• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
MGMT Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the psychedelic rock band was produced with Dave Fridmann
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    MGMT haven't necessarily re-discovered their mojo, but re-imagined it, and in doing so, may well have given us one of the best albums of the year.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    While the album feels daring all the way through, early tracks like "Alien Days" feel relatively straightforward, mining the ornate pop sound of their previous effort.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    74
    This is an album hard to grasp at first, let alone on second or third listens.
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    60
    Occasionally the band’s vision pays off here.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    55
    If the rest of the album were as strong as those three songs ["A Good Sadness," "Astro-Mancy," and "I Love You Too, Death], this would be a masterpiece and a powerful growth for the band. As it stands, they can at best serve as a taste of what's to come.
  6. 50
    An impenetrable, overwrought, hit-and-miss product marred by ego.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    25
    This is a bag of potato chips that’s 80 percent air, unconvincingly trying to pass itself off as a full meal.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's an amazing work by MGMT... I wish i had something more toIt's an amazing work by MGMT... I wish i had something more to say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    A very good album that's tragically underrated. "I Love You Too, Death" is probably my favorite track, it's gorgeous. If you don't like thisA very good album that's tragically underrated. "I Love You Too, Death" is probably my favorite track, it's gorgeous. If you don't like this album, give it a few more listens. It'll grow on you. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Grower of an album. I am sooooo happy they went with their art and not the desire of the masses that seem to want the same songs over andGrower of an album. I am sooooo happy they went with their art and not the desire of the masses that seem to want the same songs over and over. Don't these pollyanna fans ever get bored with the same sound? I commend MGMT for moving into a deeper and darker sound. They are one of the most adventurous rock/pop groups around and I love them for it!! Very few bands today have their vision. This album is for the music lovers that like challenging sounds and want to be taken on a journey. In the age of Itunes they are still trying to make a cohesive artistic statement. Bravo!!!! Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    First half of the album is great. Alien Days is superb but the second half is a bit boring (except Plenty Of Girls... which is really catchy).First half of the album is great. Alien Days is superb but the second half is a bit boring (except Plenty Of Girls... which is really catchy).
    Mindless, pandering reviewers will rate this 1 or 2 points without a second listen. This album can grow on you if you have an open mind.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I suspect this is a grower. That said, am I going to give it enough time to grow? Probably not. I won't force myself to "like" this, and atI suspect this is a grower. That said, am I going to give it enough time to grow? Probably not. I won't force myself to "like" this, and at best will probably tolerate most of it when it comes on through a "random" on my iPod. I loved Oracular. Was impressed with Congratulations. And now I'm underwhelmed with MGMT. And by that I mean I don't even find this "weird" or "experimental." I just find it boring and murky, and a chore to listen to after a few "decent" songs which could have been B-sides at any point in their career. Generally, I don't get the "weird" thing or the "we want to make music we like" thing. Truth be told, the first album was "weird," and if you asked an oblivious listener to arrange the albums in the order they thought was chronological, this self-titled would be the most amateur and lowfi. My point is this duo is not progressing. They are regressing. Simply, a boring album. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    5
    Love MGMT, but not really feeling this one at all. Far too often, I'd doze over during a song or when I would listen, the singing was moreLove MGMT, but not really feeling this one at all. Far too often, I'd doze over during a song or when I would listen, the singing was more like mumbling. This one is easily one of the bigger disappointments of the year and never seemed to really grab me and leave me wanting more. In addition, it seems to be all over the place. There's no direction and you can tell they just kind of just rushed through this. For a 40 minute long album, this one feels like double that time. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    0
    This is some I liked MGMT for their more melodic songs such as kids and electric feel. the weird on the first and second albums were slappedThis is some I liked MGMT for their more melodic songs such as kids and electric feel. the weird on the first and second albums were slapped together noise. If they are trying to be groundbreaking and fresh or whatever then they are not doing it well. hopefully they will honor the fans that loved the songs mentioned and create something more accessible. the great thing about ocular spectacular was the diversity. there was some acoustic folky stuff, incredible electronic, some nice groove and then the weird noise stuff. if this is where they're going then i guess i'm only gonna be a fan of their first album and the track congratulations. i only gave this a 1 because there is no zero. this album is void of anything remotely good or listenable. it sucks. Collapse

See all 36 User Reviews