Meteora

Meteora Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This long-awaited follow-up to 2000's 'Hybrid Theory' contains 12 new tracks co-produced by Don Gilmore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Through it all, the guys stay just as tight (translation: radio-ready) as ever, offering up tracks in near-perfect three-minute doses.
  2. A thunderously hooky album that seamlessly blends the group's disparate sonic elements into radio-friendly perfection.
  3. Isn't so much a revelation as it is a ready-made crowd pleaser that delivers on the familiar.
  4. Q Magazine
    60
    Meteora is less an artistic endeavour than an exercise in target marketing. [May 2003, p.104]
  5. The similarity of Meteroa to Hybrid Theory does not only raise the question of where do they go from here, but whether there is a place for them to go at all.
  6. Blender
    60
    Harder, denser, uglier. [#15, p.128]
  7. Mercifully brief but mercilessly repetitive, Meteora is little more than a tolerable rehash of a formula that's been on the wrong side of its sell-by date for some time now.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 220
  1. JanaF
    May 24, 2009
    10
    Really good album! As the others LP's albuns, meteora was perfect! Hello from Brazil.
  2. SydneyO.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    Great album!
  3. RockyP
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    Meteora is by far the best album I ever heard in my life. Hearing it for the first time, my reaction was slightly disappointed. But after Meteora is by far the best album I ever heard in my life. Hearing it for the first time, my reaction was slightly disappointed. But after actually listening to it the second time, I loved it. Meteora is alot more inspirational, ambitous, and important then Hybrid Theory. Don't get me wrong, I love the first album with its great lyrics, melodies, and intensity. I think Meteora has more of a meaning with its more incredible lyrics and better instrumentation. Even though the album is shorter then Hybrid Theory, I think it is better that way because it gives Meteora a sort of meaningful and and "work of art" vibe. Linkin Park new what they were doing with this record and did a fantastic job at it. If your down with the LP I strongly recommend you buy this album, you won't regret it. I guarantee you! Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Second greatest numetal album before hybrid theory of course.Agressive, meaningful lyrics and an amazing voice from chester it really deservedSecond greatest numetal album before hybrid theory of course.Agressive, meaningful lyrics and an amazing voice from chester it really deserved some grammy awards. Expand
  5. David
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    Awesome record! Forget what some of the critics say because they are biased against most nu metal bands. It is true that this album is Awesome record! Forget what some of the critics say because they are biased against most nu metal bands. It is true that this album is similar to Hybrid Theory from beginning to end. However, HT was also a great album and if you duplicate a great album, you'll get another great album. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    Meteora has some really great songs on it like Numb and Faint, but it has some songs that are just ok like Nobody's Listening and Don't Stay,Meteora has some really great songs on it like Numb and Faint, but it has some songs that are just ok like Nobody's Listening and Don't Stay, all in all it seems like there trying to keep some of the heavier style from Hybrid Theory, while trying to make a softer side known, do to this the cd seems kind of like it doesn't know what it wants to be, and it has some less than great tracks, this is still a cd I would recommend if you enjoyed the first. Expand
  7. OliverIgnatius
    Mar 27, 2003
    0
    We've been dooped again. What a SHITE band.

See all 220 User Reviews