Mezmerize

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 17, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 424 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 424

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2016
    5
    The worst System Of A Down album! Songs like This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song are just awful! Hypnotize was very good and I can't belive it is the second half of Mezmerize... The best song here is Lost In Hollywood.
  2. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    And this is what is known as a 10/10 album. Every song is good despite a few of them being a little...odd (looking straight at Cigaro and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song).If you only have a bit of money to buy songs, I recommend getting either B.Y.O.B., Cigaro, Violent Pornography, Question, and Old School Hollywood first.
  3. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    Mezmerize is hugely inconsistent. There's a handful of great songs, a handful of decent songs and a handful of bad songs. Thanks to the great songs, though, it stays decent-ish; but still underwhelming, mostly because of there being too much Daron Malakian.

    65/100.
  4. Jul 11, 2015
    6
    Some people this isn't heavy enough, and not as good as their other previous albums (my personal favourite is "Steal This Album!"). While that stands true, Mezmerize definitely provides a good listen, however not as original or awesome as its predecessors. One of the worst parts of this album is Daron Malakian's singing, which he does on almost all tracks. His voice is nothing compared toSome people this isn't heavy enough, and not as good as their other previous albums (my personal favourite is "Steal This Album!"). While that stands true, Mezmerize definitely provides a good listen, however not as original or awesome as its predecessors. One of the worst parts of this album is Daron Malakian's singing, which he does on almost all tracks. His voice is nothing compared to Tankian's, whose voice shifts and changes from growling to extremely theatrical vocals, whereas Malakian's sounds like someone whining. Overall, SOAD seems to have changed their musical direction more towards hard rock and poppish kind of rock than metal.

    Best song(s): Question! (most original, anyway, what with the million time changes), B.Y.O.B

    Worst song: Old School Hollywood (needs no explanation, absolute crap)
    Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    This album is just perfect. All the songs are really catchy and awesome to hear, the highlight of this album was B.Y.O.B which was a great way to start the album after the Soldier Side Intro. considering this album came out almost 10 years old this album is still awesome and I highly recommend this album if you're just getting into SOAD.
  6. May 10, 2013
    10
    I am unsure whether I could call this my favorite SOAD album that is a really tough question they are all good but this one was great. I don't really have a negative view of any songs on this album they are all really good. The songs range from soft (Lost in Hollywood) to loud (This Cocaine Makes Me Feel on Top of This Song) and they are all perfectly done. If you love SOAD you will loveI am unsure whether I could call this my favorite SOAD album that is a really tough question they are all good but this one was great. I don't really have a negative view of any songs on this album they are all really good. The songs range from soft (Lost in Hollywood) to loud (This Cocaine Makes Me Feel on Top of This Song) and they are all perfectly done. If you love SOAD you will love this I would encourage anyone else to listen too. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    System of a Down suceeds in this album but drifts away from their meaningful songs and sing mostly about cruel sex and ruthless partying and drugs. It also lacks any songs that would be potential hits. Still its a fun album to listen to depending on who you are.
  8. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Same as Hypnotize, BYOB,violent you know what,and This you know what makes me feel like I'm on this song are main reasons why I like this album.
  9. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    Very diverse album with an anti-establishment theme to it. Every song tells a great story and melody-wise, it's the best metal album I've ever heard. Daron's shrilling vocals mixed with Serj's power deep vocals creates an amazing sound. You have to pick this album up. Highlights of this album include "B.Y.O.B.", "Radio/Video" and "Lost in Hollywood" and the low point of this album isVery diverse album with an anti-establishment theme to it. Every song tells a great story and melody-wise, it's the best metal album I've ever heard. Daron's shrilling vocals mixed with Serj's power deep vocals creates an amazing sound. You have to pick this album up. Highlights of this album include "B.Y.O.B.", "Radio/Video" and "Lost in Hollywood" and the low point of this album is probably "Old School Hollywood", but that song's not even bad. It's experimental, much like the rest of the album but it's still great. Expand
  10. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Mezmerize features System Of a Down at its craziest but also its smartest. Every track is something very different from the last, a sign that the band has lost none of its creativity.
  11. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    To a surprising degree, Tankien and the crew prove that they still have yet the skill to craft another great album. The album starts with punches and lyrically-brilliant introduction songs, and as the album progresses, the band delved into more of an emotional, looming atmosphere. From the insanity from Cigaro to the emotional and thick atmospherical songs like Sad Statue and Lost inTo a surprising degree, Tankien and the crew prove that they still have yet the skill to craft another great album. The album starts with punches and lyrically-brilliant introduction songs, and as the album progresses, the band delved into more of an emotional, looming atmosphere. From the insanity from Cigaro to the emotional and thick atmospherical songs like Sad Statue and Lost in Hollywood, this is without a doubt the best offering from System, this is a must-buy for those looking for the different kind of music we can only expect out of System of a Down. If you're a fan of the series, you need not look any further that the purchase button on your iTunes store; this is a masterpieces of a rock album. Reccomended Songs:
    1) Sad Statue
    2) Question!
    3) Lost in Hollywood
    4) B.Y.O.B.
    5) Cigaro
    Expand
  12. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    I just didnt like this album. Its nothing like the System of old and IMO they changed for the worst. They are far too mainstream now and this is just a generic album.
  13. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Mezmerize is pretty good, No denying it. I enjoyed most of the tracks off it but the tracks dont really have the originality that the songs from previous albums did and they sounded too much alike.
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This is by far, SOADS best album. Every single track up until the hollwood section is a metal fans heaven. Of course the without the inclusion of B.Y.O.B and Cigaro this album would not have reached as far as it did, but as its stands this is pure brilliance
  15. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Behind TOXICITY, this is System of a Down's best album. A lot of the songs, as with the band's other work, are really, really cool, but the only ones truly worth listening to are "B.Y.O.B" and "Question!".
  16. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    A more melodic compared to previous album with some great songs like "lost in hollywood", "question" or "soldier side" which are more molodic sort-of prog.rock/alt.metal. Other good hard-rocking songs are "violent pornography" and "old-school hollywood". You will also find a few "stupid" tracks (in my opinion) like BYOB or the cocaine one but they have to please their all-time fans so no problem.
  17. May 8, 2011
    10
    It is very hard to find people that work that well together to create one of the greatest bands in the world. Mezmerize is one high point of System of A Down. Most of their previous work is phenomenal. This album is flawless throughout every chord, beat, and word. This album has a bit of a new sound to it compared to Toxicity and Steal This Album!. From the beginning of the album with theIt is very hard to find people that work that well together to create one of the greatest bands in the world. Mezmerize is one high point of System of A Down. Most of their previous work is phenomenal. This album is flawless throughout every chord, beat, and word. This album has a bit of a new sound to it compared to Toxicity and Steal This Album!. From the beginning of the album with the calm "Soldier Side - Intro" leading into the intense, heavy "B.Y.O.B.", to the end with the depressing "Lost In Hollywood", and just about everything in between, this album is one of the many amazing albums this band has to offer. The best tracks are "B.Y.O.B.", "Revenga", "Cigaro", "Radio/Video", Violent Pornography", "Question!", and "Lost In Hollywood". Buy it now!!! Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    Average album overall. Not SOAD's best album but still a heavy album. B.Y.O.B, Cigaro, Radio/Video and Violent Pornography really make the album worth listening to.
  19. ViviO.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    OMG, the words are easy so it's easy to scream along to and YOU WILL want to scream a long to this!
  20. Deanna
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Hollywood. And there is everything inbetween. Expand
  21. KraigB.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    In my opinion, SOAD's best album to date. If you gave this album anything less than a 6 regardless of not being a metal fan, you can't say you truely like music.
  22. Mislav
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Awesome album. That is the most accurate (and only slightly biased) way to describe it.
  23. JoelC.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Getting a little too political lyric.ally, but that is forgiven as this album is near flawless otherwise.
  24. SidL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    SOAD's best album to date if you ask me. Their dynamic, creative, and simply awesome metal sound...that's a given. But they manage to put a large percentage of the world's problems into perspective, war. War's a party, they say sarcastically, a party that will just shoo away all the world's evil...when really it creates evil, increasing death and decay, achieving little.
  25. TeodoraK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    This album deserves a 10 hands down.
  26. StephenL.
    Jul 9, 2007
    1
    System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the corporate media tell you to like something else, this is it. Expand
  27. SimonB
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    I wasn't impressed after so many listens to this album. But man those guys sure can make good music. You can't go and compare a hill with a mountain. SOAD's far from being the best band ever. But their lyricism is definitely top-notch. I'd like to see them sing with Bustah Rhymes one of these days. They did make a song with Wu-Tang Clan in the past and it worked well. I wasn't impressed after so many listens to this album. But man those guys sure can make good music. You can't go and compare a hill with a mountain. SOAD's far from being the best band ever. But their lyricism is definitely top-notch. I'd like to see them sing with Bustah Rhymes one of these days. They did make a song with Wu-Tang Clan in the past and it worked well. Okay, so this album is full of what-have-you's. SOAD like to turn the volume up and give it their all. And why not? It's a great way to make an evening's entertainment- even though anyone that is used to listening to SOAD knows their songs are very pre-mature in their endings. They shoot bullets at tons of people and it's fun to see that some of those that review this album have no idea what is said. Maybe just having ears ain't enough pal. You need culture, too. Culture helps liking SOAD more. Expand
  28. ForsakenMemory
    Mar 9, 2007
    8
    Not their best album but still wicked! i wont givew this a 10 as being a musician just finishing my own first album myself im just highly critical of all bands. i still laugh at people who dont get their lyrics or lyrical style though! and think that they are educated in music because they say that system of a down sounds pop! the simple fact is that system of a downs lyrics are highly Not their best album but still wicked! i wont givew this a 10 as being a musician just finishing my own first album myself im just highly critical of all bands. i still laugh at people who dont get their lyrics or lyrical style though! and think that they are educated in music because they say that system of a down sounds pop! the simple fact is that system of a downs lyrics are highly influenced by that of frank zappa and if youve ever listened to him you will her the connection instantly. system of a down create their popularity by being political and serious about their issues but at the same time not arrogent enough to take them selves too seriously. Forsaken memory is highly influenced by system of a downs music and their live preformances rock! its great to see systems drummer now using a double kick pedal too! rock on system! Expand
  29. SergeS
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Don't you forget System Of A Down
  30. ALAL
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a completely creative album as all of their others have been. Old School Hollywood brought a new element and new potential for SOAD. The instrumental on this album is new and shows how versitle they can be. Most important they sing a message we can all learn from. Instead of just making an album on how great it is to be a musican or how u party they focus on political I thought this was a completely creative album as all of their others have been. Old School Hollywood brought a new element and new potential for SOAD. The instrumental on this album is new and shows how versitle they can be. Most important they sing a message we can all learn from. Instead of just making an album on how great it is to be a musican or how u party they focus on political and social issuses, we need more bands like that. Expand
  31. KyleS
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    I love this albumn...LOVE!!I don't care if people say they don't like this albumn.But I f***** hate it whaen f***ers say this is bad or is crap and so on.shout your f***** mouth!
  32. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Simply phenomenal album, well worth the long wait after 'Steal This Album!'. 'Mesmerize' is a fantastic CD that is so political and FUN at the same time. Do buy this... you will be pleasantly rewarded.
  33. Rusty
    Aug 7, 2006
    2
    I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst songs ever...... Expand
  34. Peterf
    Aug 4, 2006
    5
    whats happened to these guys?! i mean y have they change so awkwardly. Old school hollywood would ha to be the wrost song ive ever heard. Old school hollywood baseball? what a load of crap! Darron has now stuffed the band completely, can't believe this got a higher mark than toxicity and their first album. This is their worse album and it hursts to say that being a big S.O.A.D fan.
  35. beny
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    This is hands-down the best cd i have ever heard. That is not an exaggeration. The musical genius of System of a Down is easily apparent in each and every song. Most albums have only a few real quality songs, but this one has 11 (all of them)! The only reason that people say they don't like this disc is because they can't handle the strong opinions that SOAD expresses. This is This is hands-down the best cd i have ever heard. That is not an exaggeration. The musical genius of System of a Down is easily apparent in each and every song. Most albums have only a few real quality songs, but this one has 11 (all of them)! The only reason that people say they don't like this disc is because they can't handle the strong opinions that SOAD expresses. This is truly a must-have! Expand
  36. EdwardS
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Love this CD. Favorites are Radio Video, Violent pornography, BYOB, Old School Hollywood, and Lost in Hollywood
  37. ChrisJ
    Jun 12, 2006
    5
    This is System of a Down's worst album to date, by far. The songs are not creative, and little musical talent is shown. Lyrics to many of the songs are pointless and contrived.
  38. Loesv
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Great CD! Creative, melodic.. it's breathteaking and it never fails to surprise you. I recommend this greatly
  39. OdessaS
    May 26, 2006
    10
    I love this album. Very experimental and creative. Serj is an artist. So is everybody else in the band. 20 years from now they will still be talked about.
  40. jj
    May 18, 2006
    1
    This was one of the worst ever and I collect music- this was like a buzzsaw droning in my head. I sold it the next day and got something I could stand to listen to- Alice in Chains, and Saliva. Save your money!
  41. I.Lynch
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    Its not a bad album, but i think they try to force their opinions on people a bit too much. Toxcicity is much better.
  42. TiagoM
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as some critics call? great!!! i will be here to listen and listen and listen and.......... Expand
  43. NateC
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    I hadnt heard any system of a down before this CD, borrowed it, listened to the songs, and now i have Toxicity and Steal this album as well... SOAD is to uniquely awesome for words!
  44. stevenn
    Mar 21, 2006
    7
    ok i admit, this was my first SOAD album, but surely not my last, when i first heard Mezmerize, i was stunned, i couldnt get the echoes of "my **** is much bigger than yours* out of my head. but after a while, i realized that the music may be good, as an album it is really disjointed, or really random in other words, if you have not heard this album, pick it up, its good, just a little to ok i admit, this was my first SOAD album, but surely not my last, when i first heard Mezmerize, i was stunned, i couldnt get the echoes of "my **** is much bigger than yours* out of my head. but after a while, i realized that the music may be good, as an album it is really disjointed, or really random in other words, if you have not heard this album, pick it up, its good, just a little to disjointed for me, but Hypnotize remains my favorite SOAD album Expand
  45. JakubJ
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    I am from Czech Republic and SOAD is best music on the world. Sorry for bad english.
  46. HaZe303
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    I love this album... one of the best modern rock albums... best mix of melody and old plain headbanging rock.... I love it... Watch out... you could get whipplashed... :)
  47. SeamusS
    Feb 16, 2006
    3
    It's a tried peice of pretentious crap that smells long after you've experienced it.
  48. ryanw
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    the best music........EVER!!!!!
  49. AlexFR
    Jan 17, 2006
    0
    Horrible new age bullcrap. They jump the liberal bandwagon, and write bad lyrics to go with it. The repetitive power chords tend to hurt my ears.
  50. benjid
    Jan 16, 2006
    0
    different doesnt mean good......and this album is wierd (in a bad way) and is so far from good i am shocked
  51. AlecS
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane makes me feel like im on this song" what? as well as the astounding "violant pornography" over all fantastic. p.s. Hypnotize rules. if we fall we all fall and we fall alone Expand
  52. ConorTheLeprechaun
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his album was voted the best of 2005, Kanye West stated that he thought SOAD would give him a run for his money and would be in the top 5 (Rolling Stone, Yearbook 05/06). This varying in styles can be seen throughout the albums tracks, these are: -"Soldier Side - Intro" this track was a lead up to the fantastic full length song on the Hypnotize album -"B.Y.O.B." was an anger fuelled track mixed in with a pop-like chorus, delivering a spectacle of music that had to be heard to be believed -"Revenga" was an opera influenced track varying in speed with a catchy chorus that could have you singing instantly but once you actually read the lyrics you can see the demeaning nature of the track and the sharp point that it delivers -"Cigaro" was like "Revenga" in its layout but hits us with a strange argument "My cock is much bigger than yours, my cock walks right through the door" that perplexes the listener and then the chorus hits, totally different in style. -"Radio/Video" was a track that I emmensly enjoyed, being catchy from start to finish and as used throughout the album, a variation between the guitar driven "hey man look at me rockin out" to the pop finish of that line, mirrored throughout the song -"This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song" was a strange addition to the album with a collection of screaming lines and a great guitar change in tune -"Violent Pornography". Don't look perplexed at the sight of the title, this so happens to be one of the best tracks on the album, delivering to us three sections, the reccuring "everybody...", the speed of the lyrics finished with a woo hoo and the chorus which states the crap put on our TV screens. This line up of changes was exactly why many listeners tuned in to this album because of its originality. -"Question!" was one of the more mellow songs on the album and ended up more like a soft rock song than the metal we are used to hearing -"Sad Statue" was an amazing track which I bonded to instantly because of the excellent songwriting and lyrics swept up into your brains that will have you either reciting or humming the tune for days -"Old School Hollywood" was one of the fun tracks on the album that provided us with a pop style sound and catchy lyrics different to SOAD's normal style. This is why many reviewers have panned this song because they don't feel that it's right for SOAD, i though think that it's an enjoyable tune -"Lost In Hollywood" was the track I bonded to the least because of its mellow nature without the spark that the other songs had Overall SOAD's album is a keeper, something to shove on your ipod, in your stereo and ultimately in your collection because this album is a fine example that protest albums can sound good and prove a point. Expand
  53. GregH
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    The album could have done without "Old School Hollywood." Also, the person who mixed the album needs to use a consistent volume setting-let the band do the adjusting.
  54. AS
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    My Review: Some of the best SoaD songs are in this album without a doubt. Even the chaotic Vicinity of Obscenity is compelling to listen to and extremely catchy. Hypnotize (song) has a very powerful tune, living up to the band's capabilities. Tentative starts off slightly awkwardly, and what isn't the chorus is a little too tuneless for my tastes. The chorus itself has My Review: Some of the best SoaD songs are in this album without a doubt. Even the chaotic Vicinity of Obscenity is compelling to listen to and extremely catchy. Hypnotize (song) has a very powerful tune, living up to the band's capabilities. Tentative starts off slightly awkwardly, and what isn't the chorus is a little too tuneless for my tastes. The chorus itself has SoaD's classic consistancy that I see as unique beauty. Dreaming has a compelling tune and insightful lyrics, and the same goes for /most/ of U-fig. Particularily the ending bits, where the tempo slows down a bit. Holy Mountains is one of their songs that has a calm tempo, but is far more powerful than most fast songs can accomplish- that goes for SoaD in general. The track "Lonely Day" has a touching tune, but the lyrcis, particularily "the most loniest day of my life" are a bit of an embarrasment rather than touching or serious in any way. With those, and Attack, which is mediocre, SoaD is still going strong, with uniquely deep, striking tunes and songs that will keep fans very, very occupied. -14,Can. Expand
  55. gdoggH
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    great album
  56. wendyb
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    it's great!!
  57. AustinP.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    brilliant!
  58. gaetanor
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    after hearing this, i became obsessed with SOAD. I just can stop listening to them. ive learned every song.
  59. AlexC
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    Last two tracks are my only complaints.
  60. EhabA
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    this is one of the great albums
  61. BrianP
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, THE rock album of 2005! Furious riffing combined with SOADs staple caustic political statements combine to form on hell of an amazing piece of work!
  62. CalebA
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic CD. It's not always the most sensible, but it's energy is amazing as well as it's originality. I love it.
  63. PeterM
    Nov 22, 2005
    1
    There is no questioning this is their best work!
  64. OctavioO
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Love it. Electrifying music that soothes and liberates the soul. This band has has surpassed its expectations making this album one of their top albums.
  65. tzubazao
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    amazing,... best album in 2005, love the lead singer(s)
  66. BenS
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s bizareness pays off in a hurtling stunner of rapid tempo changes and tumbling wordplay. 'this cocaine makes me..' and 'violent pornography' are alt metal riffing classics, (although admittadly the end of vp does turn a tad stale. 'Radio/video' is a mass of electicness in one superb song. 'lost in hollywood' however is argualbly the greatest track, gentler, sinister and slightly disturbing the mix of voices works to a t. All this with a serious political message. Rarely if ever have albums been this thrillingly original. Expand
  67. AustinP.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    brilliant!
  68. JimmyB
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    Albeit ever so slightly short, nothing in this album could be described as filler. A diverse, inventive and suprising album, Meserize is, like many S.O.A.D. album, one whose wide ranging musical techniques prove just how varied metal can be. A must-buy.
  69. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    3
    I love system of a down;
  70. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Beyond a shadow of a doubt, this is System of a Down's best work.
  71. MarkoS
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Kicks ass. Best metal band of this generation, hands down.
  72. LukeM
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    absolutely awesome!!! my 1st SOAD album-the one that hooked me in... I now own all of them and think this is one of the best along side their 1st
  73. AL.AL.ck
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    This album is up there with toxicity eventhough it sounded more pop than the other SOAD album.One of the best album of the year.Period.
  74. CristianT
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Cant believe how great this album is. And now the new track Hypnotize is even better.
  75. GabC
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Awesome!!
  76. daniels
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    this is the second best album after toxicity cant wait for Hypnotize
  77. nickc
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    this rules
  78. GaryG
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    This is definately their best album (apologies to "Toxicity" fans) and it will kick your butt. Those on the fence, give it a chance, you'll be glad you did.
  79. BillyR
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Absolutely great!!!! The 34 minutes are demential.
  80. serjisthebest
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    definatly there most accomplished work 2 date
  81. JoshM
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Awesome album by an awesome band, if you haven't bought it yet, you're missing outt, go out and buy it, best album I have ever heard, still waiting on Hypnotize, I can't wait until November 22.
  82. DarrenL
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    This album is absolutely brillant! Great work, can't wait for Hypnotize.
  83. kirstyh
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    best yet
  84. OodM
    Sep 20, 2005
    2
    Very ordinary. Cigaro was leaked prior release, BYOB was pre-release single, track one is an intro, radio/video and old school hollywood are utter shite! Which leaves six songs, weak if you ask me.
  85. dukstar
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    Simply astonihing !!!!
  86. Tom
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    This album rock man, its my favorite.
  87. SomeGuy
    Sep 5, 2005
    7
    a good enough album, but quite a big dissapointment compared to Toxicity and Steal this Album, its just not written a well
  88. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Such a wonderful experience. From the incredibly pop (B.Y.O.B. and Old School Hollywood Baseball) to the more conventional S.O.A.D. songs - if you could ever describe S.O.A.D. conventional. But if you rank David Gray or Texas as your favourite artists, then it's probably best to avoid this.
  89. juliac
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    hi,people i am not a native english language speaker,so i apologies for any misunderstanding(in sense or spelling). to talk about SOAD from an east european country almost globalized is not so easy! but i'm listening music about thirthy years,and this group makes me hear again something important in the music history.this people have something important to say,and they do it in an hi,people i am not a native english language speaker,so i apologies for any misunderstanding(in sense or spelling). to talk about SOAD from an east european country almost globalized is not so easy! but i'm listening music about thirthy years,and this group makes me hear again something important in the music history.this people have something important to say,and they do it in an amazing way. in their times,other groups did the same,doors in USA,sex pistols and joy division in UK,and many others in many moments wich were relevant in the last century.but i didnt expect to hear now ,between the violent pornography of this century,a group having such a strong message,and the power to express it in a good musical way. carrying the history of their past,on any level you want ,system of a down seems to me to be the most important group of our times,and i am happy this is happenning in my lifetime. Expand
  90. juliac
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    hi,people i am not a native english language speaker,so i apologies for any misunderstanding(in sense or spelling). to talk about SOAD from an east european country almost globalized is not so easy! but i'm listening music about thirthy years,and this group makes me hear again something important in the music history.this people have something important to say,and they do it in an hi,people i am not a native english language speaker,so i apologies for any misunderstanding(in sense or spelling). to talk about SOAD from an east european country almost globalized is not so easy! but i'm listening music about thirthy years,and this group makes me hear again something important in the music history.this people have something important to say,and they do it in an amazing way. in their times,other groups did the same,doors in USA,sex pistols and joy division in UK,and many others in many moments wich were relevant in the last century.but i didnt expect to hear now ,between the violent pornography of this century,a group having such a strong message,and the power to express it in a good musical way. carrying the history of their past,on any level you want ,system of a down seems to me to be the most important group of our times,and i am happy this is happenning in my lifetime. Expand
  91. ianac
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing...i can listen it everyday
  92. BarbF
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    SOAD is simply the best rock band out there right now. Their energy is unsurpassed & their songs make a powerful political statement. Bush should download BYOB on his IPOD.
  93. steveu
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    this cd owns you posers
  94. Addison05
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT can`t say much more then I LOVE IT "Mezmeries" is the best album they have done I think so far if not the best it is up there
  95. TristanV
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    system of a down is the best band right now and this album is incredible. all of the tracks are great and are very well done
  96. JamieM
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Chris C must be deaf! This DOES NOT deserve a 1! a. MCR sound nothing like SOAD b. You can't sing, can you? c. SOAD aren't a horrible band. d. "Pathetic goth losers" don't listen to them (probably, I wouldn't know). e. If they did, that wouldn't make the music bad, it would mean people listen to it. 10/10; that is all.
  97. Johnr
    Aug 20, 2005
    8
    This a good rock album, but technically its not a good System of a Down album. Over the years, SOAD has vastly improved in their musical ability, but all the while their ability to write innovative songs has lost its oomph. They seem to be suffering to a similar fate that KoRn is going through. Don't get me wrong, this is a great album and has many great memorable songs, but to SOAD This a good rock album, but technically its not a good System of a Down album. Over the years, SOAD has vastly improved in their musical ability, but all the while their ability to write innovative songs has lost its oomph. They seem to be suffering to a similar fate that KoRn is going through. Don't get me wrong, this is a great album and has many great memorable songs, but to SOAD fans it may seem a little closer to the punk end of rock. I just wish they could combine the harmonies of this album and the moving lyrics of Toxicity for their their next album. Expand
  98. ChrisR
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    SOAD is the best band out there, without question, they just keep getting better and better after every album. My favorite band..
  99. mikemike
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    Awsome band, awsome record!!!!
  100. Andrew
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    "Mezmerize" is so thrillingly insane, so captivating, so bizzare, that I can't help but gush with glee each time I hear it. The album clearly deserves all the critical praise it's garnered. Many metal heads have been trashing the record, saying it's too "poppy". Well, sorry guys, but I didn't realize that actual riffs, vocals other than grunts and some conceptual "Mezmerize" is so thrillingly insane, so captivating, so bizzare, that I can't help but gush with glee each time I hear it. The album clearly deserves all the critical praise it's garnered. Many metal heads have been trashing the record, saying it's too "poppy". Well, sorry guys, but I didn't realize that actual riffs, vocals other than grunts and some conceptual brilliance meant "pop". Mezmerize is a sort of combination of glam, rock opera and hard metal, and SOAD are never afraid of incorporating influences from other genres. Brilliance, brilliance, brilliance! Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]