Midnight Memories Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the British/Irish pop quintet is said to be more "rockier" and features songs written by the band as well as with such artists as Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones & Dougie Poynter of McFly, Jacknife Lee, Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, and Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic.
  • Record Label: Columbia / Syco Music
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Pop Idol, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    85
    Midnight Memories, the third full-length from the "X Factor"-formed quintet, follows up on what worked best on last year's "Take Me Home," and tosses in some proficient new ideas to keep listeners eager for the band's continued evolution.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    It is all so swaggeringly confident and honed to a perfect point, it is hard not to be caught up in its own sense of conviction.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    When the album ends and the various styles, songs, and moods are added up, Midnight Memories ends up as another satisfying album that does everything a One D album should do and then some.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    As long as Midnight Memories offers chorus after chorus of Gary Glitter-style fodderstompf, it sounds like the best boy-band album since No Strings Attached.
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    The tracks may recall "Pour Some Sugar on Me," but their lyrics are still all "I'm not scared of love/'Cause when I'm not with you I'm weaker," so essentially the album's potentially nastiest tracks come off as a glorified Halloween costume act. More believable are the moments when they lay off the hard sell.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 13 out of 46
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I really really like their new album, I think the songs are more mature and rocky.
    It's such a good album and I don't understand any of you
    I really really like their new album, I think the songs are more mature and rocky.
    It's such a good album and I don't understand any of you who gave it negative votes.
    They have really grown and I'm so proud of them. Gotta love 'em!
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plusPersonally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore, definitely worth buying. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its one of the best albums of the year its a little bit different of the other two. but with this album 1D again show us why they start to be so important in music industry Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of the boy band, few songs on it are bad and they show why they are doing so successfully with great vocals.
    Highlights: Happily
    Best album of the boy band, few songs on it are bad and they show why they are doing so successfully with great vocals.
    Highlights: Happily and storng
    Lows: Something Great and Does He Know
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2015
    7
    This is lowkey their best record, such a heavy change but a chance to get back the #1 spots the rock direction it's a clever choice this timeThis is lowkey their best record, such a heavy change but a chance to get back the #1 spots the rock direction it's a clever choice this time they choose to have a personal record and not another mainstream one just for the label deal. The songwriting is exceptionally good and most of the songs are composed by the group, the sound is another thing actually very 21st century with old age mix, the highlights? Diana, You And I (the vocals are basically their best effort in years) and Best Song Ever which claims their 2nd best trinity in 4 albums and remains 1 of the best bops and videos of the year. Even though I personally don't like 1D this album is not that bad and deserves a good review this time Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    To be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them areTo be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less solo parts. It's normal for a band that there are some brilliant singers and some good singers. Zayn and Harry are definitely the stand out vocals in One Direction and I think they should have more solo parts. Just listen to how Zayn sings in "Half A Heart". Wow. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: MidnightBefore the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard.

    Let's go through all of the songs shall we?

    Best Song Ever: Wow, what a ripoff... the chords are like Baba O'Riley, in fact, THEY ARE! Lazy songwriting and just an overall annoying earworm...

    Story of My Life: This one has strong songwriting (from Ed Sheeran), but just god-awful lyrics (why the hell are you talking about a girl here?) it was just a missed opportunity...

    Diana: This was really lazy... Cliched throughout and once again, has weak songwriting (oh yeah, let's go for some electronic beats because it's the 21st century!).

    Midnight Memories: Once again, an attempt to be like Queen (like last album's Rock Me) and once again, they FAILED... Is it really necessary to let the boys censor themselves? NO! Once again, cliched lyrics and just lazy song-writing (this is one of the laziest pop-rock songs ever written)

    You & I: Many listeners say that this is the highlight of the album, of which I would disagree... Let me explain: Firstly, I feel that the songwriting here is very cliched and boring as well as the somewhat lack-lustre lyrics...

    I feel like the other songs are just not very good to be reviewed (either poor songwriting, poor lyrics and laziness in general)

    Final Verdict: 0.5/10: One Direction are maturing, but not the right way, learning to write lazy songs with cliched lyrics (songs about girls, songs about love etc.).

    BONUS REVIEW: Steal My Girl: 7/10: The instrumentals are much better, uplifting, atmospheric pop music, but as they are mainstream, I expect the lyrics to be pretty lacklustre... they're good at best (I got it all / 'cause she is the one / Her mom calls me 'love', / Her dad calls me 'son', / Alright (alright) ) but at worst, well, they're cliched!
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews