• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 592

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CurtisB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Incomparable. Fresh. Fun. Ahead of our time.
  2. SF7
    Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world,This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world, it is often hard for people to discern honest emotion from radio tailored singles. The most striking feature about this work is that it IS catchy, and it IS innovative. If you're not into exploring and accepting new genres of music, broadening your perspective on displays of genuine human intent, or flat out trying something different, then go ahead and stick to your conventional go-to nickelback **** Enjoy your aimless, tasteless sing-a-longs and don't write your opinion, because it does not matter. Expand
  3. KurtC
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    Exceptionally solid album from beginning to end. More melody and harmonies than past albums. They're venturing out into more uncharted electronic territory (while still carrying their guitars and floor tom along). Great listen.
  4. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
  5. MattL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. It is a rare thing when an album truly sounds like nothing else happening in music at the moment without alienating it's audience completely. Animal Collective continuously prove to be one of the most important bands in music today and this album along with Strawberry Jam is further proof of that. Expand
  6. BobbyY
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Great album. Solid through and through. Only thing I miss is the prominence of Avey's screams.
  7. TomT.
    Jan 25, 2009
    6
    Things like "streamlined" and "accessible" dont mean its better than previous albums. if anything it means its more disposable and doesnt hold up after severals listens.
  8. DK
    Feb 10, 2009
    6
    It isn't terrible, and it is certainly interesting in parts, but I can't fathom people calling this a classic. Strawberry Jam and Feels, those were very good albums - probably in the 8 out of 10 range - but this just feels like a step back, a retread homage to Pet Sounds era Beach Boys. And I have tried to love this album - listened in the morning, in the car, while exercising, It isn't terrible, and it is certainly interesting in parts, but I can't fathom people calling this a classic. Strawberry Jam and Feels, those were very good albums - probably in the 8 out of 10 range - but this just feels like a step back, a retread homage to Pet Sounds era Beach Boys. And I have tried to love this album - listened in the morning, in the car, while exercising, while meditating, lying in bed in the dark with killer headphones (which is the best way to experience it), in a bad mood, in a good mood - it just doesn't do "it" for me the way other great albums have. Having said that, the first four tracks are very strong, but it really drops off after Summertime Clothes and it doesn't really give you anything to hold on to again until the closer Brother Sport. Expand
  9. PatrickC
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    The beatles album of the new century. organic, sonic-filled, and deeply layered to make an orgasmic mix of beauty.
  10. KenM
    Mar 17, 2009
    6
    I'd like to give it points for its brazen, happy weirdness but there are a whole bunch of bands doing that right now too. Unless you are using the same mind altering substances the band uses when making these tracks, you may find listening to this as forgettable as I did. Listen to stereolab's earlier experimental work and that's better than anything we get here.
  11. ZaneS
    Mar 27, 2009
    6
    Very weird. Very weird.
  12. HarryG
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I hate voting 10s but when it is deserved, then it must be. Nothing else like it and more to the point not much near as good. This is one way to the future of music
  13. weave
    Mar 2, 2009
    6
    Already destined to be the most overrated album of the year. Not that it's terrible, but it just pales in comparison to Sung Tongs or Panda Bear's Person Pitch. It's one of those situations where people catch up to a great act past their prime and feel compelled to say they're great. I'm a relative Animal Collective neophyte myself, but I can see they're Already destined to be the most overrated album of the year. Not that it's terrible, but it just pales in comparison to Sung Tongs or Panda Bear's Person Pitch. It's one of those situations where people catch up to a great act past their prime and feel compelled to say they're great. I'm a relative Animal Collective neophyte myself, but I can see they're heading in the wrong direction. Expand
  14. ShazZ.
    Mar 17, 2009
    6
    Most of the people here suggest listening to this album more than once to understand it's impact. With me, unfortunately, it happened the other way round. The first listening if this album was so overwhelming for me, I was like, "Wow!", that the subsequent ones have been disappointing. Maybe, I will begin to appreciate it more later. Still "Summertime Clothes", "My Girls" are great tracks.
  15. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simpleI had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simple pleasure of being beside a pretty girl. Each song is backed by a catchy beat, primarily singles like "My Girls" and "Brother Sport." Better yet, every track has a distinct sound, providing a ton of variety and playability. If you're a fan of alternative/electronic music, this album should be of interest. If the beats don't get you then maybe the lyrics will connect. As I said, I didn't know who the hell AC was before this record...but after many listens I think this is the best album of 2009. Expand
  16. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    An all-encompassing, perfectly layered, challenging and beautiful album.
  17. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best records of 2009. Finally their sound comes together in this Brian Wilson inspired album.
  18. timmyd
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys eyes is an amazing song, and i have listened to this album a sh*tload since it has been released. Believe the hype. Expand
  19. PeteA
    Feb 21, 2009
    5
    When it comes to inventive records you feel eager to unravel the mystery. You need many listening sessions to enjoy many of those inventive masterpieces. To be inventive you need to be first, a pioneer. This record is not first of it`s kind - it`s not even the best one of same "dreamsound". It`s easy to prefer Shins and their album Wincing the night away.
  20. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    [4.9] Animal Collective may be agreeably unique and energetic but possibly the only thing that would give me a worse headache than listening to this album would be staring at the album artwork for an hour. This album is just repetitive noise, and that seems to be it. The vocals are extremely uneven, and I might not be able to identify a single instrument being used on this record. I have[4.9] Animal Collective may be agreeably unique and energetic but possibly the only thing that would give me a worse headache than listening to this album would be staring at the album artwork for an hour. This album is just repetitive noise, and that seems to be it. The vocals are extremely uneven, and I might not be able to identify a single instrument being used on this record. I have no problem with synthesizers, with computers, with keyboards, hell even with robots (Daft Punk of course), but at least make your electronic music with some melody. I can't identify a rhythm, a beat, or even words. Sure it's new, sure it hasn't been done before, but can something with such little structural significance be innovative? Expand
  21. nash
    Dec 15, 2009
    5
    The most overrated album of the year. Was bored after a few listens and the album is now gathering dust in the back of my collection. No doubt I will one day give it yet another listen much to my annoyance.
  22. DavidM
    Aug 10, 2009
    1
    Animal Collective's last lp is for junkies! El último cd de Animal Collectives es para chemos!!
  23. JohnT
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    So many people were eager to jump on the A.C train after the Pitchfork review. "Well, they gave THIS one a nine point SIX!" Legitimately, only have these songs are worth playing more than once. While the backing noise on "In the Flowers" is nice, let's review the lyrics: "Then we could be dancing No more missing you while I'm gone There we could be dancing And you'd smile So many people were eager to jump on the A.C train after the Pitchfork review. "Well, they gave THIS one a nine point SIX!" Legitimately, only have these songs are worth playing more than once. While the backing noise on "In the Flowers" is nice, let's review the lyrics: "Then we could be dancing No more missing you while I'm gone There we could be dancing And you'd smile and say, 'I like this song'" Never... NEVER did I expect something so lame to be in an Animal Collective song. My girls suffers from equally awful lyrics. Really, the only stand out tracks are "Blueish" and "Brother Sport". This is not the best album of the year... honestly I don't know what is.. it's been a terrible year for music. Even worse, saying this is one of the best albums of the decade is despicable at best. Expand
  24. JohnF
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    I've really tried to like this album. After all, the gushing reviews have to be indicative of excellence, haven't they? However, after umpteen listens I've failed. I still think it's the most over-rated album I've heard in years. Yesterday, I consigned it to the garbage bin.
  25. SteveS
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    Look, I'm a very open-minded person about music. I used to just listen to top-40, and I got really tired of the lack of creativity and the repetitiveness. So I started branching out. Started with bands like Radiohead and Robyn; something not in the mainstream, but not difficult listening. Loved it. Went on to TV on the Radio and Fleet Foxes, and fell in love with that as well. After Look, I'm a very open-minded person about music. I used to just listen to top-40, and I got really tired of the lack of creativity and the repetitiveness. So I started branching out. Started with bands like Radiohead and Robyn; something not in the mainstream, but not difficult listening. Loved it. Went on to TV on the Radio and Fleet Foxes, and fell in love with that as well. After reading the incredible reviews for AC's MPP, I thought the reward would be just as great for this album. So wrong. Most songs have no noticeable structure, and all employ that irritating "dream-sound"; a repetitive, unnatural, synthesized sound that goes throughout the track. I admit, I can see the musical promise in songs like "My Girls" and "Guys Eyes", but these songs sound like they have no cohesive direction to hold them together. I like original, I like different, but those two qualities don't make a song good. Expand
  26. JayP
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    Terrible... hate it.
  27. JasonP
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    I think "eh..." about sums up my feelings for this album. I don't quite get what the big fuss is about with the album. Decent enough songs, but hardly I don't really hear anything that justifies all the 100 point reviews given by the critic. I will say that I have nothing but respect for Animal Collective. I appreaciate what they are trying to do, and for the most part I would I think "eh..." about sums up my feelings for this album. I don't quite get what the big fuss is about with the album. Decent enough songs, but hardly I don't really hear anything that justifies all the 100 point reviews given by the critic. I will say that I have nothing but respect for Animal Collective. I appreaciate what they are trying to do, and for the most part I would say they succeed, but they are hitting a double, not a home run. Expand
  28. RayV.
    Sep 23, 2009
    1
    Hey! This top rated album didn't get a complete zero. It's so boring, but I gave it a one due to the lovely album cover. What utter trash. I'd rather listen to some Swedish gangsta rap performed by punked out cows. DId I mention how boring it was? I really am upset that I spent my hard earned money on this boring waste of time. Honestly. People. This is not good music by Hey! This top rated album didn't get a complete zero. It's so boring, but I gave it a one due to the lovely album cover. What utter trash. I'd rather listen to some Swedish gangsta rap performed by punked out cows. DId I mention how boring it was? I really am upset that I spent my hard earned money on this boring waste of time. Honestly. People. This is not good music by any stretch. If you haven't bought it, don't. Expand
  29. May 25, 2011
    4
    I have tried and tried again with this album and have come to the opinion that it just isn't very good. I bought this following the copious 10/10 or 5star reviews it received in the music press, but it's... dull. It only gets 4 because of the fantastic 'My Girls'. Download that track separately and save yourself the time I wasted.
  30. JimD
    Jun 30, 2009
    3
    I have been using Metacritic for a few years as a guide to buying new music (i.e. bands I was unfamiliar with or had never heard before), but I've got to say I don't understand the hype over this album. I've had the album for about 5 months now, and I've only managed to listen to it the whole way through 3 or 4 times. Every song sounds the same, and none of them are I have been using Metacritic for a few years as a guide to buying new music (i.e. bands I was unfamiliar with or had never heard before), but I've got to say I don't understand the hype over this album. I've had the album for about 5 months now, and I've only managed to listen to it the whole way through 3 or 4 times. Every song sounds the same, and none of them are what I would call enjoyable. I am very open-minded when it comes to avant-garde music (e.g. I like later Radiohead, 70's Miles Davis, Bjork) but MPP has identifiable rhythm, beat or melody. The same people that enjoy this kind of white noise must be big Damien Hirst fans. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]