User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 614

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SheldonR
    Apr 6, 2003
    0
    piece of shit money grab kiddie crap. I feel sorry for you guys who buy this stuff, this modern music is reaching a critical mass just like hair bands in the 80's did. Go buy a good new cd like AFI's Sing the Sorrow
  2. qayyumy
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    sux
  3. JoeH
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    Forettable, forgettable, and even more forgettable. Hybrid Theory showed a lot of potential, but Meteora is a pile of garbage. The boys can't sing, the lyrics are very lame, and LP is overhyped. The critics got this right. It is repetitive and a total ripoff. Do not buy this. Buying this will support the band and encourage them to make even more cr4ppy albums in the future. LP's Forettable, forgettable, and even more forgettable. Hybrid Theory showed a lot of potential, but Meteora is a pile of garbage. The boys can't sing, the lyrics are very lame, and LP is overhyped. The critics got this right. It is repetitive and a total ripoff. Do not buy this. Buying this will support the band and encourage them to make even more cr4ppy albums in the future. LP's Meteora just plain sucks. Expand
  4. Avi
    Jun 17, 2005
    3
    Only one good song "Numb" - resembles they're artistic ways. It doesn't seem that the band learned something over the 2-year from "Hybrid Theory". It doesn't good really.
  5. JaCkMeHoff
    Mar 28, 2003
    0
    i dont like em i think they are too soft and most of the noise is from the dj guy
  6. NineInchAndy
    Apr 25, 2003
    0
    Gimme a break. More like 'Mediocra'. I wont even consider listening to this contrived piece of trash after hearing the single. It's the same old product of the redundant, tired ass, electro/rap rock formula. Enough's enough. If this were a site that reviewed the marketing tactics, I'd give it an 80.
  7. TrentReznor
    May 3, 2003
    0
    Load of garbage guys, buy it now you sad bunch of cattle
  8. Taco
    Jan 14, 2004
    1
    I really love this shit, a nu-metal version of Backstreet Boys! Oh yeah!!!
  9. BOREFEST
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    If I could give this album a really high negative number, I would. What is this? The rap mixed in with the rock sucks. It doesn't make a good combination at all. BOO!!!!!
  10. APereira
    Apr 18, 2006
    0
    really creative lyrics, really innovative!! "lot's of agression????" auhauhauhauh maybe for my 7 yrs daughter! geez...
  11. MichaelM
    Jul 4, 2006
    3
    A group that has potential, but ends up tossing it away. Simply put it, I bought this album back when I had very little knowledge of the music world, and I enjoyed it. Now, a few years later, I pick up this CD again, and listen to it. Now, after having listened to such treats to the ear as Grand Funk Railroad, the granddaddies of hard rock, The Guess Who, Lighthouse, and a few more A group that has potential, but ends up tossing it away. Simply put it, I bought this album back when I had very little knowledge of the music world, and I enjoyed it. Now, a few years later, I pick up this CD again, and listen to it. Now, after having listened to such treats to the ear as Grand Funk Railroad, the granddaddies of hard rock, The Guess Who, Lighthouse, and a few more classic rock bands, not to mention a huge selection of Indie/Alternative rock, including the clever and witty Barenaked Ladies and the eclectic musical saint Andrew Bird, Linkin Park, espescially Meteora, looses its charm. Instrumentally, they've got plenty of potential. Sort of a Punk Rock/Electric/Metal vibe going on, and I can dig that. But once you start listening to the vocals, specifically lyrics, all impressive traits begin to disappear. Vocals are simple, the singing elements are particularly lacking in melodic value, and although the yelling fits perfectly in some places, it is very overused. Lyrically, this album is a joke. Really. Just sounds like a bunch of whiners, talking about how no one cares about them and their life sucks. Something a bit deeper or at least more metaphoric than songs like "Easier To Run", a song about fleeing from your problems rather than facing them, "Don't Stay", telling someone just to get the heck outta their lives. Not impressing me. And as much as I'd love to like this album and be able to justify how much I paid for on the first day it was released, I can't. If you aren't a musician and listen to other simplistic and lacking albums, you'll most likely love Meteora. If you have better taste in music, you probably won't won't. Simple as that. Expand
  12. OrganS
    May 3, 2007
    2
    Pure pimple picking preteen piss...
  13. WesM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    1
    Yes, Lamar, people do complain about AC/DCs uniform subject matter and progressions, even so, it doesn't absolve Linkin Park's sinfully trite lyrics and exchangeable hooks. Lowest common denominator stuff for people who simply don't want to try good hip hop, substituting it with this garbage.
  14. GarryL
    Aug 12, 2008
    2
    Radio-friendly garbage listened to by a deluded fanbase.
  15. teemu
    Dec 15, 2003
    1
    Unfortunately this is still boy-band music with heavier sounds calculated to impress the kids as it seems to do. And as with the lyrics, life really must suck for these youth angst filled "street" kids with 1000 dollar clothes and bleached hair.
  16. OliverIgnatius
    Mar 27, 2003
    0
    We've been dooped again. What a SHITE band.
  17. aaaaaa
    Apr 12, 2003
    0
    it sucks
  18. BobB.
    May 19, 2004
    3
    Overhyped, overplayed, talentless, tastless, simple minded, and is just plain catchy nu-metal mallcore garbage.
  19. Old>New
    Dec 24, 2005
    0
    Oh yes, I don't know what "real" music is because I don't like LP. Let me tell you some real music: Anyting by: Pink Floyd and Zeppelin. Or if you can't stand old music, go listen to Radiohead. Now I don't bear animosity, I used to be like you. Fortunately, I managed to change my ways by listening to the afore-mentioned bands, and there is still time to save yourself. Oh yes, I don't know what "real" music is because I don't like LP. Let me tell you some real music: Anyting by: Pink Floyd and Zeppelin. Or if you can't stand old music, go listen to Radiohead. Now I don't bear animosity, I used to be like you. Fortunately, I managed to change my ways by listening to the afore-mentioned bands, and there is still time to save yourself. There's product endorsements in the jacket, wtf is up with that!? If that's the only way they can make money, that's just pathetic. If this is the best album that you have ever heard, than you REALLY need to listen to more music. Oh, and here's a note to Chester: STOP WHINING!! Your life isn't that bad, you're a mutlimillionaire! Now stop whining about these "wounds that will not heal" (Which he never gives any explanation for, how did he get these wounds? Why won't they heal?), and take the effort to write REAL lyrics that are meaningful and require REAL TALENT. Expand
  20. William
    Feb 14, 2005
    0
    Not that they don't have any technical skill, it's just that they don't have very much. Come on guys, a trained chimp with a down-tuned guitar could play these riffs. There's little here that isn't simply a rehashing of the tired nu/rap genre not to mention a rehashing of their own previous album. Want some real American metal? Check out the new albums by Lamb of Not that they don't have any technical skill, it's just that they don't have very much. Come on guys, a trained chimp with a down-tuned guitar could play these riffs. There's little here that isn't simply a rehashing of the tired nu/rap genre not to mention a rehashing of their own previous album. Want some real American metal? Check out the new albums by Lamb of God and Shadows Fall. Expand
  21. Nov 18, 2016
    3
    That point from were Linkin Park went completely wrong was neither A Thousand Suns nor Minutes to Midnight. It was Meteora. If this album doesn't prove that they've sold out - then I don't know what does?
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Through it all, the guys stay just as tight (translation: radio-ready) as ever, offering up tracks in near-perfect three-minute doses.
  2. Coming from a group whose debut offered a glimmer of hope for the expansion of the genre's boundaries, such creative laziness is all the more disappointing.
  3. While being as well-crafted, catchy and dynamic as the first one, it leaves you feeling distinctly underwhelmed, as if the band had simply reprogrammed the Pro-Tools machine that they'd made the first album on and changed the lyrics and speed of the songs a bit.