Merry Christmas II You

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2010
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Nov 8, 2010
    60
    Apart from that pair of stiff originals, the whole thing is cheerful and engaging, a worthy sequel to its predecessor.
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    60
    It's hard to figure out what's "extra festive" (as the full song title promises) about her "All I Want for Christmas Is You" update, and far easier to determine what's wrong with "Auld Lang Syne" (an awkward dance beat), but the LP's warm heart is in the right place.
  3. Nov 3, 2010
    50
    It's an attempted rewind. As such, it's probably one of the most revealing and none-too-flattering approximations of the mindset of a certain sort of adult's Christmas spirit.
  4. 40
    It's 16 years since Mariah Carey's first Christmas album, and there's nothing here to suggest she's developed significantly since then.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    40
    The near-crazed desperation to please listeners for her own sake is all over Merry Christmas II You: A "gift" to her fans (or so she claims) that they, of course, must pay for, it's her fascinating, career-long saga of self-obsession in a nutshell.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Mariah's covers on Christmas classics are nice and different from the originals. What's more notable, is her original song ''Oh Santa!''. TheMariah's covers on Christmas classics are nice and different from the originals. What's more notable, is her original song ''Oh Santa!''. The song has a catchy and upbeat tune which makes people want to keep listening to it. The album's best gift, though, is Mariah's duet with her mother, Patricia Carey, in the song ''Oh Come All Ye' Faithful / Hallelujah Chorus''. Her mother's vocals are nice and it is nice seeing her in Mariah's songs. Not to forget all of Mariah's falsettos and whistle registers in the song towards the end.
    ''All I want for Christmas is You'' is, needless to say, a timeless classic. Mariah just made it better by adding in some falsettos and whistle registers here and there, and I think that this is a better version than the 1994 version. ''Auld Lang Syne - The New Year's Anthem'' is a catchy song with its dance beat.
    ''One Child'' is, probably, the nicest song on the album, save ''All I want for Christmas is You''. The song talks about God and the lyrics are nice and meaningful. The choir during the chorus is extremely organized and is one of the nicest choir singings I have heard. Overall, this album deserves a 10/10 rating, despite some songs which may have been sang in the incorrect style. But, the good points of this album can cover up for the minor little bits that are mistakes.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2015
    0
    Mariah Carey is the WORST MUSICIAN EVER next to Justin Bieber. But in person, Justin Bieber is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY WORSE. HE EVENMariah Carey is the WORST MUSICIAN EVER next to Justin Bieber. But in person, Justin Bieber is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY WORSE. HE EVEN GOT DETAINED BY THE COPS. XD Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This is the second Mariah Carey's Christmas album, and I think it is one of her best album ever. There are four songs written by Mariah and I love these. The first single "Oh Santa!" is very joyful and I think it should do very well on charts. I also like the new edition of "All I Want for Christmas Is You". One of the most touching moment is the duet whit her mother, Patricia Hickey, that sings whit Mariah "O Come All Ye FaithFul/Halleluja Chorus". PS. Excuse me if I wrong something, but I am not English. Full Review »