Midnight Memories

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    This album is a real trash. I hope the boy bands disappear in the near future, because the young girls need GOOG music. Multiple tracks of the CD is a plagiarism of the work of other artists.
  2. Oct 15, 2015
    2
    Well I just listened to this album because Made in the AM is going to be released soon and I wanted tocheck their style.. al I have to says is that they tried to be rock and they're more pop than Katy Perry. STOP PLEASE. Why the **** are they so popular.. there are better artists, young audience. I hope their new album will be better...
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three albums in a row, making Rihanna and her annual album seems less desperate. And what i can say about the songs? Nothing more than ridiculous, like Best Song Ever with this pretentious name.
    After listen the album i need just one direction, the Otolaryngologist.
    Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    Al though, it had 16 tracks, most of them were plain boring except for the singles which were catchy. It is too rocky and common sounding lately therefore I am giving this low rating. Though, I loved the name of the album, it is wonderous. So, the album was a money waster and not worth it.
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    midnight memories? shattered memories! this "album" (that i listened for error, a fatal error) is the worst nightmare of my life! and i'm a ungrammatical spaceship! now tell me why those five (they're five?) "singers" (who makes the music?) are soo famous.... music is going to die.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Um Álbum comum e tentativa de continuar em alta não ligando pra qualidade musical, tanto que mistura refrões previsíveis a sonoridade comum na musica teen com letras mais comuns ainda.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    0
    unfortunately it´s not a good album, it is very superficial and weak, there is not good vibes and influences,, it´s very cliche and not good, the songs aren´t great, it´s worse than take me home and up all night, so it´s not a good evolution for them, certainly one direction is walking in a wrong way.
  8. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    Sounds like an album of rejected songs from their previous album, Take Me Home. Nothing new. The only bearable song to listen to is 'Alive,' which sadly is only a bonus track.
  9. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    One Direction continue to shamelessly kill music. They represent what's wrong with music today and still can't even write their derivative pop crap on their own. Though like all groups like them they will be irrelevant in a year or two.
  10. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    My goodness, what a pathetic album. I could tell just by previewing each of the tracks on iTunes (each preview is around 90 seconds) that I wasn't going to like it at all. If you're a boy band, it's going to be really hard to move away from that sound, and 1D fails that transition here. Stick with the bubblegum pop and I'll give a 2 or a 3 next time.
  11. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard. Let's go through all of the songs shall we? Best Song Ever: Wow,
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard.

    Let's go through all of the songs shall we?

    Best Song Ever: Wow, what a ripoff... the chords are like Baba O'Riley, in fact, THEY ARE! Lazy songwriting and just an overall annoying earworm...

    Story of My Life: This one has strong songwriting (from Ed Sheeran), but just god-awful lyrics (why the hell are you talking about a girl here?) it was just a missed opportunity...

    Diana: This was really lazy... Cliched throughout and once again, has weak songwriting (oh yeah, let's go for some electronic beats because it's the 21st century!).

    Midnight Memories: Once again, an attempt to be like Queen (like last album's Rock Me) and once again, they FAILED... Is it really necessary to let the boys censor themselves? NO! Once again, cliched lyrics and just lazy song-writing (this is one of the laziest pop-rock songs ever written)

    You & I: Many listeners say that this is the highlight of the album, of which I would disagree... Let me explain: Firstly, I feel that the songwriting here is very cliched and boring as well as the somewhat lack-lustre lyrics...

    I feel like the other songs are just not very good to be reviewed (either poor songwriting, poor lyrics and laziness in general)

    Final Verdict: 0.5/10: One Direction are maturing, but not the right way, learning to write lazy songs with cliched lyrics (songs about girls, songs about love etc.).

    BONUS REVIEW: Steal My Girl: 7/10: The instrumentals are much better, uplifting, atmospheric pop music, but as they are mainstream, I expect the lyrics to be pretty lacklustre... they're good at best (I got it all / 'cause she is the one / Her mom calls me 'love', / Her dad calls me 'son', / Alright (alright) ) but at worst, well, they're cliched!
    Expand
  12. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  13. Jun 11, 2015
    0
    in one word : Alive Catastrophe. I don't think any music can get worse. WOW oh my god this is so bad. Soooo Bad. First I have to say that I despise boy bands in general but that is not because I think this is sooo bad. It's because it's 0 artistry. full of terrible lyrics. no direction and point. Just a bunch of songwriters and composers trying to compile a bunch of stupid lyrics andin one word : Alive Catastrophe. I don't think any music can get worse. WOW oh my god this is so bad. Soooo Bad. First I have to say that I despise boy bands in general but that is not because I think this is sooo bad. It's because it's 0 artistry. full of terrible lyrics. no direction and point. Just a bunch of songwriters and composers trying to compile a bunch of stupid lyrics and catchy tunes to temptate girls and women. A band (?) that does not even write their music and a group of performers that produce utter sh*t. Wow I am devastated. this was utter musical disaster. Expand
  14. Jun 15, 2015
    1
    eard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstrehjjjjj
  15. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay GayGay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay vvvGay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Expand
  16. Jan 24, 2016
    0
    With One Direction I didn't think their albums could get worse but there it is they did and this is shambolic at best. At times this album makes me ashamed to be British and very little achieves that feat.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Midnight Memories takes the slight progression of Take Me Home and demolishes it.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.