Merriweather Post Pavilion

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 589 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 589

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is a wondrous album. The electronic ingenuity drives this album to major heights. The opener "In The Flowers" starts off with mysterious noises and Avey Tare's vocals come in slowly and hauntingly until a rush of electronic hooks start screaming and the drums go from two to eleven. It's without a doubt an amazing track to start an album with. The album just getsMerriweather Post Pavilion is a wondrous album. The electronic ingenuity drives this album to major heights. The opener "In The Flowers" starts off with mysterious noises and Avey Tare's vocals come in slowly and hauntingly until a rush of electronic hooks start screaming and the drums go from two to eleven. It's without a doubt an amazing track to start an album with. The album just gets better. It gets more emotional and more beautiful as the album goes on. All In All, Animal Collective is a once in a generation band that really knows how to make music in the most weird, beautiful, and best ways. A Expand
  2. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best records of 2009. Finally their sound comes together in this Brian Wilson inspired album.
  3. Jun 9, 2015
    8
    A mixture of psychedelic/electronic/pop/experimental music, even if the focus is on hypnotic psych-music. This record has a unique style. Its only problem is that it's hard to listen from start to finish because of its lunatic/fluorescent/weird/oozy soundscapes, that tends to be annoying after some minutes if you're not in the right mood. Anyway the melodies are good and the composition isA mixture of psychedelic/electronic/pop/experimental music, even if the focus is on hypnotic psych-music. This record has a unique style. Its only problem is that it's hard to listen from start to finish because of its lunatic/fluorescent/weird/oozy soundscapes, that tends to be annoying after some minutes if you're not in the right mood. Anyway the melodies are good and the composition is catchy and satisfying,
    A special mention goes to the cover, a great homage (probably unintended) to optical art (ex. Victor Vasarely).
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Animal Collective...a bunch of animals...playing good music. I'd say, this would be one of the best records of Neo-Psychedelia music. Yes, they did it. A big jump from Strawberry Jam. I love 'My Girls', so hip...Now get the out of here and buy this album if you haven't...NOW!
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece, to me this might not be as good as Strawberry Jam but it is perfect in it's own unique way because every album this band makes is so different than the previous it's hard to compare. For what they did here, the focus they took it is perfect and has no real comparison.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    There's not much to say about this record. It's a masterpiece, beautifully made and to those who never listened to it, you're missing A LOT and I feel sorry for you.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Cant believe the morons who think it is too much to take in I was listening to this album when I was 13 its not hard. I still absolutely love the album one of the best of this century If you think this is difficult have a listen to aphex twin you morons.
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    An all-encompassing, perfectly layered, challenging and beautiful album.
  9. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Rolling Stone magazine is the Fox News of music. That entire magazine needs to be burned to the ground for their blatant bias, and my lead argument for this would be their review of this album. 3 out of 5. Of course, without even having to look I know that probably every U2 or Bruce Springsteen record will get a flawless score, as they always do. NowLet me start off by saying that Rolling Stone magazine is the Fox News of music. That entire magazine needs to be burned to the ground for their blatant bias, and my lead argument for this would be their review of this album. 3 out of 5. Of course, without even having to look I know that probably every U2 or Bruce Springsteen record will get a flawless score, as they always do. Now that I got that off my chest... this is hands down one of the 10 best albums of the past decade. Animal Collective isn't for everyone, but there is no denying their vision and creativity. Their music sounds like something from the future, as if they're ahead of the curve by 5-10 years. Merriweather Post Pavilion is their best album in my opinion. That's a bold statement too considering the excellence of their past albums. MPP is an album's album. It should be played from front to back, but it doesn't have to be. Most of the tracks on here are amazing on their own, but taking in this album from beginning to end is an experience. The opening track "Into the Flowers" is excellent, and by the time it comes to a close you'll be hooked. It blends effortlessly into one of AC's best songs ever made in "My Girls". I can't fully express how great this song is to somebody who hasn't heard it. It's one of the more powerful, uplifting, and pleasing songs I've ever heard. The song builds perfectly, adding more layers as the song goes on. On first listen it's damn near overwhelming, but it's so damn catchy that you don't need to catch every sound or instrument at once. When the song finally reaches it's chorus is when the song becomes so memorable. The lyrics on the chorus are beautiful. "I don't need... seems like I care about material things/like a social status/I just want 4 walls and adobe slabs for my girls". It's infinitely more powerful in the context of the song, and it's impact cuts deep. Personally, this song struck me because that's EXACTLY the way I feel. The 1-2 punch of "Into the Flowers" and "My Girls" is perfect. Amazingly the rest of the album lives up to it. "Summertime Clothes" is another loud, pulsating song that AC does so well. You can almost feel the steam coming off this song, like heat off the pavement. "Bluish" is flat out hypnotic. I'm not lying when I say I felt the hair raise on my neck the first time I heard it. Despite their songs being so obscure at times, there are certainly melodies buried underneath that are catchy enough that you'll feel like you've heard the song before. "Bluish" is one of those songs. 3 of the final 4 tracks are all excellent as well. "Taste" sounds like nothing on the rest of the album. "Lion in a Coma" is a fast paced ride that features very obsucre singing and lyrics that make the song all the more mesmerizing. The album closer "Brother Sport" is also another terrific track, and a great way to close off this album. It's almost obnoxiously loud for a 1-2 minute stretch early on thanks to the sound of a siren as part of the song. However, when the siren and other instruments stop the song becomes so aesthetically pleasing I can't really put it into words. There isn't one bad song on this album... period. Tracks like "Also Frightened" or "No More Runnin" aren't groundbreaking, but they're still very good songs. They just don't stand up to the top tier tracks on this album. MPP is STILL ahead of it's time more than 3 years after it's release, and just goes to show why AC is arguably the most exciting band/group on the planet. Expand
  10. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I have to say that this album continues to amaze me with the ability to be so close to being a Poppy album and yet be so far from being a pop album. I don't know if that makes sense, but I know that this album will blow your mind the more you listen to it.
  11. Jul 10, 2015
    10
    MPP is exhilaratingly fun and full of joy, and it's by far one of the best accomplishments in not only American but also worldwide music. In its messy planet, it does find perfection. 10/10
  12. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    This is one of their best albums ever. Its the most polished and over the top to date. All the songs on this album are a joy to listen to. The song writing is solid and this is probably their most pop like record. Not dense and sounds natural. Vocals are dreamy and lush. Amazing soundscapes.
  13. Sep 11, 2010
    9
    If you were to judge this album on first impression, then you'll need this. Unless you wanna miss out a loud, atmospheric-awesomeness experience. Animal Collective's most commercial and structured album.
  14. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Animal Collective faz de Merriweather Post Pavilion um disco completamente diferente de tudo. A banda traz uma sensação diferente a cada musica, com toques de psicodelismo em várias das tracks do disco. MPP inova ao mostrar uma banda onde é quase impossivel dizer qual é seu genero de verdade, pois Animal Collective não tem como explicar, o jeito é apenas ouvir o que eles tem a oferecer eAnimal Collective faz de Merriweather Post Pavilion um disco completamente diferente de tudo. A banda traz uma sensação diferente a cada musica, com toques de psicodelismo em várias das tracks do disco. MPP inova ao mostrar uma banda onde é quase impossivel dizer qual é seu genero de verdade, pois Animal Collective não tem como explicar, o jeito é apenas ouvir o que eles tem a oferecer e pode ter certeza que vai valer a pena. Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simpleI had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simple pleasure of being beside a pretty girl. Each song is backed by a catchy beat, primarily singles like "My Girls" and "Brother Sport." Better yet, every track has a distinct sound, providing a ton of variety and playability. If you're a fan of alternative/electronic music, this album should be of interest. If the beats don't get you then maybe the lyrics will connect. As I said, I didn't know who the hell AC was before this record...but after many listens I think this is the best album of 2009. Expand
  16. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This album is bananas! I highly disagree with Pitchfork, this album deserves great recognition.
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the 2000s. Great songs about simple living, love, and a dissection of cool. Some of the best songs I've ever heard. Highlights include In the Flowers, Taste, Bluish.
  18. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    MPP is not a perfect album, some of the tracks on here simply just don't compare to the ultra-highs of songs like Summertime Clothes and In the Flowers. Regardless, this album will be remembered for decades to come whether we like it or not.
  19. May 1, 2016
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is Animal Collective's best work and in my opinion one of the top 5 best albums from the 00's. The way it opens up your imagination and senses is nothing short of amazing. Groundbreaking instrumentation and style.
  20. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    I love this album now. I don't know why I didn't love it when I first heard it in 2010, and when I started appreciating it last year. But I played it while sitting on the couch at home, and simply listened to the melodies. I mean really listened. These songs are not only lush and exciting, they're also straight up jaw-droppingly gorgeous and reach serious highs at the most perfect andI love this album now. I don't know why I didn't love it when I first heard it in 2010, and when I started appreciating it last year. But I played it while sitting on the couch at home, and simply listened to the melodies. I mean really listened. These songs are not only lush and exciting, they're also straight up jaw-droppingly gorgeous and reach serious highs at the most perfect and unexpected times.

    If you feel the music is too meandering or out there for your taste, look up the lyrics. These guys are super relatable. Brother sport and Bluish in particular have some of my favorite lyrics of all time.
    Expand
  21. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    these songs are just blanketed by repetitious sounds. each song blurring into the next. very annoying and unlistenable. (mind you i still enjoy their previous LP's :Sung Tongs and Feels). This is utter garbage. It sounds as if they mixed instruments into a blender, and this is what came out.
  22. Feb 22, 2016
    8
    Impressive album! Love the beats, melodies, and the experimentation of sounds and vocals. It's a transcending and upbeat experience. Definitely worth a listen!

    8.2/10
  23. May 17, 2011
    10
    If Merriweather Post Pavilion is not a 5-Star album I don't know what is!
  24. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Best album Animal Collective has ever made! 'My Girls' is amazing! The song starts out slow but builds up to an amazing song! I will say this music isn't for everybody but if you like this kind of music, it is the best!
  25. NicoleV
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Best record of the 2000's I think for sure!
  26. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  27. OllieH
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best album of the 2000's so far in any genre of music.
  28. Baxter
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I went in expecting something terrible, as my previous experience with the band was not something I enjoyed. But what I found was one of the best albums of the year. Nice and enjoyable music that reminds me why pop is still a genre worth considering. Not the masterpiece that oh so many Pitchfork readers are calling it, but still an extremely solid and fun album.
  29. nw
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Album to beat this year.
  30. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]