Merriweather Post Pavilion

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 583 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 583

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jeff
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Some songs hit you immediately, some take a bit of savoring to warm up to, but ultimately each song on Merriweather is overflowing with music talent. Past Animal Collective was very eccentric but still good, this album really solidifies their place amongst important bands with a much wider and now grateful audience.
  2. MattW
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    As close to perfect as any artist has come in a long, long time. Ignore the hype. I hate seeing people come out against this album simply because they perceive as the "it" thing. This album transcends the current bullshit "scenes" bands are unfairly lumped into these days. What we have here is an album that's beyond all that. Something so well-made, so unique, so enjoyable - it As close to perfect as any artist has come in a long, long time. Ignore the hype. I hate seeing people come out against this album simply because they perceive as the "it" thing. This album transcends the current bullshit "scenes" bands are unfairly lumped into these days. What we have here is an album that's beyond all that. Something so well-made, so unique, so enjoyable - it simply demands to be listened to. Write this album off if you want (the minority of you who are it would seem), it's your loss. This a magical, wonderful album - truly one of the best I've ever heard. Expand
  3. RonaldM
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    I hope those initially disappointed don't give up so easy... it takes a few listens to unravel this one. Layer upon layers are revealed with repeat listening. Each song feels like a gift. I haven't loved an album this much in at least 10 years.
  4. MarcosB
    Jan 28, 2009
    9
    A record that begins and ends close to perfection, but with some obscure passages in between.
  5. ChuckNorris
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    For me it's AC's best album next to Feels, probably even better. Take some catchy tunes and lyrics, set them to electronic music, add a few avant-garde elements, and you have redefined the term "(neo) psychedelic". ten thumbs up!
  6. DolceAddict
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    This is what psych-pop perfection sounds like.
  7. stefanob
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Simply perfect. A real masterpiece.
  8. RobertP.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Probably the best album of the last umpteen years. It doesn't really matter though, it's just good and fun to listen to. When does that ever happen?
  9. dan
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    Haha the lowest 3 reviews include rollingstone and blender.. go rave about kings of leon and leave people over the age of 14 alone. let us enjoy music that sonically challenges musical norms without having to hear you say you "don't get it" or there isn't a basic song structure. shove it. animal collective remain one of the most unique and original bands of the 00's. this Haha the lowest 3 reviews include rollingstone and blender.. go rave about kings of leon and leave people over the age of 14 alone. let us enjoy music that sonically challenges musical norms without having to hear you say you "don't get it" or there isn't a basic song structure. shove it. animal collective remain one of the most unique and original bands of the 00's. this record delivers fresh material, even compared to their most bizzar outputs, mpp still doesn't sound drab. this is probably their most "mature" and cohesive record to get into. recommended for anyone who is curious about AC and looking for a good place to make that first dive. Expand
  10. TobyH.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    Brilliant all the way through! My Girls may be the best song of the millennium!
  11. JohnD.
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    I fell in love with this album when I first listened to it and fell deeper in love with it after seeing it performed live 5 feet away from me.
  12. Quillber
    Jan 26, 2009
    7
    Some of its great, some of it panda needs a slap for getting too self indulgent. avey is still making top tracks, but pandas good ones are great. gimme Feels anyday though, its still the most accomplished thing theyve done. i think they are sounding too 90's blind melon or something these days, a bit Shins.. weird cheap sounding production.
  13. S.H.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This 10 is actually more of a 9.8. the only thing I miss is when Avey Tare just unleashes his voice and sounds like he might die. beyond that, this album is basically perfect. amazing low end, mind blowing melodies, complexities that sit just under the super polished surface that you only notice on the 20th listen, the numberless textures and colors all throughout this record. This 10 is actually more of a 9.8. the only thing I miss is when Avey Tare just unleashes his voice and sounds like he might die. beyond that, this album is basically perfect. amazing low end, mind blowing melodies, complexities that sit just under the super polished surface that you only notice on the 20th listen, the numberless textures and colors all throughout this record. un-fucking-believable. Expand
  14. MikeC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This album has set the precedent of psycadelia.
  15. DrewH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing, best album I have heard in ages, a completely new and orignal sound. I love it!
  16. AntonM
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    The best album since Kid A.
  17. LeahT.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, considering that I'm not a fan of the older work. If any of their albums will convert you, this one shall. The other eight fade in comparison. GENIUS. Buy it. Hear it. Love it.
  18. bradfordc.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    I get a hold of myself every night listening to this album. I love this band and special feelings they engender in me.
  19. BillW.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Somewhere between the best of Strawberry Jam and Person Pitch.
  20. TrevorL.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Merriweather consolidates nearly all of AC's developed strengths and sheds nearly all of their past weaknesses, yielding a virtually perfect work that most of us will look back upon in our old age as one of the best damn albums we ever had the pleasure of meeting. A landmark.
  21. kalim.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Everything I've always loved about AC with none of the meandering filler. Sublime.
  22. Mr.Man
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    Definitely a strong step above the pack of other artists circulating nowadays, yet when excellent track proceeded excellent track, repetition started to rear its ugly head. Very well made, almost hypnotizing, but comes to a point where listening to one song could give you the same general idea as the next.
  23. PatrickR.
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    An album whose rich melodies and harmonies show themselves over time, Merriweather Post Pavilion is an album that will certainly be talked about for a long time. Everything fits in its place, and nothing is there that shouldn't. Brilliant, beautiful and perfect.
  24. KasperH.
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    It's a timeless, catchy and weird as hell. Great stuff.
  25. BenK.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    "Am I really all the things that are outside of me?" Groovy buddhist-beachboys-techno with didgeridoos. They are being compared a lot to the Flaming Lips. I like that band but AC are cooler by a mile.
  26. Daniel
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    Utterly brilliant album, their most accessible to date and not a dull track amongst these 11 new offerings.
  27. ZachA.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    FANTASTIC ALBUM. This isn't the kind of pop music you'll currently hear on top 40 radio stations, with cliche lyrics over guitars and drums. You know, the same songs you've heard over and over again regurgitated. These are pop songs breaking the seams of music like pop music USED TO. Music with LIFE flowing through it. Every song is good, but greatness comes most out of FANTASTIC ALBUM. This isn't the kind of pop music you'll currently hear on top 40 radio stations, with cliche lyrics over guitars and drums. You know, the same songs you've heard over and over again regurgitated. These are pop songs breaking the seams of music like pop music USED TO. Music with LIFE flowing through it. Every song is good, but greatness comes most out of Taste and My Girls. Expand
  28. WayneB.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Love most their stuff. But I can listen this one with my wife around!
  29. ChrisA
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Animal Collective have done it. They have won music.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Simply astonishing. Woozy, hazy, ecstatic, melodic, filled with eccentricity and wonderfully produced. 11 incredible tracks in a row, each one of which works as a standalone piece and add up to a masterpiece when taken as a whole. One of the best albums I've ever heard, and possibly the best of the '00s.
  31. KevinS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    A career-heightening album from an amazing band. This will mark the explosion of this already popular group of musicians
  32. KarstenS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    For the love of all things beautiful in this world, don't just listen to this album. Put on your headphones and let it take you over. This album makes other music not sound like music at all. If you are not smiling throughout the entire album, it is possible that you have no soul.
  33. Christopher
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    First off, I'm not a huge Animal Collective fan. I found many of their previous albums nearly unlistenable. So, as you can imagine, I approached this album with a sense of caution. Much to my surprise, this album was fantastic. It is by far their most accessible album. They've taken many of the elements from Panda Bear and infused their own style creating a truly memorable First off, I'm not a huge Animal Collective fan. I found many of their previous albums nearly unlistenable. So, as you can imagine, I approached this album with a sense of caution. Much to my surprise, this album was fantastic. It is by far their most accessible album. They've taken many of the elements from Panda Bear and infused their own style creating a truly memorable experience. I'm impressed by the singing as well. Its more nuanced and doesn't test the listener. If this is where this group is headed, I'm very excited about the future. Expand
  34. JY.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    They have evolved as musicians and made their most accessible album to date. Definitely their most "pop" sounding yet, and I don't think it's a bad thing with the way they structure melodies and especially harmonies behind Panda Bear and Avey Tare. Exceptional record.
  35. SDK
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    It's near perfect a record as any for this day and age. Like an accumulation of all things natural, MPP is the essence of universal likeness of being.
  36. Zoran
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    it's nice to see that somebody could record this after eight albums.
  37. AaronS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    I doubt that I will hear a better album in 2009. A pivotal work for the Collective-it serves as a summation of their fascinating career to date as well as points to a new direction for the future. An important record that also happens to be catchy as hell.
  38. AdamR.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    This album, from the first track, makes you realize that Animal Collective could be the band that takes weird, experimental indie music and turns it into a movement of new pop. My only complaint is that after listening to this album 3 or 4 times, I am so infatuated with the sounds and melodies and addicted to the journey of the album that I want another album. Now.
  39. LeeM.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Their best album. Fuses what's so good about so many other more inconsistent bands into a euphorically brilliant whole.
  40. HarryS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Perfection. This is it. When one talks about "being there" one talks about this.
  41. Jon
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Yes, it really is that good!!
  42. nw
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Album to beat this year.
  43. KyleNelson
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    This is truly great. yeah, that seems about right.
  44. TonyN
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much more electronic feel than previous efforts). This is especially noticeable on tracks such as "My Girls" and "Brothersport," which some might argue are the stand-out tracks on the album. The record will surely draw a large number of new fans, but at the same time please those who have enjoyed their music for many years now. Avey Tare and Panda Bear's vocals are at their best on this record, and they compliment each other better than ever before. Merriweather Post Pavilion is a landmark achievement in music, and it must not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  45. DaveA
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Haha theres 37 user votes and this hasn't even been up on metacritic for a day! Its hard not to go ape shit over an album this amazing.
  46. AlexM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as they get bored of the song, the next big single from "X Band" is out on "X Music Provider." There's no waiting. It's all constant. And mostly garbage. But I've always wanted something to hold onto. Any band I tried to grasp onto when I was into Top 40 material dissipated before any substance was created. So I started paying attention to bands and their releases and started collecting albums that were listenable the whole way through. My collection grew and, as I began to understand the complexities and simplicities of music, I began to appreciate certain things about it. This new album from Animal Collective brings a large amount of what I appreciate about music to a concise, cohesive, and absolutely breathtaking release. Every song on this album has something to love about it and there's not one boring or "skippable" moment. While it may not be a contender for "Best Album of the Century," it certainly feels like a landmark and defining moment for this generation and decade of music at the least. Expand
  47. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  48. NicoleV
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Best record of the 2000's I think for sure!
  49. JeremiahM
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    Hands down, one of the most enjoyable albums of the last several years. Animal Collective have found a rare groove, one which feels totally accessible and relaxed without losing any brilliance.
  50. BobbyY
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Great album. Solid through and through. Only thing I miss is the prominence of Avey's screams.
  51. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
  52. NickR
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    A giant sonic ball of pure beauty that fills you with all of God's love.
  53. Jay
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    When In The Flowers explodes at the 2:30 mark, you know that you're in for an amazing experience. From the dreamy soundscape of Daily Routine to the pounding rhythms of Brother Sport, there's not a moment of weakness to be found in this 55 minutes. A very, very good album. Definitely worthy of all the hype.
  54. OliverC
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Animal Collective's best album and the best album of the decade.
  55. ElliottM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    A modern classic. Thank you, AC.
  56. ChrisK
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Everything they have done culminates with this album. A Classic, one of the best this decade.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]