MGMT - MGMT
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 83
  2. Negative: 19 out of 83

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I don't get it. I really don't. This is the most contrived yet self-indulgent record I've heard this year, both in the worst ways. The album has a few redeemable qualities in the form of a listenable song or two, but not much other than that. I didn't expect MGMT to sound the same as their previous two albums, but I expected better than this.

    I'm going to give it a bit more time and if
    I change my mind, I'll come back. But I don't expect that to happen. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I've been looking forward to this release after the brilliance that was Oracular Spectacular and Congratulations. The Alien Days single release had me absolutely pumped.

    I'm sad to say that this is not an album I was hoping to listen to. For starters, it's barely an album at all. Sonically, it's a mess. Random noises do not a psychedelic album make. The lyrics are indiscernible. The
    music is only rarely interesting, and the second half the album turns absolutely terrible, with nothing more than screeching lo-fi synths and occasional mutterings from VanWyngarden to even remind me I'm listening to an album and not a poor film score.

    I wish I could enjoy this I really do. But I can't. It's so self-indulgent, but lacks anything to actually make it a good work. This album when at its best, is a mess. When it drops below that, it's barely listenable. I honestly miss the MGMT that knew how to create experimental, interesting, and yet accessible music, because this isn't them.
    Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    This is simply terrible. There are plenty of great bands who combine adventurousness and risk-taking with solid songs. This sounds like throwing ideas against a wall and having no sense of songwriting, flow, melody, or musicianship. What did these songs sound like before they got produced?

    Absolutely a case of emperor's new clothes for anyone who thinks this is better than a 2.
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    1
    To say that this album is the worst thing the band has ever done would be kind. It tries oh so desperately to pass itself off as something fresh, interesting, arty and unusual, but succeeds only in convincing us that the band have already peaked. Overrated nonsense.
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    3
    What a disappointment. I was a big fan of Oracular (almost all the songs and not just the hits) and was one of the few who thought Congratulations was a big step forward. This is just one slog of an album trying to capture Animal Collective style drone and ambient music. "Alien Days" is great and I also enjoy "Introspection", but that's pretty much it. I wanted to love this album, but 3 listens in, and it's still so damn bland. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    2
    I don't know what 'self indulgent' means when it comes to making albums but I do know what 'experimental' means and it seems like MGMT were either 'experimenting' to find out if you can make songs without rhythm and lyrics and melodies, or trying to figure out if they could make total crap and still sell records to their fans. Well I bought it so the answer to the second experiment is yes but the answer to the first is no. If you don't want to make music anymore just break your contract and get sued like a man. Why insult all the hard working bands out there that are desperate for success and would love to have someone listen to their music by 'experimenting' with releasing an album of boring noise and saying that if people don't 'get it' then it's just not for everyone. No music is for everyone but that's no excuse for not even trying to make something listenable. I think success came too early and too easy for these two and they have no appreciation for it and just want to destroy it so they can start over and earn it. When they're long forgotten middle-aged flash-in-the-pan doofuses they'll regret not taking advantage of having the world on a string. They just let it all slip away. -an angry and disappointed fan. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    0
    This is some I liked MGMT for their more melodic songs such as kids and electric feel. the weird on the first and second albums were slapped together noise. If they are trying to be groundbreaking and fresh or whatever then they are not doing it well. hopefully they will honor the fans that loved the songs mentioned and create something more accessible. the great thing about ocular spectacular was the diversity. there was some acoustic folky stuff, incredible electronic, some nice groove and then the weird noise stuff. if this is where they're going then i guess i'm only gonna be a fan of their first album and the track congratulations. i only gave this a 1 because there is no zero. this album is void of anything remotely good or listenable. it sucks. Expand
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    Don't listen to the hipsters passing this off as some sort of art-masterpiece.
    It's not.
    If it's anything it's a middle finger to their record company.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    These ever-changing moods don't make MGMT an easy listen. [Oct 2013, p.105]
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    50
    MGMT's still reacting to the mainstream triumph of 2008's Oracular Spectacular, trying too hard to sound genuinely weird, as if determined to fail at any cost.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    The cosmic expanses of "I Love You Too, Death" and "Astro-Mancy" are particularly engrossing, but this record boasts more than enough quality head trips to keep you in it pull 'til the next go-round. [No. 103, p.57]