawn...when will she ever evolve musically??? A true artist is the one who tries different music styles and keeps their music fresh! But she has been serving her close minded fans the same crap for the last few decades! Same old boring slow jams, Same old hooks, same old themes....same old Mariah!! The best songs are the Up-tempo ones, other then that, its pretty....yawn.....ZZZ...oh sorry.....Lame! Expand
  46. ItaloF.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Is perfect album.
  47. Dana
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    This is the worst album of Mariah's career. I honestly liked Glitter and Charmbracelet more.
  48. JoshM.
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    This is horrible and generic even for Mariah!
  49. KalebJ.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    By far Mariah's most cohesive album yet and certainly her most well produced. She connects emotionally with the songs in a way that is not typical for her. She is using her voice more like an instrument on this album and the result is nothing short of ethereal.
  50. AA
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Severely underrated.
  51. AdamJ.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Mariah just keeps getting better. This album will be a fan favorite without a doubt. There is something for everyone. Definitely her best album this decade.
  52. JarrellC.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    WOW! I am a HUGE Mariah fan, but I will admit I was expecting MOAIA to be a big flop. Man, did Mimi surprise me. This album definitely belongs among her best albums of all time. The lyrical content, cohesiveness of the album, the productions, THE VOICE -- everything is perfect on this album. I can't stop listening. She proves that you can never count her out on this album. Definitely WOW! I am a HUGE Mariah fan, but I will admit I was expecting MOAIA to be a big flop. Man, did Mimi surprise me. This album definitely belongs among her best albums of all time. The lyrical content, cohesiveness of the album, the productions, THE VOICE -- everything is perfect on this album. I can't stop listening. She proves that you can never count her out on this album. Definitely check out "standing o," "ribbon," "angels cry," "candy bling," and "h.a.t.e.u." Expand
  53. JeremyD.
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    We born on the days when she flaunt her 8-octave range with Daydream and Musicbox. We're waiting for this album that showcases not only her voice but also her unprecedented music prowess.
  54. LuisG.
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Awesome album! Listen to H.A.T.E.U, Ribbon, Standing O, Angels Cry!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The album was composed by R&B's best songwriters of the late 2000s, Terius Nash (The-Dream) and Christopher Stewart (Tricky); they give each song the intelligent mid-tempo bump-and-grind they've made into a specialty.
  2. Overall, Carey's throwback vibe on Memoirs is refreshing and much welcomed.
  3. It's puzzling to hear one of music's most powerful voices continually corralled into a feathery R&B midrange; imperfections are nowhere to be found on Memoirs, but neither are many true revelations.