Mezmerize

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 17, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 431

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Deanna
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Hollywood. And there is everything inbetween. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Same as Hypnotize, BYOB,violent you know what,and This you know what makes me feel like I'm on this song are main reasons why I like this album.
  3. ViviO.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    OMG, the words are easy so it's easy to scream along to and YOU WILL want to scream a long to this!
  4. LeoLeo
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    This is a fantastic album.Its songs are very fabulous. BYOB is the best song of the disc!!!
  5. Gregg
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing, all i can say is 'it's a violent pornography, choking chicks and sodomy!!!
  6. CarolynQ
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Love it! Too short, but looking forward to the 2nd CD in the fall.
  7. CristianT
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Cant believe how great this album is. And now the new track Hypnotize is even better.
  8. GeneV
    May 25, 2005
    7
    My rating is the number of songs on the CD that I will actually listen to. Chris C: System of a Down was NEVER a cookie cutter band. They were always original. If anything they were more original 6 years ago than now. On S.O.A.D, every song just bled into the other perfectly. They knew how to make a complete kick @$$ album. Every lyric was inspired and uncliched. Slowly into the world of My rating is the number of songs on the CD that I will actually listen to. Chris C: System of a Down was NEVER a cookie cutter band. They were always original. If anything they were more original 6 years ago than now. On S.O.A.D, every song just bled into the other perfectly. They knew how to make a complete kick @$$ album. Every lyric was inspired and uncliched. Slowly into the world of pop they fall, making singles instead of albums. Us old fans cross our fingers from one song to the next, in hope of them rising again. Expand
  9. Lubo
    May 30, 2005
    10
    genial
  10. michaelassin
    May 30, 2005
    10
    This CD is fuckin amazing Daron really pulls it off with his insane guitar riffs and unique style and serj's hypnotic voice this Cd just pulls you in with curiousity this Cd won't let you down.
  11. jeremyg
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I love this new cd I think it's there best yet.
  12. BrandonN
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    this is the best i love them iwould do them i i was a girl
  13. Liberal
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    People can be most blind to the true meaning of this album. It isn't poppy for the sake of Commercial Music, in fact it's not really poppy at all. Although some of there songs have a different beat the old System music, it's new, it's fabulous, and they pull it off. By pointing out the wrong in this society, they pull off another great album.
  14. NACHSA
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. GregS
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Definitely a surprising album from SOAD, though i could've already guessed they would've taken this kind of approach after Steal This Album! (my least favorite of the 4) It's something about Mezmerize that makes you want to keep coming back for more. Truely a great and original cd...though i believe Malankien was allowed to sing a lot more than he should have... Question! Definitely a surprising album from SOAD, though i could've already guessed they would've taken this kind of approach after Steal This Album! (my least favorite of the 4) It's something about Mezmerize that makes you want to keep coming back for more. Truely a great and original cd...though i believe Malankien was allowed to sing a lot more than he should have... Question! and Sad Statue are my favorites of the album. It may surprise the hell out of old SOAD fans the first time around. To be honest i hated it, and would've given it a 2...it did eventually grow on me. As hypnotic as the songs are, it's hard to believe anyone would hate this album completely. thanks, and rock on- Expand
  16. Pablo
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    There's a reason why late 90's nu-metal bands like Korn, Limp Bizkit, Deftones etc. are gone and forgotten: because they a. couldn't play their instruments & b. they were afraid to try new things. SOAD's new CD breaks lots of barriers of what "metal" can be and what it can sound. And this is coming from someone who hates almost all metal. Very good album. My only There's a reason why late 90's nu-metal bands like Korn, Limp Bizkit, Deftones etc. are gone and forgotten: because they a. couldn't play their instruments & b. they were afraid to try new things. SOAD's new CD breaks lots of barriers of what "metal" can be and what it can sound. And this is coming from someone who hates almost all metal. Very good album. My only problem with it is that the guitarist things TOO much on it. When he was doing the occasional chorus on previous albums, it was fine. But when he's taking A LOT of the vocal time away from the great Serj Tankian, it gets annoying. Expand
  17. SianmuP
    Jul 10, 2005
    8
    One of tthe release of he things i liked most about soad is Toxicity. That album kicked ass and probably my second favorite metal album of all time. After their third album, i thought they would release a huge album that would send them into the top 5.The build-up was huge but the album was lacking in the end. Mesmerize was a great album but I'm a little disappointed with them as One of tthe release of he things i liked most about soad is Toxicity. That album kicked ass and probably my second favorite metal album of all time. After their third album, i thought they would release a huge album that would send them into the top 5.The build-up was huge but the album was lacking in the end. Mesmerize was a great album but I'm a little disappointed with them as there were too many dud songs on the album. Good but disappointing so 8. Expand
  18. LauraM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    this album just took me by suprise, its just amazingly amazing *pass out from greatness*
  19. sklarw
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    trtw
  20. SomeGuy
    Sep 5, 2005
    7
    a good enough album, but quite a big dissapointment compared to Toxicity and Steal this Album, its just not written a well
  21. ConorTheLeprechaun
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his album was voted the best of 2005, Kanye West stated that he thought SOAD would give him a run for his money and would be in the top 5 (Rolling Stone, Yearbook 05/06). This varying in styles can be seen throughout the albums tracks, these are: -"Soldier Side - Intro" this track was a lead up to the fantastic full length song on the Hypnotize album -"B.Y.O.B." was an anger fuelled track mixed in with a pop-like chorus, delivering a spectacle of music that had to be heard to be believed -"Revenga" was an opera influenced track varying in speed with a catchy chorus that could have you singing instantly but once you actually read the lyrics you can see the demeaning nature of the track and the sharp point that it delivers -"Cigaro" was like "Revenga" in its layout but hits us with a strange argument "My cock is much bigger than yours, my cock walks right through the door" that perplexes the listener and then the chorus hits, totally different in style. -"Radio/Video" was a track that I emmensly enjoyed, being catchy from start to finish and as used throughout the album, a variation between the guitar driven "hey man look at me rockin out" to the pop finish of that line, mirrored throughout the song -"This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song" was a strange addition to the album with a collection of screaming lines and a great guitar change in tune -"Violent Pornography". Don't look perplexed at the sight of the title, this so happens to be one of the best tracks on the album, delivering to us three sections, the reccuring "everybody...", the speed of the lyrics finished with a woo hoo and the chorus which states the crap put on our TV screens. This line up of changes was exactly why many listeners tuned in to this album because of its originality. -"Question!" was one of the more mellow songs on the album and ended up more like a soft rock song than the metal we are used to hearing -"Sad Statue" was an amazing track which I bonded to instantly because of the excellent songwriting and lyrics swept up into your brains that will have you either reciting or humming the tune for days -"Old School Hollywood" was one of the fun tracks on the album that provided us with a pop style sound and catchy lyrics different to SOAD's normal style. This is why many reviewers have panned this song because they don't feel that it's right for SOAD, i though think that it's an enjoyable tune -"Lost In Hollywood" was the track I bonded to the least because of its mellow nature without the spark that the other songs had Overall SOAD's album is a keeper, something to shove on your ipod, in your stereo and ultimately in your collection because this album is a fine example that protest albums can sound good and prove a point. Expand
  22. AlecS
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane makes me feel like im on this song" what? as well as the astounding "violant pornography" over all fantastic. p.s. Hypnotize rules. if we fall we all fall and we fall alone Expand
  23. TiagoM
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as some critics call? great!!! i will be here to listen and listen and listen and.......... Expand
  24. EdwardS
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Love this CD. Favorites are Radio Video, Violent pornography, BYOB, Old School Hollywood, and Lost in Hollywood
  25. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Beyond a shadow of a doubt, this is System of a Down's best work.
  26. BenS
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s bizareness pays off in a hurtling stunner of rapid tempo changes and tumbling wordplay. 'this cocaine makes me..' and 'violent pornography' are alt metal riffing classics, (although admittadly the end of vp does turn a tad stale. 'Radio/video' is a mass of electicness in one superb song. 'lost in hollywood' however is argualbly the greatest track, gentler, sinister and slightly disturbing the mix of voices works to a t. All this with a serious political message. Rarely if ever have albums been this thrillingly original. Expand
  27. RandyH
    May 17, 2005
    8
    As theatrical, schizo, thrashy and melodic as ever, System's Mesmerize is a hard album to judge on its own, since it's really only half of a greater whole. Much like Radiohead's Kid A/Amnesiac or even Kill Bills 1 & 2, the big picture will only become clear once all is revealed. That said, Mesmerize is sure to thrill hardcore fans, especially those loyal to the breakneck As theatrical, schizo, thrashy and melodic as ever, System's Mesmerize is a hard album to judge on its own, since it's really only half of a greater whole. Much like Radiohead's Kid A/Amnesiac or even Kill Bills 1 & 2, the big picture will only become clear once all is revealed. That said, Mesmerize is sure to thrill hardcore fans, especially those loyal to the breakneck time-changes and operatic vocals so prevalent on their debut. This time around, though, the twin attack of Serj and Daron's (who practically shares lead vocal duties now) swelling harmonies are beautiful...and devastating. As a stand-alone record, Mesmerize is solid, but lacks the untouchable flow found on Toxicity. Things tend to lose steam around track 8, but getting there is a mind-blowing ride, thanks to standout tracks like "Revenga", "Radio/TV" and "Violent Pornography." The already tried and true "B.Y.O.B." could possibly be the track that appeals to both the TRL pack as well as the Headbanger's Ball sect. Meanwhile "Cigaro" and "This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song" are short blasts of irrestible madness. While diehard fans may see the gap between the two albums as a cruel tease, if Mesmerize is any indication, they can count on their patience being rewarded when Hypnotize finally drops later this year. Expand
  28. JeremyO
    May 17, 2005
    9
    A very good way to come back after the long drought between albums
  29. LauraS
    May 18, 2005
    10
    The best SOAD album to date, without a doubt. Everything I loved about them on their other albums is only better here.
  30. ME40
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Great CD, way out there, but in the good.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]