• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 17, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 447

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Deanna
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Hollywood. And there is everything inbetween. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Same as Hypnotize, BYOB,violent you know what,and This you know what makes me feel like I'm on this song are main reasons why I like this album.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 1, 2005
    1
    So brutally stupid it's almost beyond belief. The love for this band is bewildering.
  4. hollowaxis
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    the only good thing thatcan be said about this record is that it has some moments that sound musical.but i cannot fathom why this average band gets so much praise.maybe it is because i am not an angry 13 year old who hasnt discovered real music. i am an angry 21 year old, and i like my kicks more intelligent and varied than this mindless crap.
  5. declanm
    Jul 1, 2005
    3
    This album doesnt come within a mile of toxicity is so disappointing and as for letting the guitarist sing what where they thinking he cant sing period also this album is wayyyy to commerical to be accepted by real rock fans sell your souls like all the other commerically acceptable bands
  6. MarkM.
    Jul 20, 2005
    2
    System of a Down are an awful band and this latest album is no better, they have no sense of beat and have no idea about anything to do with music other than repetitive chords, pointless lyrics and a bass player that shows is totally unoriginal the only good member is the drummer he is the only one with any talent. I dont know how the offspring and red hot chili peppers can be rated lower System of a Down are an awful band and this latest album is no better, they have no sense of beat and have no idea about anything to do with music other than repetitive chords, pointless lyrics and a bass player that shows is totally unoriginal the only good member is the drummer he is the only one with any talent. I dont know how the offspring and red hot chili peppers can be rated lower than this tripe. Expand
  7. Rusty
    Aug 7, 2006
    2
    I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst songs ever...... Expand
  8. ViviO.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    OMG, the words are easy so it's easy to scream along to and YOU WILL want to scream a long to this!
  9. AATCHB
    May 23, 2005
    0
    This is the last time I'm on this site. Can't believe my eyes, how can this kiddy-band get 90% ?!?
  10. edzilla
    May 24, 2005
    2
    This album sounds completely different from their past efforts and that's not a good thing. It seems production and band chemistry has changed for the worse. Serj has to pretty much split vocal time with Deron 50-50 and the songs seem to be silly without substance, and overproduced. Sadder still, SOAD plans on releasing another CD this fall -"Hypnotize" - when they should have This album sounds completely different from their past efforts and that's not a good thing. It seems production and band chemistry has changed for the worse. Serj has to pretty much split vocal time with Deron 50-50 and the songs seem to be silly without substance, and overproduced. Sadder still, SOAD plans on releasing another CD this fall -"Hypnotize" - when they should have filtered the best tracks for this album then released b-sides sometime in the future. Expand
  11. Jared
    May 27, 2005
    0
    This is seriously the worst band of all time.
  12. JohnP
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    This sounds like a cross between the Faces of Death Orchestra as conducted by Kip Winger and Don Rickels. When my dog was castrated he made sounds similar to noise I heard on this record. Repeated spins prove that, in fact, castrated dogs were part of the recording process. How cool! How utterly groundbreaking! The best album of all time!
  13. Katie
    Jun 6, 2005
    5
    !!S.O.A.D.!! What Happened!?! Toxicity was SOO much better musically and lyrically. I think Daron needs to back off on vocals a lot. This 50-50 thing they've got goin isn't working out. I hope they find themselves again before they put out another album like this. I Love S.O.A.D. but this album is just heartbreaking to listen to.. I'll give them a 5 because I love them, but !!S.O.A.D.!! What Happened!?! Toxicity was SOO much better musically and lyrically. I think Daron needs to back off on vocals a lot. This 50-50 thing they've got goin isn't working out. I hope they find themselves again before they put out another album like this. I Love S.O.A.D. but this album is just heartbreaking to listen to.. I'll give them a 5 because I love them, but if they were any other band I'd give this album a 1 or 2. Expand
  14. KatherineW
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    System of a down and the people who like them make my head hurt. I like hardcore music... but this is not even music. I really have never understood how people could actually like these guys?!?!?!?! BYOB or whatever that song is called is dreadful. I cant listen to the whole thing and i cant imagine the rest of the cd being good what so ever... i have only heard a few songs but they were System of a down and the people who like them make my head hurt. I like hardcore music... but this is not even music. I really have never understood how people could actually like these guys?!?!?!?! BYOB or whatever that song is called is dreadful. I cant listen to the whole thing and i cant imagine the rest of the cd being good what so ever... i have only heard a few songs but they were horrible. and what ever you other people say... toxicity was also NOT a good song... i think that this is a joke band whose joke got misunderstood and people took them as serious. Expand
  15. SeamusS
    Feb 16, 2006
    3
    It's a tried peice of pretentious crap that smells long after you've experienced it.
  16. Peterf
    Aug 4, 2006
    5
    whats happened to these guys?! i mean y have they change so awkwardly. Old school hollywood would ha to be the wrost song ive ever heard. Old school hollywood baseball? what a load of crap! Darron has now stuffed the band completely, can't believe this got a higher mark than toxicity and their first album. This is their worse album and it hursts to say that being a big S.O.A.D fan.
  17. chrisb
    May 25, 2005
    1
    Man this album is awful. This is just as bad as the new Finch album.
  18. Raymond
    May 29, 2005
    1
    BYOB is possibly the worst song of all time - rivalled only by the rest of the tracks on this album. Random political ranting does NOT make an album good - combine this with dull, uninspired music and suddenly people are calling it a masterpiece? Great music always makes you *feel* something. This only leaves you wondering "was that it?".
  19. CoReY
    Jun 1, 2005
    5
    I just don't understand..i liked toxicity..but i can't even listen this one from beggining to end...
  20. GaborA
    Jun 13, 2005
    3
    Like most mainstream rock bands SOAD is listenable song for song. However, songs are so repetative that the albums are indigestable. Even by the end of a single song after hearing that dumb chorusfor the tenth time its too much.
  21. JonK
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    Who cares if it's good or bad? These idiots strongly support the release of Charles Manson, a major whacko responsible for a whole bunch of whackos who cut the baby out of a nine-month pregnant woman and then stabbed her to death about 30 times. Sure, give them your money.
  22. OodM
    Sep 20, 2005
    2
    Very ordinary. Cigaro was leaked prior release, BYOB was pre-release single, track one is an intro, radio/video and old school hollywood are utter shite! Which leaves six songs, weak if you ask me.
  23. I.Lynch
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    Its not a bad album, but i think they try to force their opinions on people a bit too much. Toxcicity is much better.
  24. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    3
    I love system of a down;
  25. ChrisJ
    Jun 12, 2006
    5
    This is System of a Down's worst album to date, by far. The songs are not creative, and little musical talent is shown. Lyrics to many of the songs are pointless and contrived.
  26. Oct 12, 2016
    10
    System Of A Down at their most focused, energetic, and craziest. Everything you love (or hate) about the band is amplified in every way. The result is an incredible album that doesn't let up for a second.

    The lyrical themes, the constant barrage of punk flavored metal, and nonstop insanity of their sound and messages elevate the band into territory few others will ever reach. System Of
    System Of A Down at their most focused, energetic, and craziest. Everything you love (or hate) about the band is amplified in every way. The result is an incredible album that doesn't let up for a second.

    The lyrical themes, the constant barrage of punk flavored metal, and nonstop insanity of their sound and messages elevate the band into territory few others will ever reach. System Of A Down knows what makes them System Of A Down. The refinement and focus they've put into their sound needs to be heard to be believed.

    They bring a personality to their music that's so very unique. The tracks come at you with such potency and ferocity that it's hard not to get hooked. The sarcastic sense of humor and smart social commentary the band is known for still meld together perfectly. When it comes to Mezmerize, there simply isn't anything else like it out there. That's because most band's just don't have the talent to pull something like this off.
    Expand
  27. LeoLeo
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    This is a fantastic album.Its songs are very fabulous. BYOB is the best song of the disc!!!
  28. Gregg
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing, all i can say is 'it's a violent pornography, choking chicks and sodomy!!!
  29. CarolynQ
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Love it! Too short, but looking forward to the 2nd CD in the fall.
  30. StephenL.
    Jul 9, 2007
    1
    System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the corporate media tell you to like something else, this is it. Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]