• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 592

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NicoleV
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Best record of the 2000's I think for sure!
  2. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  3. OllieH
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best album of the 2000's so far in any genre of music.
  4. Baxter
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I went in expecting something terrible, as my previous experience with the band was not something I enjoyed. But what I found was one of the best albums of the year. Nice and enjoyable music that reminds me why pop is still a genre worth considering. Not the masterpiece that oh so many Pitchfork readers are calling it, but still an extremely solid and fun album.
  5. nw
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Album to beat this year.
  6. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
  7. TrevorL.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Merriweather consolidates nearly all of AC's developed strengths and sheds nearly all of their past weaknesses, yielding a virtually perfect work that most of us will look back upon in our old age as one of the best damn albums we ever had the pleasure of meeting. A landmark.
  8. ChrisK
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Everything they have done culminates with this album. A Classic, one of the best this decade.
  9. DrewH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing, best album I have heard in ages, a completely new and orignal sound. I love it!
  10. Jeff
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Some songs hit you immediately, some take a bit of savoring to warm up to, but ultimately each song on Merriweather is overflowing with music talent. Past Animal Collective was very eccentric but still good, this album really solidifies their place amongst important bands with a much wider and now grateful audience.
  11. AndrewC
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being Radiohead's Kid A). The melodies, background effects and variation from song to song, not to mention amazing verse to chorus progressions, are simply amazing, and any skeptical listener needs to give the album a second or third chance as this is what it may take to appreciate it. Simply amazing. Expand
  12. BolisG
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    Some great hooks got me started (Summertime Clothes, In the Flowers, Bluish), then each listen built on that foundation and before I knew i'm in love! This album is absolutely effen awesome!
  13. GB
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I got this album in late January, and since the day of purchase i've listened to it every single day. This album is a landmark.
  14. GideonA
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream and affordable. I have to believe this kind of change is good thing even though it might take some getting used to...its unfortunate that you don't hear this kind of music on mainstream radio stations though. Expand
  15. ChrisM
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    It's otherworldly, the music and how good this album is.
  16. MattL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. It is a rare thing when an album truly sounds like nothing else happening in music at the moment without alienating it's audience completely. Animal Collective continuously prove to be one of the most important bands in music today and this album along with Strawberry Jam is further proof of that. Expand
  17. TroelsS.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's epic, it's simple in it's complexity. Siply perfect. Expand
  18. TonysT
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    Sorry Animal Collective - your record is clever, innovative, and very well produced, and I admire you for that, but its not enjoyable to listen to, isn't engaging, and doesn't connect with me at all.
  19. robertf
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    One of "Those Albums" of the decade, Animal Collective really figured things out on this record. Feels may still be my personal favorite but this album is more full of hooks, emotion as well as an appreciation for love and music than may be more enthusiastic and hopeful than any "classic" album in a long long time. avey's songwriting keeps getting better (i.e. summertime clothes).
  20. MikeM.
    Jan 9, 2010
    2
    I don't get it. I just don't get it. I enjoy all kinds of musical and agree with Metacritic most of the time. But after one listen to this, I had to force myself to listen a second time, and have no desire to do that again. Doesn't do anything for me.
  21. FredR.
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    An interesting album which is grossly overrated. MPP is one of the better 21st century progrock albums. Now do a comparison test: If Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon was a 10 how would you rate this album? I would give this a 6 at best.
  22. Joe
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    This album could have been a complete disaster. It strives on its Beach Boyish vocals and music that doesn't drive you crazy like their Feels album. Not the best album of the year, but one of the biggest surprises.
  23. Jon
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Yes, it really is that good!!
  24. Jay
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    When In The Flowers explodes at the 2:30 mark, you know that you're in for an amazing experience. From the dreamy soundscape of Daily Routine to the pounding rhythms of Brother Sport, there's not a moment of weakness to be found in this 55 minutes. A very, very good album. Definitely worthy of all the hype.
  25. JeremiahM
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    Hands down, one of the most enjoyable albums of the last several years. Animal Collective have found a rare groove, one which feels totally accessible and relaxed without losing any brilliance.
  26. BobbyY
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Great album. Solid through and through. Only thing I miss is the prominence of Avey's screams.
  27. DaveA
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Haha theres 37 user votes and this hasn't even been up on metacritic for a day! Its hard not to go ape shit over an album this amazing.
  28. TonyN
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much more electronic feel than previous efforts). This is especially noticeable on tracks such as "My Girls" and "Brothersport," which some might argue are the stand-out tracks on the album. The record will surely draw a large number of new fans, but at the same time please those who have enjoyed their music for many years now. Avey Tare and Panda Bear's vocals are at their best on this record, and they compliment each other better than ever before. Merriweather Post Pavilion is a landmark achievement in music, and it must not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  29. AlexM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as they get bored of the song, the next big single from "X Band" is out on "X Music Provider." There's no waiting. It's all constant. And mostly garbage. But I've always wanted something to hold onto. Any band I tried to grasp onto when I was into Top 40 material dissipated before any substance was created. So I started paying attention to bands and their releases and started collecting albums that were listenable the whole way through. My collection grew and, as I began to understand the complexities and simplicities of music, I began to appreciate certain things about it. This new album from Animal Collective brings a large amount of what I appreciate about music to a concise, cohesive, and absolutely breathtaking release. Every song on this album has something to love about it and there's not one boring or "skippable" moment. While it may not be a contender for "Best Album of the Century," it certainly feels like a landmark and defining moment for this generation and decade of music at the least. Expand
  30. bradfordc.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    I get a hold of myself every night listening to this album. I love this band and special feelings they engender in me.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]