Meteora - Linkin Park
Meteora Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This long-awaited follow-up to 2000's 'Hybrid Theory' contains 12 new tracks co-produced by Don Gilmore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Through it all, the guys stay just as tight (translation: radio-ready) as ever, offering up tracks in near-perfect three-minute doses.
  2. A thunderously hooky album that seamlessly blends the group's disparate sonic elements into radio-friendly perfection.
  3. Miraculously, given the similarity of the design, 'Meteora' avoids being a stagnant retread of 'Hybrid Theory'.
  4. Meteora is less an artistic endeavour than an exercise in target marketing. [May 2003, p.104]
  5. 60
    Harder, denser, uglier. [#15, p.128]
  6. The similarity of Meteroa to Hybrid Theory does not only raise the question of where do they go from here, but whether there is a place for them to go at all.
  7. Mercifully brief but mercilessly repetitive, Meteora is little more than a tolerable rehash of a formula that's been on the wrong side of its sell-by date for some time now.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 208
  1. JanaF
    May 24, 2009
    10
    Really good album! As the others LP's albuns, meteora was perfect! Hello from Brazil.
  2. JoelW.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Awesome stuff! this album keeps it heavy and has just the right amount of rapping and special effects.
  3. RockyP
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    Meteora is by far the best album I ever heard in my life. Hearing it for the first time, my reaction was slightly disappointed. But after Meteora is by far the best album I ever heard in my life. Hearing it for the first time, my reaction was slightly disappointed. But after actually listening to it the second time, I loved it. Meteora is alot more inspirational, ambitous, and important then Hybrid Theory. Don't get me wrong, I love the first album with its great lyrics, melodies, and intensity. I think Meteora has more of a meaning with its more incredible lyrics and better instrumentation. Even though the album is shorter then Hybrid Theory, I think it is better that way because it gives Meteora a sort of meaningful and and "work of art" vibe. Linkin Park new what they were doing with this record and did a fantastic job at it. If your down with the LP I strongly recommend you buy this album, you won't regret it. I guarantee you! Expand
  4. JohnO
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    this is the best LP cd ive ever heard so far. Its really awsome
  5. DaltonH
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    makes up for its lack of distinctiveness with hooks and a strong sense of effort
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    88/100
    Here and there songs, but still a very good album. There was three songs that caught me and got it its review now, and those where
    88/100
    Here and there songs, but still a very good album. There was three songs that caught me and got it its review now, and those where Numb, Faint, and Somewhere I belong, very good songs.
    Expand
  7. OliverIgnatius
    Mar 27, 2003
    0
    We've been dooped again. What a SHITE band.

See all 208 User Reviews