• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 17, 2013
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    MGMT haven't necessarily re-discovered their mojo, but re-imagined it, and in doing so, may well have given us one of the best albums of the year.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Beyond weird? Yes, but in the best, most deliciously mind-bending of ways. [Oct 2013, p.88]
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    You might need a strong cuppa to settle your nerves afterwards.
  4. MGMT is truly the sound of two artists in the studio with the goal to entertain no one but themselves.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    While the album feels daring all the way through, early tracks like "Alien Days" feel relatively straightforward, mining the ornate pop sound of their previous effort.
  6. 80
    MGMT might be an uncomfortable journey at times, but it’s also a transcendental one you’ve never been on before.
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    80
    Though it features no straightforward pop songs, MGMT finds VanWyngarden and Goldwasser having a great deal of fun creating exactly the kind of eclectic, weird music they want to.
  8. Sep 23, 2013
    75
    They've managed to step forward into focused recalibration without losing their weekend-warrior identity.
  9. Sep 17, 2013
    74
    This is an album hard to grasp at first, let alone on second or third listens.
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    The cosmic expanses of "I Love You Too, Death" and "Astro-Mancy" are particularly engrossing, but this record boasts more than enough quality head trips to keep you in it pull 'til the next go-round. [No. 103, p.57]
  11. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    They're doubling down on that sound [mad-hatter psychedelic sprawl of 2010's winkingly titled Congratulations] for Album Three, pushing their love of acid-tinged bubblegum right out the back door of the booby hatch, in a good way.
  12. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    Something’s always looming and buzzing--or burbling, or clattering, or tapping, or ratcheting, or blipping, or quavering--near the foreground throughout MGMT’s third album, MGMT. It makes the album both testing and, eventually, rewarding.
  13. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    MGMT seem to have settled into their groove here, or more correctly their two concurrent grooves. On one hand, they seem able to produce easily digestible fuzzy pop songs slightly reminiscent of soft rock with what appears to be consummate ease; on the other, they can enter into all manner of sonic digressions with a noteworthy lightness of touch.
  14. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The pair unleash a succession of hallucinatory soundscapes that feel hermetically sealed yet confrontational, as if daring us to fire up a fat blunt and allow this sleek beast to burrow into our frontal lobes. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  15. Sep 16, 2013
    62
    In other words, it’s not MGMT vs. Oracular Spectacular; if anything’s holding MGMT back, it’s themselves.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I don't get it. I really don't. This is the most contrived yet self-indulgent record I've heard this year, both in the worst ways. The albumI don't get it. I really don't. This is the most contrived yet self-indulgent record I've heard this year, both in the worst ways. The album has a few redeemable qualities in the form of a listenable song or two, but not much other than that. I didn't expect MGMT to sound the same as their previous two albums, but I expected better than this.

    I'm going to give it a bit more time and if I change my mind, I'll come back. But I don't expect that to happen.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    Here's the thing I think we are going to have to expect: MGMT will never sound like they did on their first album. Whilst this new record isHere's the thing I think we are going to have to expect: MGMT will never sound like they did on their first album. Whilst this new record is not as much of an overworked, contrived mess as 'Congratulations', it really fails to stand out ahead of the popular neo-psyche movement that is happening all over the place now. There are a few catchy moments (who would have thought the two chord wonder "Your Life Is A Lie" would stand out as a catchy track. They make soundscapes indistinguishable from Of Montreal. But still light years better than what Daft Punk attempted on RAM. Not awful. Not exceptional. It may be one of those albums that grows on you. It may just grow incredibly slowly. Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Despite the fact that, again, it sounds nothing like their last album, this album is pretty damn good. However, this album may not appeal toDespite the fact that, again, it sounds nothing like their last album, this album is pretty damn good. However, this album may not appeal to you on your first listen. It's a very dark and difficult album. It's also trippy as When you compare Congratulations (a masterpiece, if you haven't got over the fact that it doesn't have another "Time To Pretend" or "Kids" on it) to MGMT, it seems like a commercial sellout. If you give it a chance without expecting it to be a mindless pop album, you might see the album as the genius acid trip that it is.
    My Favorites Songs: Alien Days, Cool Song No. 2, Introspection
    Full Review »