User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. lotus_65
    Sep 9, 2005
    8
    i'm likin' it. but i like frank zappa too, so what does that say? the harmonies remind me of porcupine tree, but flows much better. odd to say it flows considering its frenetic nature. i guess it's flaws are yet to show.
  2. ag
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    come on...it's fun, it's rock, it's interesting. lighten up and roll out some menos.
  3. jamesk
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    a great sound. the childeren of the dismemberment plan. their best work is on "this is what i know about being gigantic" and half of "highly refined pirates"
  4. DrunkenMaster
    Aug 25, 2005
    8
    This really should be an 8.5. This is a fine album that slides and skitters across the indie rock melody pantheon with wit and style. Well worth your time and money.
  5. LoganD
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Witty math rock. If you like weezer, take a step up to the sophisticated older brother, Minus the Bear. They show why they are the greatest thing out of Seatle in a long time on this album. Pick it up today!
  6. amanda
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    melodic mesmerizing harmonic vocals mixed with insanly sporadic rifts=minus the bears-menos el oso
  7. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    No one plays their instruments better than these guys. Go see them live and be amazed.
  8. AlexanderM
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Breath taking... Saw them play this album live and it was remarkable. The guitarist really knows what hes doing as he creates these beats.
  9. BrandonC
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest CD's I've listened to in a long time. Simply AMAZING!!!
  10. Brian
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    This band deserves credit, I always come back to their LP's and find myself diggin them more as time goes by. Listen to Minus the Bear and you too will see how inventive rock...rocks.
  11. ChrisM
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    Minus the bear is probably one of the most intelligent rock bands out right now. Math rock at it's best. Though i don't believe this to be there best album, you really do sense a bit of machurity, and growth in it. And with each album Jake Snyders lyrics seem to be more personal meaningfull.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Their trademark wit is still present but less forced; instead it is more intelligent and reflective, and as the band produced this album themselves, the reward is apparent: they sound more self-assured and strong than they ever have.
  2. Menos el Oso ultimately stumbles on its own self-conscious maturity.
  3. They hit all the right notes and create the right hooks for success, at least in theory, but for all the passion in Jake Snider's voice, he might as well be singing about the ham sandwich he ate for lunch.