• Record Label: Kranky
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joes
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is probably the best album of the year. There's no filler in this album specially with tracks like Agoraphobia, Neither of us Uncertainly and Microcastle. Highly Recommended.
  2. marko
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Really a remarkable album; i would argue that this was my favorite of the decade.
  3. GeoffG
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I didn't think they could top Cryptograms...but..my god.
  4. DavidC
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    How could they improve on the schizophrenic brilliance of Cryptograms? Like this.
  5. Chris
    May 12, 2009
    10
    A really awesome album that has made this band one of my favorites.
  6. SeanP
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I had this album on my computer for 2 months before it was released on CD, listening to it consistently. And I still bought it.
  7. rodnim
    Dec 3, 2008
    5
    Please dont compare this to Loveless, they are Irish heroes.. this is emo drivel for the most part.
  8. Alanr
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Deerhunter, or really I should say bradford cox really outdid himself on this one. The album at first, might not sound as good as their last effort cryptograms, but after two or three plays, it easily becomes a masterpiece to your ears. "Waiting for something from nothing".
  9. JaredS.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Bradford's and Lockett's guitar work is amazing. One of the best albums of the year for sure. I'm going to the record release show in Atlanta and I'm super pumped.
  10. nashaq
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    Well this is unusual. A bit addictive after a few listens.
  11. WillieG.Christmas
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    This band, and it's visionary frontman, seem capable of almost anything at this point.
  12. kelly
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    I love albums that surprise and floor me on first listen; that sound like nothing I've heard before but somehow everything I've wanted to hear since. This is on perpetual rotation.
  13. Pino
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Simply the best album of the year.
  14. Nicholas
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    There are plenty of amazing sounds on this record, but throughout Deerhunter fail to take their concept and draw it out; compared with the repetitive and extended versions of songs in concert, this record is somewhat disappointing in that regard.
  15. Sam
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    Awesome. The whole record is amazing, though Nothing Ever Happened was the first song that drew me in (I skipped to it, don't worry!). Other highlights: Never Stops, Agoraphobia, Saved by Old Times.
  16. DukeN.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Simply put, the best shoegaze record since Loveless.
  17. WesM
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    My only complaint is that I don't get why "Nothing Ever Happened" is widely considered the highlight of the album. And that's not really a complaint at all.
  18. TomP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    A completely unique sound. No weak tracks anywhere on the album, and for me, slightly reminiscent of Pink Floyd. Arguably the best CD of 2008.
  19. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Deerhunter creates passion and punk in their album Microcastle. Many tracks caught my attention, and it was for the good. There are slow songs, songs with attitude and a little bit of funk. I recommend this album to anybody who enjoys music for its depth and figurative meanings. I also recommend this album to people who love and study music as deeply as I do.
  20. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Microcastle is a great experimental rock record. It's highly accessible and quite a joy to listen too. Almost every track stands out. The distortion on the guitars are layered with great detail and the songwriting is some of the best I've heard from Deerhunter. All In All, this isn't some groundbreaking indie record to end all, but Deerhunter show some maturity before their masterpieceMicrocastle is a great experimental rock record. It's highly accessible and quite a joy to listen too. Almost every track stands out. The distortion on the guitars are layered with great detail and the songwriting is some of the best I've heard from Deerhunter. All In All, this isn't some groundbreaking indie record to end all, but Deerhunter show some maturity before their masterpiece Halcyon Digest. B+ Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Impressive album from the Atlanta, Georgia Indie rock group. Essentially it's Indie music but Deerhunter bring something different to the table with their dreamy, atmospheric sound. There's an abundance of great riffs on show. Personally, I feel the songs at the beginning of the record are first rate, it dips a little in the middle but comes good again towards the end. Highly recommendImpressive album from the Atlanta, Georgia Indie rock group. Essentially it's Indie music but Deerhunter bring something different to the table with their dreamy, atmospheric sound. There's an abundance of great riffs on show. Personally, I feel the songs at the beginning of the record are first rate, it dips a little in the middle but comes good again towards the end. Highly recommend this record to fans of guitar/indie music. Expand
  22. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    It's impossible to get around such a well-rounded album that within such an accoladed discography delivers a self-propelled engine of gaming with the sound tech available metabolizing it in a addictive weird fashion.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Where the split-personality of Cryptograms hinted as much, a cohesive effort on Microcastle delivers the goods in its entirety.
  2. 86
    Microcastle shows Deerhunter [sic] progresing with reason, creating one of their best releases yet. [Fall 2008, p.92]
  3. The sounds on Microcastle form a lush landscape.