Midnight Memories

Midnight Memories Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the British/Irish pop quintet is said to be more "rockier" and features songs written by the band as well as with such artists as Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones & Dougie Poynter of McFly, Jacknife Lee, Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, and Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Columbia / Syco Music
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Pop Idol, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    85
    Midnight Memories, the third full-length from the "X Factor"-formed quintet, follows up on what worked best on last year's "Take Me Home," and tosses in some proficient new ideas to keep listeners eager for the band's continued evolution.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    It is all so swaggeringly confident and honed to a perfect point, it is hard not to be caught up in its own sense of conviction.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    When the album ends and the various styles, songs, and moods are added up, Midnight Memories ends up as another satisfying album that does everything a One D album should do and then some.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    As long as Midnight Memories offers chorus after chorus of Gary Glitter-style fodderstompf, it sounds like the best boy-band album since No Strings Attached.
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    The tracks may recall "Pour Some Sugar on Me," but their lyrics are still all "I'm not scared of love/'Cause when I'm not with you I'm weaker," so essentially the album's potentially nastiest tracks come off as a glorified Halloween costume act. More believable are the moments when they lay off the hard sell.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 60
  2. Negative: 17 out of 60
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This album shows how the boys sound has matured, some songs are upbeat and catchy and some are more mature. They don't seem afraid to singThis album shows how the boys sound has matured, some songs are upbeat and catchy and some are more mature. They don't seem afraid to sing about love. This album is really good and the best one yet. I'm sure this isn't the last we hear from One Direction. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plusPersonally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore, definitely worth buying. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its one of the best albums of the year its a little bit different of the other two. but with this album 1D again show us why they start to be so important in music industry Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    “Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the“Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the playfulness or balladry that distinguished the better offerings from their first two albums. It’s just as addictive, with least 10 of the 14 tracks capable of making good radio singles. While the mixture of styles is quite unexpected, after a number of listens through you realise the songs are yoked together by a common theme. The core writing was clearly in the hands of commercially reliable experts, the boys’ lyrical contributions have ensured this is an album all about them and where they find themselves today (with plenty of scope to read between the lines on a number of love songs). What’s less pleasing is that so much of it sounds derivative it’s like a tour through Billboard 2012 with ‘80’s flashbacks thrown in. The One Direction boys are growing up, but they’re yet to find their own sound. That will come in time, and I’m really looking forward to seeing where these five adorable “idiots” (as they call themselves) take us next. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like OneI cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'Little White Lies' don't like me at all. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    Al though, it had 16 tracks, most of them were plain boring except for the singles which were catchy. It is too rocky and common soundingAl though, it had 16 tracks, most of them were plain boring except for the singles which were catchy. It is too rocky and common sounding lately therefore I am giving this low rating. Though, I loved the name of the album, it is wonderous. So, the album was a money waster and not worth it. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: MidnightBefore the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard.

    Let's go through all of the songs shall we?

    Best Song Ever: Wow, what a ripoff... the chords are like Baba O'Riley, in fact, THEY ARE! Lazy songwriting and just an overall annoying earworm...

    Story of My Life: This one has strong songwriting (from Ed Sheeran), but just god-awful lyrics (why the hell are you talking about a girl here?) it was just a missed opportunity...

    Diana: This was really lazy... Cliched throughout and once again, has weak songwriting (oh yeah, let's go for some electronic beats because it's the 21st century!).

    Midnight Memories: Once again, an attempt to be like Queen (like last album's Rock Me) and once again, they FAILED... Is it really necessary to let the boys censor themselves? NO! Once again, cliched lyrics and just lazy song-writing (this is one of the laziest pop-rock songs ever written)

    You & I: Many listeners say that this is the highlight of the album, of which I would disagree... Let me explain: Firstly, I feel that the songwriting here is very cliched and boring as well as the somewhat lack-lustre lyrics...

    I feel like the other songs are just not very good to be reviewed (either poor songwriting, poor lyrics and laziness in general)

    Final Verdict: 0.5/10: One Direction are maturing, but not the right way, learning to write lazy songs with cliched lyrics (songs about girls, songs about love etc.).

    BONUS REVIEW: Steal My Girl: 7/10: The instrumentals are much better, uplifting, atmospheric pop music, but as they are mainstream, I expect the lyrics to be pretty lacklustre... they're good at best (I got it all / 'cause she is the one / Her mom calls me 'love', / Her dad calls me 'son', / Alright (alright) ) but at worst, well, they're cliched!
    Expand

See all 60 User Reviews