Memory Almost Full

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 165

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JASIV
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    THIS is the McCartney that I've been waiting almost 20 years to hear! Sir Paul has had some critical acclaim with his last few releases, but Memory Almost Full is the best thing he has done since Flowers In The Dirt. I like it better than Flaming Pie and Chaos. It's so like the great McCartney of old....I can't stop listening to it! Thanks Paul..
  2. Blue
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    I've been disappointed and embarrassed by McCartney's works over the past 15 years or so (so much so that I didn't bother getting "Chaos"). But this is truly a masterpiece! Poetic lyrics, wonderful harmonies, concept-album style of merging songs. I love it!
  3. SanderV
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    It gets better with every listen. There is just so much on it. Brilliant playing and the best singing we've heard from him in years. It's a must own album.
  4. MariaM
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    I love this album, and I am sure many more will if they listen to it a few times. My husband (who is not at all into Macca's music) loves it too, and shows it to all our friends. It rocks!
  5. JennyT
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Superb!
  6. ToddW
    Aug 1, 2007
    1
    Geez, Paul, just how many hundreds of millions of dollars do you need? Is your divorce from Heather really that expensive that you have to totally whore yourself and align yourself with Starbucks? I know Mr. Child Molester is now selling Beatles' songs to keep baby's backsides clean, but hitching your star to a wagon like Starbucks? Armageddon is truly nigh. John Lennon was Geez, Paul, just how many hundreds of millions of dollars do you need? Is your divorce from Heather really that expensive that you have to totally whore yourself and align yourself with Starbucks? I know Mr. Child Molester is now selling Beatles' songs to keep baby's backsides clean, but hitching your star to a wagon like Starbucks? Armageddon is truly nigh. John Lennon was right when he said the only thing you did was yesterday. Expand
  7. MichealG
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Fresh from a great album "Chaos and Creation in the Backyard" with its low-key and sparse style, Paul comes up with another great one but with a contrasting up-tempo and more varied style recalling the best of the Beatles and Wings. His great skills, talent and musicianship are all over the album. This should be listened in its CD form and not as a download since the song sequencing with Fresh from a great album "Chaos and Creation in the Backyard" with its low-key and sparse style, Paul comes up with another great one but with a contrasting up-tempo and more varied style recalling the best of the Beatles and Wings. His great skills, talent and musicianship are all over the album. This should be listened in its CD form and not as a download since the song sequencing with its varying form and structure allows for refreshing listen even if you play it many times over especially over a car stereo as I did. "Dance Tonight" is so catchy my five-year old daughter wiggles to it. "Ever Present Past" is so contemporary pop and you take notice of the way he sings the chorus. "You Tell Me" is a a great ballad in Beatle tradition. "Only Mama Knows", "House of Wax" and "That Was Me" are rockers that matches Wing's best. "Vintage Clothes" and "End of the End" are songs that will linger in the head not only for the very good melodies but also for its messages. "Mister Bellamy" and "Nod Your Head" have interesting sounds and are so funny and humorous. The other three songs have their moments. Paul is among the great grandmasters of music and certainly this output, being thematic and diversified, entertains. Cheers for Paul for not resting on his laurels but still churning out good music till to this day. Expand
  8. RMaison
    Jun 16, 2007
    2
    I have a hard time with it. One of the reasons is the production or perhaps the mastering (where they squashed the life out of most all of the songs). "Chaos" was much better produced, remixed and mastered to my ears.
  9. johnm
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Simply wonderful.
  10. Patrick
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    The Boston Globe reviewer is clueless-
  11. ClaytonL
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    His best since "Flaming Pie"...maybe even better than that one...which would put us back even further...I loved "Cjaos & Creation" but it was more low key...this feels very varied...like The White Album did...a truly great album !!
  12. RobertH
    Jun 6, 2007
    6
    Dance tonight is indifferent at its best,ever present past is a cheap franzferdinandism ,see your sunshine is unlistenable,only mama knows is interesting at its best, you tell me the same. Mr Bellamy is great,i loved it. Gratitude bores me,vitange clothes has some good moments,that was me is mediocre. Feet in the clouds and house of wax i found excellent (especially the latter). End of Dance tonight is indifferent at its best,ever present past is a cheap franzferdinandism ,see your sunshine is unlistenable,only mama knows is interesting at its best, you tell me the same. Mr Bellamy is great,i loved it. Gratitude bores me,vitange clothes has some good moments,that was me is mediocre. Feet in the clouds and house of wax i found excellent (especially the latter). End of the End is laughable and nod your head could be an interesting piece to see him do live. in general , chaos and creation is the best album he's done since band on the run and i would like to see paul at least once more in the studio with nigel godrich. as for memory almost full ,Mr Bellamy,Feet in The Clouds and House of Wax.thats all. Expand
  13. CJJones
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Mac is back. It's upbeat and rocking. It kind of has the same home spun feel of "McCartney" and "McCartney 2" but I think this CD is better than those Cd's. Only complaint - I do not like it when Paul tries to sing in his high "falsetto" voice - luckily he only does that on a couple songs. Other than that - this is an amazing CD.
  14. HamishM
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Filled with touches that deserve to be thought about deeply. The absent vocals on See Your Sunshine. The real meaning of "Nod your Head". The complex chords that reveal the fear underlying what's hiding under the persona. An album that will become more significant as years go by.
  15. DavidO
    Jul 20, 2007
    8
    A good, highly listenable album from an outstandingly versatile musician and songwriter. Not nearly as good as the classic Chaos and Creation in the Backyard, but interesting, nonetheless. Paul still has an amazing voice at age 65, and I really hope he is not planning on retiring anytime soon. After giving the album many listens, my favorite songs are Mr. Bellamy and Gratitude.
  16. JoanieB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Loved the album!!!
  17. RohitV
    Aug 3, 2007
    7
    This is a decent McCartney album, Chaos was far superior to this one, it may be more commercially pleasing but Paul's creativity on Chaos was much more apparent. Still a great album with some memorable tracks.
  18. PamM
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    First listen I had a few favorites... and kept mentally humming them long afterwards. Second listen, I added a few more faves... now on my umpteenthing listen, I like them all to some degree!
  19. BillyT
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Cohesive, modern, living up to the high standards of earlier works. Hardest driving album in years.
  20. NovakG
    Jun 11, 2007
    1
    Dear Dave,YouAreNotOnlyONE who feels,and HEARS,that Macca is just the shadow of his -previous- Genius.The words for his new songs are so banal,that it hurts!!!!He SHOULD NOT play new music anymore,even though he is still excelent live.Remember LIVE 8?
  21. BasT
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    His best album in decades. Great songs , good lyrics, uplifting and inspiring music. The kind of record I was waiting for, but never expected to get. The craftmanship of writing good songs is so rare to find nowdays that 'Memory Almost Full' is yet another example of his genius.
  22. Rev.Rikard
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    In
  23. RogerW
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Great Album. It gets better with every listen. One of his best. The poor critic reviews are ignorant.
  24. AlexO
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    An excellent album. Macca's best lyrically and thematically in a long time. The music is inventive, varied, and rocks. My favourites are Ever Present Past, That Was Me, Vintage Clothes, Only Mama Knows, and Feet in the Clouds. The work is up there with Band on the Run, Venus and Mars, Tug of War, Flowers in the Dirt, Flaming Pie, Driving Rain, and Chaos and Creation. Yes, Paul is on An excellent album. Macca's best lyrically and thematically in a long time. The music is inventive, varied, and rocks. My favourites are Ever Present Past, That Was Me, Vintage Clothes, Only Mama Knows, and Feet in the Clouds. The work is up there with Band on the Run, Venus and Mars, Tug of War, Flowers in the Dirt, Flaming Pie, Driving Rain, and Chaos and Creation. Yes, Paul is on a roll lately. Expand
  25. PhilW
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    I miss John Lennon SOOOO much. So does this album. The lyrics are so simple-minded they're painful to listen to, the music rehashes the worst of his previous post-Beatles stylings and his inconsistent, often reedy vocals wouldn't get him out of the local ballrooms on American Idol. This performance would be disappointing from a lesser talent but is mortifying, even insulting I miss John Lennon SOOOO much. So does this album. The lyrics are so simple-minded they're painful to listen to, the music rehashes the worst of his previous post-Beatles stylings and his inconsistent, often reedy vocals wouldn't get him out of the local ballrooms on American Idol. This performance would be disappointing from a lesser talent but is mortifying, even insulting coming from McCartney. Expand
  26. maccafan
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    The end of the album is wierd in the beginning but after the third time, IT ROCKS!!!!!!!
  27. RonnyboyH
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I was absolutely flabbergasted... McCartney rules! I love "You tell me" what a great song that is. This CD has not left my cdplayer from the moment I bought it. Can hear a wink of farewell in some of the song Iám affraid..he's not thinking of retirering I hope??
  28. GlennD
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    11 perfect popsongs and 2 that I do not like that much makes this an album to listen over and over again.
  29. FrankL
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    This is a "10" for a Paul album. Really, if you like Mccartney, why criticize this album. What more can one expect from MACCA. The album definitely harks back to the albums that we all love. The guys vocal and writing ability is still apparent after all these years. It is hard to compare it to his older Beatles/Wings stuff as times have changed and what the public at large considers This is a "10" for a Paul album. Really, if you like Mccartney, why criticize this album. What more can one expect from MACCA. The album definitely harks back to the albums that we all love. The guys vocal and writing ability is still apparent after all these years. It is hard to compare it to his older Beatles/Wings stuff as times have changed and what the public at large considers "cool" has changed. However, If you love Paul's Beatle stuff and the WIngs, I think this album will appeal to you. Even the instrumentals on the bonus disc are well worth a listen. Ultimately, we should all feel very lucky that the guy is still so able in his sixties. Keep the albums coming! Expand
  30. JTay
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Paul's crescendo of his last 4 albums. wow!!!!!!! He is on a roll!! Mr Bellamy is stunningly fresh & jaw-droppingly good! A very ecletic recording - thanks, Paul!!
  31. TomG.
    Jun 26, 2007
    1
    I grew up listening to the Beatles as a teenager, and I've enjoyed Paul's work since. This album, however, were it not produced by Paul, would never have made it to market. It will wilt and die and never receive air time, and our ears will be the better for it. Not just disapointing, it is horrible.
  32. ChesterL.
    Jun 27, 2007
    4
    I've listened to it once through and hope my opinion changes when I listen to it again. But first impression, Terribly disapointed I didn't like it at all.
  33. JohnF
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Wow! Great Cd. Proof that the best isn't behind him.
  34. ArtS
    Jun 4, 2007
    0
    Wow, what a bore
  35. chrisa
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Thought it was cheese at first but grew on me with a few listens. This guy can craft a melody like no other.
  36. JoelP
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    No one is paying anyone. This is a strong effort: diverse, melodic, and intelligent. After hearing the lead singles, I expected to hate this, but Only Mamma Knows, Mr. Bellamy, You Tell Me, and Vintage Clothes are all excellent. Of course it isn't for everyone. This album is as seriously goofy as anything Macca has done since London Town. And it can be as frustrating. But there is a No one is paying anyone. This is a strong effort: diverse, melodic, and intelligent. After hearing the lead singles, I expected to hate this, but Only Mamma Knows, Mr. Bellamy, You Tell Me, and Vintage Clothes are all excellent. Of course it isn't for everyone. This album is as seriously goofy as anything Macca has done since London Town. And it can be as frustrating. But there is a genius to this madness. Give it MORE than three listens. Expand
  37. JackA.S
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Christgua from RollingStone said in a video recorded today that he was wrong and should have given the new Paul McCartney CD 3 and a half stars, so metacritic should change it to 70! Spread the word.
  38. DaveM
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Who Is Paying Off These Reviewers To Give "Memory Almost Full" Good Reviews? ... Starbucks I Guess. This Album Is Horriable! And It Pains Me To Say That, Having Been A Huge Macca Fan Since First Seeing Him On The Ed Sullivan Show ... Sir Paul Should Be Ashamed Of Himself For Putting out Such An Unlistenable CD. I gave It 3 Listenings Just To Be Fair ... I can't Be The Only One Who Who Is Paying Off These Reviewers To Give "Memory Almost Full" Good Reviews? ... Starbucks I Guess. This Album Is Horriable! And It Pains Me To Say That, Having Been A Huge Macca Fan Since First Seeing Him On The Ed Sullivan Show ... Sir Paul Should Be Ashamed Of Himself For Putting out Such An Unlistenable CD. I gave It 3 Listenings Just To Be Fair ... I can't Be The Only One Who Feels Like This. Expand
  39. PatrickG
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Macca is sounding great! Only Mama Knows should be a #1
  40. MarisolG.
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    It's not just you, David M. I'm very disapointed indeed.
  41. MaxC
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    It's already grown on me like crazy since Tuesday's release. It's fantastic, the energy Paul displays on this album is just phenomenal. His vocals are the strongest and most natural they've been since the late 70s and although the album includes a couple of songs that are no great shakes in the lyrics department, the music and energy more than makes up for it. "Dance It's already grown on me like crazy since Tuesday's release. It's fantastic, the energy Paul displays on this album is just phenomenal. His vocals are the strongest and most natural they've been since the late 70s and although the album includes a couple of songs that are no great shakes in the lyrics department, the music and energy more than makes up for it. "Dance Tonight" is a simple, bare bones song with a slightly Lindsey Buckingham penchant and his mandolin playing is totally pleasant and welcome. "Ever Present Past" is an absolute highlight - fantastic melody, strong lyrics and some outstanding vocals. Other highlights include "Vintage" which actually grew on me because at first I was far from sold. "Mr. Bellamy" is wonderful - such a simple piano hook that manages to be totally addictive. "Nod Your Head" is vocally in the "Helter Skelter" range and although it's again not too great lyrically - it's still absolutely infectious. Is it as strong as 2005's "Chaos and Creation in the Backyard"? I don't think so but it's still an absolute winner and the kind of album that grows on you with every listen. And again, I mean, Paul has always been great vocally but he's really particularly strong here, incredible. The man's 64 ! Expand
  42. ScottM
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Ranks as one of his best along with Band on the Run, Tug of War, Flaming Pie and Chaos and Creation. He keeps "Getting Better" all the time!
  43. AlbertF
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    If you're an old songwriter who wants to preach, do it with a catchy melody and a nice guitar riff. In recent releases, Neil Young said "Let's Impeach the President", but the song is so fun, even Bush fans could sing along. Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) told us that "You can't bargain with the truth, for one day you're gonna die", but the melody is so beautiful, you forget If you're an old songwriter who wants to preach, do it with a catchy melody and a nice guitar riff. In recent releases, Neil Young said "Let's Impeach the President", but the song is so fun, even Bush fans could sing along. Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) told us that "You can't bargain with the truth, for one day you're gonna die", but the melody is so beautiful, you forget you're being preached to. Unfortunately, Sir Paul's latest release has a lot of preaching and not much fun. His message is upbeat as usual - "I'm divorced and getting old, but I'm grateful for what I've got, and I'll just be happy." His melodies are uncharacteristically complex and difficult for the listener. His vocals, however, are as great as ever. He's still making an album every two years, so maybe he will return to straight rock on the next one. Expand
  44. Ryan
    Jun 7, 2007
    1
    Sorry, Paul is out of touch and style nowadays. I wanted to leave starbucks when they started playing his music in there. not only that, he got a bad attitude towards women, like his ex-wife. What a way to split up! calm down, idiot.
  45. LindaK
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Nobody is paying me to like this CD....I flippin LOVE IT! :)
  46. RobB
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Superb musicanship, top flight song writing and surprisingly meaningful lyrics
  47. christopherl
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Awesome album maybe one of his best (post Beatles).
  48. DennisN
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Solid piece of work. Repeated listens bring out the brilliance of the music invention.
  49. jaapv.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    the best music possible, certainly for an ex beatle of his age...
  50. JasonK.
    Jul 19, 2007
    2
    This is not nearly as good as Chaos and Creation. "Nod Your Head" is embarrassing, and there are worse. I wouldn't recommend.
  51. AdamC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Anyone who dislikes this record has no concept of songwriting and doesn't enjoy music. These are wonderful songs.
  52. billc.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    I find it truly revolting that so called periodicals of import can dis a living legend, whose latest release is spell binding. Paul was afterall, a Beatle...I'll leave all you nay-sayers to Timberlake and Brittany.
  53. andyr
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    best mccartney album since 1970
  54. CookieS
    Aug 3, 2007
    2
    I have been a Beatles fan for 34 years and I'm sad to say that I thought that Memory Almost Full was complete drivel. I found the first listen almost painful and when I attempted the 2nd listen my daughter flashed me a look that said she thought that I had lost my mind and was ready for a retirement home. I couldn't get this CD out of the player fast enough... Sorry Paul, I love I have been a Beatles fan for 34 years and I'm sad to say that I thought that Memory Almost Full was complete drivel. I found the first listen almost painful and when I attempted the 2nd listen my daughter flashed me a look that said she thought that I had lost my mind and was ready for a retirement home. I couldn't get this CD out of the player fast enough... Sorry Paul, I love you guy, but surely you can do better than this tripe. Expand
  55. FilipeR
    Aug 9, 2007
    4
    I wouldn't say this record is pure garbage, but yes, it isn't at all one of his finest. Caos and Creation was much better, I would give it a 8 out of10.
  56. LeonL.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    I don't care what you wanna be, I go back so far, I'm in front of me ! Paul is the best singer, musician and songwriter ever !!! Die suckers !!!
  57. MichaelW
    May 21, 2007
    10
    This album is clearly one of McCartney's best - inventive, whimsical, and surprisingly mature. With the exception of the last track (even though it is completely a throw away it still sticks in your head) this album is almost like a retrospective of his entire career - but with new songs. The epic 'House of Wax' may be one of his best ever. 'Only Momma Knows' is a This album is clearly one of McCartney's best - inventive, whimsical, and surprisingly mature. With the exception of the last track (even though it is completely a throw away it still sticks in your head) this album is almost like a retrospective of his entire career - but with new songs. The epic 'House of Wax' may be one of his best ever. 'Only Momma Knows' is a true Macca rocker! No schmaltz on this latest album - On the second listen I ws completely in love with it (exception 'Nod Your Head'). Expand
  58. StaciaM
    May 29, 2007
    8
    If Chaos & Creation...was Paul's Rubber Soul II, this one is Revolver II. This is Paul's best whole album since Ram and stands up to both mainstream and indie current releases. "Vintage Clothes" is the best track.
  59. KentM
    May 31, 2007
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece. Paul MCcartney is an artist of astoninshing talent, and I will forever be left scratching my head at the fact that his standing could be questioned by anyone. People should cherish this moving and eloquent album, for he won't be with is forever. Thank you Paul.
  60. DarrelL
    May 31, 2007
    10
    This album is a lot of fun, and it is deep and personal at the same time! It also rocks! Pick it up, I think you will like it!
  61. JimS
    May 30, 2007
    8
    This is a really good album. What do these so called critic want from Paul any way? I suppose they would rather listen and review real artists like Brittny Spears & Justin Tmberlake. They will be all forgotten and Paul's music will still be around in 100 years. NIce work Sir Paul.
  62. DaveT
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    The best Paul has done in years!!! I havent liked much from him since Tug or Flowers...but this only has a few clunkers. I actually was thinking of the songs in my head at work today...2 days after I bought it! There is hope! Thanks Paul!!! Dave T
  63. JohnR
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Dave M has rocks in his head....this is good stuff. Solid tuneage...well done Paul!
  64. edwinm
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    two bad song...that is...I'll say it again two bad songs...
  65. JosephW
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    His best solo album, including many great tracks, particularly, Mr. Bellamy, That was Me, House of Wax and The End of the End, which are classics.
  66. joel
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Paul was, is and always will be the greatest singer/songwriter that ever lived. I've been there at the time of the Beatles, Wings and throughout Paul's solo career. All I can say is that we should all appreciate him while he is still with us and not celebrate him when he is not for then it's too late and quit the jealousies, for the man is a gift from God and Memory Almost Paul was, is and always will be the greatest singer/songwriter that ever lived. I've been there at the time of the Beatles, Wings and throughout Paul's solo career. All I can say is that we should all appreciate him while he is still with us and not celebrate him when he is not for then it's too late and quit the jealousies, for the man is a gift from God and Memory Almost Full should open our eyes to our own mortality and love of life. Than you Paul for the inspiration. Expand
  67. AnthonyW
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    A very good CD. Had to listen to it three times to appreciate it. The bonus CD has three good songs, plus an interview with Paul and how he made the record.
  68. FayeE
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I absolutly loved it.
  69. AlexP
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Great album...great music, every track on it is different and meaningful. If you get a chance, buy this one.
  70. BillB
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    Despite starting out with a "sub par" song (that's still catchy), this album is both brilliant and inventively melodic - not quite as good as his last, classic "Chaos and Creation..." album, but "My Ever Present Past", in and of itself, is worth the price of admission.
  71. JimW
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    After epeated listeing..I love this record..Great songs great vocals and his bass playing is amazing and creative!
  72. NomisL
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    After all these years and at the age of 64, Paul is still capable of surprising with his versatility - Just listen to Mr. Bellamy which sounds like nothing he has ever done before. Both Flaming Pie and Chaos were nominated for Album of the Year grammy but failed to win. This album deserves to go one better as we can wait all year long and not find another as good as this one. For a great After all these years and at the age of 64, Paul is still capable of surprising with his versatility - Just listen to Mr. Bellamy which sounds like nothing he has ever done before. Both Flaming Pie and Chaos were nominated for Album of the Year grammy but failed to win. This album deserves to go one better as we can wait all year long and not find another as good as this one. For a great single, take your pick of any of the 1st 4 songs - yet astonishingly the standard scarcely drops for the remainder of the album. Who would have thought Paul is still capable of making such fine music, eh? Nod your head?!...you bet! More of the same, please where this came from and let's hope Paul is not thinking of retiring any time soon. Expand
  73. Petert.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I have not yet heard this album but I give it a ten based on the Boston Globes terrible review. It must be the most brilliant work Paul has done since The Beatles if the Globe thinks it's bad. Whatever those Morons say I go with the opposite!!
  74. JustinD
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I am very satisfied with this album. 2005's Chaos and Creation was very good, and I find this to be in the same vein in terms of sound. My favorite so far has been Mr. Bellamy.
  75. SaraJ
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Best McCartney collection yet. Paul is a musical genius and I hope he finally gets the credit and respect he has always deserved.
  76. JohnW
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Different than 'Chaos & Creation In The Backyard" but at least as good, maybe even better !!! I even like it as well as the amazing "Flaming Pie" !!! I think it stands a good chance of being the best release this year !!! I was really unsure with him releasing an album of originals just two years after the last one (it's been 4 years between releases now for nearly 2 decades) Different than 'Chaos & Creation In The Backyard" but at least as good, maybe even better !!! I even like it as well as the amazing "Flaming Pie" !!! I think it stands a good chance of being the best release this year !!! I was really unsure with him releasing an album of originals just two years after the last one (it's been 4 years between releases now for nearly 2 decades) but his is really on one great late career hot streak !!! Go Sir Paul, Go-Go-A-Go-Go !!!! Expand
  77. omara
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Great.
  78. BradG
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    A very strong album. Equally as good as Flaming Pie with "Nod Your Head" being the only throw-away track.
  79. ChrisG.
    Jun 5, 2007
    5
    Its early...and Chaos and Creation did grow on me, but I hear virtually nothing here at would even be consider a throwaway melodicly on his early solo stuff and on his stronger atter day releases (Dirt, Pie)...Maybe its just me. Love ya anyway, Macca.
  80. BrandonS
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Yes, Paul, we do still need you when you're 64! - This is another in a sucession of great albums. If you've enjoyed McCartney's music since Flaming Pie, this will be no exception. Fantasitc, particularly the first half.
  81. Mike
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    Continues the late-career renaissance that began on 1997's "Flaming Pie." Includes many, many magical moments. Great, innventive production, solid playing (especially bass) and very solid songwriting on almost every track. Paul's voice has changed in the last 10 years, but in that vein it is strong, even up to much younger standards on the "rockers". A fantastic companion to the Continues the late-career renaissance that began on 1997's "Flaming Pie." Includes many, many magical moments. Great, innventive production, solid playing (especially bass) and very solid songwriting on almost every track. Paul's voice has changed in the last 10 years, but in that vein it is strong, even up to much younger standards on the "rockers". A fantastic companion to the more somber and low-key "Chaos & Creation". "Memory" has a little bit of everything, in a good way. And while it harkens back to earlier styles (especially Wings) it still has a fresh approach. Plus, if Paul can't revisit his past styles, who else can? If possible, I'd give this an 8.5. We should all appreciate McCartney while we can. I only hope he is with us long enough for more solid albums like this. His continued contribution to music is unrivaled. Expand
  82. GeneS
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Fresh, vibrant, and serious, and all with a light touch. This album rocks, and some of these songs, with different instrumentation and vocal treatment, wouldn't be out-of-place on a NIN album.
  83. MarkC
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Paul has grown up....finally! This is an album that he should be proud of. He will never live up to his imsurmountable past, but who could? This release ranks alongside "Chaos and Creation in the Backyard", "Flowers in the Dirt", and "Flaming Pie" as an album of mature songs with a very focused determination of a pop icon.
  84. vinnyb
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Sir Paul is reflective, quite selective, but mostly subjective in this mixed selection of deep harrowing lyrics and fun pop nostalga. It's tough closing for the Beatles but being a beatle affords you the liberties of not going commercial. These songs are for Paul and whomever cares to come along for a ride through his memory bank. Bravo. The second listen to the tracks unfold much Sir Paul is reflective, quite selective, but mostly subjective in this mixed selection of deep harrowing lyrics and fun pop nostalga. It's tough closing for the Beatles but being a beatle affords you the liberties of not going commercial. These songs are for Paul and whomever cares to come along for a ride through his memory bank. Bravo. The second listen to the tracks unfold much more that you appreciate off the first time around. Can't wait until the Memory is Full. Expand
  85. kevinm
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I hate analogies but...If Chaos and Creation is Schindler's List, then Memory is E.T., they are made by the same person but are totally different!. Hard to believe that the same man can be so good at completely projects. And a note to the people who rated this album a 0, I would bet my house you are not the Macca fans you claim to be. I can be very critical of Paul (Broadstreet, I hate analogies but...If Chaos and Creation is Schindler's List, then Memory is E.T., they are made by the same person but are totally different!. Hard to believe that the same man can be so good at completely projects. And a note to the people who rated this album a 0, I would bet my house you are not the Macca fans you claim to be. I can be very critical of Paul (Broadstreet, Pipes), believe me! In fact, I bet you are not music fans at all. Expand
  86. Stan
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    This is Paul's best (non-covers) album since "Tug of War". There are some great Wings moments here ("Only Mama Knows" could have been on "Band on the Run" and "House of Wax" sounds like a great lost "Venus and Mars" track). There are some playful moments too, but hearing Paul sing his funeral wishes is pretty startling and chokes me up every time. McCartney's three best albums This is Paul's best (non-covers) album since "Tug of War". There are some great Wings moments here ("Only Mama Knows" could have been on "Band on the Run" and "House of Wax" sounds like a great lost "Venus and Mars" track). There are some playful moments too, but hearing Paul sing his funeral wishes is pretty startling and chokes me up every time. McCartney's three best albums since the 70's have all followed heartbreak (Tug of War--after John, Run Devil Run---after Linda, and this--after a bitter divorce). Let's hope that's not the recipe for his next great record. Expand
  87. Quaid
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!
  88. AmyR
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    It's a grower, not as subdued and mysterious as Chaos and Creation, more varied, more fun, but more cringes too. Is it a great album? You tell me.
  89. MikeF
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    More commercially pleasing than Chaos and Creation. Mr. Bellamy and House of Wax really surprised me.
  90. sun38
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    melodic and memorable
  91. JamesS
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Much much better than Driving Rain and Chaos and Creation. Put together. Songs actually stick in my mind and play over and over. My favorite track is Mr. Bellamy, which reminds me in a good way of the unreleased song Robber's Ball, and would be almost goofy except for the "suicide" overtones (I'm not coming down off the ledge of this tall building?). A CD I will actual play over Much much better than Driving Rain and Chaos and Creation. Put together. Songs actually stick in my mind and play over and over. My favorite track is Mr. Bellamy, which reminds me in a good way of the unreleased song Robber's Ball, and would be almost goofy except for the "suicide" overtones (I'm not coming down off the ledge of this tall building?). A CD I will actual play over and over. Not in the same ballpark as Flaming Pie, which was a killer album, but a move in the right direction. Expand
  92. HeatherM.
    Jul 3, 2007
    0
    Vile
  93. RonaldG
    Aug 12, 2007
    7
    Typical McCartney album. Good stuff, weak stuff - and no one will agree on which is which. There are both stronger and weaker McCartney albums
  94. JimmyN.
    Aug 23, 2007
    7
    Todd W, shut up. Why do you think artists make music just for money? Paul McCartney made this album because he loved music and he wanted to make more. And you are dissing him because he lets Starbucks sell his album??!!!! So are you going to say the same about Sergio Mendes, The Marleys, Billy Joel, Bob Dylan, and BB King? Go back to your false messiah John Lennon and cry in his Todd W, shut up. Why do you think artists make music just for money? Paul McCartney made this album because he loved music and he wanted to make more. And you are dissing him because he lets Starbucks sell his album??!!!! So are you going to say the same about Sergio Mendes, The Marleys, Billy Joel, Bob Dylan, and BB King? Go back to your false messiah John Lennon and cry in his egotistical cess pit. Oh wait, you cant, hes dead. Expand
  95. WilliamM.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Are you people crazy dissing this album??? There isn't a soul out there that can touch this guy!!! He wrote all the songs, plays all the instruments, sings all the vocals, and no 2 songs sound alike and are catchy as ever and you guys knock this man after he's been doing this for decades????? Jagger could never pull this off or any of the lightweights today!!!!! Hey Rolling Are you people crazy dissing this album??? There isn't a soul out there that can touch this guy!!! He wrote all the songs, plays all the instruments, sings all the vocals, and no 2 songs sound alike and are catchy as ever and you guys knock this man after he's been doing this for decades????? Jagger could never pull this off or any of the lightweights today!!!!! Hey Rolling stone, put Spears on you cover again you useless mag!!!!!! Fresh. Expand
  96. BradF
    May 29, 2007
    10
    This CD is a top 5 Macca solo CD, better than Flaming Pie and more fun than Chaos and Creation. As eclectic as Ram and Red Rose Speedway, Memory Almost Full is a masterpiece and a surprising one at that.
  97. JohnL
    May 31, 2007
    10
    For me the only works this decade that stand with this are McCartney's own "Chaos & Creation In The Backyard", and Paul Simon's "Suprise" (which is my very favorite so far- kudos as well to Brian Wilson's "SMiLE"- though it is technically from the 60's and 00's and would be in the top of any decades works). It ranks with the top shelf sol works he's done For me the only works this decade that stand with this are McCartney's own "Chaos & Creation In The Backyard", and Paul Simon's "Suprise" (which is my very favorite so far- kudos as well to Brian Wilson's "SMiLE"- though it is technically from the 60's and 00's and would be in the top of any decades works). It ranks with the top shelf sol works he's done (Band On The Run, Ram, Flaming Pie, Chaos & Creation In The Backyard, & Off The Ground...for the record my second tier would be: Venus & Mars, Tug Of War, Back To The Egg, Flowers In The Dirt, & Driving Rain)...I was so put off by most of his work in the 80's that it took me until just a couple of years ago to even give the guy a chance again. WOW ! Talk about your Autumnal renaissances !!! I wouldn't argue with anyone who might choose this as his best solo work...the same could be, and rightfully so was, of Chaos & Creation- his album of just two years ago. McCartney has been releasing original material albums every 4 years since '89, and this was only a two year break...and with classical works bubbling along as well...all that and he is just incredible with his live performances. He has truly grown into a more consistent solo artist, and one who both retains the past of his legacy...while in honoring that very legacies heart, attempts to push and move beyond it's boundaries. Great songwriting, great production, great playing, great singing, great arrangements...just a true masterpiece. IAs you can easily tell, I couldn't be more thrilled...that is unless "Nod Your Head" had just been a bonus track, and not the jarring closer it ends up as (which is how I'll program it). "The End Of The End" was, well, a perfect ending. I look forward to the bonus cuts (especially since the Chaos & Creation session b-sides were so terrific, and this material is so strong and varied a crop). Blessings of Love & Light to All who read this. Expand
  98. robertk
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    i loved it. this is exactly the album i hoped for from a 65 year old artist who wrote and sang most of Revolver and Sgt. pepper.
  99. AliceZ
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Inspired - at 65 he's still not tired. Nobody can turn out melodic home-runs like this man - at any age. Keep going, Paul!
  100. pkreider
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    do not waste your money
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Missing, thankfully, are the twee Paulie-isms that often insult our intelligence, making Memory Almost Full that rare thing, a modern-day Paul McCartney you can listen to without wincing.
  2. It's a way more focused album than usual.
  3. By McCartney's recent standards, the album justifies the pop eccentricity he pursues so imperturbably.