User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore,Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore, definitely worth buying. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    this album is just amazing i can't even describe how much i love it, it's just awesome. I'm so proud of these boys, our boys, they have never let me down and i know they never will.
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    To be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less soloTo be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less solo parts. It's normal for a band that there are some brilliant singers and some good singers. Zayn and Harry are definitely the stand out vocals in One Direction and I think they should have more solo parts. Just listen to how Zayn sings in "Half A Heart". Wow. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, this is without a doubt the best album they have ever made. Their sound has matured so much and they no longer sound like the stereotypical boy band. Immensely proud of them
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This album shows how the boys sound has matured, some songs are upbeat and catchy and some are more mature. They don't seem afraid to sing about love. This album is really good and the best one yet. I'm sure this isn't the last we hear from One Direction.
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I really really like their new album, I think the songs are more mature and rocky.
    It's such a good album and I don't understand any of you who gave it negative votes.
    They have really grown and I'm so proud of them. Gotta love 'em!
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    I like the new One Direction sound a lot! There is a lot of glam rock on Midnight Memories, performed with fun and energy. The boys love music and show business. Many songs bring a big smile on my face. I respect One Direction for this new direction. They remind me of the young Rolling Stones. All their voices blend very nicely, and its defenitely a beautiful vocal album as well.
  8. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    Admittedly, the album is a bit incoherent since the inspiration of the songs can go British folk rock, classic rock, and mainstream pop. However, what I particularly like with this album is that many of the songs here pay tribute to a wealth of musical genres dating back as far as the 60s through the 80s. The imprints of the likes of Simon and Garfunkel, Baba O'Reilly, Mumford and Sons,Admittedly, the album is a bit incoherent since the inspiration of the songs can go British folk rock, classic rock, and mainstream pop. However, what I particularly like with this album is that many of the songs here pay tribute to a wealth of musical genres dating back as far as the 60s through the 80s. The imprints of the likes of Simon and Garfunkel, Baba O'Reilly, Mumford and Sons, Def Leppard, Van Halen, the Script, Kiss, and the Beatles have made their imprints through their songs. It may disappoint some of those who have been enmeshed in auto-tuned and repetitive music, but it surely caught the attention and respect of the older generation who remains grounded on the classic songs.

    As far as songs in the album are concerned, Little Black Dress, which to me teases us who the lass they are so smitten about, is to me the album's anthem that opens the floodgates for the younger generation to look into 70s and 80s punk rock while the Story of My Life and Happily can introduce our younger generation to the world of folk rock. Other noteworthy songs include Alive, Diana, Midnight Memories and Through the Dark.
    Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    I really like this album and out of all three of their albums this is by far the best one. I think it's the best one partly because in some of the songs they ditched their pop sound but in some they kept it. The other reason that it's their best album is because of the slow songs on it. On their other albums I actually couldn't stand the slow songs but on this one I listen to them onI really like this album and out of all three of their albums this is by far the best one. I think it's the best one partly because in some of the songs they ditched their pop sound but in some they kept it. The other reason that it's their best album is because of the slow songs on it. On their other albums I actually couldn't stand the slow songs but on this one I listen to them on repeat. Now I am going to review each one of the songs.
    Best Song Ever was the song of the summer for me, and it never gets old. It's such an upbeat party song that I always put on with my friends and we dance because ugh it's amazing ok.
    Story of My Life came out shortly before the album and when I heard it I was instantly obsessed. It doesn't sound like anything they've ever done which makes it such a strong song by them and again, it will honestly never get old.
    Diana was not my favorite song off the album, but it does make me smile and it's message is clear. It's definitely a catchy song. Fun to sing aloud to.
    Midnight Memories actually made me so happy because when coming up with this song One Direction had a huge influence from rock music and that's what makes this sound so good.
    You and I is my favorite song off the album; it's so emotional and raw and sounds so good. I can't stop listening to it and whenever it comes on it makes me smile.
    Don't Forget Where You Belong is touching and at first I thought it was cheesy but then I really listened to the lyrics. It is really a very heartfelt song that makes you appreciate "where you belong" more. It's a good song for graduation or something.
    Strong is ugh my other favorite off the album and it's so perfect I can't even. There isn't really a way to talk about this song while giving it the credit it deserves because it is such an amazing song.
    Happily has a kind of Mumford and Sons feel to it and it is definitely a special song. It's really happy and bubbly, and the lyrics say so much.
    Right Now is not one of the standout songs but it is very, very good. Not much to say about it but its vibe is so positive and it makes me, I don't know about you, feel so happy.
    Little Black Dress is my least favorite off the album, I feel like when all the guys sing together for the whole song it just doesn't work. I still like it because the tune is catchy but it can get kind of old when I've played it so many times, unlike the other songs on the album.
    Through the Dark is another Mumford and Sons influenced song and like Happily it conveys a message that people are there for you in your darkest times of need. It is a feel good song and whenever you are down and need some support I would listen to this song.
    Something Great is also not much of a standout but I really do love this song. One Direction sings this song slowly which makes it all the more powerful.
    Little White Lies makes me plain happy. When I'm with my friends, one of us just has to say, "if this room was burning" and we all belt this song out. It's very pop but that is what 1D is so it's easy to love.
    Better than Words is an amazing song and actually all the lyrics to it are names of songs. It describes how love is better than words can describe and it is fun to listen to.
    Alive is a bonus track, and it is very rock influenced. The message it tries to convey is a bit confusing but it's so catchy and makes you want to get up and dance which is a plus.
    Half a Heart is another bonus track if you buy the deluxe version or whatever, and it's a really moving song about how when this girl is away they feel like a part of them is missing. I absolutely love this song because it's slow, and as I mentioned earlier the slow songs in this album are the best and can never get old.
    Overall, this album is such a fun one to listen to and makes you feel so happy because, as One Direction does so well, it makes every teenage girl feel like they are being sung to personally.
    Expand
  10. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    I'm of the fans of One D, and it's obvious that I like their songs in their three albums, which was released on 2011, 2012 and last year. For me, this year's One D album is definitely a catchy one, especially the songs You and I, Story of My Life, Midnight Memories, Diana and Best Song Ever. I feel hurt when someone is trying to criticize them, saying that their songs are "not catchy,I'm of the fans of One D, and it's obvious that I like their songs in their three albums, which was released on 2011, 2012 and last year. For me, this year's One D album is definitely a catchy one, especially the songs You and I, Story of My Life, Midnight Memories, Diana and Best Song Ever. I feel hurt when someone is trying to criticize them, saying that their songs are "not catchy, confusing, not memorable" and all the like. But when I think all of these criticisms, there are some points that they're correct. Fellow Directioners don't hate me, but sometimes I find the other songs "not very mature" and as they say, "not memorable". But in whole, I like "Midnight Memories", as much as I liked their two previous albums. Another two thumbs up for One Direction. But I want to suggest, maybe their circle of songwriters must write more straight-to-the-heart songs (i.e. Story of My Life. I love it very much), and they must look upon everything. Again, two thumbs up, and good job One Direction. :) Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of the boy band, few songs on it are bad and they show why they are doing so successfully with great vocals.
    Highlights: Happily and storng
    Lows: Something Great and Does He Know
  12. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    “Midnight Memories” is one of the best boyband albuns.. there was a vocal evolution!! this is the best album of one direction and the most mature album
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Album is full of catchy hooks. But they try too hard to sound mature and sometimes steal from other real bands. These guys have a long way to go if they want respect from men musically.
  14. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    I'm neither a fan nor a hater. I enjoy their music as long as it sounds good. Some of their stuffs have been praiseworthy, in my opinion, like More than This, Little Things, and One Thing. I didn't expect anything different from their third album at all, especially with Best Song Ever as the lead single. It was just sooo generic and formulaic. But when Story of My Life was released, I feltI'm neither a fan nor a hater. I enjoy their music as long as it sounds good. Some of their stuffs have been praiseworthy, in my opinion, like More than This, Little Things, and One Thing. I didn't expect anything different from their third album at all, especially with Best Song Ever as the lead single. It was just sooo generic and formulaic. But when Story of My Life was released, I felt like they've really matured to come this far and have really grown up as a group of artists. The albums is a little bit anticlimactic though for me as some songs appear to be very similar sonically. However, I'd still recommend the album for anyone looking for entertaining sound with light materials. Expand
  15. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Their best album yet..they have matured and so has their music. "Little Black Dress" was recorded 70's style...band, group all in one room in one take.,, very impressive.
  16. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its one of the best albums of the year its a little bit different of the other two. but with this album 1D again show us why they start to be so important in music industry Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This shows how these boys matured within three short years. Their voices have grown deeper and so have their songs. No longer are they singing sweet little pop songs, to the exception of "Best Song Ever", of course. Some lines are a bit random, but otherwise the songs are nice. I have to be honest, I am a super fan. It doesn't matter because I'd love it anyways. The music is in a wideThis shows how these boys matured within three short years. Their voices have grown deeper and so have their songs. No longer are they singing sweet little pop songs, to the exception of "Best Song Ever", of course. Some lines are a bit random, but otherwise the songs are nice. I have to be honest, I am a super fan. It doesn't matter because I'd love it anyways. The music is in a wide range too, which is interesting. Another thing is to keep in mind the target audience, since most negative reviewers are males(FACT.). I'm sure others may not enjoy it because it's by these boys, but just give it a try. I'm also proud of the boys having more parts within these songs, Louis has credits for nine songs! I also like that Louis and Niall have more sing more in this album since they all have very unique voices. They really do have talent, and they deserve some credit. Anyways, these boys have done a good job, all and all. I hope the fourth album will come out soon, haha. Expand
  18. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'LittleI cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'Little White Lies' don't like me at all. Expand
  19. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Es el mejor album que he escuchado de One Direction, es muy entretenido, muy bailable tambien, es uno de los mejores del año, sin duda se esforzaron mucho esta vez, tiene grandes canciones con maravillosas letras
  20. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    This album is a real trash. I hope the boy bands disappear in the near future, because the young girls need GOOG music. Multiple tracks of the CD is a plagiarism of the work of other artists.
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    “Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the playfulness or balladry that distinguished the better offerings from their first two albums. It’s just as addictive, with least 10 of the 14 tracks capable of making good radio singles. While the mixture of styles is quite unexpected, after a number of“Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the playfulness or balladry that distinguished the better offerings from their first two albums. It’s just as addictive, with least 10 of the 14 tracks capable of making good radio singles. While the mixture of styles is quite unexpected, after a number of listens through you realise the songs are yoked together by a common theme. The core writing was clearly in the hands of commercially reliable experts, the boys’ lyrical contributions have ensured this is an album all about them and where they find themselves today (with plenty of scope to read between the lines on a number of love songs). What’s less pleasing is that so much of it sounds derivative it’s like a tour through Billboard 2012 with ‘80’s flashbacks thrown in. The One Direction boys are growing up, but they’re yet to find their own sound. That will come in time, and I’m really looking forward to seeing where these five adorable “idiots” (as they call themselves) take us next. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    After two albums of One Direction trying to find their sound, Midnight Memories proves that this is the sound they have been looking for. This album is very guitar driven and makes for a great start to end listen. I look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future.
  23. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    'Midnight Memories' would be a better album if it were the first, the bad luck of it, it came right after 'Take Me Home' which in any aspect is better.
    Most often, here, the error is the same that dominates the 'Up All Night', alone, the vocals flow, but together, do not work.
  24. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    I just like the album. I think it has is an interesting mix and I can't wait to hear more of the boys. Love them or hate them... The album is much better than expected.
  25. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    That album is just amazing!!!! I can't believe how great songs there are! Incredible. i think they are really grown up and their music too! You have to hear it you won't regret it
  26. Nov 30, 2013
    6
    There are around 18 songs on the Deluxe version but I can count in only one hand the number of songs which I think are worth listening to. We needed a One Direction evolution but what we are having right now is not just yet there.
  27. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    midnight memories? shattered memories! this "album" (that i listened for error, a fatal error) is the worst nightmare of my life! and i'm a ungrammatical spaceship! now tell me why those five (they're five?) "singers" (who makes the music?) are soo famous.... music is going to die.
  28. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    Al though, it had 16 tracks, most of them were plain boring except for the singles which were catchy. It is too rocky and common sounding lately therefore I am giving this low rating. Though, I loved the name of the album, it is wonderous. So, the album was a money waster and not worth it.
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Um Álbum comum e tentativa de continuar em alta não ligando pra qualidade musical, tanto que mistura refrões previsíveis a sonoridade comum na musica teen com letras mais comuns ainda.
  30. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three albums in a row, making Rihanna and her annual album seems less desperate. And what i can say about the songs? Nothing more than ridiculous, like Best Song Ever with this pretentious name.
    After listen the album i need just one direction, the Otolaryngologist.
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Midnight Memories takes the slight progression of Take Me Home and demolishes it.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.