Midnight Memories - One Direction
Midnight Memories Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the British/Irish pop quintet is said to be more "rockier" and features songs written by the band as well as with such artists as Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones & Dougie Poynter of McFly, Jacknife Lee, Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, and Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic.
  • Record Label: Columbia / Syco Music
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Pop Idol, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    85
    Midnight Memories, the third full-length from the "X Factor"-formed quintet, follows up on what worked best on last year's "Take Me Home," and tosses in some proficient new ideas to keep listeners eager for the band's continued evolution.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    It is all so swaggeringly confident and honed to a perfect point, it is hard not to be caught up in its own sense of conviction.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    When the album ends and the various styles, songs, and moods are added up, Midnight Memories ends up as another satisfying album that does everything a One D album should do and then some.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    The tracks may recall "Pour Some Sugar on Me," but their lyrics are still all "I'm not scared of love/'Cause when I'm not with you I'm weaker," so essentially the album's potentially nastiest tracks come off as a glorified Halloween costume act. More believable are the moments when they lay off the hard sell.
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    As long as Midnight Memories offers chorus after chorus of Gary Glitter-style fodderstompf, it sounds like the best boy-band album since No Strings Attached.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 10 out of 36
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    That album is just amazing!!!! I can't believe how great songs there are! Incredible. i think they are really grown up and their music too! You have to hear it you won't regret it Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    After two albums of One Direction trying to find their sound, Midnight Memories proves that this is the sound they have been looking for. This album is very guitar driven and makes for a great start to end listen. I look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Its one of the best albums of the year its a little bit different of the other two. but with this album 1D again show us why they start to be so important in music industry Collapse
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    I'm of the fans of One D, and it's obvious that I like their songs in their three albums, which was released on 2011, 2012 and last year. For me, this year's One D album is definitely a catchy one, especially the songs You and I, Story of My Life, Midnight Memories, Diana and Best Song Ever. I feel hurt when someone is trying to criticize them, saying that their songs are "not catchy, confusing, not memorable" and all the like. But when I think all of these criticisms, there are some points that they're correct. Fellow Directioners don't hate me, but sometimes I find the other songs "not very mature" and as they say, "not memorable". But in whole, I like "Midnight Memories", as much as I liked their two previous albums. Another two thumbs up for One Direction. But I want to suggest, maybe their circle of songwriters must write more straight-to-the-heart songs (i.e. Story of My Life. I love it very much), and they must look upon everything. Again, two thumbs up, and good job One Direction. :) Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'Little White Lies' don't like me at all. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    'Midnight Memories' would be a better album if it were the first, the bad luck of it, it came right after 'Take Me Home' which in any aspect is better.
    Most often, here, the error is the same that dominates the 'Up All Night', alone, the vocals flow, but together, do not work.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    One Direction continue to shamelessly kill music. They represent what's wrong with music today and still can't even write their derivative pop crap on their own. Though like all groups like them they will be irrelevant in a year or two. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews