• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 535 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 535

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CurtisB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Incomparable. Fresh. Fun. Ahead of our time.
  2. SF7
    Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world,This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world, it is often hard for people to discern honest emotion from radio tailored singles. The most striking feature about this work is that it IS catchy, and it IS innovative. If you're not into exploring and accepting new genres of music, broadening your perspective on displays of genuine human intent, or flat out trying something different, then go ahead and stick to your conventional go-to nickelback **** Enjoy your aimless, tasteless sing-a-longs and don't write your opinion, because it does not matter. Expand
  3. KurtC
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    Exceptionally solid album from beginning to end. More melody and harmonies than past albums. They're venturing out into more uncharted electronic territory (while still carrying their guitars and floor tom along). Great listen.
  4. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
  5. MattL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. It is a rare thing when an album truly sounds like nothing else happening in music at the moment without alienating it's audience completely. Animal Collective continuously prove to be one of the most important bands in music today and this album along with Strawberry Jam is further proof of that. Expand
  6. BobbyY
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Great album. Solid through and through. Only thing I miss is the prominence of Avey's screams.
  7. PatrickC
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    The beatles album of the new century. organic, sonic-filled, and deeply layered to make an orgasmic mix of beauty.
  8. HarryG
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I hate voting 10s but when it is deserved, then it must be. Nothing else like it and more to the point not much near as good. This is one way to the future of music
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simpleI had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simple pleasure of being beside a pretty girl. Each song is backed by a catchy beat, primarily singles like "My Girls" and "Brother Sport." Better yet, every track has a distinct sound, providing a ton of variety and playability. If you're a fan of alternative/electronic music, this album should be of interest. If the beats don't get you then maybe the lyrics will connect. As I said, I didn't know who the hell AC was before this record...but after many listens I think this is the best album of 2009. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    An all-encompassing, perfectly layered, challenging and beautiful album.
  11. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best records of 2009. Finally their sound comes together in this Brian Wilson inspired album.
  12. timmyd
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys eyes is an amazing song, and i have listened to this album a sh*tload since it has been released. Believe the hype. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    these songs are just blanketed by repetitious sounds. each song blurring into the next. very annoying and unlistenable. (mind you i still enjoy their previous LP's :Sung Tongs and Feels). This is utter garbage. It sounds as if they mixed instruments into a blender, and this is what came out.
  14. NicoleV
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Best record of the 2000's I think for sure!
  15. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  16. OllieH
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best album of the 2000's so far in any genre of music.
  17. Baxter
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I went in expecting something terrible, as my previous experience with the band was not something I enjoyed. But what I found was one of the best albums of the year. Nice and enjoyable music that reminds me why pop is still a genre worth considering. Not the masterpiece that oh so many Pitchfork readers are calling it, but still an extremely solid and fun album.
  18. nw
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Album to beat this year.
  19. TrevorL.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Merriweather consolidates nearly all of AC's developed strengths and sheds nearly all of their past weaknesses, yielding a virtually perfect work that most of us will look back upon in our old age as one of the best damn albums we ever had the pleasure of meeting. A landmark.
  20. ChrisK
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Everything they have done culminates with this album. A Classic, one of the best this decade.
  21. DrewH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing, best album I have heard in ages, a completely new and orignal sound. I love it!
  22. Jeff
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Some songs hit you immediately, some take a bit of savoring to warm up to, but ultimately each song on Merriweather is overflowing with music talent. Past Animal Collective was very eccentric but still good, this album really solidifies their place amongst important bands with a much wider and now grateful audience.
  23. AndrewC
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being Radiohead's Kid A). The melodies, background effects and variation from song to song, not to mention amazing verse to chorus progressions, are simply amazing, and any skeptical listener needs to give the album a second or third chance as this is what it may take to appreciate it. Simply amazing. Expand
  24. BolisG
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    Some great hooks got me started (Summertime Clothes, In the Flowers, Bluish), then each listen built on that foundation and before I knew i'm in love! This album is absolutely effen awesome!
  25. GB
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I got this album in late January, and since the day of purchase i've listened to it every single day. This album is a landmark.
  26. ChrisM
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    It's otherworldly, the music and how good this album is.
  27. TroelsS.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's epic, it's simple in it's complexity. Siply perfect. Expand
  28. robertf
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    One of "Those Albums" of the decade, Animal Collective really figured things out on this record. Feels may still be my personal favorite but this album is more full of hooks, emotion as well as an appreciation for love and music than may be more enthusiastic and hopeful than any "classic" album in a long long time. avey's songwriting keeps getting better (i.e. summertime clothes).
  29. Jon
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Yes, it really is that good!!
  30. Jay
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    When In The Flowers explodes at the 2:30 mark, you know that you're in for an amazing experience. From the dreamy soundscape of Daily Routine to the pounding rhythms of Brother Sport, there's not a moment of weakness to be found in this 55 minutes. A very, very good album. Definitely worthy of all the hype.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]