• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 593 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 593

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    This is one of their best albums ever. Its the most polished and over the top to date. All the songs on this album are a joy to listen to. The song writing is solid and this is probably their most pop like record. Not dense and sounds natural. Vocals are dreamy and lush. Amazing soundscapes.
  2. May 1, 2016
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is Animal Collective's best work and in my opinion one of the top 5 best albums from the 00's. The way it opens up your imagination and senses is nothing short of amazing. Groundbreaking instrumentation and style.
  3. Feb 22, 2016
    8
    Impressive album! Love the beats, melodies, and the experimentation of sounds and vocals. It's a transcending and upbeat experience. Definitely worth a listen!

    8.2/10
  4. Jul 10, 2015
    10
    MPP is exhilaratingly fun and full of joy, and it's by far one of the best accomplishments in not only American but also worldwide music. In its messy planet, it does find perfection. 10/10
  5. Jun 9, 2015
    8
    A mixture of psychedelic/electronic/pop/experimental music, even if the focus is on hypnotic psych-music. This record has a unique style. Its only problem is that it's hard to listen from start to finish because of its lunatic/fluorescent/weird/oozy soundscapes, that tends to be annoying after some minutes if you're not in the right mood. Anyway the melodies are good and the composition isA mixture of psychedelic/electronic/pop/experimental music, even if the focus is on hypnotic psych-music. This record has a unique style. Its only problem is that it's hard to listen from start to finish because of its lunatic/fluorescent/weird/oozy soundscapes, that tends to be annoying after some minutes if you're not in the right mood. Anyway the melodies are good and the composition is catchy and satisfying,
    A special mention goes to the cover, a great homage (probably unintended) to optical art (ex. Victor Vasarely).
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2015
    10
    At first it might be hard to get into, but once you actually listen to the music and understand the meanings to the songs it becomes more accessible to listen to. This album is still underrated in my opinion. I suggest giving it a chance before you label it as trash.
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    (9.8) I feel that this album is a feeling; It's the feeling you get at the end of a hot summer's day when you don't have a care in the world and you allow yourself to 'float off' into a blissful headspace. The production on this album is much less abrasive than their previous work yet still as forward thinking, diverse and experimental. It took me a few listens to really 'get' this album(9.8) I feel that this album is a feeling; It's the feeling you get at the end of a hot summer's day when you don't have a care in the world and you allow yourself to 'float off' into a blissful headspace. The production on this album is much less abrasive than their previous work yet still as forward thinking, diverse and experimental. It took me a few listens to really 'get' this album but when I finally did I was rewarded in abundance. Listening to Merriweather Post Pavillion is just a completely joyous experience that I would recommend to nearly anyone. I would also recommend the follow up EP, Fall Be Kind, which keeps the same themes as merriweather. Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Animal Collective faz de Merriweather Post Pavilion um disco completamente diferente de tudo. A banda traz uma sensação diferente a cada musica, com toques de psicodelismo em várias das tracks do disco. MPP inova ao mostrar uma banda onde é quase impossivel dizer qual é seu genero de verdade, pois Animal Collective não tem como explicar, o jeito é apenas ouvir o que eles tem a oferecer eAnimal Collective faz de Merriweather Post Pavilion um disco completamente diferente de tudo. A banda traz uma sensação diferente a cada musica, com toques de psicodelismo em várias das tracks do disco. MPP inova ao mostrar uma banda onde é quase impossivel dizer qual é seu genero de verdade, pois Animal Collective não tem como explicar, o jeito é apenas ouvir o que eles tem a oferecer e pode ter certeza que vai valer a pena. Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    MPP is not a perfect album, some of the tracks on here simply just don't compare to the ultra-highs of songs like Summertime Clothes and In the Flowers. Regardless, this album will be remembered for decades to come whether we like it or not.
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    [4.9] Animal Collective may be agreeably unique and energetic but possibly the only thing that would give me a worse headache than listening to this album would be staring at the album artwork for an hour. This album is just repetitive noise, and that seems to be it. The vocals are extremely uneven, and I might not be able to identify a single instrument being used on this record. I have[4.9] Animal Collective may be agreeably unique and energetic but possibly the only thing that would give me a worse headache than listening to this album would be staring at the album artwork for an hour. This album is just repetitive noise, and that seems to be it. The vocals are extremely uneven, and I might not be able to identify a single instrument being used on this record. I have no problem with synthesizers, with computers, with keyboards, hell even with robots (Daft Punk of course), but at least make your electronic music with some melody. I can't identify a rhythm, a beat, or even words. Sure it's new, sure it hasn't been done before, but can something with such little structural significance be innovative? Expand
  11. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    I love this album now. I don't know why I didn't love it when I first heard it in 2010, and when I started appreciating it last year. But I played it while sitting on the couch at home, and simply listened to the melodies. I mean really listened. These songs are not only lush and exciting, they're also straight up jaw-droppingly gorgeous and reach serious highs at the most perfect andI love this album now. I don't know why I didn't love it when I first heard it in 2010, and when I started appreciating it last year. But I played it while sitting on the couch at home, and simply listened to the melodies. I mean really listened. These songs are not only lush and exciting, they're also straight up jaw-droppingly gorgeous and reach serious highs at the most perfect and unexpected times.

    If you feel the music is too meandering or out there for your taste, look up the lyrics. These guys are super relatable. Brother sport and Bluish in particular have some of my favorite lyrics of all time.
    Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Every instrument and sound are right where they're supposed to be, nothing is out of place, and there's an extreme attention to detail. The bass-heavy pop sound is certainly unexpected, since their earlier work was looser, far more experimental, and not at all electronic, so it may not appeal to older Animal Collective fans, but that doesn't mean it's not good. If you're a true fan, youEvery instrument and sound are right where they're supposed to be, nothing is out of place, and there's an extreme attention to detail. The bass-heavy pop sound is certainly unexpected, since their earlier work was looser, far more experimental, and not at all electronic, so it may not appeal to older Animal Collective fans, but that doesn't mean it's not good. If you're a true fan, you will truly enjoy this record, even if it's not your favorite. It's a masterful and refreshing album that shows what musical artists are capable of; and if you think otherwise, you shouldn't be listening to music. Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Cant believe the morons who think it is too much to take in I was listening to this album when I was 13 its not hard. I still absolutely love the album one of the best of this century If you think this is difficult have a listen to aphex twin you morons.
  14. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Animal Collective...a bunch of animals...playing good music. I'd say, this would be one of the best records of Neo-Psychedelia music. Yes, they did it. A big jump from Strawberry Jam. I love 'My Girls', so hip...Now get the out of here and buy this album if you haven't...NOW!
  15. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Best album Animal Collective has ever made! 'My Girls' is amazing! The song starts out slow but builds up to an amazing song! I will say this music isn't for everybody but if you like this kind of music, it is the best!
  16. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    This album contains some of Animal Collective's highest moments on certain songs, but the rest of the album comes off as significantly less entertaining filler. Overall still totally enjoyable.
  17. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    There's not much to say about this record. It's a masterpiece, beautifully made and to those who never listened to it, you're missing A LOT and I feel sorry for you.
  18. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I have to say that this album continues to amaze me with the ability to be so close to being a Poppy album and yet be so far from being a pop album. I don't know if that makes sense, but I know that this album will blow your mind the more you listen to it.
  19. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Rolling Stone magazine is the Fox News of music. That entire magazine needs to be burned to the ground for their blatant bias, and my lead argument for this would be their review of this album. 3 out of 5. Of course, without even having to look I know that probably every U2 or Bruce Springsteen record will get a flawless score, as they always do. NowLet me start off by saying that Rolling Stone magazine is the Fox News of music. That entire magazine needs to be burned to the ground for their blatant bias, and my lead argument for this would be their review of this album. 3 out of 5. Of course, without even having to look I know that probably every U2 or Bruce Springsteen record will get a flawless score, as they always do. Now that I got that off my chest... this is hands down one of the 10 best albums of the past decade. Animal Collective isn't for everyone, but there is no denying their vision and creativity. Their music sounds like something from the future, as if they're ahead of the curve by 5-10 years. Merriweather Post Pavilion is their best album in my opinion. That's a bold statement too considering the excellence of their past albums. MPP is an album's album. It should be played from front to back, but it doesn't have to be. Most of the tracks on here are amazing on their own, but taking in this album from beginning to end is an experience. The opening track "Into the Flowers" is excellent, and by the time it comes to a close you'll be hooked. It blends effortlessly into one of AC's best songs ever made in "My Girls". I can't fully express how great this song is to somebody who hasn't heard it. It's one of the more powerful, uplifting, and pleasing songs I've ever heard. The song builds perfectly, adding more layers as the song goes on. On first listen it's damn near overwhelming, but it's so damn catchy that you don't need to catch every sound or instrument at once. When the song finally reaches it's chorus is when the song becomes so memorable. The lyrics on the chorus are beautiful. "I don't need... seems like I care about material things/like a social status/I just want 4 walls and adobe slabs for my girls". It's infinitely more powerful in the context of the song, and it's impact cuts deep. Personally, this song struck me because that's EXACTLY the way I feel. The 1-2 punch of "Into the Flowers" and "My Girls" is perfect. Amazingly the rest of the album lives up to it. "Summertime Clothes" is another loud, pulsating song that AC does so well. You can almost feel the steam coming off this song, like heat off the pavement. "Bluish" is flat out hypnotic. I'm not lying when I say I felt the hair raise on my neck the first time I heard it. Despite their songs being so obscure at times, there are certainly melodies buried underneath that are catchy enough that you'll feel like you've heard the song before. "Bluish" is one of those songs. 3 of the final 4 tracks are all excellent as well. "Taste" sounds like nothing on the rest of the album. "Lion in a Coma" is a fast paced ride that features very obsucre singing and lyrics that make the song all the more mesmerizing. The album closer "Brother Sport" is also another terrific track, and a great way to close off this album. It's almost obnoxiously loud for a 1-2 minute stretch early on thanks to the sound of a siren as part of the song. However, when the siren and other instruments stop the song becomes so aesthetically pleasing I can't really put it into words. There isn't one bad song on this album... period. Tracks like "Also Frightened" or "No More Runnin" aren't groundbreaking, but they're still very good songs. They just don't stand up to the top tier tracks on this album. MPP is STILL ahead of it's time more than 3 years after it's release, and just goes to show why AC is arguably the most exciting band/group on the planet. Expand
  20. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the 2000s. Great songs about simple living, love, and a dissection of cool. Some of the best songs I've ever heard. Highlights include In the Flowers, Taste, Bluish.
  21. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    Am I the only one who thinks their songs' melodies sound all same? Aside from the trying-really-hard diverse and supposedly creative production, I find their music incredibly boring.
  22. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best records of 2009. Finally their sound comes together in this Brian Wilson inspired album.
  23. Sep 2, 2011
    3
    This band can hit a groove and go off on an incredible tangent and bring it home BUT you have to weed through so many songs to find any coheasiveness and it can become mundane and distorted to listen to sectoraly
  24. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    After initially having dismissed the album I've now gotten my head wrapped around it. I finally understand the hype and the highly positive reviews it got back in 2009. It's weird and it thrives on being weird and somewhat incomprehensible! It is bursting with youthful energy and pulls the listener through a whole mess of neo-psychedelic noise and odd sounds, but with a careful andAfter initially having dismissed the album I've now gotten my head wrapped around it. I finally understand the hype and the highly positive reviews it got back in 2009. It's weird and it thrives on being weird and somewhat incomprehensible! It is bursting with youthful energy and pulls the listener through a whole mess of neo-psychedelic noise and odd sounds, but with a careful and calculated structure that binds it all together. A perfect summer album in spite of being released in the dead of winter. Expand
  25. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    An all-encompassing, perfectly layered, challenging and beautiful album.
  26. May 25, 2011
    4
    I have tried and tried again with this album and have come to the opinion that it just isn't very good. I bought this following the copious 10/10 or 5star reviews it received in the music press, but it's... dull. It only gets 4 because of the fantastic 'My Girls'. Download that track separately and save yourself the time I wasted.
  27. May 17, 2011
    10
    If Merriweather Post Pavilion is not a 5-Star album I don't know what is!
  28. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I have to be honest, for the first few listens, I could only sit through "My Girls." Eventually, I made it through "Bluish." Then I started liking "Summertime Clothes." I just couldn't wrap my head around why this music was considered "great" by one of my best friends. Was it because of the high review scores? No, he never cared about looking cool. My first breakthrough came monthsI have to be honest, for the first few listens, I could only sit through "My Girls." Eventually, I made it through "Bluish." Then I started liking "Summertime Clothes." I just couldn't wrap my head around why this music was considered "great" by one of my best friends. Was it because of the high review scores? No, he never cared about looking cool. My first breakthrough came months later, when I decided to try this album while it the gym. I was on an elliptical (I have bad knees, darnit!), "In the Flowers" came on, I closed my eyes, and I ran.

    This music is intense, personal, and extremely beautiful. From the first song to the last, AC shows incredible depth in their choices, both musically and lyrically. The lyrics are very adult in theme and execution. It's hard to hear them on bad speakers, but on great headphones, they come through crystal-clear.

    I could see how people don't enjoy the qualities of this music. You can't dance to this. You can't rock out to it. You can't sing along. You can barely even study to it. You have to live in it. You have to detach from everything else and let it surround you. You have to open up emotionally to it.

    If you can't do that, fine. It just isn't your thing. But this is music as art.
    Expand
  29. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is a wondrous album. The electronic ingenuity drives this album to major heights. The opener "In The Flowers" starts off with mysterious noises and Avey Tare's vocals come in slowly and hauntingly until a rush of electronic hooks start screaming and the drums go from two to eleven. It's without a doubt an amazing track to start an album with. The album just getsMerriweather Post Pavilion is a wondrous album. The electronic ingenuity drives this album to major heights. The opener "In The Flowers" starts off with mysterious noises and Avey Tare's vocals come in slowly and hauntingly until a rush of electronic hooks start screaming and the drums go from two to eleven. It's without a doubt an amazing track to start an album with. The album just gets better. It gets more emotional and more beautiful as the album goes on. All In All, Animal Collective is a once in a generation band that really knows how to make music in the most weird, beautiful, and best ways. A Expand
  30. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    these songs are just blanketed by repetitious sounds. each song blurring into the next. very annoying and unlistenable. (mind you i still enjoy their previous LP's :Sung Tongs and Feels). This is utter garbage. It sounds as if they mixed instruments into a blender, and this is what came out.
  31. SF7
    Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world,This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world, it is often hard for people to discern honest emotion from radio tailored singles. The most striking feature about this work is that it IS catchy, and it IS innovative. If you're not into exploring and accepting new genres of music, broadening your perspective on displays of genuine human intent, or flat out trying something different, then go ahead and stick to your conventional go-to nickelback **** Enjoy your aimless, tasteless sing-a-longs and don't write your opinion, because it does not matter. Expand
  32. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece, to me this might not be as good as Strawberry Jam but it is perfect in it's own unique way because every album this band makes is so different than the previous it's hard to compare. For what they did here, the focus they took it is perfect and has no real comparison.
  33. Sep 11, 2010
    9
    If you were to judge this album on first impression, then you'll need this. Unless you wanna miss out a loud, atmospheric-awesomeness experience. Animal Collective's most commercial and structured album.
  34. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This album is bananas! I highly disagree with Pitchfork, this album deserves great recognition.
  35. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Let's do this.

    In The Flowers - 10

    My Girls - 10

    Also Frightened - 10

    Summertime Clothes - 10

    Daily Routine - 7

    Bluish - 9

    Guys Eyes - 9

    Taste - 10

    Lion in a Coma - 9

    No More Runnin - 8

    Brother Sport - 9

    Personally one of my favorite albums.
  36. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simpleI had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simple pleasure of being beside a pretty girl. Each song is backed by a catchy beat, primarily singles like "My Girls" and "Brother Sport." Better yet, every track has a distinct sound, providing a ton of variety and playability. If you're a fan of alternative/electronic music, this album should be of interest. If the beats don't get you then maybe the lyrics will connect. As I said, I didn't know who the hell AC was before this record...but after many listens I think this is the best album of 2009. Expand
  37. Riccardinho
    Feb 3, 2010
    4
    Meh. Noisy, over-produced, boring. Music for critics, not for listening to.
  38. TroelsS.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's epic, it's simple in it's complexity. Siply perfect. Expand
  39. VictorO.
    Jan 14, 2010
    7
    Unlike their transcendent, delightfully inaccessible treat Feels from 2005, this is either a commercial sell-out or an unabashed homage. The influences abound: A lot of The Beach Boys and The Mamas and the Papas, a smattering of the Flaming Lips and XTC, and a hint of Lindsey Buckingham/Fleetwood Mac. Where's my independently freakish genius band?
  40. MattL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. It is a rare thing when an album truly sounds like nothing else happening in music at the moment without alienating it's audience completely. Animal Collective continuously prove to be one of the most important bands in music today and this album along with Strawberry Jam is further proof of that. Expand
  41. MikeM.
    Jan 9, 2010
    2
    I don't get it. I just don't get it. I enjoy all kinds of musical and agree with Metacritic most of the time. But after one listen to this, I had to force myself to listen a second time, and have no desire to do that again. Doesn't do anything for me.
  42. JohnG
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    Boring, pretentious trash. It sounds like all the tracks were designed to be in car commercials.
  43. Baxter
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I went in expecting something terrible, as my previous experience with the band was not something I enjoyed. But what I found was one of the best albums of the year. Nice and enjoyable music that reminds me why pop is still a genre worth considering. Not the masterpiece that oh so many Pitchfork readers are calling it, but still an extremely solid and fun album.
  44. robertf
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    One of "Those Albums" of the decade, Animal Collective really figured things out on this record. Feels may still be my personal favorite but this album is more full of hooks, emotion as well as an appreciation for love and music than may be more enthusiastic and hopeful than any "classic" album in a long long time. avey's songwriting keeps getting better (i.e. summertime clothes).
  45. TonysT
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    Sorry Animal Collective - your record is clever, innovative, and very well produced, and I admire you for that, but its not enjoyable to listen to, isn't engaging, and doesn't connect with me at all.
  46. Darko
    Dec 27, 2009
    0
    The most overrated album of the year. Tried to listen to it several times, but just can't get it. Somebody called it "danceable"... what a joke!
  47. tomb
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    Animal Collective has an aversion to melody. It's all about placement of strange sound effects and the repetition of those effects instead of instruments. I can't handle the slicker-than-grease production. All the songs move at the same mid-tempo pace and feel slightly different from one another. Not for me.
  48. MaxW
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Best album of the year, top 3 this decade along with Is This it by the Strokes and Funeral by Arcade Fire. The way Animal Collective blends so many different sounds to create something exceptional continues to amaze me. Anyone who rates this below about a 7 has no idea what they're talking about
  49. kevinm.
    Dec 17, 2009
    0
    How can this even be considered a musical composition? it sounds like a bunch of douche bags with way too many synths ripping off concept work brian wilson was doing back in the 60's and 70's. I guess im just not hip enough to get it.
  50. HagenM.
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    This music is ahead of its time by decades. Perfection has been achieved.
  51. TimmyD.
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    while this is my favorite album of all-time by far, it is true that this music is incredibly awkward to listen to with others. Its kind of a bedroom album I guess. I remember one time I was listening to brothersport, my favorite song ever, in a car with my friend and i was just like..wow. this song feels really gay right now for some reason. the truth is, this isn't pop. It should while this is my favorite album of all-time by far, it is true that this music is incredibly awkward to listen to with others. Its kind of a bedroom album I guess. I remember one time I was listening to brothersport, my favorite song ever, in a car with my friend and i was just like..wow. this song feels really gay right now for some reason. the truth is, this isn't pop. It should never, ever be compared to pop because it is entirely different from anything else ever written and doesn't even approach the overproduced feel of the entire pop spectrum. Yet, while being so unique and original, it is also, like I said, one of the worst albums to try and introduce friends to. Expand
  52. nash
    Dec 15, 2009
    5
    The most overrated album of the year. Was bored after a few listens and the album is now gathering dust in the back of my collection. No doubt I will one day give it yet another listen much to my annoyance.
  53. ErnestK.
    Dec 14, 2009
    2
    I'm with Ray V and John F and I'll go a few steps further: I absolutely cannot fathom the critical fawning that this album and Grizzly Bear's Veckatemist have generated this year. Both, to me, are boring, completely unmemorable, tepid indie mediocrity. I'm a huge fan of Bitte Orca, Post-Nothing, Actor, The xx, and several other breakthrough Pitchfork darlings--just not I'm with Ray V and John F and I'll go a few steps further: I absolutely cannot fathom the critical fawning that this album and Grizzly Bear's Veckatemist have generated this year. Both, to me, are boring, completely unmemorable, tepid indie mediocrity. I'm a huge fan of Bitte Orca, Post-Nothing, Actor, The xx, and several other breakthrough Pitchfork darlings--just not these guys. I really don't get it other than to say that there's no accounting for taste. Yes, I have been reduced to spouting lazy cliches to try to account for my dissent against the consensus. Expand
  54. timmyd
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys eyes is an amazing song, and i have listened to this album a sh*tload since it has been released. Believe the hype. Expand
  55. JT
    Nov 27, 2009
    0
    Usually when an album gets phenomenal reviews, I feel it necessary to check it out to see what all the fuss is about. More often then not, these record seem to be at least decent. This is NOT the case for "Merriweather Post Pavilion". The songs are way too similar and, to be perfectly frank, boring. If this is one of the "best" albums of the year (which many critics seem to agree upon), Usually when an album gets phenomenal reviews, I feel it necessary to check it out to see what all the fuss is about. More often then not, these record seem to be at least decent. This is NOT the case for "Merriweather Post Pavilion". The songs are way too similar and, to be perfectly frank, boring. If this is one of the "best" albums of the year (which many critics seem to agree upon), then 2009 must have been the worst year in music history. Expand
  56. CurtisB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Incomparable. Fresh. Fun. Ahead of our time.
  57. GoodMusicLover
    Nov 14, 2009
    3
    This is really a boring and annoying album, any other album, Mainstream or not, out there is so much better. I gave it a 3 because I still think it is better than other stuff like Radiohead or other "alternative" bands that really suck. Sorry if I offend anybody with this, it's just my opinion.
  58. JohnnieT.
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    There is some fantastic stuff here - when they nail the blissed out 22nd century Beach Boys style(particularly on Bluish, Guys Eyes, My Girls), then it plays like a dream. Infuriatingly however, at times its undermined by its own exuberant eclecticism and the need for sonic experimentation can occasionally get in the way of those melodies. If only we could hear them!
  59. FredR.
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    An interesting album which is grossly overrated. MPP is one of the better 21st century progrock albums. Now do a comparison test: If Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon was a 10 how would you rate this album? I would give this a 6 at best.
  60. nicka.
    Nov 9, 2009
    4
    I have listened this album through now four or five times and I just don't get why it got such great reviews. I am a big fan of inde rock and listen to bands such as Dr Dog, Radiohead, Fleet Foxes and Modust Mouse, just to name a few. To me the whole album seems disjointed and off key. It really never seems to hit much of a stride. There are a few songs that are decent but to balance I have listened this album through now four or five times and I just don't get why it got such great reviews. I am a big fan of inde rock and listen to bands such as Dr Dog, Radiohead, Fleet Foxes and Modust Mouse, just to name a few. To me the whole album seems disjointed and off key. It really never seems to hit much of a stride. There are a few songs that are decent but to balance that there are a few songs that are outright annoying. I just don't understand why people were so high on this record. I don't see it growing on me, thats for sure. Expand
  61. Joe
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    This album could have been a complete disaster. It strives on its Beach Boyish vocals and music that doesn't drive you crazy like their Feels album. Not the best album of the year, but one of the biggest surprises.
  62. MingV.
    Nov 2, 2009
    0
    This kind of music makes me think the Americans have done so much drugs and other derangement in their whole life 'til a young age that they lost all senses of aesthetic and decency.
  63. Bman
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I'd never heard of Animal Collective before this album. I can't believe what I've been missing out on. It requires a few listens to really get into it but once you're there you won't want to turn back. Even though it's highly experimental you can't help but feel like these guys would dominate the airwaves of they so chose. The music actually creates I'd never heard of Animal Collective before this album. I can't believe what I've been missing out on. It requires a few listens to really get into it but once you're there you won't want to turn back. Even though it's highly experimental you can't help but feel like these guys would dominate the airwaves of they so chose. The music actually creates atmosphere and the lyrics actually tell stories. Summertime Clothes and My Girls are my favorites, but overall it's still an outstanding record. Expand
  64. Vee
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    This music does not fit you if you love the mindless beat of the Jonas Brothers or Miley Cyrus or Nickleback. If you want to fill your mind with "baby babybabybaby" over thousands of time in a single album then you should go back to mainstream. To the people who bought this album because of the reviews: people who review musics have something that you don't: mind, brain, thoughts.
  65. TonyM
    Oct 7, 2009
    3
    When told its Kid A, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Agaetis Byrjun, and Funeral all rolled up into one, it grabs my attention. I bought the hype. Two years down the road, this one iis destined to fill used CD bins everywhere.
  66. EliJ.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Okay first off, if you love mainstream crap then dont listen to this. its way above you. this is the best album i've listened to in a long time. animal collective, you are a voice of a damn generation. i hope you get more popular so your music can touch people around the world. Im the only person in my whole school thats heard of animal collective but im spreading the word. Okay first off, if you love mainstream crap then dont listen to this. its way above you. this is the best album i've listened to in a long time. animal collective, you are a voice of a damn generation. i hope you get more popular so your music can touch people around the world. Im the only person in my whole school thats heard of animal collective but im spreading the word. summertime clothes is my new favorite song! yeah! Expand
  67. RayV.
    Sep 23, 2009
    1
    Hey! This top rated album didn't get a complete zero. It's so boring, but I gave it a one due to the lovely album cover. What utter trash. I'd rather listen to some Swedish gangsta rap performed by punked out cows. DId I mention how boring it was? I really am upset that I spent my hard earned money on this boring waste of time. Honestly. People. This is not good music by Hey! This top rated album didn't get a complete zero. It's so boring, but I gave it a one due to the lovely album cover. What utter trash. I'd rather listen to some Swedish gangsta rap performed by punked out cows. DId I mention how boring it was? I really am upset that I spent my hard earned money on this boring waste of time. Honestly. People. This is not good music by any stretch. If you haven't bought it, don't. Expand
  68. pat
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    A solid pop album with an original sound and great production, but the band has lost some of their experimental flare on this one. The whole album sounds pretty fluffy in comparison to all of their other albums. When I heard Strawberry Jam I figured this was as close to a pop record as they would ever get, clearly I was wrong. Enjoyable, but lacking the depth that makes albums like Sung A solid pop album with an original sound and great production, but the band has lost some of their experimental flare on this one. The whole album sounds pretty fluffy in comparison to all of their other albums. When I heard Strawberry Jam I figured this was as close to a pop record as they would ever get, clearly I was wrong. Enjoyable, but lacking the depth that makes albums like Sung Tongs, Here Comes The Indian and Campfire Songs so wonderous. Expand
  69. stoma
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Vital--contains ancient, in-between-the-lines truths--like electronica played with dirt clods in stead of keyboards--thgis is genetically important music--some will need to morph new synapses to accept the revelations but it is growth worth the strain.
  70. JohnF
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    I've really tried to like this album. After all, the gushing reviews have to be indicative of excellence, haven't they? However, after umpteen listens I've failed. I still think it's the most over-rated album I've heard in years. Yesterday, I consigned it to the garbage bin.
  71. ChrisM
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    It's otherworldly, the music and how good this album is.
  72. DerekP
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Once in awhile I hear a release that can actually change the way I feel and this is one of those. The 1st four songs in particular are a powerful 1-2 punch perfectly illustrating AC's method as hazy keyboards, hypnotic vocals and muffled beats go in and out of the listener's awareness. As other comments indicate this is polarizing music with listeners either loving it or hating Once in awhile I hear a release that can actually change the way I feel and this is one of those. The 1st four songs in particular are a powerful 1-2 punch perfectly illustrating AC's method as hazy keyboards, hypnotic vocals and muffled beats go in and out of the listener's awareness. As other comments indicate this is polarizing music with listeners either loving it or hating it with no middle ground. I fall squarely into the former and love this tripped out music. Expand
  73. JasonP
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    I think "eh..." about sums up my feelings for this album. I don't quite get what the big fuss is about with the album. Decent enough songs, but hardly I don't really hear anything that justifies all the 100 point reviews given by the critic. I will say that I have nothing but respect for Animal Collective. I appreaciate what they are trying to do, and for the most part I would I think "eh..." about sums up my feelings for this album. I don't quite get what the big fuss is about with the album. Decent enough songs, but hardly I don't really hear anything that justifies all the 100 point reviews given by the critic. I will say that I have nothing but respect for Animal Collective. I appreaciate what they are trying to do, and for the most part I would say they succeed, but they are hitting a double, not a home run. Expand
  74. JayP
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    Terrible... hate it.
  75. mS
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    I hate to jump on the bandwagon here but this is a fantastic 'progressive' development in music. I quite liked previous AC albums and the Panda Bear solo album but they failed to ignite. This one however seems to have the balance perfectly. Its cutting-edge but accessible and incorporates the best of rock/ electronic and pop music of the last 50 years. I've been playing I hate to jump on the bandwagon here but this is a fantastic 'progressive' development in music. I quite liked previous AC albums and the Panda Bear solo album but they failed to ignite. This one however seems to have the balance perfectly. Its cutting-edge but accessible and incorporates the best of rock/ electronic and pop music of the last 50 years. I've been playing this since January and it still gets regular play. As a counterpoise however my wife hates it and moans every time she hears it. Expand
  76. JulianE
    Aug 11, 2009
    0
    Either a experimental or a pop band not being good at either field. Nuff' said
  77. DavidM
    Aug 10, 2009
    1
    Animal Collective's last lp is for junkies! El último cd de Animal Collectives es para chemos!!
  78. DougH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Great music. But when did it become the thing to invoke the Beach Boys every time a group sings harmony? This is a great album, but it doesn't sound even remotely like Pet Sounds or Smile so the comparison is just stupid. I agree with the previous reviewer that it sounds more like the Beatles "Tomorrow Never Knows"
  79. DavidH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    I am brand new to Animal Collective and this is the first album of theirs I've heard. I resisted a long time because I find the whole scenester thing pretty obnoxious and I don't typically listen to music by current groups. But I took a chance and this is GOOD. Fascinating music. The sound really strongly reminds me of the Beatles song "Tomorrow Never Knows" updated with modern I am brand new to Animal Collective and this is the first album of theirs I've heard. I resisted a long time because I find the whole scenester thing pretty obnoxious and I don't typically listen to music by current groups. But I took a chance and this is GOOD. Fascinating music. The sound really strongly reminds me of the Beatles song "Tomorrow Never Knows" updated with modern equipment and fleshed out into a whole album. I recommend this to anybody who can get past the scenester connection. They ruin EVERYTHING fun about music. Expand
  80. GideonA
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream and affordable. I have to believe this kind of change is good thing even though it might take some getting used to...its unfortunate that you don't hear this kind of music on mainstream radio stations though. Expand
  81. SteveS
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    Look, I'm a very open-minded person about music. I used to just listen to top-40, and I got really tired of the lack of creativity and the repetitiveness. So I started branching out. Started with bands like Radiohead and Robyn; something not in the mainstream, but not difficult listening. Loved it. Went on to TV on the Radio and Fleet Foxes, and fell in love with that as well. After Look, I'm a very open-minded person about music. I used to just listen to top-40, and I got really tired of the lack of creativity and the repetitiveness. So I started branching out. Started with bands like Radiohead and Robyn; something not in the mainstream, but not difficult listening. Loved it. Went on to TV on the Radio and Fleet Foxes, and fell in love with that as well. After reading the incredible reviews for AC's MPP, I thought the reward would be just as great for this album. So wrong. Most songs have no noticeable structure, and all employ that irritating "dream-sound"; a repetitive, unnatural, synthesized sound that goes throughout the track. I admit, I can see the musical promise in songs like "My Girls" and "Guys Eyes", but these songs sound like they have no cohesive direction to hold them together. I like original, I like different, but those two qualities don't make a song good. Expand
  82. AndrewB.
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Every song is amazing and all are VERY replayable. Best album of this year (I don't see anything topping it), and one of the best of the decade.
  83. JohnT
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    So many people were eager to jump on the A.C train after the Pitchfork review. "Well, they gave THIS one a nine point SIX!" Legitimately, only have these songs are worth playing more than once. While the backing noise on "In the Flowers" is nice, let's review the lyrics: "Then we could be dancing No more missing you while I'm gone There we could be dancing And you'd smile So many people were eager to jump on the A.C train after the Pitchfork review. "Well, they gave THIS one a nine point SIX!" Legitimately, only have these songs are worth playing more than once. While the backing noise on "In the Flowers" is nice, let's review the lyrics: "Then we could be dancing No more missing you while I'm gone There we could be dancing And you'd smile and say, 'I like this song'" Never... NEVER did I expect something so lame to be in an Animal Collective song. My girls suffers from equally awful lyrics. Really, the only stand out tracks are "Blueish" and "Brother Sport". This is not the best album of the year... honestly I don't know what is.. it's been a terrible year for music. Even worse, saying this is one of the best albums of the decade is despicable at best. Expand
  84. JimD
    Jun 30, 2009
    3
    I have been using Metacritic for a few years as a guide to buying new music (i.e. bands I was unfamiliar with or had never heard before), but I've got to say I don't understand the hype over this album. I've had the album for about 5 months now, and I've only managed to listen to it the whole way through 3 or 4 times. Every song sounds the same, and none of them are I have been using Metacritic for a few years as a guide to buying new music (i.e. bands I was unfamiliar with or had never heard before), but I've got to say I don't understand the hype over this album. I've had the album for about 5 months now, and I've only managed to listen to it the whole way through 3 or 4 times. Every song sounds the same, and none of them are what I would call enjoyable. I am very open-minded when it comes to avant-garde music (e.g. I like later Radiohead, 70's Miles Davis, Bjork) but MPP has identifiable rhythm, beat or melody. The same people that enjoy this kind of white noise must be big Damien Hirst fans. Expand
  85. EricC
    Jun 28, 2009
    7
    As an intensly devoted AC fan, this album is seriously perplexing. I list Here Comes the Indian, Sung Tongs, and Strawberry Jam to be among my all time favorite albums, but this one feels like one of their weakest efforts yet as a band. All the perfect scores from critics and users is bizarre. I in no way dislike this album, but they have way oversimplified their formula, leaving nearly As an intensly devoted AC fan, this album is seriously perplexing. I list Here Comes the Indian, Sung Tongs, and Strawberry Jam to be among my all time favorite albums, but this one feels like one of their weakest efforts yet as a band. All the perfect scores from critics and users is bizarre. I in no way dislike this album, but they have way oversimplified their formula, leaving nearly every song feeling underdeveloped and phoned-in. At times it felt like a mindless dance album, at others an even more mindless jam collection. Where once their music was sonically and lyrically complex it is now bland, straightforward, and often distressingly empty. It's not at all bad, and there are moments of exhilerating ecstasy, but as a whole... I don't know. It's really nothing to lose your shit over. This was the wrong album to champion a truly incredible band. Expand
  86. Bloo
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Everything importand is in the reviews, so I can only say I love this CD.
  87. JayS
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    When starting this album, I cant help but think about Pink Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon's opening songs 'Speak to Me' and 'Breathe'. When these songs start, I feel like I am about to start a journey into something unseen and unheard. That is the best way to summarize 'Merriweather Post Pavilion'. Its swirling songcraft was completly When starting this album, I cant help but think about Pink Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon's opening songs 'Speak to Me' and 'Breathe'. When these songs start, I feel like I am about to start a journey into something unseen and unheard. That is the best way to summarize 'Merriweather Post Pavilion'. Its swirling songcraft was completly different, but completly wonderful. Its a trip that I plan on taking for years to come. Expand
  88. GraemeT
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Album of the year so far! Hands down! It's a wonderful album, joyous and interesting. I've been listening to it since it came out and ahh it's so pretty.
  89. mattm
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Okay for people to say that this is an intellectual album, instead of an album to enjoy the hell out of, you are just stupid and don't even seem understand music. This album is one of the few albums where I just want to get up and dance with friends. Come on 'summertime clothes'? How can you think thats a song to 'think about'?
  90. Andy
    May 27, 2009
    8
    Great album, although I have my doubts as to how well this album would hold up live after watching them perform on Letterman.
  91. Chris
    May 23, 2009
    9
    I'm sure buck and ken are douches who listen to top 20, or who think the new green day album is actually good. This album is unbelievable. You don't need guitars to make art fellas.
  92. JustinL
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Good album, still prefer Strawberry Jam. It's just a shame that Metacritic allows ignorant people post stupidity, if you don't think it's music why did you buy the album. Best 20 bucks I spent.
  93. KenD
    May 10, 2009
    0
    What a load of CRAP! How could anyone rate this album so high? I'm so glad I only paid $5 for the mp3 version because this album makes my ears hurt. I can only assume that the physical copy of this album came with a hit of ecstasy for people to have rated it so high because one surely had to be high to rate it so high. Just saw them on 5/7/09 Letterman and they are even worse live. 3 What a load of CRAP! How could anyone rate this album so high? I'm so glad I only paid $5 for the mp3 version because this album makes my ears hurt. I can only assume that the physical copy of this album came with a hit of ecstasy for people to have rated it so high because one surely had to be high to rate it so high. Just saw them on 5/7/09 Letterman and they are even worse live. 3 guys on keys/synths with 4 dancing fools in bags and multicolored lights. What a load of crap! Expand
  94. GeoffreyG
    May 9, 2009
    10
    The way so many different, disparate sounds mesh to create beautiful, melodic songs blows my mind. The Beach Boys-esque vocal harmonies are gorgeous, the songs build wonderfully, I just love this album. And it just keeps getting better and better.
  95. ThomasW
    May 8, 2009
    9
    It took me a couple of listens to actually "take in" this album. It's... so... good. The beats and melodies are tremendous, and I love it oh so much.
  96. Buck
    Apr 28, 2009
    1
    For people who prefer to think about music rather than enjoy it.
  97. RonanS
    Apr 26, 2009
    9
    This album has so many gorgeous little details it's very hard to get bored of it. While the lyrics are often hard to make out Of those I have heard I totally love. A slow-burning and ultimately very rewarding album
  98. normf
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    This album is simply a great album of transcendent beauty. Their capacity to make electronic music warm and the astounding generosity of its sound and lyrics make this a great achievement
  99. PaulJ
    Apr 16, 2009
    7
    Loved it at first, particularly the first track, but I've tired of it relatively quickly. It made me return to Feels which was a real slow burner - and which I now on balance think I prefer.
  100. MikeD
    Apr 13, 2009
    0
    I like a bit a of wierd...but this album is just confusing, noisy and overated...and all the 'sheep' here would NOT have giving it 10/10 if the critics had slammed it!!!! It just aint Music people!!!!
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]