Midnight Memories

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    To be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less soloTo be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less solo parts. It's normal for a band that there are some brilliant singers and some good singers. Zayn and Harry are definitely the stand out vocals in One Direction and I think they should have more solo parts. Just listen to how Zayn sings in "Half A Heart". Wow. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Album is full of catchy hooks. But they try too hard to sound mature and sometimes steal from other real bands. These guys have a long way to go if they want respect from men musically.
  3. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'LittleI cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'Little White Lies' don't like me at all. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    'Midnight Memories' would be a better album if it were the first, the bad luck of it, it came right after 'Take Me Home' which in any aspect is better.
    Most often, here, the error is the same that dominates the 'Up All Night', alone, the vocals flow, but together, do not work.
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    6
    There are around 18 songs on the Deluxe version but I can count in only one hand the number of songs which I think are worth listening to. We needed a One Direction evolution but what we are having right now is not just yet there.
  6. Jul 25, 2015
    6
    It's honestly not as bad as I expected, but it's also nothing particularly special. I'm no fangirl/boy but I am also no hater. I can take it for what it is, a fun pop album with nothing great and nothing terrible at the same time. Pretty much in the middle.
  7. Nov 21, 2016
    5
    It's honestly not as bad as I expected, but it's also nothing particularly special. I'm no fangirl/boy but I am also no hater. I can take it for what it is, a fun pop album with nothing great and nothing terrible at the same time. Pretty much in the middle.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Midnight Memories takes the slight progression of Take Me Home and demolishes it.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.