Mink Car

  • Record Label: Restless
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2001
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Josh
    Mar 21, 2002
    8
    I love They Might Be Giants, and this album is pretty good. Admittedly, it isn't as good as LINCOLN or JOHN HENRY, but it's still very good. The only thing that brings it down is the fact that some of the lyrics make absolutely no sense (e.g. "Wicked Little Critta" and "Mink Car"). Also, the entire cd sounds as if it was meant to be a dance cd. The only song that is truly I love They Might Be Giants, and this album is pretty good. Admittedly, it isn't as good as LINCOLN or JOHN HENRY, but it's still very good. The only thing that brings it down is the fact that some of the lyrics make absolutely no sense (e.g. "Wicked Little Critta" and "Mink Car"). Also, the entire cd sounds as if it was meant to be a dance cd. The only song that is truly reminiscent of TMBG is "Finished With Lies", which sounds like it would have fit better on APOLLO 18. Nevertheless, I still maintain that TMBG is the best band in the entire world. Expand
  2. BenR.
    May 30, 2002
    10
    My favorite TMBG song is still Istanbul, but this CD probably has the higest proportion of good songs to crappy songs of any CD ever.
  3. bilphil
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    It's great
  4. ChuckW
    Mar 13, 2005
    9
    Mink Car is TMBG's opus, I think. Their initial music was a bit too campy for me, and they meandered for a bit. But then with Mink Car, it all comes together, the whole TMBG sound, but with refined sophistication. The record is a variety show of sounds, nearly every song sounds completely different. Yet, there's no song worth skipping. Everyone that I've urged to borrow Mink Car is TMBG's opus, I think. Their initial music was a bit too campy for me, and they meandered for a bit. But then with Mink Car, it all comes together, the whole TMBG sound, but with refined sophistication. The record is a variety show of sounds, nearly every song sounds completely different. Yet, there's no song worth skipping. Everyone that I've urged to borrow Mink Car from me, whether a TMBG fan or not, has agreed that this is a great record. Expand
  5. CoryC.
    Sep 25, 2001
    9
    Whomever has issues with the musicality of this album has long since lost their ability to not only appreciate the simple pleasures in life, but recognize expert blends of lyric writing and musical range. MINK CAR delivers pop power without the pretense, imagination to spare, and an ability to please old and new fans alike. How many bands can pull off (let alone even bothering to try) Whomever has issues with the musicality of this album has long since lost their ability to not only appreciate the simple pleasures in life, but recognize expert blends of lyric writing and musical range. MINK CAR delivers pop power without the pretense, imagination to spare, and an ability to please old and new fans alike. How many bands can pull off (let alone even bothering to try) having so many styles of music on a single album, and make it work? Few to be sure, and the Johns of TMBG are among those few. There are two kinds of people in the world: those who like They Might Be Giants, and those who will never, ever get them. Pity those poor fools of the latter, buy this album, and be happy. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    I really enjoy this album. Alot of TMBG fans dont, as there isnt alot of expirementing, and the 2 Johns really played it safe and didnt neccessarily take any innovations. However, I find these, simple, and straightfoward songs to be some of TMBG best. Not the album as a whole, but the songs within the album are simple, catchy, and overall good songs, which to me is what matters. I dontI really enjoy this album. Alot of TMBG fans dont, as there isnt alot of expirementing, and the 2 Johns really played it safe and didnt neccessarily take any innovations. However, I find these, simple, and straightfoward songs to be some of TMBG best. Not the album as a whole, but the songs within the album are simple, catchy, and overall good songs, which to me is what matters. I dont know, but hearing some of TMBG's really expiremental stuff is very hit and miss, and an album like this doesnt neccessarily blow me away, but it doesnt make me feel like im out of the loop and not getting the music. I get this album, and thats why i enjoy it. Good songs make a good album, not a stand out album, but a good album none the less. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    I liked Mink Car when it was released and it has only grown on me over the years. There is possibly too wide a range of sound and style being covered across the length of the album, but the songs are nearly all "best of" worthy. I have two songs I skip over on the entire record. It ranks with John Henry but I doubt they will ever release albums with the high level of excellence ofI liked Mink Car when it was released and it has only grown on me over the years. There is possibly too wide a range of sound and style being covered across the length of the album, but the songs are nearly all "best of" worthy. I have two songs I skip over on the entire record. It ranks with John Henry but I doubt they will ever release albums with the high level of excellence of Lincoln or Flood, but I try not to compare Dylan's later albums to Blood on the Tracks or John Wesley Harding either. It doesn't mean they aren't good too, but there is no way to recapture that moment in time when a group was in their peak. Mink Car falls a bit short, but not by all that much. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Mink Car will please just about all but the most picky of They Might Be Giants fans. Diverse, off-beat, strange, fun, and decidedly wonderful, it proves that TMBG haven't really lost anything over the years...
  2. They Might Be Giants are just a stitch more serious about being silly, and that extra earnestness makes all the difference.
  3. Blender
    40
    Almost a total wreck -- even decent melodies are hard to come by. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.130]