Mezmerize

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 17, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 442 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 442

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterM
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    There is no questioning this is their best work!
  2. gdoggH
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    great album
  3. AS
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    My Review: Some of the best SoaD songs are in this album without a doubt. Even the chaotic Vicinity of Obscenity is compelling to listen to and extremely catchy. Hypnotize (song) has a very powerful tune, living up to the band's capabilities. Tentative starts off slightly awkwardly, and what isn't the chorus is a little too tuneless for my tastes. The chorus itself has My Review: Some of the best SoaD songs are in this album without a doubt. Even the chaotic Vicinity of Obscenity is compelling to listen to and extremely catchy. Hypnotize (song) has a very powerful tune, living up to the band's capabilities. Tentative starts off slightly awkwardly, and what isn't the chorus is a little too tuneless for my tastes. The chorus itself has SoaD's classic consistancy that I see as unique beauty. Dreaming has a compelling tune and insightful lyrics, and the same goes for /most/ of U-fig. Particularily the ending bits, where the tempo slows down a bit. Holy Mountains is one of their songs that has a calm tempo, but is far more powerful than most fast songs can accomplish- that goes for SoaD in general. The track "Lonely Day" has a touching tune, but the lyrcis, particularily "the most loniest day of my life" are a bit of an embarrasment rather than touching or serious in any way. With those, and Attack, which is mediocre, SoaD is still going strong, with uniquely deep, striking tunes and songs that will keep fans very, very occupied. -14,Can. Expand
  4. GregH
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    The album could have done without "Old School Hollywood." Also, the person who mixed the album needs to use a consistent volume setting-let the band do the adjusting.
  5. AlexC
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    Last two tracks are my only complaints.
  6. Ahmedn
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Pretty damn good album...solid...i liked toxicity a lot more...but this one is a lot more melodic...and overall a solid effort...i liked this a lot more then Steal this album...they make this album a lot different from there last as well. So go out there and get it! Love the Radio/Video song.
  7. ChrisG
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Awesome. Sure the album is only 36 minutes long, but it is amazingly consistent. Every track offers something different, and the band comes with more of a 2 singer attack then they ever have. Daron Malakian has a bit of a thin voice, but he more than makes up for it with the emotion heard in his singing and the great vocal harmonies throughout the album. This album is in full attack mode Awesome. Sure the album is only 36 minutes long, but it is amazingly consistent. Every track offers something different, and the band comes with more of a 2 singer attack then they ever have. Daron Malakian has a bit of a thin voice, but he more than makes up for it with the emotion heard in his singing and the great vocal harmonies throughout the album. This album is in full attack mode for just about it's entire length, with bits of melody slightly spread throughout. If "Hypnotize" can match this album's quality then System of a Down may be on their way to be this generation's metal kings. Expand
  8. Sublmnlmssgss.
    May 18, 2005
    9
    I'm glad to hear daron's guitar back in the front without a million backing guitar tracks muffling out the madness that his hands are capable of wreaking on that stringed demon. It's a lot clearer of a mix this time. System have hit that punk sound I'm certain trying to find for all the complicated studiowork involved in everything after the debut. Nothing will ever I'm glad to hear daron's guitar back in the front without a million backing guitar tracks muffling out the madness that his hands are capable of wreaking on that stringed demon. It's a lot clearer of a mix this time. System have hit that punk sound I'm certain trying to find for all the complicated studiowork involved in everything after the debut. Nothing will ever touch the gravity of that initial release but this album seems much closer to it, in the way that it breathes and twists and chunks and fires at you much more threateningly than anything on Toxicity or Steal this Album!, a job well done by the boys we were always glad made it to the top to blare that almost obnoxious madness onto the entire galaxy. This one is going platinum quickly. Expand
  9. MarkC
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Woooow. Plain simply, woow! This album is hypnotising (ironic, isn't it). It really is an early contestant for album of the year. Blast beats (oh yes!), death growls, polka, bizarre chanting, thrash riffs and out of this world melodies, all in one consistent and so damn catchy package that can only make me say: «Damn summer, you'd better be short.»
  10. VladA.
    May 19, 2005
    8
    its funny how snot nosed "professional" reviewers like john robb from playlouder writes that this album kicks the crap out of indie kids' music like its a west coast east coast rap fewd. good music should be recognized as good music by everyone and it just so happens that there is more good indie music than major label produced music. and we all know theres a good reason for that. its funny how snot nosed "professional" reviewers like john robb from playlouder writes that this album kicks the crap out of indie kids' music like its a west coast east coast rap fewd. good music should be recognized as good music by everyone and it just so happens that there is more good indie music than major label produced music. and we all know theres a good reason for that. anyways, im listenin to mezmerize now and its pretty standard SOAD, which to say is very intriguing stuff. i wonder how it will age tho. i cant listen to toxcitiy anymore. Expand
  11. LockneO
    May 19, 2005
    10
    System of a Down is awesome! This CD doesn't just spew political comments (like the reviewers have put it). It's a very good CD with headbanger songs such as "Violent Pornography" and songs that could mean more if you just "feel the music"...
  12. texaspat
    May 22, 2005
    10
    System of a Down is one the hottest, most intelligent, and original bands out there. They are clearly proving that rock genre is NOT fading. I would not say that this album is better than the previous. All of the albums so far are so different, its simply a matter of taste. However, this album contains less songs with silly lyrics (see Bounce). Songs such as Cigaro, B.Y.O.B., and Revenga System of a Down is one the hottest, most intelligent, and original bands out there. They are clearly proving that rock genre is NOT fading. I would not say that this album is better than the previous. All of the albums so far are so different, its simply a matter of taste. However, this album contains less songs with silly lyrics (see Bounce). Songs such as Cigaro, B.Y.O.B., and Revenga all infuse heavy raging polemic, jarring rhythms, and complicated melodic lines which has become so characteristic of System of a Down. B.Y.O.B is one of my personal favorites. That a band can come with albums that are so distinct, so original, and so defining is an indication of System of a Down's upward path. Expand
  13. bobhope'sdad
    May 22, 2005
    9
    I see how System fans hate this cd.. On some tracks they just arent metal. but anyone can play simple riffs, system instead has tried some new things, some much more melodic tracks, and mostly a combo of metal riffs w/ catchy melodies. i think it works because they still retain their quirky and distinct style, but i wont be surprised if they lose a lot of their fans.
  14. SheaE
    May 23, 2005
    10
    I think this album is just as good as Toxicity. More "poppy", but the same brilliant original metal. All the songs transition nicely to make a very enjoyable listen. It will probably be the one of the best albums to come out on a major label this year.
  15. JoeCas
    May 23, 2005
    9
    i thought i was a good cd i liked it better than steal this album
  16. camuquengue
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Amazing, that's all I can say cuz I got to listen to it about a billion more times
  17. paradoxchyld
    May 24, 2005
    8
    the only cd i been listenin to for the past week. my fav song is radio/video.. its awesome til it gets to sad statue...that song and old school hollywood are horrible, deeply disappointed...the album ends with a whimperish whine over how ppl fuck everyone over in hollywood..i frankly dont give a sh*$#, and i hate it when daron orders all the bi#$*&!es to throw their hands up in the the only cd i been listenin to for the past week. my fav song is radio/video.. its awesome til it gets to sad statue...that song and old school hollywood are horrible, deeply disappointed...the album ends with a whimperish whine over how ppl fuck everyone over in hollywood..i frankly dont give a sh*$#, and i hate it when daron orders all the bi#$*&!es to throw their hands up in the air...wack! except for those 3 tracks, this half of the double album is for the most part a masterpiece and testifies to the phenomenon that is and always will be System of a Down. Expand
  18. maddog
    May 24, 2005
    9
    If we accept that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then this is a great piece of work. Sounding on some tracks like the reincarnation of Jello Biafra, SOAD have saved the best until last. 'Lost in Holywood' (and remember, you read it first here) is in fact, 'Street Spirit' off Radiohead's The Bends. A closer clone even than the Flaming Lips' copy If we accept that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then this is a great piece of work. Sounding on some tracks like the reincarnation of Jello Biafra, SOAD have saved the best until last. 'Lost in Holywood' (and remember, you read it first here) is in fact, 'Street Spirit' off Radiohead's The Bends. A closer clone even than the Flaming Lips' copy of some limp Cat Stevens song. Expand
  19. MikD
    May 25, 2005
    9
    amazing from start to finish..this one just grows and grows on you. Daron's melodic assault goes into Bad Brains, Queen and Zappa territory this time around. The vocal and guitar pyrotechnics are astounding, but the hooks stick in your brain long after you picked up your jaw off of the floor.
  20. DiewittD
    May 26, 2005
    10
    This album is just unique, original, catchy, and best of all, is just plain good. I could listen to this album for days. All of the songs are different from each other, and yet, all of them are System of a Down. Buy this album if you can.
  21. Yoh
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Quite surprising but still awesome, loud, violent and creative. SOAD is this kind of band that have things to say, and they say it well and loud. As a first impression I was a bit surprised hearing Daronon most songs, but after all it's ok. Great album, go for it
  22. ChrisK
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Pretentious people are stupid. I can't believe who would listen to Ruins wouldn't listen to this. Screw them. This is one of the best albums of the year. Screw the person who still listens to the entire Matador catalog and thinks he is so indie.
  23. MarkM
    May 27, 2005
    5
    I have no idea where this high rating came from. I mean there are maybe 3 memorable songs on this album. Toxicity is soo much better than this album. SOAD fans will enjoy this album, but it is def not as good as its rating suggests.
  24. JonathanP
    May 27, 2005
    5
    I cant score this a 0, because I haven't heard it all.. but any album that spawns BYOB deserves some major slagging. It's honestly the worst track I've ever heard on the radio. Dreadful.
  25. jacyw
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    Okay so They are my favorite band and i've only recently gotten into metal. I used to be so heavy on rap and SOAD was the only band i would listen to. Thye are so amazing, daring and just all togther NOT afraid to try anything. I recently read the article in Guitar Weekly on Daron Malakian. It was so cool to look at the inner workings of the SOAD and i love the whole band but i would Okay so They are my favorite band and i've only recently gotten into metal. I used to be so heavy on rap and SOAD was the only band i would listen to. Thye are so amazing, daring and just all togther NOT afraid to try anything. I recently read the article in Guitar Weekly on Daron Malakian. It was so cool to look at the inner workings of the SOAD and i love the whole band but i would have to say Daron is my favorite because he writes most of the songs. And they almost always have a meaning and I love that they sing and play about what's real! My favorite album so far is Steal This Album but Mezmerize is absolutely amazing. Expand
  26. WangChung
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    A great album, not SOAD's best but still lives up to all the hype with its unprecedented sound and crazy lyrics, the only thing to really complain about is Daron did most of the lyrics, cant wait for Hypnotize.
  27. MattM
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    Awesome album. I can't believe anyone could say that this is repetitive! I haven;t listened to much metal since my teen years but this just blew me away. Will go close to being album of the year. Its like someone put the band in a room with The Mars Volta & Steve Vai & they procreated this wild proggy beast! Incredible stuff...
  28. MChapman
    Jun 16, 2005
    0
    Seriously I thought toxicity was a bad song, that is until I heard BYOB... how do shite bands like this get airplay and good hardcore bands like Fugazi get passed over? The rest of the album sucks the big one too. Do the world a favor and stop listening to radio. It's also completely absurd that these idiots get pissed off about corporate america when they are signed by Sony Music, Seriously I thought toxicity was a bad song, that is until I heard BYOB... how do shite bands like this get airplay and good hardcore bands like Fugazi get passed over? The rest of the album sucks the big one too. Do the world a favor and stop listening to radio. It's also completely absurd that these idiots get pissed off about corporate america when they are signed by Sony Music, part of one of the most disgusting industires (music). Expand
  29. JeffS
    Jun 17, 2005
    2
    I really dont understand how this band could have garnered such high marks. Absolutely no substance to their music. At the very most their sound is novel at first listen...but nothing more than that.
  30. JasonX
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Okay Jon K. if you find them so evil. Why are you even looking at these reviews let alone giving them a 5. For everyone else, this is a great album from a terrific band who tend to get people like Jon K all upset when they do not bother to really invest in the whole story.
  31. geard
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    awesome cd if you dont agree try actually absorbing thier music
  32. johnnyM
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    this album is amazing, i dotn care wut u ppl think about the lyrics. the beats are sweet, the songs are well edited, man this thing is downright amazing......buy this album and ull be happy with it.
  33. MattG
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    I love this CD! SOAD has done it again! BYOB has the perfect mix to make the frantic songs that all SOAD lovers enjoy. Those who don't like this CD simply of the frantic sound shouldnt be listening to system of a down at all becouse that's what their music is. Never a dull moment.. Way to go SOAD!!
  34. KevinJ
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    The only metal band worth listening to. Most metal is pretty dumb and a bit pointless in my opinion, because there was very little innovation and every song sounds the same. Metal was sort of like reggae to me before SOAD, if you've heard one song, you've heard them all. Then a little band called System of a Down comes along with serious musical ability, reason to innovate, The only metal band worth listening to. Most metal is pretty dumb and a bit pointless in my opinion, because there was very little innovation and every song sounds the same. Metal was sort of like reggae to me before SOAD, if you've heard one song, you've heard them all. Then a little band called System of a Down comes along with serious musical ability, reason to innovate, great voices, and a MESSAGE, and they released half an album that is simply genius. If the other half is as good, this album will go down in history as legendary. The funny thing is that by innovating, which is rare in metal, they are now the best-selling metal band in the world and so good at what they do that, if the other half is as good as this, will render every other metal band utterly obsolete. WITHOUT SELLING OUT! Sorry, diehard metal fans. Expand
  35. KurtO
    Jul 17, 2005
    9
    This is the first System of a Down CD I've purchased, which I did based on the fact that it got "universal acclaim". I'm not at all disappointed. I like every song on the album, except the "This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song", which blows. Although they could certainly use more variety in their songs, they seem to have perfected their style of metal and the This is the first System of a Down CD I've purchased, which I did based on the fact that it got "universal acclaim". I'm not at all disappointed. I like every song on the album, except the "This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song", which blows. Although they could certainly use more variety in their songs, they seem to have perfected their style of metal and the album is quite enjoyable. I respect them because they don't just scream like some bands (i.e. Mudvayne) but they combine musical talent with their aggressive music. Daron Malakian is a very talented songwriter. Expand
  36. BarbF
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    SOAD is simply the best rock band out there right now. Their energy is unsurpassed & their songs make a powerful political statement. Bush should download BYOB on his IPOD.
  37. ALAL
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a completely creative album as all of their others have been. Old School Hollywood brought a new element and new potential for SOAD. The instrumental on this album is new and shows how versitle they can be. Most important they sing a message we can all learn from. Instead of just making an album on how great it is to be a musican or how u party they focus on political I thought this was a completely creative album as all of their others have been. Old School Hollywood brought a new element and new potential for SOAD. The instrumental on this album is new and shows how versitle they can be. Most important they sing a message we can all learn from. Instead of just making an album on how great it is to be a musican or how u party they focus on political and social issuses, we need more bands like that. Expand
  38. NateC
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    I hadnt heard any system of a down before this CD, borrowed it, listened to the songs, and now i have Toxicity and Steal this album as well... SOAD is to uniquely awesome for words!
  39. tzubazao
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    amazing,... best album in 2005, love the lead singer(s)
  40. CalebA
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic CD. It's not always the most sensible, but it's energy is amazing as well as it's originality. I love it.
  41. SergeS
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Don't you forget System Of A Down
  42. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Mezmerize is pretty good, No denying it. I enjoyed most of the tracks off it but the tracks dont really have the originality that the songs from previous albums did and they sounded too much alike.
  43. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    Average album overall. Not SOAD's best album but still a heavy album. B.Y.O.B, Cigaro, Radio/Video and Violent Pornography really make the album worth listening to.
  44. Oct 12, 2016
    10
    System Of A Down at their most focused, energetic, and craziest. Everything you love (or hate) about the band is amplified in every way. The result is an incredible album that doesn't let up for a second.

    The lyrical themes, the constant barrage of punk flavored metal, and nonstop insanity of their sound and messages elevate the band into territory few others will ever reach. System Of
    System Of A Down at their most focused, energetic, and craziest. Everything you love (or hate) about the band is amplified in every way. The result is an incredible album that doesn't let up for a second.

    The lyrical themes, the constant barrage of punk flavored metal, and nonstop insanity of their sound and messages elevate the band into territory few others will ever reach. System Of A Down knows what makes them System Of A Down. The refinement and focus they've put into their sound needs to be heard to be believed.

    They bring a personality to their music that's so very unique. The tracks come at you with such potency and ferocity that it's hard not to get hooked. The sarcastic sense of humor and smart social commentary the band is known for still meld together perfectly. When it comes to Mezmerize, there simply isn't anything else like it out there. That's because most band's just don't have the talent to pull something like this off.
    Expand
  45. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Mezmerize features System Of a Down at its craziest but also its smartest. Every track is something very different from the last, a sign that the band has lost none of its creativity.
  46. May 8, 2011
    10
    It is very hard to find people that work that well together to create one of the greatest bands in the world. Mezmerize is one high point of System of A Down. Most of their previous work is phenomenal. This album is flawless throughout every chord, beat, and word. This album has a bit of a new sound to it compared to Toxicity and Steal This Album!. From the beginning of the album with theIt is very hard to find people that work that well together to create one of the greatest bands in the world. Mezmerize is one high point of System of A Down. Most of their previous work is phenomenal. This album is flawless throughout every chord, beat, and word. This album has a bit of a new sound to it compared to Toxicity and Steal This Album!. From the beginning of the album with the calm "Soldier Side - Intro" leading into the intense, heavy "B.Y.O.B.", to the end with the depressing "Lost In Hollywood", and just about everything in between, this album is one of the many amazing albums this band has to offer. The best tracks are "B.Y.O.B.", "Revenga", "Cigaro", "Radio/Video", Violent Pornography", "Question!", and "Lost In Hollywood". Buy it now!!! Expand
  47. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Behind TOXICITY, this is System of a Down's best album. A lot of the songs, as with the band's other work, are really, really cool, but the only ones truly worth listening to are "B.Y.O.B" and "Question!".
  48. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    A more melodic compared to previous album with some great songs like "lost in hollywood", "question" or "soldier side" which are more molodic sort-of prog.rock/alt.metal. Other good hard-rocking songs are "violent pornography" and "old-school hollywood". You will also find a few "stupid" tracks (in my opinion) like BYOB or the cocaine one but they have to please their all-time fans so no problem.
  49. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    To a surprising degree, Tankien and the crew prove that they still have yet the skill to craft another great album. The album starts with punches and lyrically-brilliant introduction songs, and as the album progresses, the band delved into more of an emotional, looming atmosphere. From the insanity from Cigaro to the emotional and thick atmospherical songs like Sad Statue and Lost inTo a surprising degree, Tankien and the crew prove that they still have yet the skill to craft another great album. The album starts with punches and lyrically-brilliant introduction songs, and as the album progresses, the band delved into more of an emotional, looming atmosphere. From the insanity from Cigaro to the emotional and thick atmospherical songs like Sad Statue and Lost in Hollywood, this is without a doubt the best offering from System, this is a must-buy for those looking for the different kind of music we can only expect out of System of a Down. If you're a fan of the series, you need not look any further that the purchase button on your iTunes store; this is a masterpieces of a rock album. Reccomended Songs:
    1) Sad Statue
    2) Question!
    3) Lost in Hollywood
    4) B.Y.O.B.
    5) Cigaro
    Expand
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This is by far, SOADS best album. Every single track up until the hollwood section is a metal fans heaven. Of course the without the inclusion of B.Y.O.B and Cigaro this album would not have reached as far as it did, but as its stands this is pure brilliance
  51. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    I just didnt like this album. Its nothing like the System of old and IMO they changed for the worst. They are far too mainstream now and this is just a generic album.
  52. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    Mezmerize is hugely inconsistent. There's a handful of great songs, a handful of decent songs and a handful of bad songs. Thanks to the great songs, though, it stays decent-ish; but still underwhelming, mostly because of there being too much Daron Malakian.

    65/100.
  53. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    Very diverse album with an anti-establishment theme to it. Every song tells a great story and melody-wise, it's the best metal album I've ever heard. Daron's shrilling vocals mixed with Serj's power deep vocals creates an amazing sound. You have to pick this album up. Highlights of this album include "B.Y.O.B.", "Radio/Video" and "Lost in Hollywood" and the low point of this album isVery diverse album with an anti-establishment theme to it. Every song tells a great story and melody-wise, it's the best metal album I've ever heard. Daron's shrilling vocals mixed with Serj's power deep vocals creates an amazing sound. You have to pick this album up. Highlights of this album include "B.Y.O.B.", "Radio/Video" and "Lost in Hollywood" and the low point of this album is probably "Old School Hollywood", but that song's not even bad. It's experimental, much like the rest of the album but it's still great. Expand
  54. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    System of a Down suceeds in this album but drifts away from their meaningful songs and sing mostly about cruel sex and ruthless partying and drugs. It also lacks any songs that would be potential hits. Still its a fun album to listen to depending on who you are.
  55. May 10, 2013
    10
    I am unsure whether I could call this my favorite SOAD album that is a really tough question they are all good but this one was great. I don't really have a negative view of any songs on this album they are all really good. The songs range from soft (Lost in Hollywood) to loud (This Cocaine Makes Me Feel on Top of This Song) and they are all perfectly done. If you love SOAD you will loveI am unsure whether I could call this my favorite SOAD album that is a really tough question they are all good but this one was great. I don't really have a negative view of any songs on this album they are all really good. The songs range from soft (Lost in Hollywood) to loud (This Cocaine Makes Me Feel on Top of This Song) and they are all perfectly done. If you love SOAD you will love this I would encourage anyone else to listen too. Expand
  56. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    This album is just perfect. All the songs are really catchy and awesome to hear, the highlight of this album was B.Y.O.B which was a great way to start the album after the Soldier Side Intro. considering this album came out almost 10 years old this album is still awesome and I highly recommend this album if you're just getting into SOAD.
  57. Jul 11, 2015
    6
    Some people this isn't heavy enough, and not as good as their other previous albums (my personal favourite is "Steal This Album!"). While that stands true, Mezmerize definitely provides a good listen, however not as original or awesome as its predecessors. One of the worst parts of this album is Daron Malakian's singing, which he does on almost all tracks. His voice is nothing compared toSome people this isn't heavy enough, and not as good as their other previous albums (my personal favourite is "Steal This Album!"). While that stands true, Mezmerize definitely provides a good listen, however not as original or awesome as its predecessors. One of the worst parts of this album is Daron Malakian's singing, which he does on almost all tracks. His voice is nothing compared to Tankian's, whose voice shifts and changes from growling to extremely theatrical vocals, whereas Malakian's sounds like someone whining. Overall, SOAD seems to have changed their musical direction more towards hard rock and poppish kind of rock than metal.

    Best song(s): Question! (most original, anyway, what with the million time changes), B.Y.O.B

    Worst song: Old School Hollywood (needs no explanation, absolute crap)
    Expand
  58. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    And this is what is known as a 10/10 album. Every song is good despite a few of them being a little...odd (looking straight at Cigaro and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song).If you only have a bit of money to buy songs, I recommend getting either B.Y.O.B., Cigaro, Violent Pornography, Question, and Old School Hollywood first.
  59. Mar 15, 2016
    5
    The worst System Of A Down album! Songs like This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song are just awful! Hypnotize was very good and I can't belive it is the second half of Mezmerize... The best song here is Lost In Hollywood.
  60. Nov 17, 2016
    8
    Mesmerise is so good. It’s not as hard and heavy as their debut, nor as melodic and dark as Toxicity, but it has a very quirky, and niche charm, mixing comedic and electronic elements. The album, like every SOAD album is extremely re-listenable, but this one in particular comes closer to the success of Toxicity because of the non-stop attack of solid songs, each very distinctive from oneMesmerise is so good. It’s not as hard and heavy as their debut, nor as melodic and dark as Toxicity, but it has a very quirky, and niche charm, mixing comedic and electronic elements. The album, like every SOAD album is extremely re-listenable, but this one in particular comes closer to the success of Toxicity because of the non-stop attack of solid songs, each very distinctive from one another.

    Soldier Side:
    I love it when SOAD take the time to set the mood, or even just slow it down for a bit, making it easier to listen to, and better paced than a constant barrage of hard hitting and manic songs. This is melancholy sounding intro, and I believe a full version of this song can be found on Hypnotise, which is a nice touch, really drawing those two albums closer together.

    BYOB:
    Edgy and fast, just like something off of their earlier albums. This song is a huger hit, and works on a few levels. Firstly the writing is lively, and the delivery of the lyrics is manic and exciting, especially at the ending “why do you always send the poor?”. Instrumentally the riffs are very similar to the title track of Toxicity (especially the ending of that song, compared to the intro of this one) just play Toxicity, and the BYOB back to back, and it would sound like the same song, in a good way.

    Revenga:
    The eastern-inspired sound of the vocals reminds me of why I love Serj’s voice so much. There is a lack of good lyricism in this song however, and makes the classic mistake SOAD make, where they repeat the same few phrases over and over again. This song despite this is a real head-banger, and is just a joy to listen to.

    Cigaro:
    Besides being hilarious, this song has so much raw and catchy instrumental work. The riffs are off the charts when it comes to the chorus, with the high notes spiralling down make the song just so “bouncy” in nature, and easy to listen to. Strangley, the lyrics being stupid as they are, do sound like they carry some social commentary (possibly in the vapid nature of our consumerist society, maybe?).

    Radio/Video:
    Just like Revenga, there is so much eastern sounding singing and instrumental work on this song. Lyrically it does the thing of shouting a chorus over and over, but has a softer, more melodic segment, like anything off of Toxicity. Really it works in its own strange way, and actually sounds like it could get radioplay, because of how accessible it is.

    This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I’m on this Song:
    Besides the stupid name this song ROCKS, like really is a heavy piece of headbanging. Reminds me so much of their debut, and is a classic example of not needing to be complex to make a re-listenable song. Sure anybody can write a 10 minute epic with multiple solos, but most SOAD songs have so much impact in only a fifth of that time.

    Violent Pornography:
    Lyrically I actual relate to this song. So much messed up stuff is available especially nowadays online, that people are becoming less profound, and more desensitised to very stupid and strange things, like bizarre pornography involving torture, and bestiality. Ugh. The song also has a nice melody, and keeps the average song quality on the album high.

    Question and Sad Statute:
    The two weaker songs on the album essentially just fill a gap. The riffs are usual SOAD, and the lyrics especially for Question are super, but they don’t have too much impact through either a melodic edge or even that hard hitting guitar. Can’t really say too much on this topic.

    Old School Hollywood:
    This is such an uncharacteristic song for SOAD. Daron has a lot of the vocal work on this song, which I personally do not like, but he does do his best lines here (“Tony Manza cuts in line” I think the words were). There is a very cheesy robotic voice going “old school Hollywood” is just a pointless touch, which you either love of hate. I mean this is like SOAD’s D’yer Maker, strange, but isn’t downright terrible, and has a lot of actual value to the song. The story behind the song isn’t too bad either.

    Lost In Hollywood:
    I really cannot get over Daron’s voice. I just don’t see why they would use him over Serj. The song itself is pretty great. Reminds you of a less emotional version of Spiders (minus the good vocals). I do however like the lyrics here. Touching on the same things Aenima did, this song talks about the pricks who live in Hollywood, and the false and sinister nature of the eccentric larger than life characters that inhabit the streets. The lyrics are well written and can easily be interpreted, and are a nice long song to finish the album on. I do recommend this, even if I do see missed potential in the vocals.

    Overall I do like this album (very slightly more than Hypnotise), but I do fear that they lost most of their political and social edge in the lyricism, besides the songs I named. The instrumentals don’t at all work as well as their early stuff. The drumming does not even come close to their early stuff, and there are fewer, less interesting hooks in this. The guitar still has the edge visible in BYOB, but is lost towards the end.
    Expand
  61. Jun 14, 2017
    10
    Definitely they're best album. SOAD again proves why they are one of the best Nu metal bands of all time! You wont waste time listening to this, especially "Lost in Hollywood" and "Radio/Video".
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]