Mind Body & Soul

  • Record Label: S-Curve
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. margored
    Oct 6, 2004
    8
    enjoyed it, even after 3 listens.
  2. thyscalitss
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    best album ever
  3. YVANG
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes monotonous does not know the marks of a true artist. Her songs are meaningful and deep and will leave you humming and singing your heart out. Joss has sensational range and can sing any song to it's fullest potential. Favoritism is not at its work One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes monotonous does not know the marks of a true artist. Her songs are meaningful and deep and will leave you humming and singing your heart out. Joss has sensational range and can sing any song to it's fullest potential. Favoritism is not at its work here, this is a completely fair and correct review. Expand
  4. LautenceH
    Oct 3, 2004
    7
    Yeah, pretty similar to "The Soul Sessions" despite a poppier sound. Good album.
  5. PimpS
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    Forget about what critics say, trust your own ear. This sista put the S on Soul..Maginificent
  6. Benton
    Jan 4, 2005
    8
    Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that most artist neglect and are slow to confront. She has a way of putting the inexpressable into music, a trait that need not be overlooked. The single element that prevents a 10 on this album is Stone's tendency to "over riff." There is too much Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that most artist neglect and are slow to confront. She has a way of putting the inexpressable into music, a trait that need not be overlooked. The single element that prevents a 10 on this album is Stone's tendency to "over riff." There is too much movement in many of the songs. They would have been better off left straight toned. Other than that, this album has all of the elements of a solid record: from quality lyrics, to musicality. Expand
  7. YvanG.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    Great album from an incredible talent!
  8. StevenC
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Great album! Very soulful and truely one of a kind!
  9. anabele
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I Love this cd!
  10. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her soul roots she tackles reggae, R&B, blues and even throws a little hip hop into the first single "you had me" she showcases her amazin voice in a understated subtle way wich leaves you room to apprtiate not only her voice but her lyrical ability, the This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her soul roots she tackles reggae, R&B, blues and even throws a little hip hop into the first single "you had me" she showcases her amazin voice in a understated subtle way wich leaves you room to apprtiate not only her voice but her lyrical ability, the live band, and the fabuolous production. Expand
  11. ErickaR
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is a cd everyone must listen! All the songs are beautiful, and cleaverly orchestrated! One of my all time favourites!
  12. Keisha
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    I think this is a fantastic album and even better than her first. She's got a great voice and she's got some special lyrics on there. I REALLY like Don't cha wanna ride, Jet Lag and Snakes and ladders.
  13. MugiMTV
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can carry on listening to again and again and again. I guess it's just my type of voice, my type of music, my kind of vibe. To this date (August 2009) this is my personal all-time favourite album. So that's a heart-felt 11 from me.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Blender
    60
    Split[s] the difference between guaranteed hook appeal and a decent simulation of emotional truth. [Oct 2004, p.129]
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    There are rather too many old-fashioned slow songs here, and as a result, the album is predictable. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  3. Rolling Stone
    60
    As on her last album, tasteful retro organs and wah-wah dominate this batch of originals. [28 Oct 2004, p.99]