Metamorphosis

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2009
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    2
    Really not one of their best. The song that KINDA liked was Lifeline, but this album is just not one of their best ones. One thumb down, and the other thumb right in the middle..
  2. ArturoC.
    Jun 8, 2009
    0
    Terrible.
  3. Ikarus
    Jun 26, 2009
    7
    Nothing special but it IS better than their last album. Believe me it is.
  4. JasonG
    Jun 24, 2009
    6
    Papa Roach are just average at best.
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    3
    Disappointing. I was hoping this would have songs that went to the point of "Scars" or "Last Resort", but the only song on here that's even "so-so" is "Lifeline".
  6. GregL.
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    This CD will grow on you as you give it a chance Papa Roach has grown lyricly on this CD give it a chance you wont be disappointed.
  7. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    3 songs that I like, the rest... I can tolerate, but it's not their best. I wish Papa Roach was back to lovehatetragedy, which was my favourite album (and the most coherent as well).
  8. Sep 9, 2015
    7
    It's not as good as infest, but it is still better than their last album. I actually find myself listening to this more as it gets older. It's not really "original" more commercial.
  9. Jan 3, 2017
    3
    Hollywood whore is passable, but the other songs sound the same, the chorus are musically simple. Just sound like most of boring rock band's album that could be found through the 2000s or 2010s. Definitively, it is the worst album of Papa Roach
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Metamorphosis has a dire determination to its purported good times, its riffs grinding instead of greasy, its rhythms clenched where they should be loose.
  2. Metamorphosis, which follows 2006's commercially stillborn "The Paramour Sessions," is the most polished and wide-ranging of Papa Roach's six releases.
  3. There’s nowt nu about this nu metal.