Mind Over Matter

Mind Over Matter Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Southern California indie rock band was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen.
Buy On

Top Track

Mind Over Matter
Mind over matter Does it matter to any of us? Don't change the subject I'm heavy on your love I missed that train, New York city - it rains! Fly to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Jan 24, 2014
    83
    Singer Sameer Gadhia's bro sincerity and movie-villianish vocals make for liberating melodrama, even without the primal scream. [31 Jan/7 Feb 2014, p.104]
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Mind Over Matter has a fuller, brassier sound than this group’s debut, and especially emphasizes the guitars of Jacob Tilley and Eric Cannata.
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    74
    As with the self-titled release, Mind Over Matter front-loads its more accessible tunes.... Unfortunately, the album’s latter half is a little more hit and miss, with everything being competent enough in isolation, but arguably unengaging when amassed together.
  4. Sophomore albums always find bands trying too hard, struggling to live up to their magnum opus and Mind Over Matter has all the hallmarks of exactly that.
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    60
    When they nail the postmodern smash-up thing, it's explosive, inventive rock.... The flip side is tracks like the limp Tears for Fears rewrite "Camera."
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    60
    They've found a capable formula that will appeal to many, but some more personality would go a long way to seal the deal.
  7. 42
    Young the Giant are a technically proficient group who no doubt shred through these tracks during live performances, but the over-production is an impediment to enjoying the individual performances.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I wasnt a huge fan of YTG's first album. I loved Cough Syrup, My Body, and Apartment but that was about it. However this album is a greatI wasnt a huge fan of YTG's first album. I loved Cough Syrup, My Body, and Apartment but that was about it. However this album is a great change. The band has refined their sound and every song on this album us wonderful. Anagram is my favorite. Not sure why the reviewers harp on them so much. This is one of my favorite albums ever made in my opinion and will be for a very long time. Collapse
  2. May 15, 2015
    10
    Amazing Give it 2 listens. By the end of the second go around, you'll agree. Not exactly like the first album, just as amazing, better even,Amazing Give it 2 listens. By the end of the second go around, you'll agree. Not exactly like the first album, just as amazing, better even, but in it's own way! Over a year later and I'm still listening to this album. A PHENOMENAL album! One of my top 10 favorites. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this album. It has a lot of should-be radio hits. It's hard to figure out why some songs/bands make it so big on theI thoroughly enjoyed this album. It has a lot of should-be radio hits. It's hard to figure out why some songs/bands make it so big on the radio while others, who seemingly follow the same formula, don't. I guess it could be the business side of the industry at play. If the songs from this album ever get to radio or in movies/tv shows they should be very successful. In my home, firelight, anagram, and it's about time are the highlights on this one. check it out! Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Young The Giant's second album is really impressive. So often sophomore albums are extremely disappointing but in no way did YTG disappoint.Young The Giant's second album is really impressive. So often sophomore albums are extremely disappointing but in no way did YTG disappoint. They could have easily produced an album that is similar to their first but instead they chose to develop their sound while maintaining their original voice. It is a thoroughly enjoyable album from start to finish. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    I loved Young the Giants first album, it admittedly had its fair share of problems but it was solid rock,n roll; This album is the same case.I loved Young the Giants first album, it admittedly had its fair share of problems but it was solid rock,n roll; This album is the same case. I think they could have gone for a more raw live sound with less production and synth/polished guitars but nonetheless it was a Great album Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    This is a pretty impressive indie pop/rock album, and "It's About Time" will probably be one of my favorites songs of 2014. The lyrics have aThis is a pretty impressive indie pop/rock album, and "It's About Time" will probably be one of my favorites songs of 2014. The lyrics have a decently interesting running theme & YTG feels a lot more full of attitude & energy than they did before. Unfortunately I do feel Mind Over Matter is held back by a track sequencing that puts the weaker tracks back to back & kills the momentum right in the middle. 77/100

    (To see my full review, look up "Spin It! Reviews" on YouTube.)
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    3
    Young The Giant's first album was good. Very good, at that. Their sound wasn't anything new, but it was still good rock n roll. Mind OverYoung The Giant's first album was good. Very good, at that. Their sound wasn't anything new, but it was still good rock n roll. Mind Over Matter is a different story. I got super excited when the singles for this album started coming out, but was quickly disappointed. I finally listened to the whole album when it came out and it was a huge let down. There was no musical or artistic development. They stripped away all the depth and texture that made their first album interesting and made it a sterile, lackluster project. They do have chops though, I'll give them that. The vocal range on the album is impressive and there are some complex guitar hooks here and there that make it interesting a points, but the overall artistry and songwriting is sub-par. I expected a lot more from a band that had massive potential to make a great sophomore album, but I guess the slump is real. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews