Minutes To Midnight

Minutes To Midnight Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 629 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rick Rubin co-produced the band's third album, which is the result of over a year spent in the studio and represents a move away from their established rap-rock sound.

Top Track

What I've Done
In this farewell There's no blood, there's no alibi 'Cause I've drawn regret From the truth of a thousand lies So let mercy come and wash away What... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Most of Minutes is honed, metallic pop with a hip-hop stride and a wake-up kick.
  2. Whatever else it is, Linkin Park's third studio record is a nu-metal record at heart.
  3. Blender
    70
    There's no great leap into maturity... They've kept their salient feature--scorching, adolescent tantrums--unchanged. [Jun 2007, p.109]
  4. These half-arsed stabs at nu-AOR end up pleasing no one, least of all the band itself.
  5. Amid the stabs at growth, every new effect sounds borrowed.
  6. As you might imagine, the band’s emo makeover doesn’t always go smoothly.
  7. What follows is the sound of a band trying and failing to forge a new identity - boy-band balladry, U2-style stadium rock and Metallica-esque melodic crunch are all attempted with predictably patchy results.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 316
  1. RanelG
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent album, listen to it. The haters here on this site just hate this album because they don't like Linkin Park's This is an excellent album, listen to it. The haters here on this site just hate this album because they don't like Linkin Park's music. They accuse us LP fans of having poor taste in music, well what do you guys listen to? Exactly. Expand
  2. TraceA
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Any fan of Linkin Park will honestly tell you this album is there best. It almost matches Hybrid Theory.
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    90/100
    Most of minutes to midnights singles was featured in Transformers, then one was featured in Twilight, I think that Linkin Parks albums
    90/100
    Most of minutes to midnights singles was featured in Transformers, then one was featured in Twilight, I think that Linkin Parks albums are great, but the album exclusives are there best works, nevertheless, this album as a whole is very good.
    Expand
  4. May 24, 2017
    7
    This is not their best album, I agree, but I like it the same.
    Linkin Park shows that they can make mature and deep songs such as What I've
    This is not their best album, I agree, but I like it the same.
    Linkin Park shows that they can make mature and deep songs such as What I've Done, Hands Held High and The Little Things Give You Way, but at the same time they look like a boy band: Leave Out All The Rest and Valentine's Days are quite boring and avoidable, while Given Up and No More Sorrow show that the band still knows how to make great metal songs.
    Expand
  5. GrahamH
    Jul 14, 2007
    5
    Average album that is surprisingly selling very well. I guess people are buying beofre hearing it. I did. Hopefully next time they try to Average album that is surprisingly selling very well. I guess people are buying beofre hearing it. I did. Hopefully next time they try to combine the good elements of this sound with there old sound Expand
  6. ChrisD.
    Apr 12, 2008
    3
    Very, very disappointing...who is this? There's nothing wrong with bands changing styles to fit with changing tastes in music, but you Very, very disappointing...who is this? There's nothing wrong with bands changing styles to fit with changing tastes in music, but you have to be careful not to suck when you do that. As a huge fan of both Hybrid Theory and Meteora, this album is a failure. I don't even recognize this band's sound anymore, they totally turned away from what made them what they are. Whether you ever liked nu-metal or not, you have to admit that this album is an enormous departure from their roots, and the sound suffers because the album is horribly disjointed with no unifying sound (I found the transition from Leave Out All The Rest to Bleed It Out to be most jarring). Expand
  7. Tyler
    May 12, 2007
    0
    Trash. But what did you expect?

See all 316 User Reviews