MGMT - MGMT
MGMT Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the psychedelic rock band was produced with Dave Fridmann
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    MGMT haven't necessarily re-discovered their mojo, but re-imagined it, and in doing so, may well have given us one of the best albums of the year.
  2. 80
    MGMT might be an uncomfortable journey at times, but it’s also a transcendental one you’ve never been on before.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    74
    This is an album hard to grasp at first, let alone on second or third listens.
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    60
    Occasionally the band’s vision pays off here.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    55
    If the rest of the album were as strong as those three songs ["A Good Sadness," "Astro-Mancy," and "I Love You Too, Death], this would be a masterpiece and a powerful growth for the band. As it stands, they can at best serve as a taste of what's to come.
  6. 50
    An impenetrable, overwrought, hit-and-miss product marred by ego.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    25
    This is a bag of potato chips that’s 80 percent air, unconvincingly trying to pass itself off as a full meal.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's an amazing work by MGMT... I wish i had something more to say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    MGMT’s self-titled third album delivers a brand-new sound that celebrates liberated consciousness as they ditch any remnants of stylistic pigeon holes or creative boundaries. The music awakens feelings of uncertainty but also of determination that many of us are feeling these days in this world. I recently read that in their years at Wesleyan University, Ben Goldwasser and Andrew Van Wyngarden soon focused on experimental music. It was not something that just happened to them overnight, waking up one morning and deciding to do it. They even played a few experimental operas of Anthony Braxton. Experimental music has been an important influence for Ben Goldwasser and Andrew Van Wyngarden totally ignored by the press in the U.S. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Fantastic follow up to Congratulations. Definitely not the album I was expecting after hearing Alien Days. I feel like these guys are just getting started. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    First half of the album is great. Alien Days is superb but the second half is a bit boring (except Plenty Of Girls... which is really catchy).
    Mindless, pandering reviewers will rate this 1 or 2 points without a second listen. This album can grow on you if you have an open mind.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I suspect this is a grower. That said, am I going to give it enough time to grow? Probably not. I won't force myself to "like" this, and at best will probably tolerate most of it when it comes on through a "random" on my iPod. I loved Oracular. Was impressed with Congratulations. And now I'm underwhelmed with MGMT. And by that I mean I don't even find this "weird" or "experimental." I just find it boring and murky, and a chore to listen to after a few "decent" songs which could have been B-sides at any point in their career. Generally, I don't get the "weird" thing or the "we want to make music we like" thing. Truth be told, the first album was "weird," and if you asked an oblivious listener to arrange the albums in the order they thought was chronological, this self-titled would be the most amateur and lowfi. My point is this duo is not progressing. They are regressing. Simply, a boring album. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    5
    In our opinion the best song on their new album is Your Life Is A Lie. It’s a psychedelic teasing to all their fans. Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser did their best to sound different, more abstract, more psychedelic. http://backstagetour.co/mgmt-mgmt-review/130/ Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    0
    This is some I liked MGMT for their more melodic songs such as kids and electric feel. the weird on the first and second albums were slapped together noise. If they are trying to be groundbreaking and fresh or whatever then they are not doing it well. hopefully they will honor the fans that loved the songs mentioned and create something more accessible. the great thing about ocular spectacular was the diversity. there was some acoustic folky stuff, incredible electronic, some nice groove and then the weird noise stuff. if this is where they're going then i guess i'm only gonna be a fan of their first album and the track congratulations. i only gave this a 1 because there is no zero. this album is void of anything remotely good or listenable. it sucks. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews