Merriweather Post Pavilion

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Merriweather Post Pavilion Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 571 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth album from the rock group was produceed by Ben Allen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]
  2. Even by their own exuberant standards, though, AC's ninth album is a dizzying knees-up that makes most music, indie rock or otherwise, sound both bloodless and pathetically timid.
  3. Has the album of 2009 been unleashed in January? I can’t see anything else coming near it.
  4. 90
    With Merriweather Post Pavilion, Animal Collective have proven themselves to be at the forefront of progressive pop, as deadly with their textures as they are with their melodies.
  5. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  6. Some of the phrasing on "MPP" sticks; some of it soars; most of it slips and slides through puddles of rich sonic texture. Only at a distance does the magic of the whole major-key mess become clear.
  7. Animal Collective has backslid into a comfortable, but unfortunately unexciting, middle ground.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 199
  1. CurtisB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Incomparable. Fresh. Fun. Ahead of our time.
  2. NeilL
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. I received this album over a week ago and have been listening to nothing else since. From the evidence, it seems that those who Brilliant. I received this album over a week ago and have been listening to nothing else since. From the evidence, it seems that those who dislike the album dislike it simply because of the overwhelming critical praise for it as well as the AC fanboy club's near mindless defence of it as "the greatest album ever produced by mortals". Which is really no reason to dislike the album in itself. I initially came across this album perchance, without any preconceptions. Until a month ago I didn't even know who Animal Collective were. But this is a seriously good album, despite the hype. Expand
  3. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    If Merriweather Post Pavilion is not a 5-Star album I don't know what is!
  5. siml
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    Pretty good. For me its pretty usual that a good album needs many listening so im not going to claim that again. Last time a heard a good Pretty good. For me its pretty usual that a good album needs many listening so im not going to claim that again. Last time a heard a good album like this was Foals. Have a good time ! Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    This album contains some of Animal Collective's highest moments on certain songs, but the rest of the album comes off as significantly lessThis album contains some of Animal Collective's highest moments on certain songs, but the rest of the album comes off as significantly less entertaining filler. Overall still totally enjoyable. Expand
  7. JulianE
    Aug 11, 2009
    0
    Either a experimental or a pop band not being good at either field. Nuff' said

See all 199 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.