• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Dec 14, 2010
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    You know those albums that take your heart away from the first time you hear them? "Michael" is one of them. From the first to the last song in the album you can feel the the amazing voice of Michael Jackson along with simple sweat beats that will take you to a different dimension. When I first heard that this album will be released after Michael's death I didn't have high expectations forYou know those albums that take your heart away from the first time you hear them? "Michael" is one of them. From the first to the last song in the album you can feel the the amazing voice of Michael Jackson along with simple sweat beats that will take you to a different dimension. When I first heard that this album will be released after Michael's death I didn't have high expectations for it, but it turned out to be one hell of an album and a perfect closure to Michael's career. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    4
    Big fan, I think all all his albums are great, but this just sounds like straight up b-sides. It's definitely okay and enjoyable straight through, but despite some higher points the album fly's pretty low the entire time. I think there is a reason this material was never released while Michael was alive and that reason is that it's a far cry from his "a" game. If you're a fan like meBig fan, I think all all his albums are great, but this just sounds like straight up b-sides. It's definitely okay and enjoyable straight through, but despite some higher points the album fly's pretty low the entire time. I think there is a reason this material was never released while Michael was alive and that reason is that it's a far cry from his "a" game. If you're a fan like me you'll likely enjoy it, but it's not gaining any new fans, and it's definitely not adding any value to his previous releases. It's really just okay. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2010
    3
    This is what happens when people want to milk as much money out of the household name Michael Jackson. The songs sound half-baked and they were probably knocked up in a few minutes. The only standout track on the album is Much Too Soon. I wouldn't listen to the rest, it's forgettable throwaway pop.
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    MJ's b-sides and throw away tracks are better than most current artists' A material. That said, "Behind The Mask" and "Breaking News" "Hollywood Tonight" and "I Can't Make It Another Day" are excellent and worty of inclusion on any of Jackson's previous albums.
  5. Dec 24, 2010
    8
    I have always been a huge fan of MJ and when the Estate said they were releasing new music from MJ I was really worried that tracks he may or may not have finished or released in the first place may somehow diminish the public's view of what a great performer he was. I purchased this CD and tried my best to listen to it as I would any other CD. With Thriller being the best CD ever I wouldI have always been a huge fan of MJ and when the Estate said they were releasing new music from MJ I was really worried that tracks he may or may not have finished or released in the first place may somehow diminish the public's view of what a great performer he was. I purchased this CD and tried my best to listen to it as I would any other CD. With Thriller being the best CD ever I would rate it at a 10, Bad 9, Dangerous 8, History 8, Invincible 8 (I realize that it was not as well received as the others but I love this CD and believe many are missing out if they did not give this one a fair shake). Invincible had some tracks with the Bad and Dangerous style but also had a couple of R&B style tracks that was a style he showed more on Off the Wall (8). I think people need to first remember that the estate put this CD out and so I view this CD as Volume 1 of the MJ unfinished library. I did not expect the CD to flow like one put out by any artist because who knows if MJ would have used any of these songs let alone put them on the same CD. So listening to this CD as a taste of some of the tracks and sounds MJ was working on for the past 30 years I will say I have not stopped listening to this CD. It really brought a smile to my face when I heard the second track, Hollywood Tonight, because it starts off with MJâ Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    7
    I am very open to the newer material of Michael Jackson - my favourite albums of his are his last three (in order) Dangerous, HIStory II and Invincible - but 'Michael' is not to a standard that Michael Jackson would accept. It's OK and enjoyable to an extent, but almost all the slower songs apart from the lovely album ending 'Much Too Soon' feel like filler, whereas in Invincible theI am very open to the newer material of Michael Jackson - my favourite albums of his are his last three (in order) Dangerous, HIStory II and Invincible - but 'Michael' is not to a standard that Michael Jackson would accept. It's OK and enjoyable to an extent, but almost all the slower songs apart from the lovely album ending 'Much Too Soon' feel like filler, whereas in Invincible the ballads were a special showcase. Considering I love Jacko's venture into Jack Swing, my favourite tracks are the striking 'Breaking News', the wild 'Monster' and especially Jackson's version of 'Behind The Mask', which sounds like the oldest song of the bunch. Definitely buy if you are a fan of Michael Jackson and, like me, just want to hear anything the greatest artist of all time has left us with. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2010
    4
    I really enjoy listening to Michael Jackson, but this album was a slight let-down. Michael seems nothing more than a bunch of half-finished material haphazardly put together just for the sake of commercial appeal. The album probably would have been better if it was billed as a b-sides collection rather than an actual studio album. Longtime Michael Jackson fans will question this album,I really enjoy listening to Michael Jackson, but this album was a slight let-down. Michael seems nothing more than a bunch of half-finished material haphazardly put together just for the sake of commercial appeal. The album probably would have been better if it was billed as a b-sides collection rather than an actual studio album. Longtime Michael Jackson fans will question this album, while at the same time, it won't gain any new ones. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    I'm a big fan of Michael Jackson and I was very excited about his posthumous album "MICHAEL". But disappointed after it's release as it dint reach it's expectations. MJ's vocals are the only thing I like in this album. The music composed for this album is a big drawback for it. It reminds me of MJ's previous albums. Also some lines are frequently repeated in some tracks making them boring.I'm a big fan of Michael Jackson and I was very excited about his posthumous album "MICHAEL". But disappointed after it's release as it dint reach it's expectations. MJ's vocals are the only thing I like in this album. The music composed for this album is a big drawback for it. It reminds me of MJ's previous albums. Also some lines are frequently repeated in some tracks making them boring. The album isn't a total disaster though as it gives a different experience compared to the rest. Expand
  9. Feb 14, 2011
    2
    This posthumous album does not withstand any of Michael Jackson's previous materials. The album can be associated to as a compilation of songs from his previous album that did not make the cut.
  10. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    This maybe a generous review if you compare it to the likes of Thriller and Bad, but what you have here is 10 songs which could've been. Maybe not to the perfection of how Michael himself would've wanted it but its certainly a very enjoyable album for any MJ fan! Behind the Mask, Gone Too Soon, Hollywood Tonight and Best of Joy for me are the highlights stringed together with enjoyableThis maybe a generous review if you compare it to the likes of Thriller and Bad, but what you have here is 10 songs which could've been. Maybe not to the perfection of how Michael himself would've wanted it but its certainly a very enjoyable album for any MJ fan! Behind the Mask, Gone Too Soon, Hollywood Tonight and Best of Joy for me are the highlights stringed together with enjoyable songs. Still a must for any MJ fan! Expand
  11. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    Nothing here is really memorable (well, duh--it's not like it's any of Michael Jackson's older stuff), but it's all fun, spunky, and it REMINDS us of his older music.
  12. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    An 8/10 score for Michael Jackson, the King of Pop, is an 8/15 to any other singer and artists. Here is an album full of Jackson's passion for music. It shows his best vocals and his greatness in bringing wonderful music. I would have rated it 10 if it did not include Neyo and Akon in the recording. It would have been better if all the tracks were only sung by Jackson himself. All in all,An 8/10 score for Michael Jackson, the King of Pop, is an 8/15 to any other singer and artists. Here is an album full of Jackson's passion for music. It shows his best vocals and his greatness in bringing wonderful music. I would have rated it 10 if it did not include Neyo and Akon in the recording. It would have been better if all the tracks were only sung by Jackson himself. All in all, Michael is a fit posthumous album to Jackson. It would leave us craving for more. P.S. Sony will distribute 10 posthumous albums in the near future which will include Jackson's unreleased songs. Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2013
    6
    terrible!
    worst album by Michael and by any major pop star
    hard to believe that a star who made thriller could make this dreadful album
    a shame really
  14. Jun 6, 2014
    7
    This album is not sound of pop-king,but it is new modern tracks.And i can't absolutely say that vocal belongs MJ.Basically, album is not bad.Hit tracks-Behind the mask,Holywood Tonight,Hold my hand.
  15. Jun 23, 2014
    5
    Michael wouldn't have approved this album's release even if he was involved in making it. He wouldn't have been satisfied with this quality. A lot of the songs are over processed in a lame attempt to make them modern. 50 Cent being on the album is jarring and Monster is a terrible song in general. There are a couple of decent songs which is why I can't give this a negative review but itMichael wouldn't have approved this album's release even if he was involved in making it. He wouldn't have been satisfied with this quality. A lot of the songs are over processed in a lame attempt to make them modern. 50 Cent being on the album is jarring and Monster is a terrible song in general. There are a couple of decent songs which is why I can't give this a negative review but it still isn't something Michael would have put out.
    Notable Songs: Hollywood Tonight, (I Can't Make It) Another Day and Behind the Mask
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    20
    The problem here isn't sullying Jackson's memory and reputation: he was perfectly capable of doing that himself. The problem is that Michael simply isn't good enough. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    40
    Jackson's progressiveness and laser-aimed focus on perfection was always the foundation of everything he ever did and resonated through every song he ever made....Given the patch-work necessary to piece Michael together posthumously, it's impossible to imagine that this is a collection of songs Michael intended to deliver.
  3. Who knows whether the notoriously megalomaniacal Jackson would approve of this album-people on both sides of that argument have valid points-but as a start-to-finish collection of songs it's more enjoyable and less filler-stuffed than anything he's released since Bad, a minor miracle given the circumstances.